Nokia Nokia XpressMusic 5800 "TUBE", Nokia's first touch S60 device

Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 12:05 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 22 2008, 12:02 AM)
I got a stupid question here..since most of the set is from Hong Kong nowdays and Hong Kong is selling about HK 4,999 or less..how come the our AP players can get it so cheap ah..they rob a cargo shipping ke? Have anyone encounter the three button below Green, White and Red..Red seem got 2 line..?
Bulk discount? No idea... sweat.gif

Or maybe the Red ones are not as successful in HK, thus its available a bit cheaper... I haven't seen much of Blue (or Black) yet over here... biggrin.gif

As for the bolded line... I don't really get that... sweat.gif

QUOTE(Neo8663 @ Dec 22 2008, 12:05 AM)
THIS PHONE REALLY MAKE ME CRAZY
Yeah...

Wait until you have one in your house... Then you'll start to lose it even more... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 22 2008, 12:08 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 12:16 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 22 2008, 12:08 AM)
got stylus slot right?
Yep... I do, however, PRAY every day some enterprising Taiwan/HK/China company starts churning out proper retractable METAL styli for the XM 5800... sweat.gif

Oh yeah, another small issue with the 5800, or at least my dad's example... The first time I tried to connect to another network after that initial try with the Kopitiam WIFI Access Point, it was nearly impossible to disconnect the WIFI connection and thus equally impossible to connect to my Home AP... The issue was cleared with a restart, though, and it hasn't given me another problem since... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 22 2008, 12:20 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 12:21 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(booooster @ Dec 22 2008, 12:18 AM)
but is the stylus slot magnetic also if stylus is metal but phone stylus slot not magnetic how can?  hmm.gif
Just make it a bit thinner, with rubber/plastic bits that jut out a bit to make it snug... Or metal wrapped in plastic... ANYTHING but the toothpick that it ships with... laugh.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 02:17 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Lineage @ Dec 22 2008, 02:08 AM)
nowadays, phone are made for pressure touch and not sensor touch like iphone like? why ar?  hmm.gif
You mean resistive not capacitive? For one, it's cheaper to use resistive (ie. pressure) touch screens (screens are cheaper to procure, and they are easier to program for - ie: cheaper)... Two, you can use a stylus with resistive touch screens (it's fingers or nothing with iPhone screens), and I can tell you, there are times that I personally feel that a stylus would be most helpful (one of the reasons why I stayed clear of the fingers only iPhone)... IMHO anyway... biggrin.gif

Try using a pen/stylus/coin/guitar pick with the iPhone... Granted, the IP's OS is much, much better suited for finger navigation, but there will be times when I want to jot down stuff on my touch phone, no chance of that with the IP... brows.gif

Anyhow, EpocWare's line of Handy utilities (Handy Cal, Shell, Weather and the SlovEd dictionaries) have been ported over to the S60 Touch! Some of my prayers have been answered! Rejoice!

Fingers getting itchier and itchier... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 22 2008, 02:18 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 03:05 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Dec 22 2008, 02:27 AM)
case in point , the n-79 .. thats was really bad
For to be 5800 owners... Check this out and make sure you don't end up with lemons... biggrin.gif

http://www.symbian-freak.com/forum/viewtop...der=asc&start=0

Thankfully, my dad's unit seems fine enough, except for the occasional wheezing out of breath and thus lag while surfing... AND that overly EMO accelerometer... biggrin.gif

And he's STILL not asleep, youtubing himself to oblivion... sweat.gif

Another interesting thing to think about:

http://www.thenokiaguide.com/my_weblog/200...ync-a-life.html

In the light of my brother getting his phone pickpocketed out of him while we were in Indo, and the chaos that ensured... sweat.gif

Shame SE's don't do online sync (my bro's phone was a W800i, and now he has - due to the grace of my on-a-electronic spree-dad - a W980i, talk about easy go, easy come), even if we DO have MyPhoneExplorer... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 22 2008, 03:22 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 11:15 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Dec 22 2008, 10:54 PM)
mobile phone floor..in the middle area of celcom/bluecube entrance...
other shops quote me at least rm1600
Wahlawei... Crap cheap for AP...

If still got stock, maybe get from there lor... Hows the warranty like?

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Dec 22 2008, 01:15 PM)
wow!...it seems Eiraku been doing the poisoning-reporting of the TUBE for the LYN-waiting-owner(s)...somemore you got nice reviews to share with... thumbup.gif
probably we can see a proper TUBE thread managed by you?...or how bout david?...he also got very nice reviews and feedback to share with... smile.gif
so, how's the decision goes with your dad?...either to let-go-freely to you or you have to buy on your own?... rolleyes.gif

anyway the OFFICIAL DATE OF RELEASE is in TWO WEEKS time...
The middle-age-man-o-meter is showing EXTREME SATISFACTION from the 5800, so in his view its probably a keeper... The slight lags in web surfing (due to excessive use of desktop grade flash on YouTube) aside, he's extremely happy with it! biggrin.gif

And the 5800 had it's first accidental drop test today, proving that it wasn't as flimsy as we thought it was... thumbup.gif

Which means I'll have to go get my own, which I WILL... biggrin.gif

Now it's just the question between an Ori set or an AP one...

And as for the Tube thread, I'll help with giving info, but managing one will be beyond my current capabilities lar... sweat.gif

QUOTE(xcen @ Dec 22 2008, 06:41 PM)
Can you explain the bolded part? I'm planning to buy X1 and I would like to know its flaws.
Great built, great screen (not utilized well by Vanila WinMo, might be better with mod programs), ok2 sound... biggrin.gif

The ONLY problem with it, I think, is WinMo itself, which isn't really a touch-centric OS... S60 Touch, even if it wasn't designed from the ground up for this, is better for finger use then Vanilla WinMo ever will be IMHO, even with mods... biggrin.gif

But the physical keyboard helps greatly, giving it a slight edge over the Touch HD IMHO... And there's also the X1's 3-inch standard headphone jack... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 22 2008, 11:19 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 22 2008, 11:49 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 22 2008, 11:36 PM)
cant consider 5800 to be a toyphone as it still have symbian's digital blood on it. its a smartphone still. the difference is only the OS.

but if u wan to join the hype, get tube. if not, get omnia.
Uhh, not wanting to sound like a fanboi, I'd say for a 1.5k (AP) toy phone, it has a liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiitle bit more substance underneath all that hype than you'd think... sweat.gif

I'd like to think of it as the 2nd, more feature packed reincarnation of the Original HTC Touch - a cheap touch phone for the masses (minus WinMo, that is... brows.gif )... biggrin.gif

Besides, the Omnia / Innov8 / Iphone3G / X1 / Touch HD are all for different target markets, non?

As for me, I like my cheapo smartphone wannabe to be:

1) Able to do the mobile WIFI groove (read: surf the net wherever I need it to)
2) NOT too HUGE.
3) Have a flexible OS that can handle at least a few useful 3rd party apps.
4) NOT too expensive (read: expandable and replacable)
5) Play me my music!
6) Play me my anime (the reason why I skipped the original Touch and got an Axim instead)!
7) NOT die too soon (read: reasonable battery)

And as such, only the 5800 XM fits the bill for ME (for NOW at least)... biggrin.gif

For everyone else, what do YOU want your phone to do? Soul-searchin time, guys... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 22 2008, 11:51 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 23 2008, 12:23 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 23 2008, 12:12 AM)
i wan my phone to clean my laundries. clean the dishes. and .. oh wait. crap... it cant do such thing. doh.gif its not keitai sousakan..

Main things a phone must be able to do for me is..
1) it can call
2) it can sms
3) it can receive call
4) it can receive sms.

and extra features to keep me busy when others shopping, get me out of concrete jungle and back to my home safely, snap those jokers around and able to search answers when there is a question.

by far and by fact, i hardly own a phone longer than 1 month. if more than that, yes.. that is the phone i really want (until i feel like selling it out)
LOL... True... biggrin.gif

Everyone for their own... I for one cannot afford to change phones each month, so it's 1 phone for a few years so every few years I go soul searching for the next gen thingy to replace the ones I already have in my pocket... brows.gif

Again, for now, the 5800 is the thing for me (FOR NOW)... I really don't know if it will fit the needs of others as well as it does mine (really not sure if ti DOES even fit mine asso... thus all the testing...)... biggrin.gif

On a more industrious note, currently i'm converting some anime to try out on the 5800 XM... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 23 2008, 12:29 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 23 2008, 12:37 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Seaedge @ Dec 23 2008, 12:32 AM)
nah... dont get me wrong from the previous statement. i dont upgrade all the time.. but i do downgrade sometimes.. biggrin.gif its not the matter of the phone price rather like a "real" soul searching.. i used iphone and i thought that wud be my PHONE.. but turns out.. it isnt really that phone i wan (except that the games in iphone is really really awesome.. real good companion when others go mega sales.)

thats y i wont really label any phones as toyphone. rather i would say 5800 is a midrange all-in-wonder phone. except the lack of keypad of coz.. but nah.. thats the purpose of touchscreen phone. wink.gif
No probs, bro!

Ditto on the iPhone... Great games, and EXTREMELY intuitive browsing IMHO, not much else (for now, not even flash lite)... BUT, the platform's still evolving, like everything else around it, so I really can't say...

Except that I NEED styli input (which the IP cannot provide) and I'm limited in terms of funds (so no X1 / TchHD etc)... Thus the decision to get the 5800XM... biggrin.gif

Video's still converting... Handbrake failed miserably, most probably due to Vista and its UAC limitations... Trying Any Video Converter rite now... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 23 2008, 12:39 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 23 2008, 01:42 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Transcoding with Any Video Converter = Epic Fail... sweat.gif

2nd try with Handbrake (running as admin to counter Vista syndrome) = Great Ownage... thumbup.gif

Clear video, clear audio, no jerkiness or such... Looks FAR, FAR better then transcoded PSP MP4 files even (not AVC, mind)... Plus the full 25min anime clip didn't eat even one bar of battery power! drool.gif

The only problem is that the transcoded MP4 video was slightly larger then the desktop original (232MB - original AVI vs 256MB - transcoded MP4 for the 5800)... sweat.gif

Time to play around with Handbrake's settings, and/or try out AVC... biggrin.gif

So, final question (will the 5800XM happily play my anime in acceptable quality levels?) answered (resounding YES!), time to get my funds together... brows.gif

Outside of gaming, my PSP is quickly losing it's reason to exist... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 23 2008, 02:00 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 23 2008, 02:10 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Preference? Black... But normally only Red and Blue are available here (for some unknown reason, there are 3 colour variants of the 5800 actually)... I'd take the Red one myself, if not for the fact that there will now be TWO Red 5800s in this household... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 23 2008, 02:11 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 23 2008, 11:45 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Just to say, Ori might not be better quality-wise anyway... Just much better in terms of warranty IMHO... brows.gif

Getting a non-lemon set is still more related to luck than anything else... brows.gif

Any another thing, Made in China: Good... Made in Hungary: Bad!
Eiraku
post Dec 23 2008, 11:14 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Haiiiooo.... Myself I still have to wait until my finances are in order... So I'll havta come home to a 5800 that's somebody else's EVERY DAY until that day... cry.gif

Sad, sad life I lead... cry.gif

Maybe I'll be able to get an Ori set when the price is more logical... brows.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 24 2008, 01:52 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(nubnub75 @ Dec 24 2008, 01:01 AM)
yeah... better the owners take care. I vote for eiraku bcuz of his/her xcellent english! tongue.gif  And (s)he's a half owner anyway.
QUOTE(nkdin_rulez @ Dec 24 2008, 01:10 AM)
me too my vote goes for eiraku.. heheh... cant wait to try this phone la... once after my exam gonna go and demo the phone...if suke beli...smile.gif
Aisehman, kenot lar... Next year I'm extremely busy, last stretch of my studies... biggrin.gif

Can help only... biggrin.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 24 2008, 02:01 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Dec 24 2008, 02:00 AM)
huh, what's the benefit of you voting him? and vote for woot?  blink.gif
Nah, they were thinking of finding a TS for the 5800 owners thread... sweat.gif

*runs away*

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 24 2008, 02:01 AM
Eiraku
post Dec 24 2008, 02:24 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(mrhenree @ Dec 24 2008, 02:03 AM)
now i know. hey, eiraku, no offense, you should take this job. we shall treat u a drink someday for luring us into 5800. lol cheers.gif
Haha... Like I explained, I would love to take the job, if only I had more time on my hands... It's my last semester of studies and the workload is killer... cry.gif

Darned government paid, controlled and managed study packages! No control what so ever given to me to make my last semester a low credit-hour cakewalk... *rant*
Eiraku
post Dec 25 2008, 10:07 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(dswwong @ Dec 25 2008, 10:01 AM)
Can someone please comment how does this phone compare to E71 ??
E71 = Blackberry competitor = Business features galore...

5800 = Cheaper iPhone 3G'ish = Multimedia powerhouse (that can still do A LITTLE work, provided more S60 5th Ed. programs come out)... biggrin.gif
Eiraku
post Dec 25 2008, 10:01 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Anybody tried updating their AP sets to the newest firmware? Any luck?

Just tried my soon-to-go-outstation dad's 5800, and yeah, it has the "cannot add birthday to contacts" bug as well... hmm.gif

The newly out firmware update supposedly addresses this... biggrin.gif

Oh, and watch out for the sudden shifts in colour vibrancy (the blacks become brownish all of a sudden) on the display... It's happening over here too, albeit very rarely... Another firmware bug? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 25 2008, 10:02 PM
Eiraku
post Dec 26 2008, 01:30 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(j1h4dj4ck @ Dec 26 2008, 12:29 AM)
Planning to buy this phone over n85, few questions first:

1.  Can browse video on dailymotion or other "tube" site or not? Smooth or not ?

2.  If install a lot of symbian software will it be lagging ?
Aiseh, 3 times also ask eh?

Anyhow... To answer...

1. Yes, but STEER CLEAR of the FLASH-HEAVY front page of most video "tube" sites - create a bookmark to their search page or something... As for youtubing itself, its smooth as silk... biggrin.gif

2. No, idea... Not much Symbian software available on it yet (its S60 5th Edition, so spanking new that ALMOST NOTHING runs on it yet)... But generally, as long as you don't multi-task too many proggies, it won't lag too much (OR run the front page of Youtube in the background = extreme death lag)... biggrin.gif

Installing and running many programs at the same time are two different things... :sigh:
Eiraku
post Dec 27 2008, 12:02 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(little_pixie @ Dec 26 2008, 09:48 PM)
RENOIR lens is too bulky lah for me... It seems like a real digicam. But I like the specs, well, below RM2K is quite good. But the design... I prefer Viewty. But till now, I still want Viewty RED color, but not in Malaysia!!!! So angry..

Guy, does 5800 can play mp4 video, I mean, iPod video???
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Dec 26 2008, 09:58 PM)
I try to convert The Coffin into MP4 and can't play lah..maybe need to change the seating...
Maybe... But I haven't tried... Quicktime video IINM is encoded in H.264 video codec and AAC sound, and I haven't tried playing them on a 5800 YET (and cannot try asso, the 5800 of the house has flown to a former Soviet country with my dear dad)... biggrin.gif

What I KNOW, is MP4 encoded in XVID for Video (1200 kbps) and AAC for audio (128 kbps) plays fine, AS LONG AS the video dimensions are correct! It must be 640 X whatever, it seems... biggrin.gif

Will post a longer version of the Handbrake conversion tut later... As the original version has gone offline... sweat.gif

QUOTE(alpha_company @ Dec 26 2008, 11:39 PM)
the camera for the 5800 sucks? hmm.. from what i can see in the previous posts, the lens cover is making the pics really dull / less colours and darker a bit from what i can see...this nobody can fix in firmware..this sucks..

how much lg renoir?
An empathic YES, the camera module sucks ass... Noise is off the chart, even if the plastic cover is to blame for the dull, unsaturated colours... Maybe a firmware update or two will compensate for that, but as it is, the cam module is barely adequate... sweat.gif

My almost 2-year old, 2MP SE W810i does better in low light... sweat.gif

As I have a DSLR to compensate, I don't mind... But for those who want a good (if not great) shooter in their phones (and don't mind a less resolution screen, no touch and GREAT sound quality), run as fast as you can to the Samsung INNOV8... It's a GREAT phone! biggrin.gif

As for the LG Renoir, keep in mind that it runs on a Proprietary OS, which (MIGHT, I don't know) mean, less software to use later... If you don't plan to use more software later, consider the Renoir (or that OTHER Samsung 8MP shooter touch phone)... icon_rolleyes.gif

A custom tuned OS that ONLY runs what it needs to WILL ALWAYS be faster and more stable then an OS that is designed to do everything and clean the kitchen sink (in this case, S60 5thED)... biggrin.gif

As for me, I'm still waiting... Need the touch, need S60, the reso, can live with the above average SQ and don't need the cam for anything more then Contact Pics and MMSes... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Dec 27 2008, 12:08 AM

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0503sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:53 PM