14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

ASB loan, worth to get it???

voncrane
post Oct 11 2020, 08:02 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(iamtheone2020 @ Oct 9 2020, 08:41 PM)
Went to pnb today and transferred all my money in asb2 to my daughters acc..

And the staff there confirmed that i as the guardian can withdraw any amount that is available anytime i want.. no limit..

So anyone who has maximized asb and wanna add in more fund can open under your children and use their asb quota to gain extra dividend rather than putting in asb2 or asb3
Good good.. Another satisfied “customer” who listened .. rclxms.gif
voncrane
post Nov 11 2020, 01:18 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Marct @ Nov 10 2020, 03:57 PM)
Hi, i'm new here,
Is anyone has same experience as me, calling maybank today, they said my asb loan moratorium is still valid until end of december.. I thought the moratorium ended at the end of september, kinda confuse here, anyone can explain? Tq..
Perhaps you are one of those who qualify for an extension.. Various factors la.. But hey you can still call them back and settle if you feel the need to.
voncrane
post Dec 28 2020, 07:38 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Lalalala99 @ Dec 28 2020, 01:06 PM)
Anyone refinanced their asbf loan? Can you share what offer was given by your bank. Thanks!
Looking into this again... See if dpt or not... Will update if successful.
voncrane
post Jan 15 2021, 11:04 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(myroy @ Jan 12 2021, 09:59 PM)
I still new, is it ok if i start asbf?
Planning to take 100k and max tenure.
Might treat this like more to force saving instead of investment

Any advice from sifus here
Then should be okay.

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 14 2021, 07:38 PM)
Hope I did the right by taking out from asb3 and dumping into epf:

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...covid-19-gloom/

Anyway, looking at the trend i think in the long run epf will outperform asb3
StashAway currently at 11% gains...Switched.. whistling.gif

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 15 2021, 10:18 AM)
wondering if still profitable to take loan for asb1 or not now. what you guys think?
Depends on you really. Some will say no good.. Others will counter... If your goal is something almost risk-free & forced savings? Then go ahead. Else you got decent spare cash unsure where to park? Options galore, just not as “guaranteed”. Don’t want to say more.. Later dramatic folks all come out. sweat.gif
voncrane
post Jan 15 2021, 01:47 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 15 2021, 11:17 AM)
nice, and my glove stocks are at 337%  whistling.gif
QUOTE(buggie @ Jan 15 2021, 01:09 PM)
Damn Bro... You got me beat. My bitcoin only at 292%

Didn't make nearly as much as you on glove.
What are you waiting for then... Buy more and ditch ASB since you are making that much.. Don’t forget LTC & ETH, get on that train.. oh wait, you aren’t and you won’t.. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

FYI and to those it actually matters. I only mentioned SAMY as a reasonably safe alternative with some risks of course. But not as risk heavy as stocks day trading or as the extremely volatile cryptocurrencies like BTC.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 15 2021, 01:53 PM
voncrane
post Jan 15 2021, 02:01 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 15 2021, 01:58 PM)
the game of this investment always get the lowest interest rates and get longest tenure.. i wonder why longest tenure? Sorry for newbie question.
It is because then you should get the lowest monthly repayment amount too..subsequently, a lower annual (out of pocket) amount to hopefully reap higher dividends at year end. A definite over time for sure as you keep compounding.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 15 2021, 02:02 PM
voncrane
post Jan 15 2021, 02:56 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 15 2021, 02:02 PM)
Nice bro!  thumbup.gif

Must have surprised that thread idiot who thinks all we do is put all our eggs in one basket  biggrin.gif
Dude... You don't have to always resort to insulting when you can't come up with a witty response to even light banter.. This isn't /K where you open threads to discuss How to ask for anal from "your gf/wifey"?. In here, money talk and clearly just because you are on a forum which allows small boys to sit at the big boys table and comment, does not a big boy you make. Taking a page from your book, only a true idiot would think someone else discussing finances and offering clean advice is an idiot. You clearly stated that you pulled your funds from ASB3 and dumped all in EPF. That in itself is proof that you do diversify. Means you figured EPF would do you better in the long-term than ASB3. Which also means I do know you diversify. Well that and the numerous postings you've had going on about EPF and why ASB performed poorly in /K. I merely offered SAMY as an alternative should others be interested too.. As well as told it's okay to sign up for ASBF for ASB1 if needed and fits the individual's risk appetite.. I don't see you getting lynched for the EPF > ASB postings. Neither did i call you an idiot or a backslider for ditching ASB3 in favor of EPF. Notice the difference in mindset and civility between us?...Yeah.. Like I mentioned earlier, just because you are allowed to play around the table, doesn't a big boy make you. So you might want to dial back on the tantrums, you should have out-grown the toddler stages by now. sweat.gif

Come limpeh show you some hint of how long I've been in crypto...

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 15 2021, 02:11 PM)
i see.. wonder anyone of you plan to cancel this asb soon? I mean last year was the only year that it performed badly against bank interest rates?
The answer to this depends on the following factors...
1. How long you have been in ASB. The longer you have been in, the easier it is to ride out this storm. Who began last year sure cry versus someone who began 10 years ago when the going was MUCH better and compounded since then.
2. If you've been compounding or merely rolling dividends.
3. If you've got the financial power to keep "force-saving" or not, regardless of the poor outcomes (expected cuz covid bla bla) in hopes that it'll rise again.
4. if you have no other alternatives to invest your cash. Cuz literally anywhere else is better than just leaving it in your normal current/savings bank accounts.
5. Your risk appetite.
voncrane
post Jan 15 2021, 03:08 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 14 2021, 07:38 PM)
Hope I did the right by taking out from asb3 and dumping into epf:

https://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/...covid-19-gloom/

Anyway, looking at the trend i think in the long run epf will outperform asb3
QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 15 2021, 03:02 PM)
somebody here doesnt know that one simply cannot 'dump all' in EPF  biggrin.gif
My bad.. comprehension fail.. Merely used the exact word you used... whistling.gif
...RM60K annually.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Jan 15 2021, 03:08 PM
voncrane
post Jan 15 2021, 03:22 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Jan 15 2021, 03:11 PM)
there you go! now you know it's limited to only RM60k annually. Learn something everyday don't you?

where'd you pull the word 'all' from, the sky?
voncrane
post Jan 22 2021, 11:37 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(turbohkp @ Jan 22 2021, 11:20 AM)
If cancel loan need to pay any penalty ka?
Typically, nope. Except if there’s a balance to settle even after the bank “cashes” the cert back.. Example, balance is 201k.. you terminate and they only get 200k back.. you’ll have to pay that extra 1k..
voncrane
post Jan 25 2021, 12:35 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 23 2021, 06:57 PM)

Want to ask how the asb dividend calculated? Let’s say I have a loan of RM 200k and dividend about RM 50 on top of it. The dividend calculated as RM 250k as a whole or only the RM 200k?
It is calculated as a whole..BUT, lowest amount each month... Example, say as at last month you had 200, but you deposited extra 50K this month. Because January 1 still saw your balance as 200k. This month will be calculated as 200k. only from next month onwards does calculations begin with the full 250K. Lowest amount in your account each month.

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 24 2021, 04:26 PM)
I am wondering if this scenario, which one is more beneficial to us?

Scenario 1: refinance Loan 150k for 25 years and top up dividend around RM 50k.

Scenario 2: refinance loan 200k for 39 years and top up dividend around RM 50k.

Which one you think will get more return? The loan for the scenario 1 and 2 are nearly the same.

Please share your thoughts.
Scenario 2

QUOTE(PPZ @ Jan 24 2021, 07:21 PM)
Thanks for all the replies. By the way, can I know how much dividend percentage given for year 2020 asb 1?
What Buggie says.. However, here you go though.

QUOTE(bara bara api @ Jan 24 2021, 10:18 PM)
Is this ASB general thread? I'd like to ask question that always bothers me.

I already max out my ASB loan to RM200k. Started in 2014 if I remember correctly. Due to financial strain nowadays and jobless (long story but I digress), I'm struggling to pay the monthly loan. I've been taking the dividend money out to pay it monthly. But I don't want the dividend to deplete over time because I'm also using of the dividend to pay for other expenses. Though I do have other income sources, but not that much to cover it all.

Do you guys have any advice on what other options I have? Whether to refinance it or just liquidate and do something else with the dividend balance? If refinance, is there any other sub-option in there, like longer tenure, or create another ASB account but lower loan?
It's a tad difficult to offer the best advice without knowing exact numbers. However, if you have to mentally stress each month just to get by? I would suggest that you terminate, get your funds back as cash. Draw a plan that allows you to breathe easier for at least the next 3 - 6 months. Calculate the cost and then reinvest the rest. now if this means just investing with cash or a loan? You check the maths la. The important thing is not to raise your blood pressure unnecessarily. Hopefully in said 3 - 6 months you land a decent job again and or grow your current side income. Whatever you do, don't 14th floor.. It's not worth it.. smile.gif
voncrane
post Jan 28 2021, 10:59 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jan 28 2021, 10:46 AM)
After maxing out ASB1, do you guys fill up ASB2 & ASB3? Or put your money somewhere else?
In the past, logically, and typically? Yes, that would be the pattern to follow. However and depending on your risk appetite, there are other options. Now I could still recommend filling up ASB2 but perhaps skipping ASB3 (pending new info) and going somewhere else. I’m just waiting till dividends announced & credited for ASB3 to really decide to pull it all out or leave as is. It’s almost due, so just let it be la. You can check previous posts and other financial threads for possible alternatives.
voncrane
post Feb 5 2021, 12:50 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(timo1003 @ Feb 4 2021, 10:03 AM)
Is anyone aware whether I can still 'refinance' my ASB2 (not ASB) loan, i. e. Terminate and reapply, now? And any banks that can do it? I've enquired with cimb and HLB, they both don't have it.
AFAIK, there are still no loans for ASB2... Doubtful if you terminate "a slot" suddenly opens up that you can immediately claim back.
voncrane
post Feb 28 2021, 06:41 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Feb 27 2021, 06:04 PM)
Yeah agree, started last year when asb3 dividend was only 4.25%. Unlikely to be better this year.

Careful though, later a certain someone will boast about his stashaway returns
Boast? Nah... Too busy counting wins and seeking more.. A good thing he's not as dumb as most, yet civil enough not to be flustered. The poster already arrived at a logical conclusion without additional help. Remember, Buy low..Sell high.. Wins every time.. cool2.gif

QUOTE(Azury36 @ Feb 27 2021, 06:22 PM)
EPF doing great even on a pandemic situation. The reason dividend better than ASB is because EPF invest in a foreign market while ASB more on domestic

And also many withdraw so the profitable able to share on a large portion to whom stay

Sooner or later if ASB does not perform well then many will withdraw from ASB and ASB losing more.

PNB needs to act faster and diverse the investment with strategic markets
Accurate

Correct

My unprofessional 2 sen, I don't think this will happen as much as EPF, seeing as EPF is more on actual cash versus loan money. ASB 3 and the other cash only stuffs? Perhaps yes. As there's no advantage or using other people's money to make more money.
voncrane
post Feb 28 2021, 11:57 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Feb 28 2021, 07:17 PM)
Just emptied my ASB 3 last year, and dumped into FSM managed portfolio, try my luck there. Allocated it for something higher risk..

ASB and ASB2? Gonna keep the ASBF for further rolling. Waiting for opportunity to refinance ASB2 rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Wishing you all the best... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(catherintherye @ Feb 28 2021, 08:14 PM)
ASB, AXX saturated with so many picking the good local stocks, when pandemic comes many local stock get hit. However, EPF fund is growing bigger and bigger, the local market cannot absorb EPF, and they have to put some of the fund money outside looking for gain, China market, US market....bigger pool to play. EPF can do better hedging and not put all eggs into 1 basket.
Well said and thanks for sharing. Those who have eyes and half a brain can understand..

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Feb 28 2021, 10:09 PM)
Ask the genius voncrane - he is the one boasting about this stashaway returns.
Hi troll.. Mr. Pot calling kettle black... Didn't you just reconsider as well? lol.. Trolls be trolling. Come, limpeh remind you. Your own words. i took the liberty of hotlinking & screenshotting it to place here for your convenience. I know how little you like to use your abilities for actual research. What to do, trolling can drain one's mental acuity.

Post #160

QUOTE(catherintherye @ Feb 28 2021, 08:20 PM)
Stash away? Why put your money into Singapore hedge fund to manage? They are not guaranteed to you if they go bust/bankrupt. If you look, a lot of financial innovation thought off to take Malaysians money. As you put more money into it and it grows, bigger, you better worry more....you can get back.

A lot of these financials, setup with 1 way ticket to drain cash out of the country, and not in. Look at big pay....1 way ticket out of the country. To get fund back, very difficult and make the pipe so small you can transfer limit...but transfer out is unlimited. Be wary all these fintech innovation....1 way ticket to hell if you are not careful.
QUOTE(catherintherye @ Feb 28 2021, 11:22 PM)
After 3 or 4 years, hope Stash away still there and not a hot trend of the moment in 2020....many competing stash here stash there, save here and there platform will be out. All competing for money to play in stock market and speculate pumping in liquidity. I hope he get out once earn big interest. Once a fund gets too big...you never know, temptation of the founders, who knows they run away into Cayman Island and enjoy holiday with Leonardo DiCaprio in Maldives sipping Ice Lemon Tea.

FD have regulated PIDM backing the savings. Pension fund have government regulated laws, Singopre govt CPF locked their money here and there guaranteed back.

Stash Away, no ya....kaput means kaput. Maybe you can write to Singapore government complaint, but the kiasu country follow law ya, no black and white write in Stash Aawy they guarante your depositi, it's a private entity, they just issue license only or PAP will pay you especially you are Malaysians. Eat yourself then.
Hey.. I understand your concerns. I really do and that's because i once shared some of it. So I did my research and gave them some time to prove themselves before taking the plunge. Today, 14% returns in less than a year tell a tale.. Simple investing.. "Buy low, sell high" & Warren Buffett's — 'Be Fearful When Others Are Greedy and Greedy When Others Are Fearful'.. But hey, don't simply take my word for it. Here is some light reading regarding StashAway.

StashAway is the first to be awarded a capital market services licence for digital investment management by the Securities Commission Malaysia to carry out fund management activities according to the digital investment licence framework. This was is 2018 and their license can be found right off the Malaysian SC website.
The Edge Markets
Fund Selector Asia
More light reading here from the SC website

And to answer your concerns about "What happens to my money if StashAway gets acquired, goes public, or closes?"
Your money is kept entirely unmingled with StashAway's finances. To ensure that we never touch your money, we use custodian banks that hold your money, whether it's in cash or in securities.

StashAway has made it a top priority to work with global, reputable banks for these purposes. Our custodian bank for receiving your deposits is Citibank Berhad, while Saxo Capital Markets Pte Ltd is our custodian for your investible cash and securities.

In these custodian institutions, your assets are always in a segregated account-- one that is separate from StashAway's operations and assets. This means that you will always have full access and claim to your assets no matter what happens to StashAway.

Feel free to debunk the above and let's wipe the floor with Stashaway's black & white.

Disclaimer:.. It's your money.. You did your research and decided where and or how you want to invest. FYI, and as recent returns have shown.. While our money is safe in Malaysia and in myr.... Know what keeps going up? Cost of living, RM depreciation, inflation, etc. RM100k today left to compound at a steady average return of 5% per annum will total 164,700.95 after 10 years. Now ask yourself, how was the country's purchasing power 10 years ago versus today? How will it be in another 10 years time given the current and projected political climate? Who knows.. whistling.gif Here's what I know.. I would prefer having a slight advantage over time. Have a good one.. Off topic d icon_rolleyes.gif

Image attached for clarity..

This post has been edited by voncrane: Feb 28 2021, 11:59 PM
voncrane
post Mar 2 2021, 12:51 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(catherintherye @ Mar 1 2021, 12:44 AM)
It's a choice savers in Malaysia decide where to pump their money. Which fund they want to pump into...

1. Pump into EPF or "stash away" into EPF, if u look at 3 recent history, 6.15%, 5.45%, 5.2%
- local hedge fund managers (Malaysians)
- no fees
- protected capital with statutory law guarantee 2.5% return

2. Pump into stash away...what's the last 3 years performance?
- foreign hedge fund managers (non-Malaysians)
- hidden fees/chargeable deposti/withdrawl etc
- not protected with no guarantee of future dividen

Good or bad, just a choice, peace of mind, just a choice. Up to individuals. 5 to 10 years we don't know what will happen. Many choices, some buy their own stock.

My thinking if people want conservative, then stick local so you feel safer.

Then when you have extra, then go all out high risk high return. No point choosing another conervative stash here or there, unit trust and choose conservative portfolios whatever.

All out High Risk High Return to get rich quick. Life too short anyway.
I'm not saying that all high-risk "games" will always result in high rewards. But if you hit the jackpot? You hit the jackpot smiling to the bank. If you "play" and you lose? Well, you lose. That's why it's a high-risk = high-rewards playing field. But it's hard to lose completely when you buy in at a really low point, bid your time, and cash out at an ultra-high.

Fam.. I don't want to be part of the thread being derailed...there's a dedicated Stashaway thread... You are welcome to bring your concerns there and duke it out with those more seasoned than I am.. I already provided you with some research, my reasonings, and current returns (36% & 14% risk portfolio..). I was also careful to say pretty much the same thing as you say in the bold part. FYI, some back in 2010, 1 BTC was worth $0.08. Earlier this year, it surpassed $50K and folks cashed out. You know what ppl were saying in 2010 about Bitcoins and how worthless they were? Sure it was high risk, but who's laughing now? Similarly with Doge coins.. Doge was created as a meme for btc.. Folks had hundreds, thousands and just laughing about it back then.. Fast track to today (went up about 10% in the past 24 hours).. Again, who's laughing now..

I listen to BFM radio station and yesterday morning they had a guest....Pankaj C Kumar, a financial market columnist, and former Chief Investment Officer come in to talk about the EPF fund and if they are on track for a repeat performance this year. You can also listen to it here..It's free. I promise you it's a good listen. They breakdown how last year's returns came to be and that it was a conservative number as well (aka, could have been higher, but EPF folks playing it safe). The local market has a cap and when you are operating with more funds than the market can absorb, you have to go outside. A move they did last year and it paid off in comparison to those who only played local markets.

To conclude, you aren't wrong.. but you aren't right either... I posted a calculation in my previous post. You take RM100K and save, targeting the "high" returns of 5% annually in a platform that almost exclusively trades locally? It'lll take you almost a decade to turn another RM100k. By which time your now RM200K might now be worth RM150K or less even. Now this is all well and good for some, but not for all. Others like myself prefer a healthy mix for reasons i explained earlier. However, here's a simpler example, I remember buying a Samsung flagship phone a few years ago for RM2k++ and screaming why phones are so expensive. Flagships today (albeit with more power & storage) easily cost RM5K++, and we don't have an appreciating RM to thank for it. What this means to me is that RM2K from years ago is worth lesser and I must make more in order to maintain or surpass the same living standards as back then. This is my goal. No more, no less. Stashaway offers a safer and cheaper way to play with USD stuffs at zero to little management fees, especially when compared to other management platforms that allow dabbling in forieng stocks. This is one of the major reasons for their growth here.

QUOTE(Bora Prisoner @ Mar 1 2021, 09:46 AM)
LOL you screenshot for what? that's me talking about EPF. As far as I know, I am the first to talk about EPF as an alternative to ASB3 in this thread.

catherintherye was pointing out about stashaway, which I said was something you boasted about  rolleyes.gif
When you talk about pulling out of ASB and going the EPF route due to higher returns...You are just talking.. But when I talk about pulling out of ASB for Stashaway due to the same reason...higher returns, I'm boasting? haha

Kid.. Kindly stay in the kidz zone.... Adults are discussing. I'll get you a Mcd meal toy in a bit.. Chill... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 2 2021, 12:55 AM
voncrane
post Mar 6 2021, 10:45 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(sunshines71 @ Mar 5 2021, 05:41 PM)
Hi, does anyone know why PNB no longer allows loan for ASB 2? Or perhaps if there is any tentative date on re-opening of ASB 2 loan. I know we can still invest in ASB 2 using cash (or even to take up personal loan to be put in ASB 2) but I'm trying to stretch it to over 30-40 years so the monthly instalment can be lower.

Thanks everyone.
I can’t remember who shared earlier. However, the general consensus is that the funds are already too large especially when they only play locally.. There’s only so much our market can absorb.. I guess they’ll reopen it when they confirm more avenues to make money from.
voncrane
post Mar 28 2021, 10:34 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(Area51SE @ Mar 28 2021, 10:30 AM)
Guys, just asking, ASB3 has quota? Wanted to invest some units but it shows insufficient units which surprises me.
hmm.gif Weird.. I always assumed since it’s own cash, can go high.. Did you just try it? Maybe because the trxn is outside operating hours? hmm.gif
voncrane
post Jun 1 2021, 09:35 AM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(barneysteinsson @ Jun 1 2021, 09:19 AM)
Hi. Can anyone advise me on this ?

I currently have 100k ASB loan from affin bank, interest rate is 3.50% for 30 years. Outstanding balance is RM95k++

Right now i want to max out my ASB loan and affin bank is offering 3.45% for maximum tenure of 40 years, minimum 5 years of insurance is compulsory to get 3.45%.

My question is:

1. Should i just top up 100k; or

2. Should i terminate my current loan and apply for 200k new loan.

Thank you sifu  biggrin.gif
I would suggest trying for the simpler method first... Ask to get pre-approved first for the full 200K loan & ideally on more favorable terms.. Also, you can approach other banks to see if they'll match and or counter with a better offer. If the 200K can be gotten? Then consider canceling the current 100K loan. Since your outstanding bal is lesser than the initial 100K, you shouldn't have any issues or owe extra upon termination.
voncrane
post Jun 1 2021, 02:55 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(barneysteinsson @ Jun 1 2021, 09:38 AM)
I have surveyed around and i think affin bank offers the lowest interest as of right now. So it is better to cancel my current 100k loan and apply for a new one for slightly lower interest and longer tenure (lower monthly payment) ?
Lower interest and longer tenure for a higher amount is good... BUT apply first and get approved before you cancel the current one. This not only guarantees you'll get the loan, etc but also saves some downtime.. Hopefully you only lose a month's dividends and not 2 or more months..

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0391sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:03 AM