ASB loan, worth to get it???

buggie
post Feb 10 2016, 01:43 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 9 2016, 08:41 PM)
Yeah keep it is the best way to maximize it. I am afraid later when new commitment coming, who knows in future,  i will only able to eat Maggi mee all the time biggrin.gif
How many years you are holding to the loan before u sell it off?
Or u serve till 25 years?
Well if an opportunity comes along that can earn you better returns then by all means terminate this loan and go for it. Then when you are stable again, revisit the loan.

I remember when I was earning 2k nett those days and I took max loan 200k paying 1.1k a month, leaving me with just 900 to survive. But I did. You will eventually earn more as the years pass by making it easier to service the loan. Your income goes up but ASB loan repayment remains the same! If you're not earning more every year by at least the inflation rate, but prefebly 10% or more... then time to rethink your job, you're stagnant.

I used to terminate the ASB loan every 3 years and reapply max loan and period again...but I can't do that now due to PNB restrictions. Will use this strategy for my ASB2 since no restrictions yet. So to answer your question, the period doesn't matter to me since can terminate anytime. So...I will service the loans until I can make about 80k on dividends per year on my own (without the 600k sijil). I'm now on 50k a year.... 37k (ASB) + 14k (ASB2). Once I reach this target, who knows.... if I still have the earning power, i might just continue to service the loan and build up my nest egg for retirement.

This post has been edited by buggie: Feb 10 2016, 01:46 AM
AMER SHAHREMY
post Feb 10 2016, 01:43 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Feb 8 2016, 08:19 AM)
Those are the latest, cheapest rate nowadays?
Yes. Updated one.
AMER SHAHREMY
post Feb 10 2016, 01:51 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Feb 8 2016, 08:22 AM)
Anyway, I plan to take 300k worth of ABS loan. Know a banker whom can (try) arranging that for me considering my history dealing with the branch.

May I know which one is the best route?
- 300k one off (not sure if possible)
- 30k x 10 loans.

I personally prefer the 30k x 10 loans as its easier for me to clear up one by one from time to time.
ASB max loan is only RM200k. But don't worry, u can go for ASB2 loan as well after 200k one off for ASB. Go for 200k max for ASB and 100k for ASB2. Currently, only Maybank offer ASB2. But soon, Affin will offer ASB2 as well.
Mr.Docter
post Feb 11 2016, 06:01 AM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 7 2016, 01:51 PM)
Hai abang buggie.

I just signed my asb loan.
I do 30k + 70k = asb
50k = asb2

Ok ka?

First wan to cancel 50k but mebeng officer seduced me to just sign that 50k.
She said 50k can be pay upfront using existing asb money i have so monthly commitment is low.
Untung ka if that the case?

So neves.
QUOTE(buggie @ Feb 9 2016, 12:01 PM)
Congrats on your new venture. No need to be nervous. If things go wrong remember that you can always terminate the loan with no penalty whatsoever.

The important thing here is for you to know and understand how much you can afford to pay out each month. And invest within your limits according to your priorities.

For me, if you're gonna use the dividend to pay off the loan not really worth it. If you wanna have 50k dividend every year, you gotta let it compound. That's the only way. And that's why it's beneficial if you can max your loan (within your monthly payment capacity) as soon as possible. The faster you do that, the more years you can compound it.

As for the 50k ASB2 loan, if you use existing ASB money to pay off you will lose it's dividend earning capacity. if you can use your monthly income to pay off instead of using your ASB money then all the better.
QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 9 2016, 08:41 PM)
Yeah keep it is the best way to maximize it. I am afraid later when new commitment coming, who knows in future,  i will only able to eat Maggi mee all the time biggrin.gif
How many years you are holding to the loan before u sell it off?
Or u serve till 25 years?
Sorry, but why not maximize all the loans for ASB first since generally ASB is the one with higher nett return per annum?

mt24
post Feb 12 2016, 10:45 AM

499 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Feb 11 2016, 06:01 AM)
Sorry, but why not maximize all the loans for ASB first since generally ASB is the one with higher nett return per annum?
I dont have strong reason just want to diversify my investment.
According to mebeng staff she said asb2 fund is limited. Once finished no more new fund allocated. In comparison to asb it is always open.
Some more according to her, asb2 dividend always following asb one. Dunno la if she just tok kok only or what.

azeL_Inc
post Feb 12 2016, 10:56 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(mt24 @ Feb 12 2016, 10:45 AM)
I dont have strong reason just want to diversify my investment.
According to mebeng staff she said asb2 fund is limited. Once finished no more new fund allocated. In comparison to asb it is always open.
Some more according to her, asb2 dividend always following asb one. Dunno la if she just tok kok only or what.
i ve heard about asb2 being limited too. maybe there are some truths in that? anybody has any info on this?
Anyway, im looking to sign up for 200k asb loan as well. probably gonna take affin loan, as seems like they offer the best rate @ 5.0%.
will take 1 x 200k loan first, then will consider adding another 200k for asb2...
buggie
post Feb 12 2016, 11:12 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(azeL_Inc @ Feb 12 2016, 10:56 AM)
i ve heard about asb2 being limited too. maybe there are some truths in that? anybody has any info on this?
Anyway, im looking to sign up for 200k asb loan as well. probably gonna take affin loan, as seems like they offer the best rate @ 5.0%.
will take 1 x 200k loan first, then will consider adding another 200k for asb2...
Yes, there is a limit of 10 billion units. Once finished then should be very hard to get... everyday need to camping at maybank and keep trying hoping somebody ngam ngam let go. Don't know if there is any way to check how many units left still not taken. So there is some benefit of taking ASB2 first as ASB is unlimitted.

btw, congrats on taking the first steps thumbup.gif

mytaffeta
post Feb 15 2016, 12:50 PM

1,326 posts

just want to ask, submitted asb loan cancellation Jan-7 and till now i havent get the extra money and insurans.. is it normal? did i get any notification once my loan has been cancelled?

bank : maybank
Lemang510
post Feb 16 2016, 09:31 AM

im planning to cancel my asb loan today. do i need to pay any penalty fees? fyi, been taking this loan for 4 years
Lemang510
post Feb 16 2016, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Feb 15 2016, 12:50 PM)
just want to ask, submitted asb loan cancellation Jan-7 and till now i havent get the extra money and insurans.. is it normal? did i get any notification once my loan has been cancelled?

Just submitted mine also. the officer said normally those extra money they will pay within 2 months. maybank branch -->maybank HQ -->PNB. but still need to pay monthly until they reimburse it
titanic_crash
post Feb 18 2016, 09:24 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Feb 15 2016, 12:50 PM)

for your comparison:

i have submit my asb loan termination on 4th jan...settled on 21 jan 2016..get the money through cimbclicks

the GASA (insurance) also bank in through cimbclicks but later i.e 5 feb 2016

bank : cimb
titanic_crash
post Feb 18 2016, 09:25 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(Lemang510 @ Feb 16 2016, 05:26 PM)
Just submitted mine also. the officer said normally those extra money they will pay within 2 months. maybank branch -->maybank HQ -->PNB. but still need to pay monthly until they reimburse it
it should be 2 weeks...2 months is too long
sod
post Feb 18 2016, 09:43 AM

for those who terminate asb loan early, do you calculate the overall gain from the asb loan? does the dividend received more than the interest/profit paid?
mytaffeta
post Feb 19 2016, 07:34 AM

1,326 posts

QUOTE(titanic_crash @ Feb 18 2016, 09:24 AM)
for your comparison:

i have submit my asb loan termination on 4th jan...settled on 21 jan 2016..get the money through cimbclicks

the GASA (insurance) also bank in through cimbclicks but later i.e 5 feb 2016

bank : cimb
cimb is very efficient then.. i read more on maybank, they tend to take longer for loan termination..

anyway, did u receive any notification once loan is terminated?

updated :

Transaction date Description Debit Credit
17-Feb-2016 SALES PROCEED CREDITASNB REDEM RM200,000.00

so they have processed mine, should be settle in few days..

This post has been edited by mytaffeta: Feb 19 2016, 07:37 AM
Theused85
post Feb 19 2016, 08:30 AM

54 posts

Hey Guys,

Do you know which bank has the lowest interest rate for ASB loan?

Cheers

muhibah
post Feb 21 2016, 02:13 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ding_dong @ Apr 6 2008, 01:34 PM)
intresting that maybank and RHB offer a ASB loan

interest around 6++ and ASB reture around 7-8%

is it worth to take it???

which one better RHB or Maybank???
It is worth if u take 5 years and below loan. don't take too long. you can use the dividend to pay your monthly installment and you can enjoy post-installment dividend sooner.
audy
post Feb 24 2016, 04:01 PM

460 posts

Can one sign up for the max 200k loan regardless of the existing amount balance in the ASB account? E.g. if let's say I already have 100k in ASB, can I apply 200k loan or is it can only apply 100k?
sidanos
post Feb 25 2016, 11:27 AM

200 posts

I applied for ASB loan via Affinbank earlier this month but the person contacted me last week saying that their quota for the 5% loan promo already finished.
Anybody knows if I apply from another branch will get same result or just better take loan for ASB2?
buggie
post Feb 25 2016, 01:22 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(audy @ Feb 24 2016, 04:01 PM)
Can one sign up for the max 200k loan regardless of the existing amount balance in the ASB account? E.g. if let's say I already have 100k in ASB, can I apply 200k loan or is it can only apply 100k?
Generally no. You need to take out that 100k to take the full 200k loan,

HOwever, If you've earned dividend before, your ASB size would've grown by the dividend amount. so depending on your ASB size, if you leave the 100k in there, you may be able to take more than 100k loan.
mytaffeta
post Mar 4 2016, 12:15 PM

1,326 posts

general question,

normally for loan application, we will fill in the form and submit to bank.. subject to bank approval they then will produce loan letter offer which we decide to take or not..

my question, can bank disburse our loan if we havent receive or signed loan letter offer?

378 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 12:37 PM