taking 100k for 10 yrs or 200k for 25 yrs? which is better?
ASB loan, worth to get it???
Aug 2 2013, 04:50 PM
1,325 posts Joined: Dec 2010 |
taking 100k for 10 yrs or 200k for 25 yrs? which is better?
Aug 3 2013, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(suadrif @ Aug 3 2013, 12:43 AM) for investment, u always and always look for higher return with minimum monthly commitment. understood sir.. take longer contract period so that u can minimize your monthly payment take higher amount so that u can gain higher profit at the end of financial year dont rush to settle the ASB loan. i saw the compounding interest table, at 9th year.. dividend amount is ~200k (provided nvr touch the dividend).. should i withdraw this amount and settle the loan? or continue with loan? settle loan = monthly no need to pay = vested amount ~200k do not settle loan = monthly have to pay = vested amount ~400k |
Aug 3 2013, 07:21 PM
QUOTE(petirbuas @ Aug 3 2013, 02:16 PM) You understand that right. So monthly saving is better at this point(the initial 30k)? I've calculated it and indeed a loan will set me back a few grand... i took 200k loan already.. monthly is around 1.2k, so with house loan 1.5k sum up 2.7k.. it just around ~70% your income.. so bank will approve..It just that I don't have any CCRIS record before(all stuff paid in cash; no CC). I'm just afraid that I can't secure the 200k ASB loan later on if I don't have any proven track record and already serving my housing loan at that time. Say my monthly salary is 4k, 1.5k/month for housing loan, no other commitment, is the 200k loan achievable? Correct me if I'm wrong the question is, disposable income only left 1.3k, can you live with it? |
Aug 4 2013, 01:51 AM
Jan 24 2014, 12:56 AM
QUOTE(yugimudo @ Jan 23 2014, 09:28 PM) Adui abang, dah silap kira dah ni. i agree with yugimudo.. if you really need to calculate your loss then u only should deduct total bank interest for 10 yrs = RM27080.. in the end the 100k cert is yours! all in all asb loan still win, bcoz of the compounding dividend..It is correct that you paid rm127,080 to the bank. But you cant use the below calculation to compare between loan and self saving. Because, if you want to be fair then you have to use the same calculation for case 2: You deposit 1059 per month, then you are "paying" to ASB RM127,080 Thus, "pendapatan" according to calculation is: Jumlah pendapatan (yearly div stays in asb, assume div 7%, every month depo 1059): RM182,237 Untung bersih (money in asb after 10yrs - total pay to ASB): rm55157 Hence, the difference between case 1 and case 2: rm69,634 - rm55,157 = rm14,477 rm1,447.7 per year profit if you use ASB loan. P/S: Why does this happen? It happens because of compounding power. You are compounding an amount so big that you can gain profit. But from my calculation, it is not effective with small numbers. bro masabi if took 100k asb loan for 25 yrs and did not withdraw, at 10th yr asb total should be reach 210k.. is it a wise decision to take out portion of this dividend to clear the loan? i also wanted to know why u recommend to terminate loan early.. thanks in advance! This post has been edited by mytaffeta: Jan 24 2014, 01:09 AM |
Oct 3 2014, 04:15 AM
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Oct 1 2014, 04:43 PM) Mine is Maybank but I forget 20 or 25 years i read somewhre in LYN ASNB subforum, there is one forumer is a bank staff and offered with good rate.. forgot how much..CIMB that offered 25 years, how's the rate? On the side discussion, anyone know any bank staff? I wonder if they entitled to get special rate as staff. |
Oct 3 2014, 04:17 AM
QUOTE(Sarah Jessica @ Oct 3 2014, 12:58 AM) yes! it will reduce ur loan capability in future.. if you have not bought own house or car yet, plan wisely.. other than that, asb loan way to go.. This post has been edited by mytaffeta: Oct 3 2014, 04:19 AM |
Oct 6 2014, 07:59 AM
QUOTE(masami @ Oct 4 2014, 06:48 AM) for asb loan. it is practically free money. laverage is the key here.I understand ur line of reasons. but if study this asb loan thoroughly. do some research. im sure u will have a different opinion. bro masami, am interested to know more bout above bold item.. sent u a pm.. the drawback is. u might hv problem with ur housing loan. coz this asb is taken into consideration when applying for a new loan. 2 scenarios tht could affect asb loan.. blr shoot through the roof. and dividend falls under 6.5%. if these unthinkable happened.. by all means..terminate the loan. most asb loan nowadays has no lockin period. one more thing..my advise is..dont serve the loan till the end. ideally pay for 2-5 years and terminate. take out the principal. reapply the loan with higher limit. this way. ur roi would reach 30% per annum. |
Oct 6 2014, 08:05 AM
Oct 10 2014, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(abec @ Oct 9 2014, 07:01 AM) no different, u took 100k loan on 5 certs or 100k on single cert u still get the same amount of dividend.. LASB works exactly as mortgage loan where the interest is calculated base on principle, unlike hire purchase.. so i get why he took multiple certs instead of one.. |
Nov 27 2014, 02:58 AM
Nov 27 2014, 07:27 PM
QUOTE(navink @ Nov 27 2014, 09:50 AM) Below are the criteria.. my bad data, it should be BLR-1.7..BFR-2% is given for two customer categories set by Maybank which is HNW or Affluent customer.. HNW - you must have cash about RM500k in Maybank acct (if not mistaken). Affluent Customer - must have more than RM250k loan with Maybank. Please correct me if I'm wrong. regarding the affluent customer, can i request to revise my BLR if i already took LASB about 2 yrs ago? i think im qualify.. |
Dec 17 2014, 01:27 AM
QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Dec 16 2014, 11:42 AM) Hello all, wanna ask those who had surrendered/terminated their ASB loan. i loaned the same amount as you but my monthly is a bit dif, 1189 and now 1220.. maybank as well..Loan amount: 200 000.00 Outstanding cost of finance: 202 357.54 Loan tenure: 25 years Payment Dec 2013-Nov 2014: 1199 monthly Dec 2014 onwards: 1233 monthly (after revised BLR) When is the best time for me to terminate this loan? I wanna apply with other banks, Maybank's not the best choice currently. I got 2 months dividend (Nov&Dec 2013) last year. Haven't withdraw a cent. Please advise. Thanks. which bank offer the best currently? |
Dec 8 2015, 05:48 AM
QUOTE(buggie @ Nov 26 2015, 08:22 PM) Yes. They usually surrender after 2 or 3 years and get back the amortized value of the insurance and installments paid. Then they retake the loan again for the full 30 years again. hi bro, care to explain more? my lasb is already 3 years, and 25 yrs term if not mistaken.. should i surrender and retake new loan? is it better than serving till end of loan period?The monthly repayments remain the same, dividends untouched and the loan extended They get a few thousand back to reinvest or top up the ASB if not full yet to reach the max faster Basically like remortgaging .... Very technical stuff.... goes all the way down to the timing of these transactions so as to not lose even 1 month of pro rated dividend! |
Dec 9 2015, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(buggie @ Dec 9 2015, 01:19 PM) Basically, the 1200 monthly payment to the bank is made up 2 parts - principle and interest. Principle belongs to you and interest belongs to the bank. current lasb is 200k maybank 25yrs, now on 3rd year.. age less than 30.. so i should reapply mid of next January, take cimb 30 years? good plan?Usually at the beginning a any loan, the interest portion is higher than the principle. and towards the end, principle is higher than interest. for example, your first monthly payment will be made up of 200 principle and 1000 interest (not actual figures. So if you terminate the loan after 3 years, you will get back the principle portion of the monthly repayments for the last 3 years. This should come up to about 7k upwards i think. The interest portion bank keep la. So some investors will surrender the loan every 3 years (or 2) and reapply immediately. They get 7k to use as they please or to reinvest in ASB2 depending on their financial goals. The year end dividend is unaffected because the loan is re-taken. but your loan tenure will reset to 25 years/30 years. If you're young, and monthly repayments are the same or lower then do it. |
Dec 11 2015, 07:34 PM
Jan 6 2016, 02:34 AM
senyap saja semua, busy updating asb book?
any news about the pnb gonna stop asb loan? am planning to do it in few days and reapply to cimb for 30 yrs.. |
Feb 15 2016, 12:50 PM
just want to ask, submitted asb loan cancellation Jan-7 and till now i havent get the extra money and insurans.. is it normal? did i get any notification once my loan has been cancelled?
bank : maybank |
Feb 19 2016, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(titanic_crash @ Feb 18 2016, 09:24 AM) for your comparison: cimb is very efficient then.. i read more on maybank, they tend to take longer for loan termination.. i have submit my asb loan termination on 4th jan...settled on 21 jan 2016..get the money through cimbclicks the GASA (insurance) also bank in through cimbclicks but later i.e 5 feb 2016 bank : cimb anyway, did u receive any notification once loan is terminated? updated : Transaction date Description Debit Credit 17-Feb-2016 SALES PROCEED CREDITASNB REDEM RM200,000.00 so they have processed mine, should be settle in few days.. This post has been edited by mytaffeta: Feb 19 2016, 07:37 AM |
Mar 4 2016, 12:15 PM
general question,
normally for loan application, we will fill in the form and submit to bank.. subject to bank approval they then will produce loan letter offer which we decide to take or not.. my question, can bank disburse our loan if we havent receive or signed loan letter offer? |
| Change to: | 0.0326sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 02:52 PM |