4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

~~~~Clans of the Piano~~~, Piano,keyboard,syntherizer, clavinova!

TSicypetals
post Apr 12 2008, 01:43 PM

324 posts

QUOTE([vogue]angel @ Apr 12 2008, 01:19 PM)
playing by ear is kinda nice. but i'm trying to push myself even further by identifying the exact chords, the position of the chords and the exacts notes. kinda hard, but it improves ur hearing and knowledge. u guys should try it out too.
exact chords and notes? yup, i do that!

the simples way to get the exact chord is follow this format
1) first if it is a C sounding chord, u play C G C, u dont need care whether its Minor or major.
2) next u find the root of the chord, eg C/G
3) later only u find out wheteher there is a suspension or augmented,dimmished, diatonic, etc etc blah blah

joining yamaha courses improve ur hearing,sight reading etc etc but not ur piano skill
joining piano courses improves ur playing skill

Some who join piano course can play from sheet but terrible at hearing
some who join yamaha course have good hearing but bad piano playing

a combination of both= whistling.gif
TSicypetals
post Apr 12 2008, 04:30 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 12 2008, 03:11 PM)
somehow i think we're alike, i took both yamaha and AB together. laugh.gif

pity my father have to pay twice along with piano and books and time and petrol and...my father is my hero!! thumbup.gif
my classes schelude are all together XD 12pm-3pm ( lol, non-stop )
12-1pm= yamaha
1-2pm= theory
2-3pm= pratical

LOL...

my fees my mom see want to do, especially 2 months-3months never pay.

U count:-
yamaha fees( higher musician course) rm180
grd 8- rm150( if not wrong)
violin X2( double lesson) rm120
rm450 per month ( excluding books XD)
ahahhaa, rm450 for small town in kedah, imagine if i live in KL, my parents will be dead in debts XD
TSicypetals
post Apr 13 2008, 02:24 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 12 2008, 05:57 PM)
my god... notworthy.gif
eh last time +electric guitar fees is rm520+++ LOL
TSicypetals
post Apr 14 2008, 03:02 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 13 2008, 10:11 PM)
i knw its easy...
coz i can do it too...
XD
i juz dunno how to teach those who ask me...
this is the hard thing... tongue.gif
haha, when my friends ask me how, after 10min of explaining. they reply with a "huh?".

LOL. hearing must be train and not to be taught by words XD

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Apr 14 2008, 11:44 AM)
i can play by ear too~ yay! well, i learned it thru playing piano in church haha~ slowly you'll get an idea of what chords and the left hand accompaniment of a certain pattern. somehow.
yup, cause they singing songs are only co-existing as 2 keys : major and minor.
when they are major sounding, usually they are root chords or major chords, I, IV, V
when they are singing minor, it is III, VI

usually a song chord cadence goes like this, I-VI( major to minor), I-V(major to major), III-VI( minor to minor), IV-V, VI-IV etc etc

Example
C Am
i saw a monkey, jump over the wall
F G
i saw a monkey Jump

chorus

Am F
i took a stick, and poke it down

C G
well, that is the end of the song
TSicypetals
post Apr 14 2008, 03:35 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 14 2008, 03:33 PM)
what are you trying to say, exactly? rolleyes.gif
im saying in a scale only got major or minor sounding ma XD so if not major sound means minor sound lo XD

lol

I ii iii IV V vi vii

TSicypetals
post Apr 14 2008, 09:17 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(x-crusader @ Apr 14 2008, 06:22 PM)
tat expensive???? shocking.gif  shocking.gif  rclxub.gif
wat to do. music education is expensive.
i already minus guitar fees lol. everytime my mom nv pay 2-3month, she see the bill want to faint
TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 02:22 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 14 2008, 10:24 PM)
So once again I continue my words here. Those fees goes into music teachers and the school. Those music teachers usually are on diploma level or grade 8.

Why degree?

my music teacher studied in london. he encorage me to strive hard to excel. do not close ourself in a small enviroment. Expose more. Anne perreau gave me the same advice too.
QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 14 2008, 11:27 PM)
i disagree with this. studying in college or uni will have more inputs than average music students. it's not the cert one going to aim, it's the environment.

how often you got to perform in front of everybody AND watching your fellow classmates perform so you can learn from each other? how about learning chamber music, orchestra, deep study of theory, extensive ear training, history, choir? yes, you can learn it by yourself, but you won't get as much inputs (and as fast) as learning alone than studying in group. wink.gif 

certs and qualifications are definitely not wasting money if you consider the above statement. it IS yougster today who want to target the cert cause they can earn more money, thus making the cert looks ugly nowadays. doh.gif
i highly agree on that!
studying overseas birngs more knowlege of music comparing than learning only in malaysia.
we are expose more, we meet more people, and we learn new things.
We meet great teachers in oversea college/uni.

We must strive for our best to enter great colleges and university.
doing only diploma wont get u more knowlege comparing to studying oversea college/uni.
QUOTE(Cello @ Apr 14 2008, 11:35 PM)
Good comment. I am saying that because..I think you know. Basically a lot of people thinks that getting a diploma will get a good future or something. Thus, I saw a lot of graduated diplomas are still playing badly, I do not want to expose their college name here.

For the bolded sentences on your quote, I can tell you it is about 90% of the people I have met in my life.

why do we need to bother about those diploma who can play? that is their problem.
I seen many grd 8 and diploma who cant play.

but why compare ourself to those who cant play, when we need to compare ourself to the best?
if we do so, we will strive for the best we can!

cello, please take this opinion of mine seriously, :" studying oversea college/uni will really bring us much closer to understanding of music and enhancing our passion, bringing us to a new level of knowlege, and understanding a new enviroment, and meeting new people."

its not about the cert, the cert certify that we suceeded thats all, is what we learn that counts!

why do you bother bout the other 90% what we need to do for ourself is important!

that 90% might be becuase their parents force them to learn or anything else, why do we need to care?

Is like going to school, where 70% of your freind dont like to study and dont want go college, does that stop you from going collge?

TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 02:57 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 15 2008, 02:37 PM)
yes and there's one more thing i lefted out. studying in college/uni you get to compete with each other, in a good way of course (you don't compare, but you compete). most importantly, someone who can put pressure on you - those who're better than you but you're meeting him/her everyday cause he/she's your teacher or even your classmate lol! you have a target, your target is no longer a paper, it's a person.

you can argue that you have your favourite pianist who's world class virtuoso whos better than anyone you've seen. but what are the chances that you can learn from him? in college/uni, you got to meet them everyday - you can disucss about music all day long, learn from each other every seconds. it's the school that bring you and the pros together. it's the environment that matters.

that said, it's such a high price to pay. $$$ doh.gif
agree on that.

my mom told me last time that some bosses dont care what you study, as long u have a firm basic education and a come from a good college/uni, they will accept you.
I ask why?

she said that it is because those students are more expose to the world, they are more sociallable, they have meet many people in their life, they can take risk, they know how to work in a team, and they understand all sorts of thing which a person who nv enter college/uni knows.

that wats makes a college/uni student special and difrent.

my mom works in bank. so she selects ppl from interview.
TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 07:26 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Apr 15 2008, 06:04 PM)
i'm afraid it was last time. sweat.gif

it used to take a lot more effort to graduate from uni/college, but not anymore. more parents can afford expensive fees and living expenses for their childrens. students are more likely to go for long vacations rather than suffer from study pressures. more over, college/uni don't care how bad you do, as long as you give enough money they'll let you hold the cert (of course, not to the extent that if student fail miserably also can become pass). doh.gif
well, i guess its last time too laugh.gif
cause my mom said this when i was standard 3 or something XD

Based on her experince i think
TSicypetals
post Apr 15 2008, 08:30 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(PetroToxin @ Apr 15 2008, 07:33 PM)
May learn the piano in the future.
My favourite pieces for piano is no other than Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No.2 and 3  tongue.gif
I also listen to Chopin's Waltz.
Anyone here can play a piano concerto or any Franz Liszt's Etude? sweat.gif
wow rclxms.gif
A romantic and classical listener rclxms.gif !!
these days not many ppl listen to chopins and rach!!!

good luck learning the piano in the future! highly recomend!!!

rclxms.gif
TSicypetals
post Apr 17 2008, 02:51 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 17 2008, 12:36 AM)
so touch...........almost cry. cry.gif
she really is what ppl define as a "prodigy".

a real life angel from heaven .

she was not scared even on stage or tv!

no offense but wondering, they didnt mention something, where did she first play the piano when her parents dont know music?
TSicypetals
post Apr 18 2008, 04:35 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 17 2008, 05:38 PM)
She's adopted,... the foster parents cannot conceive...
She first played on the piano when her foster mother sing her favourite song. She was 3 then. Really true born talent... unbelievable...

More touching is the ending part, the song she sing, she dedicate to herself? "You were born to be loved"... so touching... I think she cried too when she sings, so unbelivable that a 5 year old kid can feel so much and think like an adult. Amazing!!!

The girl judge (is she a judge?), LoL, was so impressed like she wanted to adopt the kid...

There's another video, the 9th episode, she appear again, this time she plays and the judges (I think) all surrounds her and sings while she plays. One of the guy cannot stand crying, gosh... so amazing...
ya ,i was like.....OMG...........its incredible. i saved up the video and showed it to my friends on my psp.
its just incredibly to have such beautiful gifts. eventhou she lack something, she was given something far more better!

Added on April 18, 2008, 9:29 pmanybody can share with me nice cadenza for me to play?

This post has been edited by icypetals: Apr 18 2008, 09:29 PM
TSicypetals
post Apr 21 2008, 03:56 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Apr 21 2008, 02:14 AM)
hey guys, i've recorded a new video of myself playing.

this song is Somewhere in Time; solo version as played by Maksimcriticism is needed and comments on how to improve it is requested  nod.gif
Its perfect except for the left hand seems too loud.

or maybe because the camera is place too near to the left hand hmm.gif

Added on April 21, 2008, 3:59 pm
QUOTE(Andy214 @ Apr 21 2008, 02:41 AM)
Just to share:

Play By Ear Graduation 2005:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dgJIFk3AY30

This "Play By Ear" course or method are meant for contemporary/pop songs, for classical, one still has to go through the conventional piano classes.

Video Info:
The graduates are either Level 1 or Level 2 mostly (which both consist of 20 classes each, or maximum 1 year period for each).

The girl wearing specs playing the chinese instruments tune, during my class last year, I saw her at the centre, she's working as a part time music coach already.
wow, not bad icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by icypetals: Apr 21 2008, 03:59 PM
TSicypetals
post Apr 22 2008, 06:39 PM

324 posts

my second hand piano is a yamaha and is 10k. i think i bought it like 7-8 years ago.
my piano keys are damn heavy and hard, so when i go lesson, the piano are way easier to play, which is a good thing.

is all based on prefernce, test before buy
TSicypetals
post Apr 22 2008, 10:56 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Momotaro Kun @ Apr 22 2008, 08:43 PM)
Wow Yamaha piano second hand also 10k  ohmy.gif
What's so cacat about Kawai? Many people say that Kawai is a very good brand  blink.gif
yamaha piano have always been expensive.

Yamah range is 10k++

kawai is 5k++

grand piano is 30k++
TSicypetals
post Apr 23 2008, 10:21 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(Momotaro Kun @ Apr 23 2008, 02:46 AM)
Thanks for the link!
Wow Yamaha so cheap  shocking.gif

I think I'll go for Kawai since its keys are slightly heavier  laugh.gif
I'll head to TGS and see, I know one at the opposite of Leisure Mall  thumbup.gif
actually, based on my OPINION.

yamaha keys are always heavier and harder than kawai.

yamaha piano have usually been better than kawai.

either way, both are very good piano except that yamaha is always more famous and more "Welcomed" around people.

anyway, dont listen to the crap the salesman talk to u, they will tell you shyt about the piano which they cant seell like, "THis has rich-tone, warm sound etc etc'

u dont listen to them and buy urself.

if u can buy straight from the boss( if u know any ), then u can skip the salesman's commision.

i recomend u buy from someone you know, or elsee they will potong ur neck
TSicypetals
post Apr 23 2008, 03:14 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 23 2008, 11:10 AM)
Hi all,

I havent been touching my piano since I left australia for my tertiary education. I myself started piano late at 18 and only taken classes for around 1.5 years.

Learnt a lot of fundamental, played numerous song ( all kiddie song,grade 1,2) but really enjoyed the valuable experiences.

Nobuo Uematsu is the person inspired me for the late take up of piano, salute to him for the wonderful piece

Recently wanna have some life beside working, so thinking of warming up my skill again after like 5-6 years

Greatest achievement so far : Gau Theme from FFVI ( duration taken to learn : 6 months.... Not talented and started late)
Current piece : Jay Chou - Secret ( is it a good choice, can play around 70% fluent in page 1 at the moment after a week practice. Timing wise I am trying my best to capture, so sometime cannot properly transite.. Need advice on pedaling too, I lack of knowledge of that part.

Any advice from any sifu to bring me back to track slowly is needed. If you got some good practicing pieces, please kindly guide me.

I also noticed that theres no review of the music sheet so far by any sifus. So if possible, can you kindly comment on both gau and secret piece. I attached the file to be comment by anyone.

Cheers
welcome~~!!
if you want to improve, always play RIght hand, then play left hand. when both are good, then you can play them togther. is no point if u 1 time play both hand on the first try cause it will slow down your pratise.

manage your time and practise constantly everyday.
if u play 7 times a week X 365=2555 times u practise
if u practise 1 time a week in lesson X 365= you play 365 times per year.
if u draw a graft of tens years, u would be far mooooreee greater XD

anyway, god luck thumbup.gif

Added on April 23, 2008, 3:16 pm
QUOTE(Momotaro Kun @ Apr 23 2008, 01:44 PM)
I totally agree with your point
All of my music teachers are like "okay, from next month I will raise your fees" all of the sudden and I was like blink.gif
I've had few good teachers last time. They really planned a route and set a path for me but all of them left.
I wonder why good teachers always do this  sad.gif they are really hard to come by.
i have a very good teacher so i never experince this thou.

he will take me to workshop like penang, alor star etc etc. if got time, he will take me arond places, all he will call people to give us workshop( he called anne perreau tat day, u dono her, then good luck finding out : here's a tips, she teachers and educate "prodigies").

Anyway, his a very good teacher, somemore next week ask me go down penang and take me kai kai for 1 day and he will discuss wat holds in the future, which college/uni to go in oversea etc etc.

lucky to get such a good teacher icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by icypetals: Apr 23 2008, 03:16 PM
TSicypetals
post Apr 23 2008, 11:13 PM

324 posts

good music teacher? based on luck lol.

I know got 1 place good, Anne Perreau studio. their teacher are all proffesional. but i dont think they will deal with you, they train prodigies, and enter them for audition to get schoolarship to enter oversea university before the age of 13.

but they have the few best/or good teachers in malaysia who all obtain honours(first class upper) from oversea universities.
TSicypetals
post Apr 24 2008, 10:41 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 24 2008, 07:49 AM)
I dont have problem playing left or right hand individually for the moment for all the 4 pages. Playing 2 hand together's progress is a bit slow cuz havent warm up properly due to many years didnt touch, those transition I still have to memorize a bit and timing didnt catch too well, but just a matter of time.

But pedaling.. totally suck at it. lol.. wonder why.. guess I need sometime to get myself back to track anyhow.. brain couldnt handle pedal+ 2 hand playing for the moment.

oh btw, I just download jay's secret MTV.... I noticed he didnt play GE,G,G,G ( opening)... the camera only play him playing GE only... and the guitar part lagi lame...
i think jay played 1-2chords for guitar part in the mtv, so fake XD doh.gif
TSicypetals
post Apr 24 2008, 07:48 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(Kayne @ Apr 24 2008, 05:37 PM)
I am not expert in guitar... but the way he hold the guitar and play...seem like just want to get the gaya only
ya, just for The music video. brows.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0465sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:46 PM