JPJ to crack down on HID and tinting by July 2008, Alert Alert
andyjyneo
Jun 28 2008, 01:18 PM
QUOTE(Snoopie @ Jun 28 2008, 12:15 PM) Cause that time raining and i couldn't see the road and in front the car.. I pull my emergency break and step on the break, it couldn't stop in time.. I knock on him.. He stop and take down my no.plate and drive away.. we both didn't come down.. I went to the police station to lodge a report and the officer told me suspended extra 6month.. Now have to stick wit my P for extra 6month..  Haiya, too bad lah. I believe you learn your lesson already, right?
ron4
Jun 28 2008, 02:22 PM
QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 28 2008, 01:14 PM) Friend, if you read properly the statement in the newspaper link thats been provided, that officer didn't mention about VLT, just percent. He says that if fully tinted=100% tinted. Thats why one of the forummer ask, if his tinted got 68% VLT, will it passed as is more than what the person in the newspaper said (no more than 50%, in other word, less than 50%). sphiroth sorry, can u explain to me a bit more about VLT?. I dont know mine is what % VLT or not, when i go to the tinted shop, they introduced to me a few tinted package. What i remember the package are 40%, 50%, 68%, 75%, and 86%, so i choose 68% for the side and rear window, what i do understand is that more % means person inside feel more cold and less heat from the sun and protect accessories inside also. So what VLT is related to this package actually? Sorry i m confused.
sphiroth
Jun 28 2008, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 28 2008, 02:22 PM) sphiroth sorry, can u explain to me a bit more about VLT?. I dont know mine is what % VLT or not, when i go to the tinted shop, they introduced to me a few tinted package. What i remember the package are 40%, 50%, 68%, 75%, and 86%, so i choose 68% for the side and rear window, what i do understand is that more % means person inside feel more cold and less heat from the sun and protect accessories inside also. So what VLT is related to this package actually? Sorry i m confused. A clear glass has 100% VLT (visible light transmission). The confusion arise when some unprofessional tint shop (usually acc shop) didn't give a proper specification. For example, if they say their tint is 40%, that 40% is for what? If it is 40% VLT, is will not passed JPJ rules as it is less than 50% VLT. If the 40% is the light the tint block (this is an improper spec), the VLT will be 60% (100%-40%=60%) and it will passed JPJ. THe most important factor tp reduce heat is the amount of IR (infra red) and UV (ultraviolet) it blocks. VLT will only make it looks dark.
SUSsharkteef
Jun 28 2008, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 28 2008, 02:41 PM) A clear glass has 100% VLT (visible light transmission). The confusion arise when some unprofessional tint shop (usually acc shop) didn't give a proper specification. For example, if they say their tint is 40%, that 40% is for what? If it is 40% VLT, is will not passed JPJ rules as it is less than 50% VLT. If the 40% is the light the tint block (this is an improper spec), the VLT will be 60% (100%-40%=60%) and it will passed JPJ. THe most important factor tp reduce heat is the amount of IR (infra red) and UV (ultraviolet) it blocks. VLT will only make it looks dark. correction. the important factor is to prepare some small change and loose notes so that you can try to bribe off with something less than 50 bucks. If the officer wan to "kwai lan" with you, he wouldnt care so much and just send u an inspection notice whether your tint is within regulation or not. remember, not all officers have 100% track record on moral conduct.
Duke Red
Jun 28 2008, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(unfaithful @ Jun 26 2008, 02:00 PM) wats the requirement to tint car? as in JPJ and police allow? 35% arh? There is a lot of turmoil in PUSPAKOM now and it's really hard to get anything by them now. My car is yet to pass inspection, pending documents from Putrajaya. I just had an engine transplant and though it's to the same make of engine, I still need to get an official letter of sorts from Putrajaya. All I know is that things are really messed up there now. As for your question on tinting, I believe it's 30%, someone correct me if I'm wrong. In any case they are going to be coming down really hard next month so best to lay low for awhile.
sonic_cd
Jun 28 2008, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(Snoopie @ Jun 28 2008, 10:28 AM) JPJ or police road block?? but recently my Subang Jaya here ss19 got road block at nite and they didnt stop me.. my tinted is 50% only.. consider dark at nite la.. ss 19 ? near the in famous curve there ar ? QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 28 2008, 10:31 AM) Sometimes depends on their mood. My friend was blocked somewhere in KL (forgotten where) by JPJ because big exhaust tip. Luckily JPJ never summon him, but requires him to go for inspection. somehow, i think samban also better then kena inspection
kazasho
Jun 28 2008, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(penyengat @ Jun 28 2008, 09:33 AM) Spotted JPJ roadblock at Sg. Dua,Penang Plus Toll. My tint, 2 layer...dono will kena or x.. mine mayb 40% light penetration  yup, my father also said got at penang also. but tol jalan duta kaw2, got a lot agency involved. QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 28 2008, 01:14 PM) Friend, if you read properly the statement in the newspaper link thats been provided, that officer didn't mention about VLT, just percent. He says that if fully tinted=100% tinted. Thats why one of the forummer ask, if his tinted got 68% VLT, will it passed as is more than what the person in the newspaper said (no more than 50%, in other word, less than 50%). visible light transmision. maybe my father wrong interpret
andyjyneo
Jun 29 2008, 01:27 AM
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jun 28 2008, 04:52 PM) somehow, i think samban also better then kena inspection  Haha, but after inspection, he's going to put back. LOL
sonic_cd
Jun 29 2008, 02:37 AM
 err... i guess the glass needs to be changed ?  it is not tinted btw .
andyjyneo
Jun 29 2008, 02:56 AM
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jun 29 2008, 02:37 AM)  err... i guess the glass needs to be changed ?  it is not tinted btw . Polis kata jangan. Is that privacy glass? How come front also got privacy glass?
sonic_cd
Jun 29 2008, 04:51 AM
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 29 2008, 02:56 AM) Polis kata jangan. Is that privacy glass? How come front also got privacy glass? errr... thats the standard window glass (from factory )
ron4
Jun 29 2008, 01:07 PM
QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 28 2008, 02:41 PM) A clear glass has 100% VLT (visible light transmission). The confusion arise when some unprofessional tint shop (usually acc shop) didn't give a proper specification. For example, if they say their tint is 40%, that 40% is for what? If it is 40% VLT, is will not passed JPJ rules as it is less than 50% VLT. If the 40% is the light the tint block (this is an improper spec), the VLT will be 60% (100%-40%=60%) and it will passed JPJ. THe most important factor tp reduce heat is the amount of IR (infra red) and UV (ultraviolet) it blocks. VLT will only make it looks dark. Ok thank u sphiroth for ur explanation. By the way i was wrong about my % tinted. Here is the right one from the tinted receipt. Front is 59%, Side and Back Windows is 74%.
sphiroth
Jun 29 2008, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 29 2008, 01:07 PM) Ok thank u sphiroth for ur explanation. By the way i was wrong about my % tinted. Here is the right one from the tinted receipt. Front is 59%, Side and Back Windows is 74%. The rules said VLT for front must be higher than 70% and other windows higher than 50%. This means that your tint doesn't comply with JPJ.
ron4
Jun 29 2008, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(sphiroth @ Jun 29 2008, 01:29 PM) The rules said VLT for front must be higher than 70% and other windows higher than 50%. This means that your tint doesn't comply with JPJ.  So i guess i need to remove it back and replace with the JPJ Compliant % at the same tinted shop without any charge maybe.
sphiroth
Jun 29 2008, 01:52 PM
QUOTE(ron4 @ Jun 29 2008, 01:49 PM) So i guess i need to remove it back and replace with the JPJ Compliant % at the same tinted shop without any charge maybe. Mine Front windscreen also don't comply. Only 63% VLT, lower than 70%.
andyjyneo
Jun 29 2008, 05:25 PM
QUOTE(sonic_cd @ Jun 29 2008, 04:51 AM) errr... thats the standard window glass (from factory ) Err, stock window also got so dark ah? Hmm... I guess you've to go and check with Puspakom already.
kazasho
Jun 29 2008, 05:55 PM
waa TKP said tangguh tinted. I'll wait for my father explaination. now outstation
andyjyneo
Jun 29 2008, 06:16 PM
QUOTE(kazasho @ Jun 29 2008, 05:55 PM) waa TKP said tangguh tinted. I'll wait for my father explaination. now outstation TKP? Haha, my car uses low-grade tint. Doesn't really affect me.
dirsly
Jun 29 2008, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 29 2008, 07:16 PM) TKP? Haha, my car uses low-grade tint. Doesn't really affect me. same like me..no worry at all..
kazasho
Jun 29 2008, 10:42 PM
QUOTE(andyjyneo @ Jun 29 2008, 06:16 PM) TKP? Haha, my car uses low-grade tint. Doesn't really affect me. haha. you wait HID rite? lulz.. timbalan ketua pengarah. No 2 in JPJ Malaysia