18 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Noob question about drum

pokgaizai
post May 2 2008, 09:01 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(kari_convention @ May 2 2008, 07:47 PM)
i have EC2 clear on my 12" tom. I think its pretty clear that clear head is for rock and metal because its more bright sounding and coated normally used in jazz because coated produce warmer sound.
ohh ! how about the bass drum? is coated drum head for bass drum produce more boomy sound?
blush.gif
based on the description on evans website really dono how to differentiate...
albarb
post May 2 2008, 11:01 PM

237 posts

for rock and metal..use clear, the sound is more 'cutting through' the loud rock music and its "overtone" sounds nice when u do a roll for rock/metal sound.

coated..the sound quite damp (in a good way). the overtone ringing is short, great for jazz...maybe for warmer sound u can tune down (the clear skin) a bit. but there is no harm using coated for rock.
-Nintedo Wii-
post May 3 2008, 12:34 AM

723 posts

hey anyone tried using clear snare head? that would be pretty cool
pokgaizai
post May 3 2008, 12:48 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(-Nintedo Wii- @ May 3 2008, 12:34 AM)
hey anyone tried using clear snare head? that would be pretty cool
me!
im using weatherking pinstripe for snare....
hmm dono how to explain the characteristics tongue.gif
the overtone very high... i use o-ring to dampen it... hmm.gif

Added on May 4, 2008, 12:49 am
QUOTE(nickoholic @ Apr 28 2008, 06:28 PM)
hey, is any1 going for this competition? My band has applied but not reply yet.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=107&t=680280
my band going also...
playing simple song... tongue.gif
since still beginner...

anyone else?
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pokgaizai: May 4 2008, 12:49 AM
saru88
post May 4 2008, 03:19 AM

Average Joe
822 posts

wish y'all all the best...
sadly my band still damn noob yet...
haha...
-Nintedo Wii-
post May 4 2008, 03:25 PM

723 posts

what song you playing pokigaizai?
Namqul
post May 4 2008, 08:09 PM

790 posts

speaking of heads, anyone using evans hydraulic heads? im thinking of changing all my toms heads, 10,12 n 14. but i dont have experience in this. and i dont know how focused, dry, warm, or bright sounds like. anyone can match the sounding with songs? i tried to look for it but cant find any. haha. and another thing, will the bottom head of the toms will affect the sounding?
pokgaizai
post May 4 2008, 09:12 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(-Nintedo Wii- @ May 4 2008, 03:25 PM)
what song you playing pokigaizai?
maybe bonjovi its my life... still deciding... icon_question.gif
nv tot of winning, but to gain experience... blush.gif
kari_convention
post May 4 2008, 10:57 PM

586 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ May 4 2008, 08:09 PM)
speaking of heads, anyone using evans hydraulic heads? im thinking of changing all my toms heads, 10,12 n 14. but i dont have experience in this. and i dont know how focused, dry, warm, or bright sounds like. anyone can match the sounding with songs? i tried to look for it but cant find any. haha. and another thing, will the bottom head of the toms will affect the sounding?
from my random reading from PDF (Pearl Drummers Forum), Evans Hydraulic is not so favourable by them. Its kinda too boxy or dead sound.

Bottom head (resonant) WILL affect the tone and sound of a drum. Try to find Dave Weckle's old video on how he experimented various tuning on drums.

Hope that helps!
Namqul
post May 4 2008, 11:16 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ May 4 2008, 09:12 PM)
maybe bonjovi its my life... still deciding... icon_question.gif
nv tot of winning, but to gain experience... blush.gif
if your vocalist have the face like bonjovi and his voice and showmanship, sure win 1. you can quote me on this. hehe, anyway, this kind of exposure is very good. hope u do good dude.

QUOTE(kari_convention @ May 4 2008, 10:57 PM)
from my random reading from PDF (Pearl Drummers Forum), Evans Hydraulic is not so favourable by them. Its kinda too boxy or dead sound.

Bottom head (resonant) WILL affect the tone and sound of a drum. Try to find Dave Weckle's old video on how he experimented various tuning on drums.

Hope that helps!
evans hydraulic have short sustain rite? is that what you mean by boxy? most of the time, im playing in my room. so, thats why im considering the sustain thing. i did watch that dave tutorial on youtube. but 2 times already i was dissapointed because it ends just when he want to hit the toms after its being tighten.

kari_convention
post May 5 2008, 08:42 AM

586 posts

yup. i believe thats what they meant by boxy.
Namqul
post May 5 2008, 09:09 PM

790 posts

what kind of heads are usually good for live performance? let say there is no micing on anything and in a moderate size hall
-Nintedo Wii-
post May 5 2008, 11:38 PM

723 posts

Aquarian Texture coated response 2!!! oh man! superskins biggrin.gif

but their expensive though...

other wise pinstripes are known for making beginner kits sounding good! and ambassadors and emporers are always good choices and of course EC2's and G2's....

pokgaizai
post May 6 2008, 09:13 AM

684 posts

anyone played a coated bass drum head?
how it sounds like?
Namqul
post May 8 2008, 09:12 AM

790 posts

ok guyz, i really need some suggestion here. thinking of getting heads of my toms 10, 12 n 14 changed. type of music that i played is generally a bit of everything. some metal, pop, but mostly rock. as u guyz know, im using cheap pdp ez series fusion kit. most of the time, ill be playing in my room. but i might have to bring my own kit for live performance few times.

any suggestions? thanx~

This post has been edited by Namqul: May 8 2008, 09:29 AM
albarb
post May 8 2008, 09:24 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ May 8 2008, 09:12 AM)
ok guyz, i really need some suggestion here. thinking of getting heads of my toms 10, 12 n 14 changed. type of music that i played is generally a bit of everything. some metal, pop, but mostly rock. as u guyz know, im using cheap pdp ez series fusion kit. most of the time, ill be playing in my room. but i might have to bring my own kit few times.

any suggestions? thanx~
dude, my suggestion...used goat skin rclxm9.gif (just kinding). ok seriously, coz u will mostly played in medium size room. used coated. more damp. clear skin is very good for rock but if u only played in a room, the overtone/buzzing from clear skin will vibrate greatly if u r a hard hitting drummer. coated skin can help eliminated this buzzing sound a bit.

since ur kit is a fusion kit, so the size is a bit small...try to used double layer clear skin. good for rock.

just my suggestion.
Namqul
post May 8 2008, 09:30 AM

790 posts

ops, my sentence up there is not quite right, edited the post. anyway, any specific brands and series?
albarb
post May 8 2008, 10:56 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(Namqul @ May 8 2008, 09:30 AM)
ops, my sentence up there is not quite right, edited the post. anyway, any specific brands and series?
try those remo double layer, i forgot which model
pokgaizai
post May 8 2008, 11:26 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(albarb @ May 8 2008, 09:24 AM)
dude, my suggestion...used goat skin  rclxm9.gif (just kinding). ok seriously, coz u will mostly played in medium size room. used coated. more damp. clear skin is very good for rock but if u only played in a room, the overtone/buzzing from clear skin will vibrate greatly if u r a hard hitting drummer. coated skin can help eliminated this buzzing sound a bit.

since ur kit is a fusion kit, so the size is a bit small...try to used double layer clear skin. good for rock.

just my suggestion.
double layer better for fusion kit
how if standard kit..
wats the difference.?

i plan to change skin oso, i wan try change the 12" tom 1st...
albarb
post May 8 2008, 12:01 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(pokgaizai @ May 8 2008, 11:26 AM)
double layer better for fusion kit
how if standard kit..
wats the difference.?

i plan to change skin oso, i wan try change the 12" tom 1st...
this is just my opinion, coz fusion kit, small size ..already got fast attack...so when used coated the overtone will be shorter. so ,rather than used coated better used double layer (totally based on personal opinion, reference from dave weckle kit and for rock sound)

standard kit..mostly rock configuration 12,14,16...sound slightly big, clear skin is great for live performance. from my survey, never saw rock/metal drummer used coated for metal/rock sound yet.
i dont know about the new age rock, maybe those experimental rock/metal used it.

18 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:42 AM