8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Onkyo SR605 + 5.1 Onkyo Speaker system, SenQ selling at 4.8k now...

rx330
post Mar 25 2008, 02:02 PM

11,811 posts

the sensitivity too hi or too lo?
htkaki
post Mar 25 2008, 02:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

the higher the better
rx330
post Mar 25 2008, 04:36 PM

11,811 posts

so my 5w good? or too hi liao?
widget
post Mar 25 2008, 04:52 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 25 2008, 04:36 PM)
so my 5w good? or too hi liao?
I think you copied wrongly liow!

Sensitivity is rated in dB or decibel.
The higher the number, the more sensitive it is.

My Focal is rated at 91 dB, which is considered as highly efficient although some speakers have sensitivity of 95 dB.

My Jamo A102 satellites which I connect to my Onkyo 605 is only rated at 86 dB, which make it less efficient than my Focal.

Of course these numbers are academic only, different manufacturers might use diff. methods in determining their speaker's specs so these numbers are not my 1st priority in choosing the speakers.

It's your wallet and your ears that count tongue.gif
yfyap69
post Mar 25 2008, 05:12 PM

852 posts

I heard there is a new upgrade for the SR605. The new model is SR606 with 4 HDMI. See link attached :

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=13394773
http://www.productwiki.com/onkyo-tx-sr606/
http://www.xtremeplace.com/yabbse/index.php?topic=52616.0
htkaki
post Mar 25 2008, 10:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

You are right, widget.

Mine is rated at 95dB.

So fast that 605 is obsolete. doh.gif
TSmpyw
post Mar 26 2008, 10:11 AM

3,603 posts

they have to move fast if not the 663 will tapau all potential 605 owner....
megatron007
post Mar 26 2008, 11:12 AM

4,000 posts

welcum 663..hehehe laugh.gif
rx330
post Mar 26 2008, 02:20 PM

11,811 posts

widget, we got the same speakers and amps ar? biggrin.gif

the data isnt jamo speaker though
glee719
post Mar 26 2008, 04:30 PM

I don't believe Onkyo makes good speakers at all, on par with other Japanese makes but nothing special (mass-produced crap). Their amplification has been pretty well known for budget systems though (think Integra).

widget
post Mar 26 2008, 05:12 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 26 2008, 02:20 PM)
widget, we got the same speakers and amps ar? biggrin.gif

the data isnt jamo speaker though
The Jamo and Onkyo pairing is good enough for my weekend activity....
I need my daily dosage of music rather than movies, so I concentrate on stereo rather than HT.

U r talking about the dB rating for the Jamo is it?
I copied the data from the pdf file, which can d/l fr Jamo website.
It stated that for Jamo 102, the sensitivity (dB - 2.8V,1m) is at 86 dB.

This post has been edited by widget: Mar 26 2008, 05:13 PM
rx330
post Mar 27 2008, 10:33 AM

11,811 posts

music good ar? wat are ur settings? and ur CD player?
i normally select director pure audio rather than stereo for CD listening

no lar, im just saying the data i posted isnt jamo speakers , tats all biggrin.gif
ALPS2008
post Mar 27 2008, 11:55 AM

349 posts

Hello, good morning to youu all

I am new user here.

I have question on Home Theather

Currently SenQ, Malaysia is selling Home theather promotion
Several type, i am comparing several unit
Marantz SR301 + Rogers (PS5 + RC300MKII _ ASB120) => RM$2999
They also offer me another one not in the promotion:
ONKYO TXSR505 = RM$1199 + Jamo S606HCS3 (without Subwoofer) =RM$1699

I am considering the TXSR605 also...but need to check the price

The Jamo speaker and TXSR605 won award...is it important?

Rogers unit or Jamo speaker...which one better?

rx330
post Mar 27 2008, 12:20 PM

11,811 posts

605 is onky entry level to next gen amp, do u need those next gen things?
ALPS2008
post Mar 27 2008, 12:25 PM

349 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 27 2008, 12:20 PM)
605 is onky entry level to next gen amp, do u need those next gen things?
icon_question.gif

OK...DO YOU THINK THE
RogerS package or Jamo packages(if stick with the TXSR505) which one better
Rogers is manufacturer in Malaysia
I call the distributor Jamos, the lady said Jamo was imported from German...is it True?

rx330
post Mar 27 2008, 12:28 PM

11,811 posts

jamo from german ar? i dunno wor
i think rather than comapre it by branding, might as well u audition it urself
ALPS2008
post Mar 27 2008, 01:25 PM

349 posts

The cabinet of the Rogers speaker made by MDF
I am not sure on Jamo...but the saleman claimed made from solid wood.
I read the Jamo webpage...their similar subwoof also made from MDF...

Solid wood vs MDF...is it important to take into consideration

I have listen both ...i feel the Rogers look good with the their subwoofer for movie....music...ok also
the Jamo set is ok also.......
I worried the Jamo was made from China....which a lot of people claim will have bad QC

I am new to HT....wanna to purchase one unit....my budget ~ 3K
Please help to advise....any model in the market comparable with above Jamo or Rogers unit

Thanks in advance for advise

widget
post Mar 27 2008, 02:01 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Mar 27 2008, 10:33 AM)
music good ar? wat are ur settings? and ur CD player?
i normally select director pure audio rather than stereo for CD listening

no lar, im just saying the data i posted isnt jamo speakers , tats all biggrin.gif
I c....
I thought u're saying the data I posted for the Jamo is wrong laugh.gif

I don't use the Onkyo and Jamo for serious music listening...
The only time I use the Onkyo for music is when I listen to the radio at night and put it on sleep mode... tongue.gif
If I use my hifi set to listen to the radio before I go to bed, normally I wake up in the middle of the night and start searching for the remote to switch of the system.

dirtrun
post Mar 27 2008, 02:40 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Mar 27 2008, 01:25 PM)
The cabinet of the Rogers speaker made by MDF
I am not sure on Jamo...but the saleman claimed made from solid wood.
I read the Jamo webpage...their similar subwoof also made from MDF...

Solid wood vs MDF...is it important to take into consideration

I have listen both ...i feel the Rogers look good with the their subwoofer for movie....music...ok also
the Jamo set is ok also.......
I worried the Jamo was made from China....which a lot of people claim will have bad QC

I am new to HT....wanna to purchase one unit....my budget ~ 3K
Please help to advise....any model in the market comparable with above Jamo or Rogers unit

Thanks in advance for advise

True wood cabinetry for spkrs are rare n very expensive.. usually in de 5fig regions for a pair of floorstanders (at least) .. think sonus or de higher model thiels .. all budget spkrs use mdf, de one u wanna choose is de thicker n sturdier de internal bracin, de better which translates to wt or de heavier de better.. even de outside skin is usually sum cheap stick one stuff, if its real wood veneer itll look much better..

I think u should just go audition wat ur budget allow or maybe look at a pair first wif de rcvr n then add on when u hv de cash..

I oso suggest u look used .. for good spkrs last a long time n a decent used one usually still hv sum life left.. I hv 3 sets of floorstanders which only de frist set is bought new(abt 10yrs ago) n tats becos I didnt know better .. my subsequent systems all hv used spkrs - Tannoy n Paradigms flrstndrs - bought at least 4yrs ago n still going strong..

Cheers
Dirtrun
rx330
post Mar 27 2008, 02:41 PM

11,811 posts

widget, so ur onky and jamo used for wat? movies?

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:20 AM