Work in Public Bank

SUSkevin23
post Mar 14 2008, 12:07 PM

1,803 posts

Anyone know the working hours for PB branch?
SUSkevin23
post Mar 14 2008, 02:25 PM

1,803 posts

If for the tellers in the PB,normally what is the salary range? and the education level?
SUSkevin23
post Mar 14 2008, 02:51 PM

1,803 posts

if i join as management trainee.Am i considered executive? And how long will i have to work before i can get all those bonuses?
SUSkevin23
post Apr 2 2008, 07:41 AM

1,803 posts

I will tell you guys my first day experience as a Mgmt Trainee which was yesterday.
I went to the branch at 8.45am.Was introduced to all the people there.Then the bank started operations at 9 am.I was told i had to train at operations level which is downstairs for 4 weeks and move up to credit for two weeks,after which i will be sent to a training centre located in bangi for 2 weeks.(ok no complaints)

So actually this was not a working kinda job,its more like a study course which you have to learn everything.But instead of paying for the course,now the bank pays you to learn.COOL! rclxms.gif

So i was given a full set of documents to show what i have learnt and have to tick at the box.So i was placed next to a officer at the front of the bank,just behind the tellers.Since he was so busy he could only teach me a little bit of here and there.But he was friendly.So practically,the whole day i spent observing what they did.But wow,seriously there was too much money lying around.Then after the bank closed at 4pm we ordered some food since the bank tellers which is the front line was very good today.See,we have a policy here that every customer must be served within two minutes if not a buzzer will go off and thats when it will be recorded.At the end of the month the BIG boss checks it and if not satisfactory,we all kena lah.I went home around 6pm which is considered early.

As a conclusion,everyone there was friendly and nice.Dont know how long this will last but at least its good.Managers were good but busy.I also managed to apply the Gold card CC.

This post has been edited by kevin23: Apr 2 2008, 07:47 AM
SUSkevin23
post Nov 14 2009, 05:10 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(s0ft_pack @ Oct 9 2009, 10:17 AM)
I'm starting to work as deposit account sales officer in pb on next 2 week. can any1 kindly tell me wat is the job responsibility? i hav no idea wat dis post do. actually i apply for the sales & marketing for loans but dunoe y they give me dis 1.
As a Deposit account sales officer ,you will need to make sure there is a certain number of deposit accounts opened in a month be it Savings account,current account,WISE Accounts and other FD accounts too.

Mind you the target they set for you is ridicolous,the only way you can achieve it is by working REALLY REALLY hard.

If you dont hit the target within 3 months,they will kick you out.No questions asked.

QUOTE(seannxy @ Oct 23 2009, 11:50 AM)
was offered a position as front line officer?
anyone knows what are the duties?
is it similar to the credit department?
Pls dont go into FRONTLINE as an officer.I was once a Senior Operations Officer for PBB but quit after 1.5 years.Pay is high,by work is really the most aweful place to be in .

As a front line officer ,they will give you a certain dept to be in charge of.Senior officers get more important tasks like Current accounts and normal officers will get Saving Accounts .

You will be expected to do the following:

1.Answer stupid phone calls within 3 rings.(The phone calls are almost non-stop oso)
2.Override teller request.Meaning customer wants to withdraw money,you have to override.In fact,anything the teller wants to do,you have to override.
3.Complete you daily reports(TONS OF THEM TO BE DONE).The reports are all damn thick!!!
4.If you r in Current Account dept,you have to confirm all the cheques issued by customer by 11am.Mind you,there would be about 80 customers to call.And each customer would have issued around 5 cheques.So GOOD LUCK in achieving it by 11am.
5.Depending on branch,you would be expected to bring in at least 2 credit card sales each month which sound easy but actually is not considering your damn BUSY during banking hours.
6.If you work in heavy volume branches,YOU can forget about even resting.Customers come in non-stop and if they are angry with something,they just BLAST the first person they meet and thats normally the FRONT LINE officers because the tellers will refer everything to the officer.

QUOTE(TSOM @ Nov 14 2009, 08:38 AM)
Anyone working in PBB?
I need to ask some private questions.
I used to work in PBB.You can ask me.

Lastly,for NEWCOMERS ,you will be FORCED to take part in their ANNUAL DINNER PERFORMANCE where you have to perform a dance in GROUPS in front of TAN SRI.

Ppl who reject will of course get bad marks for their appraisal.

I am not exaggerating all of the above in any way.If you do not trust the above,go ahead and work for them and you will experience what I have already said.

They pay you RM 2800 but your work is worth RM 5000

This post has been edited by kevin23: Nov 14 2009, 05:13 PM
SUSkevin23
post Nov 14 2009, 07:31 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(wenxuan85 @ Nov 14 2009, 05:25 PM)
Ahaha yeah the dinners that you have to attend. Makes the whole thing like a pageant cum wh***house.  If you are pretty then beware of the dato and tan sris.
Oh yeah,thats why alot of guys like to go to PBB annual dinner.

They treat annual dinner like PRAWNSHOW!!

All pretty ladies will be chosen and if are really those "MIANG" type,all those ppl with big titles will go after you such as BSM,Branch Manager,Regional Manager...

Thats why PBB other's name is HAMSAP BANK..

All the Manager there work too long d,weird thing is alot of them still single so they prey on young ,horny newbies ...

Added on November 14, 2009, 7:32 pm
QUOTE(justin85 @ Nov 14 2009, 05:40 PM)
Lol kevin23 seems like ur working exp in PBB is rather unpleasant =\

But nonetheless, I share some of your sentiments. I also once kena the wrath of an SOO ~_~
You were teller or wat?

Added on November 14, 2009, 7:33 pm
QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Nov 14 2009, 05:38 PM)
im goin for an interview this comin thurs....currently they offering sales exec in mortgage,unit trust etc....how isit working as sales exec in PB ?? need some reviews
If you think you can really sell,go ahead.

If not,be prepared for the exit door in 3 months.

Added on November 14, 2009, 7:36 pm
QUOTE(alexcky @ Nov 14 2009, 06:58 PM)
i really hope they allow me to change from sales to credit analyst  whistling.gif
if no choice then hv to reject the interview..
Bro ,credit analyst is bette than sales.

But pls go to other bank for credit analyst.

Just avoid PBB.

PBB is like "HELL's" happy hour..

When you first join,it seems like a damn nice place to be in.

After u work 3 months,then you will see all the demons in there...

This post has been edited by kevin23: Nov 14 2009, 07:36 PM
SUSkevin23
post Nov 15 2009, 03:01 PM

1,803 posts

QUOTE(Sir Adrian Wellesley @ Nov 14 2009, 08:23 PM)
holy smokes...what about the "personal financial executives"? any1 doing this? can share some experience? & what do u do exactly?
PFE is another name for Unit Trust Consultants.

What ur job function is well,of course bring in more UT sales.You are only allowed to sell PB unit trust not PUBLIC MUTUAL ones.

Of course,you have to perform within 3 months if not u r shown the exit door.

And one word of caution,the target they set for you is really really high.

During my tenure in PBB,there were at least 5 ppl who came in ,and either quit or was terminated by PBB due the above reasons.

As a saying goes,It's easy to get into PBB,but it's also easy to be shown the exit.

And for myself,I was a SOO,we also had a special saying.

It goes like this

Becareful with anything you sign ,cause you can simply sign sign sign until you resign!

sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on November 15, 2009, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(ryanliew87 @ Nov 14 2009, 08:21 PM)
actually they provide me 2 position...either credit analyst or sales...for credit u hav to undergo some management program like working in front line...so i need ur advise...btw im a fresh grad with lack of working exp
Yes,actually I think ur is Management Trainee position?

You see,PBB's way of work is typical ChinaMan Bank style.

They seem to hate new technologies that make's life easier.They dont like to see thier employees life easier.They want to make it hard for everyone.

So the way they work is,the more suffering there is,the better.

So for credit analyst,you can expect piles and piles of files on ur table most of the time.

Most banks are moving towards paperless transaction,but for PBB is the other way round.PBB use more and more paper for useless reports,daily server backup in branches ,etc etc.

To be safe but neverending paperwork,go for credit analyst.

If you want to take risk but get big rewards later on,go for sales.

Added on November 15, 2009, 3:09 pm
QUOTE(justin85 @ Nov 14 2009, 08:21 PM)
No coz technically im not based under branch. but then my working place is located in the branch...so anyhow will also deal with those SOO. My encounter can be considered nthg compared to the tellers directly under the SOO +_+
Oh i see,I used to scold the tellers if they are damn slow in executing their jobs.Hahahaha..

But most of the tellers were quite efficient and friendly.

The thing in PBB is,if your rank is higher than the other person,you can order him/her to do anything related to work.

This post has been edited by kevin23: Nov 15 2009, 03:09 PM

0.4896sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:25 PM