Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> throttle body problem

views
     
usus
post Mar 28 2008, 10:33 AM

lalala~~
******
Senior Member
1,144 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Seri Petaling, KL



QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Mar 24 2008, 06:16 PM)
ur car idling will fluctuate..
from 1k to 0.5k and so on..
when idling also will get severe vibration..
when u r cruising, sometimes the rev will drop and rise back in few seconds time, result in short term power loss
*
thanks for the feedback...
the good thing is that no problemo with idling.
But stepper value is 0 always. After cleaning TB & induction box, my car maintains 900rpm no A/C. 300-400rpm on A/C & no fluctuate, fortunately. I'll just attempt clean stepper motor later on see any good results.

QUOTE(maddriver @ Mar 26 2008, 07:56 AM)
1.6, use perdana 4 cylinder throttle body. re-con ones will cost u rm450.00. more power brows.gif
*
perdana one is same with FTO? 63mm?
maddriver
post Mar 28 2008, 11:01 AM

the madman!
******
Senior Member
1,160 posts

Joined: Oct 2006
From: maddriversgarage, where else?


QUOTE(usus @ Mar 28 2008, 01:33 PM)
thanks for the feedback...
the good thing is that no problemo with idling.
But stepper value is 0 always. After cleaning TB & induction box, my car maintains 900rpm no A/C. 300-400rpm on A/C & no fluctuate, fortunately. I'll just attempt clean stepper motor later on see any good results.
perdana one is same with FTO? 63mm?
*
perdana is 60mm.
sqwerk2
post Mar 28 2008, 11:04 AM

The Big One
******
Senior Member
1,799 posts

Joined: Jan 2003



QUOTE(maddriver @ Mar 26 2008, 07:56 AM)
1.6, use perdana 4 cylinder throttle body. re-con ones will cost u rm450.00. more power brows.gif
*
no offence bro, for a TB, i think better spend on a new one rather than a recon one. recon ones already cost that much, might as well spend a lil bit more on a new.
shinjite
post Mar 28 2008, 11:06 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
********
All Stars
18,798 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Klang


New 1 alone will be twice the amount....
EyraYus
post Mar 28 2008, 12:33 PM

sTRe3tHunt3R
*******
Senior Member
2,140 posts

Joined: Feb 2008
From: Gombak Setia



QUOTE(usus @ Mar 28 2008, 10:33 AM)
my car maintains 900rpm no A/C. 300-400rpm on
*
then u might want to use FICD (or FCID?) to stabilize ur car idling when a/c on
sqwerk2
post Mar 28 2008, 12:54 PM

The Big One
******
Senior Member
1,799 posts

Joined: Jan 2003



QUOTE(shinjite @ Mar 28 2008, 11:06 AM)
New 1 alone will be twice the amount....
*
wira new VDO still can get in a range of 600-700.
shinjite
post Mar 28 2008, 02:17 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
********
All Stars
18,798 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Klang


Thats for VDO, not Mitsubishi ones smile.gif
tancc19
post Aug 15 2008, 11:24 AM

Getting Started
**
Junior Member
56 posts

Joined: Nov 2006
QUOTE(triads418 @ Mar 9 2008, 11:29 PM)
my proton wira aeroback 1.5 auto have this problem recently...i start the car for a while then the engine stall
so i went to mechanic and ask him to clean the throttle body, check the air filter...then when he put everything back and tune it with a computer device he said the circuit board in the throttle body going to spoil already...so he advised me to wait until it complete gone then change a new one....

my question is which circuit board he's referring to ? i ask him izzit to throttle body that he clean b4 that...see this picture
http://www.hitachi-hap.com/products/Control_Units/etcu.jpg
or something else bcos i didnt see any circuit board on it

if that's the one i want to know the price range for a reliable/performance brand other than proton...

personally i dun feel like waiting for the thing to die out...so i want to change it asap
*
hi triads418,

I'm driving proton wira1.5 manual year 2000 car. I change the entire new genuine Throttle Body since last week. According the mech in the proton service shop, he said the proton 1st version that have fuel injection function (1998 ~ 2000) proton car always cannot solve the RPM problem. Those 2001 ~ onwards can try to solve by clean and servicing by TB gear kits.

sad.gif i spend Rm980++ for new TB tuning and labour cost.

My problem is RPM drop until 500 if aircorn pump is run. If without air corn pump run the RPM is ok. When RPM drop to 500 whole car shaking like earth quake.

Hope this can forever solve this problem coz my car already almost 8 years and hope can drive another 8 years. But so far the 1st week now my car can feel good thumbup.gif . Still have just abit shaking unsure.gif and plan to change 1 set new mounting to resolve the problem later.
shinjite
post Aug 15 2008, 11:47 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
********
All Stars
18,798 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Klang


Hmmm...he said can't solve the bad idling with air cond on?
Like that we changed to genuine new TB also useless?
MobyDick
post Aug 15 2008, 11:54 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
717 posts

Joined: Jul 2005
From: Petaling Jaya


What I usually recommend for all Proton throttle body '"Earthquake' problem; buy 1no used Toyota air-cond adjustable/ATC, drill & tap a hole at inlet manifold, hook-up the vacuum pipe & problem all solve FOREVER. Can set whatever idling rpm you want.
shinjite
post Aug 15 2008, 12:42 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
********
All Stars
18,798 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Klang


I had installed Toyota FICD, but my rpm still drops when air cond on
the_catacombs
post Aug 15 2008, 01:20 PM

8 stars wooo....
********
Senior Member
10,975 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: disini disana


QUOTE(MobyDick @ Aug 15 2008, 11:54 AM)
What I usually recommend for all Proton throttle body '"Earthquake' problem; buy 1no used Toyota air-cond adjustable/ATC, drill & tap a hole at inlet manifold, hook-up the vacuum pipe & problem all solve FOREVER. Can set whatever idling rpm you want.
*
dun need to drill hole lah... doh.gif
MobyDick
post Aug 15 2008, 03:31 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
717 posts

Joined: Jul 2005
From: Petaling Jaya


QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Aug 15 2008, 01:20 PM)
dun need to drill hole lah... doh.gif
*
Better-lol, after BOCOR-BOCOR rpm too high pulak. biggrin.gif

Klemann C
post Aug 16 2008, 12:34 AM

Casual
***
Junior Member
467 posts

Joined: Feb 2008
From: from da land of dori dori


hi....
i do owned a perdana 16V model & its been 10 year......
now my car got a problem like wat u all mentioned above,
which is throttle body problem, always "earthquake" when da car is idling or halt....
sometimes it even when stalled....
consulted several workshop.....these wat i tried.....

been changed many time those tiny gears which fitted inside TB.....
they're wont last long......then changed whole TB wit recond set.......
after 3 month, problem start to occured......
fedup with same thing.....straightaway get brand new TB from proton.....guess wat?
it costed RM1.2K for a new 1.......after used 1 year.....its back again.... rclxub.gif

then decided to try other workshop,

first thing, they said it was spark plug worn out so changed it....eventually it solved...
after 2-3 month....problem arise again....changed another brand new set plug...
after 2-3 month...same thing again....

went bac that workshop, check again.....detected 1 of the 4 plug cable not working properly....
replaced new set of plug cable.....as it come only whole set not separate....
then thought it was settled down......barely 1 week......same problem again....
but it wasn't that worst till stalled,still drive-able....

now i began noticed, below TB there is area got several electronic cable attached/connect to TB...
that area fully wet with dark oil......is that sign happened to u all proton car?
b4 this it that area are dry not wet...... doh.gif

This post has been edited by Klemann C: Aug 16 2008, 12:35 AM
maddriver
post Aug 16 2008, 07:35 AM

the madman!
******
Senior Member
1,160 posts

Joined: Oct 2006
From: maddriversgarage, where else?


QUOTE(Klemann C @ Aug 16 2008, 03:34 AM)
hi....
i do owned a perdana 16V model & its been 10 year......
now my car got a problem like wat u all mentioned above,
which is throttle body problem, always "earthquake" when da car is idling or halt....
sometimes it even when stalled....
consulted several workshop.....these wat i tried.....

been changed many time those tiny gears which fitted inside TB.....
they're wont last long......then changed whole TB wit recond set.......
after 3 month, problem start to occured......
fedup with same thing.....straightaway get brand new TB from proton.....guess wat?
it costed RM1.2K for a new 1.......after used 1 year.....its back again....  rclxub.gif

then decided to try other workshop,

first thing, they said it was spark plug worn out so changed it....eventually it solved...
after 2-3 month....problem arise again....changed another brand new set plug...
after 2-3 month...same thing again....

went bac that workshop, check again.....detected 1 of the 4 plug cable not working properly....
replaced new set of plug cable.....as it come only whole set not separate....
then thought it was settled down......barely 1 week......same problem again....
but it wasn't that worst till stalled,still drive-able....

now i began noticed, below TB there is area got several electronic cable attached/connect to TB...
that area fully wet with dark oil......is that sign happened to u all proton car?
b4 this it that area are dry not wet...... doh.gif
*
that's a sign that the throttle body spoilt......

Klemann C
post Aug 16 2008, 02:32 PM

Casual
***
Junior Member
467 posts

Joined: Feb 2008
From: from da land of dori dori


QUOTE(maddriver @ Aug 16 2008, 07:35 AM)
that's a sign that the throttle body spoilt......
*
so its that any possibility to fix bac TB witout change whole TB??
coz this TB i juz used not more than 2 year....
Hybz
post Aug 16 2008, 03:10 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
846 posts

Joined: Apr 2008
full service and clean your TB
wch5274
post Aug 16 2008, 06:25 PM

On my way
****
Validating
532 posts

Joined: Nov 2007
how much to do TB cleaning?...
im using waja 1.6 A 2002...
never done TB cleaining since bought...
where i suppose to send my car for cleaning purpose?
MobyDick
post Aug 16 2008, 11:36 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Senior Member
717 posts

Joined: Jul 2005
From: Petaling Jaya


Just make the mods as I've explain 'aboved', cost less than $300, after that non of those fellas with the problem ever come back again.
the_catacombs
post Aug 17 2008, 04:23 AM

8 stars wooo....
********
Senior Member
10,975 posts

Joined: Jan 2003
From: disini disana


QUOTE(Klemann C @ Aug 16 2008, 12:34 AM)
hi....
i do owned a perdana 16V model & its been 10 year......
now my car got a problem like wat u all mentioned above,
which is throttle body problem, always "earthquake" when da car is idling or halt....
sometimes it even when stalled....
consulted several workshop.....these wat i tried.....

been changed many time those tiny gears which fitted inside TB.....
they're wont last long......then changed whole TB wit recond set.......
after 3 month, problem start to occured......
fedup with same thing.....straightaway get brand new TB from proton.....guess wat?
it costed RM1.2K for a new 1.......after used 1 year.....its back again....  rclxub.gif

then decided to try other workshop,

first thing, they said it was spark plug worn out so changed it....eventually it solved...
after 2-3 month....problem arise again....changed another brand new set plug...
after 2-3 month...same thing again....

went bac that workshop, check again.....detected 1 of the 4 plug cable not working properly....
replaced new set of plug cable.....as it come only whole set not separate....
then thought it was settled down......barely 1 week......same problem again....
but it wasn't that worst till stalled,still drive-able....

now i began noticed, below TB there is area got several electronic cable attached/connect to TB...
that area fully wet with dark oil......is that sign happened to u all proton car?
b4 this it that area are dry not wet...... doh.gif

*
thats the ISC cable.... inside ISC is the gears and grease to lubricate it.... mayb the rubber gasket sealing that part KO adi.... grease/oil leaked out, causing wear n tear to the gears....

or another possibility, ISC cable melted due to extreme heat...

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0526sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st September 2019 - 12:38 AM