medical card, need more information about it

carboost
post Nov 18 2013, 09:48 AM

40 posts

Hi all sifu, anyone know which company have best & most affordable medical card?

I have very tight budget..

carboost
post May 29 2014, 08:05 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 28 2014, 10:56 PM)
Because that is the allowable limit. You see, the company understands that sometimes, there is no RM200 room, but there is some RM220 rooms, or RM240 rooms.

Consider it as an allowable limit for the medical card holders. i-M300 can go to RM340 rooms without being charged the increased co-insurance too.

However, the differences of the room has to be paid per night stay, for example you are holding i-M200 room but chooses to stay in RM240 room for 5 nights. You need to pay RM40 x 5 nights = RM200. And your co-insurance remains the same at 10% or max RM500.

If you go over RM249, say, RM280 while holding i-M200 card, your co-insurance will be increased to 20% max RM3000 which is not very nice yeah?
Seem the calculation quite complex... But why still need to paid co-insurance when other company no need?

Could you explain what is the meaning of
"The takaful operator reserves the right to revise the maximum cap for cotakaful by giving at least 30 days prior written notice"

carboost
post May 29 2014, 08:18 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 28 2014, 11:11 PM)
1. Pros for stand alone is that it is cheap.

Cons for stand alone:

a) Lower protection than co-responding medical-ILP as far as I can see
b) The stand alone cards may not be renewable

2. Now, the medical card is generally renewable depending on policy and company

3. Shown below is THE CHEAPEST quotation I could make for your mom, based on her next-age-birthday of 60, non-smoking, healthy without any preexisting condition, minimum basic protection (RM12k for death and TPD just to satisfy the requirement).

Premium: RM3478 p.a
Basic protection (death/TPD): RM12000
Medical card: i-M100 (minimum card to cover the premium cost, but enough to cover the overbearing medical expenses)

4. Your mother probably dont have too much commitment and/or dependents now, but you would probably need to pay for her medical bill as a good child. I commend you for asking for this type of policy.

I'm quite regret to sign up Great Eastern few months ago. Especially when seeing this sentence in the policy.

The Company reserves the right to revise the maximum cap for co-insurance by giving at least 30 days prior written notice.

· Portfolio withdrawal condition - the Company reserves the right to cancel the SM portfolio as a whole if it decides to

I always think is just RM500 maximum of co-insurance and guarantee renewal...

Could any GE agent explain this to me??

I'm thinking to cancel the policy rather then in future GE revise and cancel the medical plan when I need the most. mad.gif

Don't trust GE agents any more, they always try to hide something and divert the topic from client.
carboost
post May 29 2014, 11:50 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 29 2014, 08:58 AM)
1. co-insurance and co-takaful has been part of a number of medical cards (not all) for many years, while recently many medical cards have  removed the co-insurance/takaful requirement, it is important from the company's point of view to keep up with this policy to prevent abuse and to maintain a high annual and overall lifetime limits of the card.

2. With this policy, the company can make sure that the users of the card genuinely need the medical attention, as the company has already paid at least 90% of the bill, is 10% or maximum of RM500 too much for the card users to pay?

It is part of the policy holder's interests too when the company tries to prevent the all-too-happy-users of the card because everyone draws from the same pool of money. Consider the co-insurance as a commitment that the cardholder has to pay because he/she really needs the medical help and not for a good nights stay at the hospital (nowadays hospitals feel like hotel). I am not saying that policy holders without the co-insurance/takaful are abusing their cards, though, only that with a co-insurance/takaful, abuses can be minimized.

3. it all boils down to if you are okay with paying the co-insurance while having this high protection amount:

4. The co-insurance/takaful isn't complex at all. It's 10% of the medical bill, but capped at RM500.

5. The company has the right, just like how many companies (not just insurance) has the right to retroactively make changes in the policy accordingly. But understand that the maximum cap has been at RM500 for years and it has never been increased.

6. I believe GE is the top insurance company for a good reason, and the co-insurance/takaful does not seem to be detrimental to new customers signing with us. Perhaps because there is more to a medical card than just the co-insurance/takaful such as:

a) Annual limit of the card (I think GE is quite high)
b) Overall limit of the card  (I think GE is quite high)
c) Services by agents (as I am trying to do now)
d) A good list of panel hospitals (we are expanding the already long list)
e) Number of days in the ICU (180 days, which is quite high)
Seem all just sales talk...

Other companies all no co-insurance. The annual all just about the same sweat.gif

I should have apply Allianz, no co-insurance and no annual limit... vmad.gif

Now I really frustrated.... mad.gif

How to I cancel the policy and how much can I get back?
carboost
post May 29 2014, 01:21 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 29 2014, 12:48 PM)
GE has launched a new medical card without the co-insurance too actually.  You can ask the agent to change.

How much you can get back? You should check the amount that you have in your savings to find out your surrender value.
No thanks...

New plan mean new charges and mean I need to paid more. Very good sales tectic. vmad.gif

Seem no agent dare to answer to these question... doh.gif

The Company reserves the right to revise the maximum cap for co-insurance by giving at least 30 days prior written notice.
· Portfolio withdrawal condition - the Company reserves the right to cancel the SM portfolio as a whole if it decides to

WTH... GE could just cancel & revise the medical card as they like. I'm not sure how many victims had fall into these trap.

What is the meaning of protection where GE agent keep emphasize? shakehead.gif
carboost
post May 29 2014, 01:31 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(tipsygirl @ May 29 2014, 10:31 AM)
lots to know but somehow my agent is my aunt so yeah she clarify everything to me...so far so good
Just curious, you feel ok if GE cancel you medical card when you need it the most? And don't mind to paid extra co-insurance when they asking? Or your aunt/agent will be paying those unnecessary extra cost which incur by GE? rclxub.gif

If yes, can I be your & your aunt friend? rclxms.gif
carboost
post May 29 2014, 03:16 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(boy18 @ May 29 2014, 02:54 PM)
Hi carboost
1st of all im Simon From Great Eastern.
i will try my best to answer your Question here,if anything wrong u can correct me.
In Malaysia insurance or financial industry,all the plan or package that introduce to the public will be verify by Bank Negara Malaysia(BNM).
- for insurance industry,all the medical card in Malaysia insurance company is almost the similar same because it have to be approve by BNM.
like housing loan or credit card too,is almost the same.

1) for Portfolio withdrawal condition,it almost apply to every insurance company in Malaysia,u can check other insurance company too(Only prudential have the clause for Guarantee Renewal)
-Portfolio withdrawal condition - FOR THIS it mean if COMPANY would like to withdraw the plan it will withdraw from the market and not selling to the public anymore.

2)why have this clause ?because example previously great eastern have many different plan of medical card Example ILHP(IL health protector which limit is around 60k/year lifetime 200k) it already withdrawn from the company as this plan not longer selling(for who already buy it u can still renew it every year as long no lapse/no termination/no finish the annual or life time limit)
i can show u prove if u need for this.so no worry about this.

if any enquiry u can ask free feel to PM me.
call/sms/whatapp me also 0173072095-Simon
Thanks seem GE is just not a good company to get medical insurance. So many unfavourable clauses to clients.

I had friends told me their medical card got terminated by GE, he do pay premium promtly and no lapse.

But in the end, no more medical card for him as he already have diabetes. Sad from him. Trusted GE so long, in the end betrayed by GE.

I should had know his experience earlier... doh.gif

Now in dilema vmad.gif

carboost
post May 29 2014, 03:30 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 29 2014, 03:20 PM)
Have you actually read what Simon said? He said that the company will only withdraw the product from being sold, not pull the rug under your feet and leave you with no insurance. He even said that he can prove it.

At this point I really dont know what your motive anymore. GE is the one of the biggest insurance company for a reason.
What my motive?

I fade up with GE, especially heard my friend story, warn me and show me those clauses. A life example in front of me...

I'm thinking what can I do before is too late??? I don't want to be one of the victim!!! vmad.gif

If that really happen, GE revise and cancel my medical card, I guess the agent had disappear already, else you think he/she will paid for my medical fees?

The main reason I wanna get medical card is to get away from heavy medical fees. Now telling me GE have right to increase the max cap and cancel the medical card, especially when I need it most.

If you in my shoe how would you think?? mad.gif
carboost
post May 29 2014, 03:46 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 29 2014, 03:35 PM)
If I were in your shoe, I would call Simon and ask him because he told anyone who need proof that GE will not cancel, to call him. Instead of making too much noise and disrupting a fine and fair discussion we are all having in this thread.

Your answer is right infront of you, but you don't seem to want to bite. That is all.

edit: I was questioning your motive because Simon above wrote the long explanation about the clause you are making the noise about, you didn't seem to read his explanation yet you quoted him and continued with your banter.
I'm sorry... What is the problem where I'm trying asking question and sharing what I see & told by my friend?

Anyway, thanks seem there is no clear solution for this. All term & condition set by company, same as bank, at the end just mention we didn't read the T&C. But actually the agent keep avoid and hide it.

Thanks for all the trustful explaination and attempted to help.

Just my bad luck listen to the agent and sign with GE. Nothing to be argue anymore, I have enough for this.
carboost
post May 29 2014, 03:54 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(wild_card_my @ May 29 2014, 03:47 PM)
But wait. On that note, which insurance company does not have this term? If I heard correctly, Allianz have remove the clause from their own T&C?
I understand all Insurance and bank all are based on black and white.

If the case, why GE don't remove the clause as Allianz?

I'm a risk advese person. I was wrong... now I rather believe what it written in the contract then just listen without written proof.

This post has been edited by carboost: May 29 2014, 03:56 PM

0.0190sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 01:06 PM