Eye Floaters, Specks & debris INSIDE the eyeballs

TSnormal_user
post Mar 7 2008, 09:11 AM, updated 17y ago

54 posts

Dear All,

I've been suffering from a big floater in my right eye for 3 weeks already. sad.gif
Floaters are objects INSIDE the eyes, which may form shapes like clouds, dots, cobwebs, fibrous strings, ring etc. They comes in variety of sizes and shapes. If you stare long enough to a plain bright sky or wall, u may notice microscopic transluscent objects sticked to your eyes. Everytime you try to focus on it, it seems to follow the direction of your eyes. Those are floaters. Its not infront of the eye, its inside. What makes u see it because the floater has crossed into the line of sight.

I don't care much about the microscopic ones (as those found on my left eye), as they are negligible and my brain can adapt to ignore them easily. But I got a new big floater on my right eye, and the shape is like alphabet C, with cobwebs attached to it.

I went to see 2 eye specialists to check if there is any serious complication (retinal detachment), but I'm relieved that my eyes are healthy. The floater is a complete nuisance, which most eye specialists at hospitals usually advice the patient to adapt and live with it as there is no treatment here in Malaysia. But I know that my floater is big, and its visible during the daylight especially when working. I've got constant headache to, since its distractive to my eyes.

After spending weeks doing research, I discover that in the US, laser treatment is used (apart from the very risky virectomy eye operation) to obliterate the floaters. The laser (called YAG laser) is available in Malaysia, but it is used to treat retinal detachment instead of to treat floaters. I'm dissapointed to learn about that and thinking of forming some kind of an association, to urge the hospital authorities to implement the technology here (perhaps Association of Floaters Sufferers Malaysia). I'm sure there will be hundreds of floater sufferers in Malaysia whose voice are not heard out (and dissapointed after their doctors told them :you got no choice other than to live with it").

Does anybody else has the experience as mine?
Leto Kynes
post Mar 7 2008, 09:35 AM

823 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ Mar 7 2008, 09:11 AM)
Dear All,

I've been suffering from a big floater in my right eye for 3 weeks already. sad.gif
Floaters are objects INSIDE the eyes, which may form shapes like clouds, dots, cobwebs, fibrous strings, ring etc. They comes in variety of sizes and shapes. If you stare long enough to a plain bright sky or wall, u may notice  microscopic transluscent objects sticked to your eyes. Everytime you try to focus on it, it seems to follow the direction of your eyes. Those are floaters. Its not infront of the eye, its inside. What makes u see it because the floater has crossed into the line of sight.

I don't care much about the microscopic ones (as those found on my left eye), as they are negligible and my brain can adapt to ignore them easily. But I got a new big floater on my right eye, and the shape is like alphabet C, with cobwebs attached to it.

I went to see 2 eye specialists to check if there is any serious complication (retinal detachment), but I'm relieved that my eyes are healthy. The floater is a complete nuisance, which most eye specialists at hospitals usually advice the patient to adapt and live with it as there is no treatment here in Malaysia. But I know that my floater is big, and its visible during the daylight especially when working. I've got constant headache to, since its distractive to my eyes.

After spending weeks doing research, I discover that in the US, laser treatment is used (apart from the very risky virectomy eye operation) to obliterate the floaters. The laser (called YAG laser) is available in Malaysia, but it is used to treat retinal detachment instead of to treat floaters. I'm dissapointed to learn about that and thinking of forming some kind of an association, to urge the hospital authorities to implement the technology here (perhaps Association of Floaters Sufferers Malaysia). I'm sure there will be hundreds of floater sufferers in Malaysia whose voice are not heard out (and dissapointed after their doctors told them :you got no choice other than to live with it").

Does anybody else has the experience as mine?
Wow.. I seem to have these things too.. I always see these webs or lines in my vision. When I try to follow the movement then they move with my eye. After a while I found a tactic to look at them, which is to not move your eye and just stare at something else.. keep it in your peripheral vision sweat.gif I dunno, I just like looking at them tongue.gif Maybe I don't mind because they're small and only appear occasionally..

I wouldn't do any treatment unless it was very big (no idea how big your C thing is).. because it really doesn't distract me much but rather it's a good past-time sweat.gif
TSnormal_user
post Mar 7 2008, 04:51 PM

54 posts

How long have you seen them? Do they come in and go away with time?
I'm seriousy hoping that mine will go away after few weeks. But from what I've read from other international forums, some people had annoying floaters during their entire lifetime, without anything done to treat them!
sad.gif

kittykit
post Mar 7 2008, 05:03 PM

23 posts

I've had this floater in my left eye for almost 7 years now. It used to be a bit bigger but after a while, it became really tiny, sometimes it's not even noticeable. I've seen a couple of eye specialists and My they told me not to worry about it. Hopefully one day it will go away!
TSnormal_user
post Mar 7 2008, 05:10 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(kittykit @ Mar 7 2008, 05:03 PM)
I've had this floater in my left eye for almost 7 years now. It used to be a bit bigger but after a while, it became really tiny, sometimes it's not even noticeable. I've seen a couple of eye specialists and My they told me not to worry about it. Hopefully one day it will go away!
I believe your floater is moving from inside area towards the outer area, further from the retina. Thats why it becomes more fader.
As for me, the floater is near the retina, and it looks sharp and big.

Hopefully there is a solution to this floater problem (other than the docs kept telling 'you can live with it').

This post has been edited by normal_user: Mar 7 2008, 05:11 PM
mengsuan
post Mar 7 2008, 05:43 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

Since childhood, I have these floaters. Not visible unless I want to focus at it. I guess I'm adapted to it after so many years.

My vision was never perfect. I was diagnosed to be hyperopia(longsightedness) and astigmatism when I was in Standard 1. Now, one of my eye is hyperopia and one is myopia. Hyperopia+myopia+floaters. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Mar 7 2008, 05:52 PM
Leto Kynes
post Mar 7 2008, 06:20 PM

823 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ Mar 7 2008, 04:51 PM)
How long have you seen them? Do they come in and go away with time?
I'm seriousy hoping that mine will go away after few weeks. But from what I've read from other international forums, some people had annoying floaters during their entire lifetime, without anything done to treat them!
sad.gif
I've been seeing them for a few years.. just never knew what they were sweat.gif
I think they're there all the time, but I don't always notice them. Usually only if I look at bright lights or if I actually TRY to keep looking at them tongue.gif It doesn't really bug me though smile.gif
akira de aimbuster
post Mar 7 2008, 06:25 PM

しごと~
3,500 posts

I tot floaters are actually dust on our eyes ball's surface?
meaj
post Mar 7 2008, 06:30 PM

Superstar
618 posts

Appears in my eyes sometimes when I rub them. Gone in seconds.
Likely to occur as you age I heard.

p/s: TS, try staring at your avatar. It's so irritating (no offense happy.gif ) it might just obliterate the floaters.

This post has been edited by meaj: Mar 7 2008, 06:30 PM
pedro
post Mar 7 2008, 06:34 PM

Certified Broscientist
3,649 posts

Also got one here,looks like 2 dots connected together!

If i stare long enough at something it comes into my line of sight!
mengsuan
post Mar 7 2008, 06:44 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(akira de aimbuster @ Mar 7 2008, 06:25 PM)
I tot floaters are actually dust on our eyes ball's surface?
If floaters are on the surface, we can just use eye-wash.
Floaters are deposits in the eyeball.
lowks
post Mar 7 2008, 07:10 PM

160 posts

The last I found out from my doc, he told me that floaters are actually protein buildup on the cornea.
mengsuan
post Mar 7 2008, 09:55 PM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

From this site, apparently there are product called tear film that can help to reduce floaters symptom. And their diagram shows that floaters are in the eye, not cornea. I think wikipedia says the same too.

This post has been edited by mengsuan: Mar 7 2008, 09:58 PM
SUSSeLrAhC
post Mar 8 2008, 12:27 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

ermmm... not blind spot rite?

it would be nice to have a crosshair floater in my eye '+" then easier 2 play fps... hahahaa... its even better it can glow in the dark...

TSnormal_user
post Mar 14 2008, 08:24 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 7 2008, 05:43 PM)
Since childhood, I have these floaters. Not visible unless I want to focus at it. I guess I'm adapted to it after so many years.

My vision was never perfect. I was diagnosed to be hyperopia(longsightedness) and astigmatism when I was in Standard 1. Now, one of my eye is hyperopia and one is myopia. Hyperopia+myopia+floaters. sweat.gif
How much is your longsightedness power?
Mine is visible all the time. And I'm sick of it.
Does anybody knows if the laser treatment is available in our country?
mengsuan
post Mar 15 2008, 12:45 AM

9W2NNS
10,459 posts

QUOTE(normal_user @ Mar 14 2008, 08:24 PM)
About 150 (in layman's unit).
2kia
post Mar 15 2008, 01:20 AM

Custom member title?
1,985 posts

ahh, i have these as well.. but they seldom appear now.. rather annoying at times..
FamousLastWords
post Mar 15 2008, 02:10 AM

932 posts

use to see those floaters when i was a kid..kept wondering what it was and thought it was kinda cool..lol..but it's gone now..try not to focus on it too much
TSnormal_user
post Mar 16 2008, 04:47 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 15 2008, 12:45 AM)
About 150 (in layman's unit).
Yours are not that bad, they're ok. Mine are 700+.

QUOTE(2kia @ Mar 15 2008, 01:20 AM)
ahh, i have these as well.. but they seldom appear now.. rather annoying at times..
QUOTE(FamousLastWords @ Mar 15 2008, 02:10 AM)
use to see those floaters when i was a kid..kept wondering what it was and thought it was kinda cool..lol..but it's gone now..try not to focus on it too much
How do they look like? hmm.gif

My floater on the right eye is not small in size, and some more its not transparent as the others. When my eyeball moves, it moves as well and its noticable. I've tried hard not to focus, but since its big, its very hard to ignore. Just imagine a mosquito or a fly that always flying around in front of your eyes, and won't go away. The shape and position of the floater is exactly the same as when i discovered it last month. I doubt that it can go away soon. I also found some other sufferers worldwide who had 20-30 years of untreated floaters in their eyes, since their doctors dont have any possible safe treatment to offer. cry.gif

feyhime
post Mar 17 2008, 10:30 AM

257 posts

Oh so that's what's it is. I have them too in both eyes but I don't see them unless if I focus on it. It'll go away once I drop my focus though. But yes, it's very annoying once it's visible in my view.
andromedae
post Aug 3 2008, 11:21 PM

29 posts

i've this problem as well. especially my left hand eye ... thr is afew large and noticeable. annoying and obvious especially when staring at the monitor.
JonSpark
post Aug 4 2008, 06:12 AM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

my mom got this floates (spelling?), went to see specialist but they said kenot be cured, can only cope with it unless very critical, my mom said its very distracting when driving sad.gif im quite worried about this
chocoholic221
post Aug 4 2008, 10:15 PM

155 posts

I think its quite common? I used to think it was some kind of bacteria in my eyeballs lol
andromedae
post Aug 4 2008, 11:59 PM

29 posts

since alot of claim that this cannot be cured, how to prevent it from becoming more seriouss? ?
kikikilly
post Aug 5 2008, 12:39 AM

183 posts

I have a floater in my eye and you get used to it or learn to ignore it..*It may go away it may not* but it dose not bother me its really really easy to ignore( dont ignore it ..you just naturally get used to it which makes it disappear completely)

Yeah well its good to know about YAG ...But im not going to do it..cause it dose not seem to bother me that much..but yeah you should definitly go for it if its for you

This post has been edited by kikikilly: Aug 5 2008, 12:48 AM
aindejeje
post Aug 6 2008, 04:33 PM

EDA MASTER
820 posts

i thought this is normal...
is it so serious?
eyefly
post Aug 29 2008, 11:51 AM

QUOTE(normal_user @ Mar 14 2008, 08:24 PM)
Yes, this laser treatment is available in Malaysia. But only certain types of floaters can the ndYag laser vaporise the floater. Most doctors prefer to be conservative and have the patient learn to live with it.
kennji
post Nov 17 2008, 10:12 AM

381 posts

sorry to bring this up again, but is there any recommended specialist for treating retinal detachment? apparently my father is suffering from this illness which has deteriorated his vision. and now i'm seriously worried...
sandboxz
post Nov 17 2008, 01:20 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(kennji @ Nov 17 2008, 10:12 AM)
sorry to bring this up again, but is there any recommended specialist for treating retinal detachment? apparently my father is suffering from this illness which has deteriorated his vision. and now i'm seriously worried...
Retinal detachment is a medical emergency.
you'll have sudden painless loss of eye sight ! - like a curtain falling down your eye .

Floaters can either be - normal physiological aging process or - warning sign of detachment ( but it'll be suddenly lots and lots of floaters, not 1 or 2 smile.gif )

If you are realllly worried sick,
see an ophthalmologist thumbup.gif
kennji
post Nov 17 2008, 03:49 PM

381 posts

thats why i'm asking, is there any recommended ones to go to? smile.gif
Soxhlet
post Nov 17 2008, 06:00 PM

I have several floaters in both eyes but I only notice them in bright sunlight. When I was small I used to think they are dead bacteria or dust stuck to my cornea. LOL! It doesn't really bother me much, I guess you get used to it after a while. I've heard of the YAG laser treatment but do not know anyone who actually went for it for floaters ... plus it's pretty costly
jialat
post Nov 23 2008, 12:19 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(kennji @ Nov 17 2008, 03:49 PM)
thats why i'm asking, is there any recommended ones to go to? smile.gif
u can try consult Dr Pall Singh in tun hussien onn eye hospital in PJ. he is a very experienced retinal specialist. hope ur dad is alright. take care. wink.gif
klifex
post Nov 23 2008, 02:25 AM

847 posts

well, since you have sudden onset of increase in floater's numbers...
u should find an eye specialist...
u can go to Tun hussein Onn eye specialist hospital , or to any University Hospital (UKM/UM) to check your eyes.
if can be just as simple as mild detachments to severe detachments.
this can be confirm by looking into your eyes using slit Lamp/fundoscope and do an ultrasound.

consider this as an emergency case, dun drag further.

there's various way to treat detachment depends on what kinda of detachment.
in some cases, whereby the detachment is mild, and ballon can be apply to push the retina back. some use oil and vitrous which have different density.
if the retina is completely torned out from the layer, they'll just go in and drain the vitreous fluid out.
TSnormal_user
post Apr 28 2009, 05:01 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(chocoholic221 @ Aug 4 2008, 10:15 PM)
I think its quite common? I used to think it was some kind of bacteria in my eyeballs lol
lol. I had those thoughts too when I was a teen. But when a big floater popped out more than a year ago, its totally distracting. It occupies around 15% of my eyesight, not too far from the center view.

QUOTE(eyefly @ Aug 29 2008, 11:51 AM)
Yes, this laser treatment is available in Malaysia. But only certain types of floaters can the ndYag laser vaporise the floater. Most doctors prefer to be conservative and have the patient learn to live with it.
eyefly, may I know where the laser treatment is available locally? I've been searching for more than a year, but the local doctors said no such technology existed here.

As far as Im concerned, there are only 2 American doctors who are specialists for eye floater laser surgery treatment (each in Virginia & Florida state). Its not a feasible option, since it'll costs me a bomb to go and have treatment there. Their websites are:
www.eyefloaters.com
www.vitreousfloaters.com

This post has been edited by normal_user: Apr 28 2009, 05:04 PM
fearz
post Apr 28 2009, 05:07 PM

326 posts

Wow strong necro thread
I got floaters too but they're just a slight annoyance, like a bug that flies around the vision sometimes. Its a lifetime thing.
Its much more prevalent among myopic/hyperopic people due to the retina.
Not serious unless you get a sudden increase in the number of floaters over a few days.

eLingtk
post May 17 2009, 01:02 PM

I also have this issue recently, mine is in the right eye with a round greyish dote with cobwebs and a thread like as well.
It is highly annoying as u seems to notice it all the time esp when reading or when outdoors.
Evenwhen you are indoors u will be able to see it as long as u looking a a single colored surface.
I went to see 2 specialists and they too told me to live with it as my retina is ok.
They will not understand how that feels as imaging a greyish mosquito like dot keeps buzzing around your right eye vision
its highly distracting and annoying
Help! any people out there have similar experience and managed to reduce it
I am concerned every day that it will get more greyish or bigger or more.
It seems to get slightly bigger
Worse part the specialist say we have no control over it!
advices pls
AlliNeedisGame
post Jun 13 2009, 11:48 PM

35 posts

I think that most of all the people have this floater & flashes sickness
MakNok
post Jun 22 2009, 03:16 PM

5,713 posts

no wonder i cannot wash them away thru eyewashing..

hahaha
tongue.gif

Seriously i also have those as well. and it is really niusance at times but since there is no "economical cure"

might as well live with it.

suprafire
post Jul 3 2009, 04:51 PM

52 posts

Hi, I have a floater in my right eye... I read that it was a vein that was previously used to deliver blood to the eyes when very young and now disused... it is the shape of a crooked vein and is transparent. I find it quite interesting to be able to see it floating around... I guess i am lucky it wasn't huge or black in color!
ohwow_my
post Dec 30 2009, 05:02 PM

28 posts

Sometimes, i feel so frustrated about my eye when I can noticed the floaters in the eye. I had it since Oct 2008 and now almost 14 months. Luckily It doesn't get worse. Where can I find the support group for the Eye Floaters? I just need someone to talk to and someone has this problem just like me. So that we can support each other
penguin113
post May 26 2010, 10:21 AM

59 posts

Since kid, I have these floaters, and visible all the time.
Recently, I see more... start to worry about.
Plan to see doctor... any recommendation?
ohwow_my
post Jun 2 2010, 04:22 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(penguin113 @ May 26 2010, 10:21 AM)
Since kid, I have these floaters, and visible all the time.
Recently, I see more... start to worry about.
Plan to see doctor... any recommendation?
Seriously you have to see the specialist to get advice.
I am used to my problems already.
I hope 1 day the problem just vanished.
yangz
post Jul 26 2010, 04:24 PM

62 posts

I guess this is the nearest solution for anyone who really want their floaters gone badly.

http://www.eyewisevision.com.sg/services_yag.htm
Vision and Eye Health
post Jun 11 2012, 01:56 PM

15 posts

Floaters are part of the natural aging process (called posterior vitreous detachment), and most people will have them. However, it is always good to have the eyes examined to exclude a retinal tear or retinal detachment because the symptoms can be similar. Retinal detachments will need to be surgically repaired in order to prevent permanent blindness.

Posterior vitreous detachment
Retinal detachment
Retinal detachment surgery

This post has been edited by Vision and Eye Health: Jun 11 2012, 01:57 PM
icezkiwi
post Jul 3 2012, 11:09 PM

117 posts

May I ask where can I perform a eye check for floater? And the price roughly will cost how much ?
alanyuppie
post Jul 4 2012, 09:08 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(icezkiwi @ Jul 4 2012, 12:09 AM)
May I ask where can I perform a eye check for floater? And the price roughly will cost how much ?
If you wanna specialist check of "existence" of floaters, it wouldnt be necessary. If the floater is obvious enuff, you'll notice it. If not, you might have barely visible ones but your brain tuned it out .

Only go see eye doc if you notice sudden increase in floaters in which there were much less/none before.

If you're (active) into contact sports ... its good also to check the "reason" behind your floaters . Sometimes people merely had slight retinal tear from past injury causing new floaters but didn't notice it much/often coz it got absorbed back as quick as it move across your field of vision.

btw, I've been having a string/spider-web like floater in my eye for nearly 20 years. learned to live with it.

SUSTham
post Jul 6 2012, 06:21 AM

1,576 posts

Two things I can think of.

1. Serratiopeptidase, or serrapeptase, the silkworm enzyme. Those on sale here
are 5 mg tablets, or 20,000 iu. It was developed by Takeda and marketed as Danzen.

2. N-acetylcarnosine, or NAC, eye drops.

Mostly anectdoctal reports, but serrapeptase has an extremely impressive reputation.

Serrapeptase has long been used by the late Dr Hans Nieper, advocated by the
Life Extension Foundation for this purpose and currently used discreetly by many
nutrition-oriented doctors in the US in fact, for dissolving atherosclerotic plaques
in the heart arteries at doses of 6 to 15 tablets (5 mg) daily.

" As I was taking Serrapeptase for some cysts at the time, I increased the dose
to 160 000 units, hoping it would dissolve the floater. To my amazement, within two
weeks after the accident the floater paled into a completely transparent, almost
invisible structure. "

http://www.iherb.com/product-reviews/Docto...12714/?p=4&sr=5

N-acetylcarnosine eye drops.

http://www.longecity.org/forum/topic/7525-...s-eye-floaters/

"The eye drops are helping. I have floaters but not now I can't find them.
They disappeared."

http://www.smart-drugs.com/Can-C-eyedrops-testimonials.htm

http://www.worldhealth.net/news/senile_cat...ylcarnosine_ey/

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/20408504/

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/m/pubmed/16274259

This post has been edited by Tham: Jul 7 2012, 06:25 PM
SkyHermit
post Aug 19 2014, 06:13 PM

1,799 posts

I have these 3 disease

1) visual snow - where you see everything is like TV static and I see it all the time even when i close my eyes. It is more obvious when it is at night or in a dark room

2) floaters- I realized I had floaters when I was 7 when looking up the sky, but that time I had like only 2 or 3 floaters. Now I am 21 and I have a lot more.

3) Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon - I rarely notice this unless when I look at clear blue sky like he said.

Out of all I think floaters is the most annoying one because my floaters are a lot and quite big as well. I see them most clearly when I am in bright place like white wall. And also cant enjoy outdoor with clear blue skies or beach because I can see a lot more in bright place.

Do any of you have any of these 3 problems? Because if you have floaters chances are you have Vision snow and Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon as well.

I had head injury when I was 2, do you think this is the cause of visual snow? And how do we explain the floaters and this visual snow? What are the causes and is there way to cure it? And could it be related to nerve stuff?

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Aug 19 2014, 06:14 PM
jialat
post Aug 20 2014, 01:57 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 19 2014, 06:13 PM)
I have these 3 disease

1) visual snow - where you see everything is like TV static and I see it all the time even when i close my eyes. It is more obvious when it is at night or in a dark room

2) floaters- I realized I had floaters when I was 7 when looking up the sky, but that time I had like only 2 or 3 floaters. Now I am 21 and I have a lot more.

3) Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon - I rarely notice this unless when I look at clear blue sky like he said.
Out of all I think floaters is the most annoying one because my floaters are a lot and quite big as well. I see them most clearly when I am in bright place like white wall. And also cant enjoy outdoor with clear blue skies or beach because I can see a lot more in bright place.

Do any of you have any of these 3 problems? Because if you have floaters chances are you have Vision snow and Blue Field Entoptic Phenomenon as well.

I had head injury when I was 2, do you think this is the cause of visual snow? And how do we explain the floaters and this visual snow? What are the causes and is there way to cure it? And could it be related to nerve stuff?
Bro, u need to check with a good retinal specialist and get follow up at least once a year to monitor the condition, not all eye specialist is good at treating and monitoring retinal problem. look for retinal surgeon rather than retinal medical, they are different.
SkyHermit
post Aug 21 2014, 11:52 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 20 2014, 01:57 PM)
Bro, u need to check with a good retinal specialist and get follow up at least once a year to monitor the condition, not all eye specialist is good at treating and monitoring retinal problem. look for retinal surgeon rather than retinal medical, they are different.
Is retinal surgeon same as optometrist? where can I find retinal surgeon in KL?
jialat
post Aug 22 2014, 12:04 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 21 2014, 11:52 PM)
Is retinal surgeon same as optometrist? where can I find retinal surgeon in KL?
nope, they are different.

KL i am not sure, if Subang medical center then u should see dr Ula.

http://www.medeguide.com/v-ulagantheran-r-viswanathan
SkyHermit
post Aug 22 2014, 12:40 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2014, 12:04 AM)
nope, they are different.

KL i am not sure, if Subang medical center then u should see dr Ula.

http://www.medeguide.com/v-ulagantheran-r-viswanathan
how much does it cost? will it be expensive?

what if I have medical card will it be free or cheaper?
jialat
post Aug 22 2014, 12:56 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 22 2014, 12:40 AM)
how much does it cost? will it be expensive?

what if I have medical card will it be free or cheaper?
100-200 max. medical card for admission only, rite?
SkyHermit
post Aug 22 2014, 01:12 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Aug 22 2014, 12:56 AM)
100-200 max. medical card for admission only, rite?
I am also not sure. It is AIA medical card that looks like credit card with 16 digits on it, my name, IC and Policy No. If this AIA can waive or reduce the fee then good

If i go to gov hospital do they have this retinal surgeon?

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Aug 22 2014, 01:14 AM
jialat
post Aug 22 2014, 10:34 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 22 2014, 01:12 AM)
I am also not sure. It is AIA medical card that looks like credit card with 16 digits on it, my name, IC and Policy No. If this AIA can waive or reduce the fee then good

If i go to gov hospital do they have this retinal surgeon?
U can go hosp selayang because there are many retinal specialist there but u need referral.
SUSTham
post Aug 25 2014, 05:43 PM

1,576 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Aug 19 2014, 10:13 AM)
I have these 3 disease

Floaters are normal in most people, and tend to come and go.

http://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/what-yo...ye-201306106336

Look at my post above. You could buy some serratiopeptidase
from the pharmacy - Danzen, generics - and take two twice daily
for a start.

One 5 mg tab = 20,000 iu, so four tabs = 80,000 iu.

Haven't you gone to an eye specialist to check out all
your eye problems ?

Visual snow have been linked to migraines, so your head injury
could have caused it.

SkyHermit
post Aug 25 2014, 09:19 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Tham @ Aug 25 2014, 05:43 PM)
Floaters are normal in most people, and tend to come and go.

http://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/what-yo...ye-201306106336
Look at my post above. You could buy some serratiopeptidase
from the pharmacy - Danzen, generics - and take two twice daily
for a start.

One 5 mg tab = 20,000 iu, so four tabs = 80,000 iu.

Haven't you gone to an eye specialist to check out all
your eye problems ?

Visual snow have been linked to migraines, so your head injury
could have caused it.
I cant open that link.

i have been to eye specialist but that time my eyes were red and he just told me to ignore floaters.

i googled serratiopeptidase and is it a pill to be swallowed?

And what is the price like? How long will i see my floaters disappear if i take them daily?

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Aug 25 2014, 09:23 PM
thiny
post Sep 19 2015, 03:48 PM

[quote=Tham,Jul 6 2012, 06:21 AM]

are 5 mg tablets, or 20,000 iu. It was developed by Takeda and marketed as Danzen.

Mostly anectdoctal reports, but serrapeptase has an extremely impressive reputation.

Life Extension Foundation for this purpose and currently used discreetly by many
nutrition-oriented doctors in the US in fact, for dissolving atherosclerotic plaques
to 160 000 units, hoping it would dissolve the floater. To my amazement, within two
weeks after the accident the floater paled into a completely transparent, almost
invisible structure. "

I just got floaters like cobwebs above my left eye with a small patch of cloud near the pupils four days ago.
I have seen eye specialist who confirmed my retina is okay. Got dry eye syndrome. Had cataract surgery done one and
half year ago.

1. I can find serrapeptase and will take the dosage as recommended.

2. Where can I get the NAC eye drops in Malaysia? I cannot find in pharmacies. Please reply soonest.

Thanks a zillion.
jialat
post Sep 24 2015, 11:57 AM

2,364 posts

[quote=thiny,Sep 19 2015, 03:48 PM]
[quote=Tham,Jul 6 2012, 06:21 AM]

invisible structure. "

I just got floaters like cobwebs above my left eye with a small patch of cloud near the pupils four days ago.
I have seen eye specialist who confirmed my retina is okay. Got dry eye syndrome. Had cataract surgery done one and
half year ago.

1. I can find serrapeptase and will take the dosage as recommended.

2. Where can I get the NAC eye drops in Malaysia? I cannot find in pharmacies. Please reply soonest.

Thanks a zillion.

[/quote]

hi, your retina is fine, then did the ophthalmologist mention why you are seeing the cobwebs?
merinyu
post Apr 28 2016, 08:32 AM

23 posts

I think almost everyone of us have floaters. It's just how obvious are the floaters. Mine most probably due to aging and pressure the floaters become more annoying. When we aged, our eyes tend to have difficulty focusing especially when we want to read something on papers or IT devices. Currently I have seen there are two options, live with it or get some treatment. Normally doctors would advice to live with it. Went to Optimax to check my eyes and was informed that the floaters are normal and the doctor said his floaters are even worst than mine.

I have not seen anyone feedback on YAG laser treatment for floaters. The Tun Hussein Onn National Eye Hospital THONEH had been promoting it for quite sometime with introductory price of RM800.
Ramjade
post Apr 28 2016, 10:06 AM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(merinyu @ Apr 28 2016, 08:32 AM)
I think almost everyone of us have floaters. It's just how obvious are the floaters. Mine most probably due to aging and pressure the floaters become more annoying. When we aged, our eyes tend to have difficulty focusing especially when we want to read something on papers or IT devices. Currently I have seen there are two options, live with it or get some treatment. Normally doctors would advice to live with it. Went to Optimax to check my eyes and was informed that the floaters are normal and the doctor said his floaters are even worst than mine.

I have not seen anyone feedback on YAG laser treatment for floaters. The Tun Hussein Onn National Eye Hospital THONEH had been promoting it for quite sometime with introductory price of RM800.
As people mentioned above, use NAC eyedrops to control it. Can supplement with supplemnts like lutein + zeaxanthin/astaxanthin (stronger than lutein + zeaxanthin), fish oil/grape seed to strengthen health of the eye.
jialat
post Apr 28 2016, 12:14 PM

2,364 posts

the first check right immediately when floaters detected, then the one week and one month follow up are very crucial, to rule out any pull of posterior vitreous detachment. nevanac eyedrops 3 times a day will help reduce inflammation before the review.

sudden increase in amount or size of floaters warrant immediate medical attention, best check with a retinal surgeon. if anyone need a referral, can private message me here, the doctors i referred to will also give the patient at least 20% discount on the consultation fee and some examination charges.
incx
post Apr 28 2016, 12:24 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(merinyu @ Apr 28 2016, 08:32 AM)
They have been promoting it but according to some opthalmologists, it's not been proven to be effective. The theory of using laser to blast floaters, gets them into smaller pieces, means more "mini" floaters. hmm.gif
Ramjade
post Apr 28 2016, 12:31 PM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(incx @ Apr 28 2016, 12:24 PM)
They have been promoting it but according to some opthalmologists, it's not been proven to be effective. The theory of using laser to blast floaters, gets them into smaller pieces, means more "mini" floaters. hmm.gif
Surprise that they are not promoting NAC eyedrops. Guess NAC eyedrops are cheaper than laser. laugh.gif

There are lots of research backing NAC eyedrops on ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 28 2016, 12:32 PM
incx
post Apr 28 2016, 12:42 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 28 2016, 12:31 PM)
Surprise that they are not promoting NAC eyedrops. Guess NAC eyedrops are cheaper than laser. laugh.gif

There are lots of research backing NAC eyedrops on ncbi.nlm.nih.gov
Yea, not much promotion with regards to NAC eye drops. Maybe doing lasers get the more $$$ than just selling eye drops. sweat.gif
badai
post May 17 2016, 10:12 AM

998 posts

those who started to have it recently, try to peel and cut onion/shallot. no need to do excessively until your eyes sting. just normal cooking amount once a day or once every 2 days is enough.

those who have longer might see it reduced after some time.
jialat
post May 17 2016, 11:46 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(badai @ May 17 2016, 10:12 AM)
those who started to have it recently, try to peel and cut onion/shallot. no need to do excessively until your eyes sting. just normal cooking amount once a day or once every 2 days is enough.

those who have longer might see it reduced after some time.
how does it help?
Ramjade
post May 17 2016, 12:09 PM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ May 17 2016, 11:46 AM)
how does it help?
Possibly cause it have NAC. When you cut it, the NAC vapours will get into the eyes.
BestCurryLaksa
post May 17 2016, 11:17 PM

Is it normal for a 20-something year old guy to have these eye floaters? I have some floaters and it's even more obvious when I'm staring at a monitor screen with a white background.
badai
post May 18 2016, 02:14 AM

998 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ May 17 2016, 11:46 AM)
how does it help?
ugh... can't you tell this is old wives tales? nobody can prove it, yet it might works for some, or simply a coincidence if it even work.

and do not ever ask back like this when older people tell you something ridiculous like this. it just plain rude to them. just smile and tell yourself they are just plain stupid believing something like this when all the doctors in the world already said there is no cure for it, even with that magic russian eye drop.

jialat
post May 18 2016, 10:20 AM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 17 2016, 12:09 PM)
Possibly cause it have NAC. When you cut it, the NAC vapours will get into the eyes.
Something new to me. Lol

QUOTE(BestCurryLaksa @ May 17 2016, 11:17 PM)
Is it normal for a 20-something year old guy to have these eye floaters? I have some floaters and it's even more obvious when I'm staring at a monitor screen with a white background.
Not common, best consult a retinal specialist.

QUOTE(badai @ May 18 2016, 02:14 AM)
ugh... can't you tell this is old wives tales? nobody can prove it, yet it might works for some, or simply a coincidence if it even work.

and do not ever ask back like this when older people tell you something ridiculous like this. it just plain rude to them. just smile and tell yourself they are just plain stupid believing something like this when all the doctors in the world already said there is no cure for it, even with that magic russian eye drop.
I am eager to learn, lol
romuluz777
post Dec 6 2017, 09:15 AM

2,215 posts

If there is a sudden increase in floaters inside your eye, it could be a Retinal Detachment, which means your retina is starting to peel off !

There could also be sparks of light when you blink.

In this case, please go to see an Opthalmologist URGENTLY !!
A retina detachment is considered a medical emergency and you could go blind in that eye if you dont get it treated as soon as possible.

dharmabums
post Dec 6 2017, 11:32 AM

120 posts

Anyone can recommend me a doctor/hospital for floaters? I want to check if i got detached retina.
jialat
post Dec 6 2017, 04:42 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(dharmabums @ Dec 6 2017, 11:32 AM)
Anyone can recommend me a doctor/hospital for floaters? I want to check if i got detached retina.
Where is your location?
dharmabums
post Dec 8 2017, 09:50 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(jialat @ Dec 6 2017, 04:42 PM)
Where is your location?
Living in PJ but don't mind traveling to KL.
jialat
post Dec 8 2017, 01:41 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(dharmabums @ Dec 8 2017, 09:50 AM)
Living in PJ but don't mind traveling to KL.
Pm sent. Go for the advanced equipments exam with eye specialist explanation.
janicefoo P
post Jul 24 2020, 04:09 PM

Probation

Hi, I'm bringing my dad to perform the cataract surgery (just suspect) , still need to perform the full examination prior to that. Someone has introduce Dr V ulagantheran from subang medical centre, anyone has any experience or review on Dr V ulagantheran?
jialat
post Jul 24 2020, 04:57 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(janicefoo @ Jul 24 2020, 04:09 PM)
Hi, I'm bringing my dad to perform the cataract surgery (just suspect) , still need to perform the full examination prior to that. Someone has introduce Dr V ulagantheran from subang medical centre, anyone has any experience or review on Dr V ulagantheran?
yes, dr Ula is very experienced vitreo-retinal specialist that performs many cataract surgeries. He is good, my cousin went to him for cataract and retinal surgery.
janicefoo P
post Jul 24 2020, 04:59 PM

Probation

QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 24 2020, 04:57 PM)
yes, dr Ula is very experienced vitreo-retinal specialist that performs many cataract surgeries. He is good, my cousin went to him for cataract and retinal surgery.
Many Thanks. Any price reference?
engonaplane
post Jul 24 2020, 05:53 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(janicefoo @ Jul 24 2020, 04:09 PM)
QUOTE(jialat @ Jul 24 2020, 04:57 PM)
I am in the same situation and currently doing research. No insurance so have to really look around. I hope anyone who has gone for the Cataract Removal Surgery in Kuala Lumpur / Selangor with private specialist can provide me some information.

1) What is the recommended hospital or hospital you used for this surgery?

2) How much did the surgery cost per eye?

So far I found Optimax and Vista to be pricey at abt RM6-7k per eye (bladeless) and not allowed to choose a preferred surgeon unless you opt for a premium priced package. ISEC itself got bad reviews in another thread.

Do share the cost for the Dr Ula mentioned above if anyone is aware.
jialat
post Jul 24 2020, 08:20 PM

2,364 posts

QUOTE(engonaplane @ Jul 24 2020, 05:53 PM)
I am in the same situation and currently doing research. No insurance so have to really look around. I hope anyone who has gone for the Cataract Removal Surgery in Kuala Lumpur / Selangor with private specialist can provide me some information.

1) What is the recommended hospital or hospital you used for this surgery?

2) How much did the surgery cost per eye?

So far I found Optimax and Vista to be pricey at abt RM6-7k per eye (bladeless) and not allowed to choose a preferred surgeon unless you opt for a premium priced package. ISEC itself got bad reviews in another thread.

Do share the cost for the Dr Ula mentioned above if anyone is aware.
hi, if SJMC cataract phaco operation then its RM 7000 per eye for monofocal iol implant.

0.0521sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:29 PM