Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

SUSvkeong
post Dec 24 2009, 01:00 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Dec 24 2009, 12:58 PM)
Owh...No wonder la. Btw your Xmas dining list rocks tongue.gif
thanks man, out of the list.. i hope you can give Maria's steak a try.
SUSvkeong
post Dec 24 2009, 01:02 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Dec 24 2009, 01:01 PM)
oh i had the burma road char kuay kak (open at night one)

sedappppppp
whose blog/website did u use for reference during ur makan trip? or friends brought you? i also want to refer when I go back this weekend
SUSvkeong
post Dec 24 2009, 01:06 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Dec 24 2009, 01:05 PM)
my gf is local there la.

so many places to trai, but each place oni is one item nice.

i love the fettes park market (now at mt erskine) punya hokkien mee, the mee is use the wantanmee noddle one. soup very less but flava nais, add pai kut.

Added on December 24, 2009, 1:05 pmthen further down the road got a roadside atap roof stalls, there also quite nais stuff.
oh i didn't know that lol. is gooding to have a penang gf thumbup.gif
SUSvkeong
post Dec 24 2009, 01:10 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

lobak ppl always rekomen Kheng Pin cafe
SUSvkeong
post Dec 24 2009, 01:14 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 24 2009, 01:10 PM)
pity vkeong christmas and new year dining list only got 1 restaurant for penang sad.gif
i out of touch wif Penang very long already.. maybe 2.5 years. now i also need to read ppl's blog to know where to cari makan lulwut
SUSvkeong
post Dec 28 2009, 02:07 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

went to kek seng 2 days ago.. the ais kacang quality seems to drop a little, but the durian ice cream was great. it's like eating a cold durian. the char koay teow was not great though.
SUSvkeong
post Dec 28 2009, 03:19 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

that eel fish ball noodle is good stuff.. something special not commonly found in penang/malaysia yet so undiscovered. i should go back and promote them more
SUSvkeong
post Jan 22 2010, 03:49 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 21 2010, 02:32 PM)
I spend most of my childhood and youth days in Penang. Been to almost most makan stalls in that era. Hokkien Mee in Jelutong Market,Classic Rest.in Komtar, the coffee shop beside the Sony Centre in Perak Road, Koay Teow Th'ng in Argyll Road, roti chanai in Transfer Road and beside Odeon, Sister's Char Koay Teow, Char Koay Teow in Bridge St., Curry Noodle in Jalan Abad, tongue.gif
Ikan bakar in Teluk Tempoyak, Assam Laksa in Air Itam and Balik Pulau, Nasi Kandar in Line Clear or Tamil St.,Chee Cheon fun in New Lane(sin kay),yam rice in Macalister Road etc.etc. tongue.gif
They all are famous Penang fare but if they prepare the same things here in KL they won't work here. Why?because the KL guys will be biased against their favourites in KL. When they take it in Penang they will compliment but if they eat it in KL, that's a different story. KL hawker fare are all muddled up. Try asking Char Koay Teow man in Penang to fry bihun, he will shoo you away. Many years ago they don't even fry mee. Heck! they even have dry (kon low)prawn noodle now.
Here in KL you have people eating prawn noodle with koay teow which is unheard off in Penang. So, it is different here in KL and Penang.Opinions are different.
I say this because after I was laid off, I have been a hawker for the past 6 years and I can see how biased they can be. I have one who wants all 3 types of noodles and yet they complain. There are some regulars(from Penang) that compliments that the taste is authentically Penang and very seldom found here in KL. But these are just the minority. Take Char Koay Teow, Penang's style is lighter in colour but here they insist on darker.

The matter of opinion and taste is personal (it may be biased) and also atmosphere and ambiance must also be taken in consideration. when KL guys are holidaying in Penang, they are in good mood, hungry and also to show that they are connosieurs who knows that 'tempat', even s*** is good to them in Penang. Serve them the same in KL and they will tell you, "aarr! that place, this place is better". doh.gif

This is a personal opinion of mine so sorry to those offended.
are you still a hawker? what's the start up cost?

SUSvkeong
post Feb 17 2010, 11:20 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

share some penang hawker photos. these are the famous ones

SUSvkeong
post Mar 2 2010, 12:25 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(NightShyamalan @ Mar 2 2010, 11:48 AM)
greetings ppl, on the 10th march i will be going to penang with my girl. Its just a small vacation that we planned suddenly. We have never been to penang before. We are taking airasia flight from kl lcct to penang on the 10th march and fly back on 13th march noon. Since 3 days we would be there, i kinda need to know places where i can go in penang. We both love the beach and we wouldlike to stay in some affordable challet that is on the beach. i googled some sites in penang, and i ot to know that i can also go langkawi from penang by ferry. I need some input on this. Should i spend 3 days in penang or go langkawi? Any suggestion is appreciated. thanks alot.
skip langkawi. you won't have time for that. to enjoy langkawi properly i suggest you take a separate 3d2n trip
SUSvkeong
post Mar 2 2010, 04:22 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(NightShyamalan @ Mar 2 2010, 04:12 PM)
guys guys, thanks for the comments .. give me some useful info ler... if u say that i should spend it in penang... where to go in penang ... for a challet by the beach.... abit affodable price la... any recommendation? where to lepak and all... thanks.
batu feringghi beach
cheong fat tze mansion
butterfly farm
khoo kongsi
air itam kek lok si, dam
the buddhist temple at burmah road
eat, eat, eat
SUSvkeong
post Mar 2 2010, 04:51 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

sunway hotel
SUSvkeong
post Mar 2 2010, 05:49 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

you guys are making it sound very expensive to stay in Penang lol.
SUSvkeong
post Mar 4 2010, 12:54 AM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

spoon feeder detected
SUSvkeong
post Mar 4 2010, 05:01 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

star view is at new world park meh?
SUSvkeong
post Mar 4 2010, 05:13 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

oh, so it's no longer next to tune hotel there?

really in NWP liao: http://www.lingzie.com/2008/10/14/starview...ld-park-penang/

This post has been edited by vkeong: Mar 4 2010, 05:19 PM
SUSvkeong
post Mar 7 2010, 12:32 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

Gurney Drive is only 10-15 min drive away from George Town. If not jam lah

any hidden gems in Penang in terms of food?
SUSvkeong
post Mar 7 2010, 07:15 PM

47 yr old unker
2,614 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 7 2010, 12:59 PM)
lebuh clarke ah boy kuay teow thng  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
there's another one.. 2288 beef koay teow

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0179sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:02 AM