Travel Penang, Accomodations, Attractions & Guides

kirakun
post Feb 18 2019, 09:37 AM

696 posts

Actually there are a few around rm200 per night, shortlisted a few, Hotel Royal Penang, Citidel Penang, The Chambers Hotel, The Northam All Suites Penang and Berjaya Penang Hotel.

Anyone stayed at above listed hotels before?

Will be renting a car to travel around so transport is not an issue but free parking is a must lol.
yoonyin
post Feb 18 2019, 10:00 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Feb 18 2019, 09:37 AM)
Actually there are a few around rm200 per night, shortlisted a few, Hotel Royal Penang, Citidel Penang, The Chambers Hotel, The Northam All Suites Penang and Berjaya Penang Hotel.

Anyone stayed at above listed hotels before?

Will be renting a car to travel around so transport is not an issue but free parking is a must lol.
I stayed at Citidel Penang & The Northam All Suites Penang, Berjaya Penang Hotel before, but is long way back ago. Citidel Penang is easier to access to public bus transport, room is clean and standard 1, nothing fancy. Berjaya Penang hotel was quite okay too, walking distance to Gurney Driver for shopping, below the hotel is somekind of shoplot too. Northam All Suites, location wise is a no-no, hard to access to anywhere.

But all these hotels are quite aged already. If you prefer newly build and budget. Go for The Southern Boutique Hotel, near to Cititel Penang.

This post has been edited by yoonyin: Feb 18 2019, 10:01 AM
kirakun
post Feb 18 2019, 11:16 AM

696 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Feb 18 2019, 10:00 AM)
I stayed at Citidel Penang & The Northam All Suites Penang, Berjaya Penang Hotel before, but is long way back ago. Citidel Penang is easier to access to public bus transport, room is clean and standard 1, nothing fancy. Berjaya Penang hotel was quite okay too, walking distance to Gurney Driver for shopping, below the hotel is somekind of shoplot too. Northam All Suites, location wise is a no-no, hard to access to anywhere.

But all these hotels are quite aged already. If you prefer newly build and budget. Go for The Southern Boutique Hotel, near to Cititel Penang.
Thanks for the review and yea the those hotels are kind of 'aged' but rooms are spacious and breakfast is inclusive which is a plus point.

Did look into southern boutique hotel however the room size is a lot smaller for a 4* hotel so feel not that worth it.
yoonyin
post Feb 18 2019, 11:49 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(kirakun @ Feb 18 2019, 11:16 AM)
Thanks for the review and yea the those hotels are kind of 'aged' but rooms are spacious and breakfast is inclusive which is a plus point.

Did look into southern boutique hotel however the room size is a lot smaller for a 4* hotel so feel not that worth it.
For me i will opt out the Breakfast, because Penang is a food paradise, prefer eating locally at kopitiam! Here a few more hotels for you to choose, all are newly open under your budget.
1. Victoria Garden Hotel
2. Ropewalk Piazza Hotel
3. Travelodge Georgetown - kinda refurbish few years back

This post has been edited by yoonyin: Feb 18 2019, 11:52 AM
Alancx5
post Mar 14 2019, 09:38 AM

Dear explorers,
can anyone recommend me a good hotel with car park? Most importantly, a hotel room with good sound insulation. I don't wish to hear sound from the next rooms. I'm traveling with a baby, i hope i don't annoy the neighbours too.

Location is secondary as i love driving around.

Budgets rm300 to 400

Also, please recommend me place to visit and famous must-try local food. Thank you.

This post has been edited by Alancx5: Mar 14 2019, 09:50 AM
Orchid beauty
post Jun 4 2019, 06:54 AM

234 posts

Planning for 3days 2night.

Depart from KL. Is bus or train more convenient?

Which area should I stay if I want to be walking distance to murals , kek Lok si, street food , heritage site ? Must cover famous ho chiak food also hahaha.

Is public transport there reliable?
yahiko
post Jun 4 2019, 11:23 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(Orchid beauty @ Jun 4 2019, 06:54 AM)

<-- if for townarea use train~ take ferry and you will reach town directly~ use grab to go to your hotel.

Which area should I stay if I want to be walking distance to murals , kek Lok si, street food , heritage site ? Must cover famous ho chiak food also hahaha.
<-- mural / heritage site/ ho chiak food <-- near jetty
ke lok si is far away.

<-- alot of CAT free shuttle bus but you need to look at the timing.. else just use grab~
juniorkeat
post Jun 7 2019, 05:42 PM

50 posts

Is you use ETS, you will stop at butterworth, then you have take ferry to island..
Public transport sometimes no on time...
Grab car is super convenient that can bring you georgetown area with affordable price..

MUST TRY PENANG ROAD CENDOL...
You will see long q there...
the7signals
post Jun 7 2019, 06:12 PM

585 posts

QUOTE(Orchid beauty @ Jun 4 2019, 11:54 AM)

I took bus as bus stopped at sg nibong (penang island) bus station.

Went there a few months ago. Within georgetown city radius, i eiher walk or took grab to move around...each trip is around RM5, other than this i took the CAT bus to go round georgetown city.

Many nice food in penang. I like their hokien prawn mee.
Orchid beauty
post Jun 12 2019, 07:05 AM

234 posts

Thank you very much for the above replies.

Any places to avoid which is of tourist trap ?

Is it worth to go Batu feringgi by public transport?
yahiko
post Jun 12 2019, 01:17 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(Orchid beauty @ Jun 12 2019, 07:05 AM)
Thank you very much for the above replies.

Any places to avoid which is of tourist trap ?

Is it worth to go Batu feringgi by public transport?
feringgi = tourist trap unless u stay in the hotel to use the beaches else nothing much to do there.

there is escape park and butterflies farm for activities
Orchid beauty
post Jun 16 2019, 09:47 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Jun 12 2019, 01:17 PM)
feringgi = tourist trap unless u stay in the hotel to use the beaches else nothing much to do there.

there is escape park and butterflies farm for activities
Orh ok. Noted. Can the beach comparable with Langkawi?

And do you know which dim sum is cheap and famous in Georgetown area. I think I narrow down my plan to do in Penang. Focus on eating and explore by public transport to places easily accessible.
Michael_Light
post Jun 18 2019, 08:15 PM

473 posts

Why ETS? Flight is cheaper than ETS.. i going penang this coming July.. my two way flight ticket cost me less than RM100.
cocoberry
post Jun 23 2019, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(Michael_Light @ Jun 18 2019, 08:15 PM)
Why ETS? Flight is cheaper than ETS.. i going penang this coming July.. my two way flight ticket cost me less than RM100.
The price of flight tix is cheap..but the transport to go to airport is quite expensive though
hafizhans
post Jul 19 2019, 09:50 PM

haa..ahnn..ahnn..aduii
1,484 posts

any recommendation for rent car? how bout socar in penang, ok?
Belphegor
post Jul 22 2019, 10:08 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

QUOTE(cocoberry @ Jun 23 2019, 09:04 PM)
The price of flight tix is cheap..but the transport to go to airport is quite expensive though
Give and take lo, u don't need to spend so long hours in train rides. For penang side only takes about RM20-RM40 to get you out of airport. Else you can always opt for SoCar.
winter1941
post Jul 25 2019, 02:18 PM

44 posts

how's the weather in penang recently?
achong09
post Aug 14 2019, 09:25 AM

1,266 posts

i will be going to penang with my family ( incl mom and dad both almost 80 yrs) and its been edges since we all been to penang probably 10 - 20 yrs ago this school holiday week.... was wandering where to stay for family of 8 incl kids? I checked out some hotels cant probably fit us all in 1 room need 2 to 3 rooms which is quite costsly...

Some ppl mention to look at options of homestay or service apt? was wandering is it safe and clean?? my old parents very particualar about cleaniness and safetly and dont want to dissapoint them.

any suggesstions?

WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 14 2019, 09:46 AM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

airbnb can get whole house/apartment/bangalow depending on your budget
achong09
post Aug 14 2019, 09:56 AM

1,266 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Aug 14 2019, 09:46 AM)
airbnb can get whole house/apartment/bangalow depending on your budget
Budget not an issue.. most important is safe and clean... dont want those low beh / low yah kind of airBNB....

142 Pages « < 138 139 140 141 142 >Top

0.0201sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:22 AM