132 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

chinese ed gf vs english ed gf, let the debates begin lulz

debbieyss
post Apr 11 2009, 11:01 PM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 11 2009, 10:55 PM)
Being better in english dont make one an english ed. language is seldom the factor. its the attitude and general pandangan that separates english and chinese ed students. Exposure plays a part too in the form of media choices.
hmm....

Logically, those who are open-minded would not cease to improve themselves to become better, thus one who willing to pick up a new language is normally an out-spoken, out-going and optimistic in life, just as those from real english educated background people.

Just my simple thoughts. smile.gif
Kampung2005
post Apr 11 2009, 11:02 PM

Proudly Kampungite, will always be one.
3,028 posts

More than just education...

It is also about what you read....
teongpeng
post Apr 11 2009, 11:32 PM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 11 2009, 11:01 PM)
hmm....

Logically, those who are open-minded would not cease to improve themselves to become better, thus one who willing to pick up a new language is normally an out-spoken, out-going and optimistic in life, just as those from real english educated background people.

Just my simple thoughts.  smile.gif

Not necessarily, open mindedness and the drive to improve oneself is not related. One can be open minded and carefree. One can also be closed minded and strive hard to improve himself. In fact i think this is more correct than the example u gave.

There are many reasons why ppl pick up new languages. for work, for fun etc...
You say that ppl with english ed backgrounds or ppl who are open minded tend to know more languages. I say the opposite is true. I think if u compare above average students in both english ed and chinese ed (generally la), u will realize that chinese ed students can speak 1 language more than english ed. Mandarin. In addition to that their affinity with hongkong movies also make them fluent in cantonese. Occasional brush with korean and japanese movie/culture will also allow them to pick up korean and japanese (sikit sikit la).
It is however unlikely that english ed will be able to speak western foreign western language like italian or french or spanish.

So, no....language is not a factor in an english ed VS chinese ed topic. especially when it comes to girls. how many languages can english ed girls speak really? most look down on their mandarin speaking peers anyway.

P/S even though i disagree with your simple thoughts, i still think they are cool icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by teongpeng: Apr 12 2009, 12:04 AM
Michael4711
post Apr 11 2009, 11:53 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 11 2009, 10:31 PM)
I see, it seems you went through the hard times.

I didn't go anywhere better than you. It's just a coincident that my english teacher was a church-goer and having english services, I asked her to bring me there. I was in FORM 4 that time. I was so lost, being all alone, no friends, no one knew me and most importantly, I didn't get what the pastor was preaching, not at all...  laugh.gif  Anyhow, I told myself to be bold and more outspoken, mingled around with the members there, every moment they talked to me was the precious chance I trained up myself. In the mean, ya, as what you did, read lots of english books, movies, news (although didn't understand at all  laugh.gif ), sometimes I looked out the dictionaries for over 20 vocabs in a single page of the novel  laugh.gif

Well, I have much to go, I know. All the best to you.  wink.gif
we all had our hard times but i'm glad that we made it through the storm. i do believe that family upbringing and the environment play a vital role in building up good English. my family and most of my friends don't speak English. thus, i did not have the privilege to experience both.

when opportunity does not present itself, just take the initiative, reach out and grab it. i got acquainted with a few English ed friends and always tried to speak to them whenever possible. and remember, embarrassment comes hand in hand with improvement smile.gif , you can never single it out (at least not for my case) and as far as improvement is concerned, i'm just like you, still have a loooong way to go.

oopss.. think i'm straying off topic, past experiences have nothing to do with the topic smile.gif . well, all the best to you too.
and you are a christian i presume? i am one too smile.gif nice meeting you my fellow believer.
debbieyss
post Apr 11 2009, 11:58 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Michael4711 @ Apr 11 2009, 11:53 PM)
we all had our hard times but i'm glad that we made it through the storm. i do believe that family upbringing and the environment play a vital role in building up good English. my family and most of my friends don't speak English. thus, i did not have the privilege to experience both.

when opportunity does not present itself, just take the initiative, reach out and grab it. i got acquainted with a few English ed friends and always tried to speak to them whenever possible. and remember, embarrassment comes hand in hand with improvement  smile.gif , you can never single it out (at least not for my case) and as far as improvement is concerned, i'm just like you, still have a loooong way to go.

oopss.. think i'm straying off topic, past experiences have nothing to do with the topic  smile.gif . well, all the best to you too.
and you are a christian i presume? i am one too smile.gif  nice meeting you my fellow believer.
oh yes, we have strayed far away from the topic.

Yeah, my cousins (father's side) are english ed. and they are well versed in english. I hope to be like them one day, being with them for so many years, now i can finally text them in english, I'm glad to be where i am now.

Anyway, if there's a chance for me to choose, I would choose someone who is well versed in english, despite he is chinese or english ed.

p.s: oh yes, i'm a christian. Nice knowing you, too. All the best.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Apr 11 2009, 11:58 PM
Michael4711
post Apr 12 2009, 12:34 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 11 2009, 11:58 PM)
oh yes, we have strayed far away from the topic.

and whose fault is it? blink.gif

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 11 2009, 11:58 PM)
Anyway, if there's a chance for me to choose, I would choose someone who is well versed in english, despite he is chinese or english ed.

choose someone who loves you for you.

someone said and i quote - you come to love not by finding the perfert person, but by seeing an imperfect person perfectly.

yea i know 2000 miles off the topic smile.gif
debbieyss
post Apr 12 2009, 12:38 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Michael4711 @ Apr 12 2009, 12:34 AM)
and whose fault is it? blink.gif
choose someone who loves you for you.

someone said and i quote - you come to love not by finding the perfert person, but by seeing an imperfect person perfectly.

yea i know 2000 miles off the topic smile.gif
my fault, i think tongue.gif

yes i get what you mean.

When the love comes, all your targets are no longer important to you.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Apr 12 2009, 01:00 AM
lovelyduckling
post Apr 12 2009, 12:48 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 11 2009, 10:31 PM)
I see, it seems you went through the hard times.

I didn't go anywhere better than you. It's just a coincident that my english teacher was a church-goer and having english services, I asked her to bring me there. I was in FORM 4 that time. I was so lost, being all alone, no friends, no one knew me and most importantly, I didn't get what the pastor was preaching, not at all...  laugh.gif  Anyhow, I told myself to be bold and more outspoken, mingled around with the members there, every moment they talked to me was the precious chance I trained up myself. In the mean, ya, as what you did, read lots of english books, movies, news (although didn't understand at all  laugh.gif ), sometimes I looked out the dictionaries for over 20 vocabs in a single page of the novel  laugh.gif

Well, I have much to go, I know. All the best to you.  wink.gif
I am Chinese educated.However I was sent to English tuition classes since kid by my parents yet I still couldn't write and speak well with confidence.
The turning point was,when I was in Form4.There was a group of guys who were proficient in English around me.I wanted to be like them(they were cool LOL they read National Geographic,TIMES,Newsweek etc etc),that was also when I realised the importance to brush up my English.
I forced myself to read,starting from those teenage novels and newspapers.While doing so,I scribbled down the words I didn't understand and checked them with my Oxford dictionary later.Once I have computer and internet at home,I read the message boards.Posting on online forums,blogging and chatting with native English speakers help A LOT.
But I think the most important thing is that u must love this language.Then its going to be easy because a lot of my friends who are poor in English because(from the very beginning)they are against it and they are not willing to put in efforts to improve it

This post has been edited by lovelyduckling: Apr 12 2009, 12:51 AM
teongpeng
post Apr 12 2009, 12:58 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Apr 12 2009, 12:48 AM)
I am Chinese educated.However I was sent to English tuition classes since kid by my parents yet I still couldn't write and speak well with confidence.
The turning point was,when I was in Form4.There was a group of guys who were proficient in English around me.I wanted to be like them(they were cool LOL they read National Geographic,TIMES,Newsweek etc etc),that was also when I realised the importance to brush up my English.
I forced myself to read,starting from those teenage novels and newspapers.While doing so,I scribbled down the words I didn't understand and checked them with my Oxford dictionary later.Once I have computer and internet at home,I read the message boards.Posting on online forums,blogging and chatting with native English speakers help A LOT.
But I think the most important thing is that u must love this language.Then its going to be easy because a lot of my friends who are poor in English because(from the very beginning)they are against it and they are not willing to put in efforts to improve it

And whats this gotta do with the difference between english ed or chinese ed girls?

debbieyss
post Apr 12 2009, 12:59 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Apr 12 2009, 12:48 AM)
oh well, gals, no worries. The best thing is you have begun a good start.

Keep it up and I'm sure it will get you to where you want to be. smile.gif
teongpeng
post Apr 12 2009, 01:01 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(debbieyss @ Apr 12 2009, 12:59 AM)
oh well, gals, no worries. The best thing is you have begun a good start.

Keep it up and I'm sure it will get you to where you want to be.  smile.gif
And welcome to Debbieyss English Motivational class.
lovelyduckling
post Apr 12 2009, 01:02 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 12 2009, 12:58 AM)
And whats this gotta do with the difference between english ed or chinese ed girls?
I just feel like sharing my experience *talktohand*

@debbieyss : u too !!!

debbieyss
post Apr 12 2009, 01:02 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 12 2009, 01:01 AM)
there's much for me to improve....
lovelyduckling
post Apr 12 2009, 01:03 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 12 2009, 01:01 AM)
Feeling inadequate for being indoor and alone on a Saturday night,huh?
teongpeng
post Apr 12 2009, 01:05 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Apr 12 2009, 01:03 AM)
Feeling inadequate for being indoor and alone on a Saturday night,huh?

Um...and where are u again?

lovelyduckling
post Apr 12 2009, 01:06 AM

96 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 12 2009, 01:05 AM)
Um...and where are u again?
exhanging posts with a bitter loser like u...well,I guess I ain't doing any better tongue.gif
SUSDeadlocks
post Apr 12 2009, 01:08 AM

n00b
943 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Apr 12 2009, 01:06 AM)
exhanging posts with a bitter loser like u...well,I guess I ain't doing any better tongue.gif
Pffft. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Deadlocks: Apr 12 2009, 01:11 AM
teongpeng
post Apr 12 2009, 01:09 AM

Justified and Ancient
2,003 posts

QUOTE(lovelyduckling @ Apr 12 2009, 01:06 AM)

Sigh, its funny how negative ppl can be about themselves. im not a loser, sorry that u think u are. let me guess....you're chinese ed? ahh i get it...

SUSDeadlocks
post Apr 12 2009, 01:10 AM

n00b
943 posts

QUOTE(teongpeng @ Apr 12 2009, 01:09 AM)
Sigh, its funny how negative ppl can be about themselves. im not a loser, sorry that u think u are. let me guess....you're chinese ed?  ahh i get it...
Stop.

Now.

You're making it worse.

This post has been edited by Deadlocks: Apr 12 2009, 01:10 AM
Michael4711
post Apr 12 2009, 01:11 AM

68 posts

guys keep it down will ya? try not to get on anybody's nerve by lashing out provocative statements. happy easter day.

132 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0166sec    1.07    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:58 PM