INTEL P4/PM 478/479 THREAD, >>V6<<,, The Journey Continues Here!

barry80
post Feb 27 2008, 12:09 AM

490 posts

gosh! it reached v6 already shocking.gif just got my old s478 a final "upgrade" b4 the chinese new year. mobo changed to msi 865pe-p platinum; stock cooling changed to gigabyte g-power(reapply arctic cooling MX-2 thermal paste); 1.5G ram to 2G; chieftec 310w pure psu changed to silverstone st50f; cap ayam casing to CM690(4 X coolermaster sleeve bearing 12cm fans + 1 vantec double ball bearing 12cm fan); coolermaster CCFL X 2 & the rest remain the same as my xfire sig. but still, the temperature of the prescott aka "preshot" only manage to bring down 10C'+ doh.gif

barry80
post Feb 27 2008, 11:40 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Feb 27 2008, 09:20 PM)
@kahloon,your X1950pro really a great card.No need to o/c playing games at stock speed can feel the power already. By right now you are the king here in GC as your card is the strongest among all.
lol TS, u forgot there actually got 2 S478 user is currently using X1950pro. 1 is kahloon for his legendary HIS ati agp & the other 1 is...me, on powercolor laugh.gif but i agree with u, kahloon still the king for his HIS tongue.gif

QUOTE(kabukiawie @ Feb 27 2008, 11:08 PM)
after 3 years, i would get 1950pro or 3xxx agp version la... haha... cheap also that time.
yeah, at that time we can all upgrade to 3xxx agp liao tongue.gif who know those ati partner won't come out new series of 5xxx; 6xxx; 8xxx; 9xxx; Xxxx in agp. by that time, our S478 still survive kah ? sweat.gif
barry80
post Feb 28 2008, 02:04 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Feb 28 2008, 08:50 AM)
@barry80,your list haven't up to date yet. The list is showing you on 9600pro. Now already change to X1950 pro??
Yeah, just check back the list, i missed out another X1950pro user = choongkeat with his Sapphire 512mb somemore. If my memory serve me well, he bought his Sapphire at SG. & i just check Bell price list, they still got X1950pro agp for sell. Since there got 3 S478 users on X1950pro, why not someone make a quantum leap for the very first S478 user to own a ati 3xxx agp ? Maybe just maybe a nvidia 9xxx agp lol

barry80
post Apr 8 2008, 02:26 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(fylon @ Apr 7 2008, 11:28 PM)
@Redundant
Yea.. Cant wait for the new SP3 release. And i had ready the -virgin- SP2 XP for nliting it. brows.gif
is a long wait for the official release of SP3. u can try the pre-release SP3(5508 build) & our s478 machine still can handle it smoothly even i have 76 processes biggrin.gif

barry80
post Apr 24 2008, 11:05 PM

490 posts

yeah, got any different between the final 5512 & the pre-release 5508? cuz i'm using the 5508 now. if nth different, i'll stick with the current 1. lazy to reinstall again lol...
barry80
post May 2 2008, 10:58 PM

490 posts

QUOTE(syahirax @ May 2 2008, 05:23 PM)
are you using good thermal paste?because before this my temp was like 60C without aplying any thermal paste.So after applied some arctic cooling mx2,the temp lowered to 45C
blink.gif ur temp so low la...me oso used mx2 & third party cooler from gigabyte + cm690 with 5X12cm fans only manage to get 48C' (room temp wihout air-con)
barry80
post Aug 18 2008, 01:52 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Aug 17 2008, 10:55 PM)
thx for adding me...

btw i ve 1.5GB RAM... 256MB x2 + 512MB x2

as for the CPU.. well, actually i am saving up and waiting for Nehalem and Deneb... depends on which is better (higher c/p ratio) then i'll change it in one go... main problem is, i ve a E6550 at home and i look at it's performance, it totally blew the P4 away...

the CPU has served me for over 5 years with many major and minor upgrades like:

Mobo: Gigabyte's 465G chipset (spoilt) to the current one
RAM: from the original 256MB to 512MB to now 1.5GB
GC: from Intel Extreme Graphic (mobo spoilt) to GeForce FX 5200 (GPU spoilt) to Radeon X1300 (gave to another rig) to now X1950GT...

i think it's time to get a new one...
wow same as mine. been 5 years 24/7 with my current p4 biggrin.gif but lucky me i don't have any problem with the 5 years old hardware. only upgraded ram; GC; PSU; more & more hdd lol

the current rig as show in xfire sig still can play my old time wc3 + some 720p mkv but not blu-ray la sweat.gif

time to get a new one? well, depend on how long does this rig will actually spoilt (MOBO; CPU; GC) if not, for the next CPU, hopefully for the Nehalem & Deneb or maybe newer. any known or upcomin unknown code name from intel yet ?

0.0471sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:00 PM