23 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

W40K: DC | SS | Dawn of War 2, Official Dawn of War Msia Thread (RTS)V5

Cheesenium
post Jan 6 2009, 10:27 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

The items are for the SP campaign,if im not wrong.I dont really care about it la.

Colours,like the ones in DoW1 one la.No more NFS style colour mixed.We only get GW colours now.

I think there is like 4-5 different version.

Personally,im not very happy with this pre-order thing.

Refer to the link for more info.

Link: http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=209865&page=1
Cheesenium
post Jan 6 2009, 10:58 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Fatimus @ Jan 6 2009, 10:57 PM)
too much exclusives, I don't like, it makes my head spin.
Me too.Makes my head spin too. rclxub.gif
Cheesenium
post Jan 7 2009, 12:54 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Waba @ Jan 7 2009, 12:20 AM)
Now all these gimmicks are starting to make me worry.... gimmicks were never really a good sign for decent games.
You are not the only one.

I have been worrying about will DoW2 turn out be a good game months ago.

The more information release to public,the more i worry.Especially the game site arent telling much and fans comment on the hands on often contradict each other.

Added on January 7, 2009, 11:50 amFinally,something good just released!!! biggrin.gif

Originally Posted by From the official site, aka an official source
We have locked down the Minimum and Recommended System Requirements for Dawn of War II. Here is what you’re going to need to run the game:

Minimum Requirements –
* Windows XP SP2 or Windows Vista SP1
* P4 3.2 GHz (single core) or any Dual Core processor
* 1 GB RAM (XP), 1.5 GB RAM (Vista)
* A 128MB Video Card (Shader Model 3) - Nvidia GeForce 6600 GT / ATI X1600, or equivalent
* 5.5 GB of Hard Drive space

Recommended –
* Windows XP SP2 or Windows Vista SP1
* AMD Athlon 64x2 4400+ or any Intel Core 2 Duo
* 2 GB RAM (XP and Vista)
* A 256MB Video Card (Shader Model 3) - Nvidia GeForce 7800 GT / ATI X1900, or equivalent
* 5.5 GB of Hard Drive space

Keep your eyes on this page this Thursday for more information on how you can get involved in the upcoming Dawn of War II Beta!

Source

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 7 2009, 11:50 AM
Cheesenium
post Jan 8 2009, 12:23 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Yes,we need Chaos.

"All is dust..."

Added on January 8, 2009, 12:44 amSome clarification on the pre-order gimmick.

Pre-order pack wargear is campaign only. You can not use this in multiplayer so the only advantage these players get is a slight stat boost at the start of the single player game.

In multiplayer your commanders all have wargear you can buy in the matches to improve their stats. This resets at the end of evey match.

Each race also has 60 multiplayer ranks to unlock some with unique visual unlocks. In total there are 110 visual unlocks, these will make the high-level players look really cool but give no stat advantage whatsoever.

Source

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 8 2009, 12:44 AM
Cheesenium
post Jan 8 2009, 09:58 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(TheNameX @ Jan 8 2009, 09:01 AM)
Oh yea... Another reason why you shouldnt throw in extra penny biggrin.gif

Dont worry, I bet Chaos will appear in their future expansion and good thing is, Relic has the habit of making expansion race "imba". IMBA CHAOS FTW !!
Damn,i want the metallic gold and silver cause i have been painting my armies with cheesy gold since vanilla. doh.gif

Damn you,Relic but im not gonna get the pre order pack.Dun think Malaysia gonna have one.

They better be imba in expansion.With 4 Chaos gods too.

Added on January 8, 2009, 10:39 amI dont know this is true or not.

DoW2 have gone Gold.

This kinda justified that PCGUK is publishing a review in the January issue.

I dont have any concrete evidence,though.

Honestly,im beginning to worry about DoW2's quality,not the graphics,the gameplay.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 8 2009, 10:42 AM
Cheesenium
post Jan 9 2009, 10:53 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Damn,i dont get to play the MP beta now.
Cheesenium
post Jan 9 2009, 11:44 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

There are some new videos in IGN.
Cheesenium
post Jan 9 2009, 05:44 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Wait la,we dont even know who is the distributor.
Cheesenium
post Jan 9 2009, 10:30 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(johnnycp @ Jan 9 2009, 09:55 PM)
Replay Interactive is the distributor
Thanks.Hope they come out with a cheap copy for DoW2.

Anyway,more multiplayer videos here.
Cheesenium
post Jan 10 2009, 06:57 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I hope my fears with DoW2 havent come true but things are looking grim now.

It's nice to hear that DoW2 got 90% in PCG Sweeden but in PCGUK,they dont really like it.DoW2 got 82% which is bad to me as vanilla DoW got 91% and CoH got 90+% . 82% is not bad for me but a sequel or new game from Relic,it should have gotten more 85%.

Here are some of the points i got from Relic News.

IT'S
-Fast
-Gorgeous
-Repetitive

IT'S NOT
-Short
-Epic
-Dawn of War

Some quotes

"This is what happens when strategy game developers play too much WoW while they're working on the sequel"

"there's an urgent need for swift micro management which means this certainly isnt the dumbing down some will inevitably call it.... select all>Right click is never viable, and that's DoW II's biggest change and greatest strength"

"It's an enourmous campaign... but there arent 50 missions. In fact, there are only about ten, of 15 minutes each. It's just that two of those - kill the boss and defend the shrine - are repeated to the point of insanity. To the point where you start to wonder if you did something wrong in a previous life"

"MP is different. Suddenly bases are back. Suddenly resources are back. Suddenly the four unit limit is gone, the simplicity is gone. Weirdly, the only two modes of play are one on one and three on three. About the only simple thing about it is that there are only five maps"

"no single part of this is better than the original game. Relic started with a classic game and have made merely a great one out of it"

"It is, for your first few games, utter chaos.... And before you know what you're doing, it's over - matches only last about 15 minutes. Relic said they wanted to make MP DoW more accessible, I have no idea how this was supposed to relate to that"

"It's wholly enjoyable madness though. Here you get to amass proper armies and play as the ravenously anticipated tyranids. They're a truly horrible bunch... Their mechanics are obtuse and fascinating, which only makes me more desperate for a Tyranid campaign, one where individual units mean something"

"There's definately virtue to a multiplayer strategy game that's over in a coffee break, but it doesn't mix well with the enormous complexity here. Even when I'd learned to play effectively, I never felt like I had a good overview of what was going on.... The match can turn around in a minute without you knowing why. Neither victory nor defeat feels entirely yours"
Seems like what i predicted is true,the campaign just suxs.Only MP can keep this game alive.

Also,another fears of mine,the review says that DoW2 MP ships with 5 maps.Only 5 maps and it ridiculously little.

Now i hope Empire:Total War and Starcraft 2 dont get screw up now.

Anyway,i didnt read the review personally so,just take this as an opinion.Im still gonna try this game.It cant be this bad.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 10 2009, 07:17 PM
Cheesenium
post Jan 11 2009, 11:22 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

PCGUK is one of my more trust able source.If they say something bad about a game,there must be something bad about it.

I didnt say it suxs now but a lot of things that i was fear off are becoming true.

Seriously,5 MP maps is just too little even most people will stick to a few maps.What happens if all 5 of them are crappy maps?

Yeah,it suxs that most devs just concentrate on MP.SP is always the crap part.Not everyone here have an awesome internet connection.
Cheesenium
post Jan 12 2009, 06:01 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I think i have posted those videos a few days back.

They have HD version at Gametrialers now.
Cheesenium
post Jan 12 2009, 06:15 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Anyway,thanks for the video.I couldnt watch it in Gametrailers.
Cheesenium
post Jan 12 2009, 07:23 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

The battles feels a lot smaller,compare to DoW1.

The animation is just jaw dropping.Even better than CoH. ohmy.gif

Looking forward to try it in March.
Cheesenium
post Jan 13 2009, 10:15 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I see DoW2 T-shirt. biggrin.gif
Cheesenium
post Jan 13 2009, 12:51 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Problem is,Collector's Edition quite expensive la.

The exclusive colours is fugly.No metallic Gold and Silver.

This is what we are getting,same as Australia.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 13 2009, 12:54 PM
Cheesenium
post Jan 13 2009, 01:46 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

What do you mean by small launch event? When is the launch event?

Collector's Edition seems more value for money than Normal Edition.

Added on January 13, 2009, 1:48 pm
QUOTE(Dark Steno @ Jan 13 2009, 01:00 PM)
RM 169 is quite feasible being collector's edition as some games already reached rm 179 just for normal ones.
Im kinda used to EA game's price cause they are cheaper compare to other game.Price range around RM130.Not too bad.

DoW2 is not too expensive.Just ok for me.

All these little gimmick is making me to get the CE.Now i just need the beta.

About the 5 maps thing in retail version,it's only true for the beta.The retail version we get will have more maps. rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 13 2009, 01:56 PM
Cheesenium
post Jan 13 2009, 03:24 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I live near Ikano too.I'll go and have a look when i have time.

Still need to go TSB to claim my RA3 points.

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 13 2009, 03:51 PM
Cheesenium
post Jan 13 2009, 08:03 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ Jan 13 2009, 04:12 PM)
Does TSB have pre-ordering?
No,I went just now.They dont have the price yet.
Cheesenium
post Jan 14 2009, 12:06 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

There is a MP video in Gamespot.

Quite a nice video to show how DoW2 MP works.With a Venerable Dreadnaught too. rclxm9.gif

It also comes with a Q&A.

Link: http://www.gamespot.com/pc/strategy...topslot;thumb;4

This post has been edited by Cheesenium: Jan 14 2009, 12:23 PM

23 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0461sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:29 AM