post Apr 24 2008, 02:41 PM

4,000 posts

then u need a ride on taukeh BD ROUTE tongue.gif
Jediknight8820
post Apr 24 2008, 05:50 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Apr 24 2008, 02:32 PM)
*pending to pinjam from YB APIS*
Guys, u don't need to buy. I don't mind borrow u my unit, once u calibrate ur speaker u hardly use it again. Unless u change the speaker placement. Bought it from Radioshack in US, hardly use. Hope the battery still work. PM me for the details.
coolkwc
post Apr 24 2008, 10:52 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

I heard many said Yamaha speaker not good, is it true? Since i haven't hear the speaker yet because AV shop seldom sell it... whats ur guys opinion?

And i had a unit of 'old school' 5.1 Yamaha RX-V800, wanna ask the RX-V663 will have a lot of SQ improvement over RX-V800 in terms of stereo performance?

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Apr 24 2008, 10:53 PM
sunauto
post Apr 25 2008, 02:06 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Apr 24 2008, 10:52 PM)
I heard many said Yamaha speaker not good, is it true? Since i haven't hear the speaker yet because AV shop seldom sell it... whats ur guys opinion?

And i had a unit of 'old school' 5.1 Yamaha RX-V800, wanna ask the RX-V663 will have a lot of SQ improvement over RX-V800 in terms of stereo performance?
Well, what you heard might be partially right b'coz Yamaha do have high end speakers that won some overseas awards but to be frank, the price of those speakers are not worth it, as you can get better ones from other brands instead. The cheaper ones are entry level speakers which don't sound nice and totally no frills.
apisgogo
post Apr 25 2008, 09:19 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

one one yamaha speaker that they considered high-end that won an award..

suavo series.. never tested it.. desa got.

Dato Mega, I tried pure direct mode on few of my SACDs, and u rite, it sounded awesome... haha, never tried the pure direct mode often.. i think for music listening is advisable to use direct.

kkthen
post Apr 25 2008, 10:20 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 25 2008, 09:19 AM)

Dato Mega, I tried pure direct mode on few of my SACDs, and u rite, it sounded awesome... haha, never tried the pure direct mode often.. i think for music listening is advisable to use direct.
Yamaha Suavo got good review from one malaysia elite CK Wong. (note he is a reviewer of online audio magazine
http://www.enjoythemusic.com/)

This short review is link to his blog but in Chinese only.
http://lilkcaudioblog.blogspot.com/2007/11/blog-post_13.html

This post has been edited by kkthen: Apr 25 2008, 10:24 AM
megatron007
post Apr 25 2008, 10:22 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Apr 25 2008, 09:19 AM)

malam ni..malam jumaat

buat direct feed to ur BD ya nod.gif nod.gif rolleyes.gif
kancheong
post Apr 25 2008, 03:37 PM

154 posts

looking at the specs the 663 and 661 oso hv upscaler. theoretically i can use my old dvd player connect to the 66x and upscale via hdmi to my lcd.
betoi ke ?
rx330
post Apr 25 2008, 03:46 PM

11,811 posts

can, but the 663 and 661 upsclaes thru component or hdmi?
kancheong
post Apr 25 2008, 03:50 PM

154 posts

the specs say s-video, component, hdmi so i m not sure if it really does it for all 3.
so i connect to 663 via the component, upscale via hdmi to lcd.

rx330
post Apr 25 2008, 04:23 PM

11,811 posts

is ur min purpose fro buying hte avr for upscaling?
sunauto
post Apr 25 2008, 08:16 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 25 2008, 03:46 PM)
can, but the 663 and 661 upsclaes thru component or hdmi?
It upscales analogue sources via HDMI onli.
DigitalKL
post Apr 27 2008, 09:38 AM

1,360 posts

663 where got upscaling? only up-conversion

Added on April 27, 2008, 9:47 am
QUOTE(kancheong @ Apr 25 2008, 03:50 PM)
the specs say s-video, component, hdmi so i m not sure if it really does it for all 3.
so i connect to 663 via the component, upscale via hdmi to lcd.
yes that is correct but its not call upscaling which is another thing altogether. its call upconversion
upscaling means changing for eg. 480 to 720/1080

This post has been edited by DigitalKL: Apr 27 2008, 08:06 PM
htkaki
post Apr 27 2008, 05:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

ddkl, typo lah. Upconversion, aint upconversation. tongue.gif
arremie
post Apr 27 2008, 06:40 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Apr 27 2008, 09:38 AM)
up-conversation
laugh.gif laugh.gif
That's a good one laugh.gif . Sorry can't help it laugh.gif laugh.gif
DigitalKL
post Apr 27 2008, 08:07 PM

1,360 posts

haha....thanks

i realize that when i went outside today....then it dawns on me i made a mistake.....

my fingers too quick for my brains to engage.....kekeke
hettun
post Apr 27 2008, 09:46 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(DigitalKL @ Apr 27 2008, 09:38 AM)
663 where got upscaling? only up-conversion

Added on April 27, 2008, 9:47 am
yes that is correct but its not call upscaling which is another thing altogether. its call upconversion
upscaling means changing for eg. 480 to 720/1080
this is where a lot of creative marketing speak comes in. Dealers also play a part by claiming these "features" as per the marketing papers.

reading the manual makes things worse, as these are written cleverly to further confuse the issue, too late then for the poor customer.

Best to google the features such as conversion, upconversion, upscaling and other terms as applicable for the model under consideration.

htkaki
post Apr 28 2008, 09:06 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Went to Legend yesterday.

They quoted 663 at RM1.85K. 863 another RM1K more. That goes the same for 1800; RM1K more than 863.
clngu
post Apr 28 2008, 09:09 AM

. . . . . . . . .
2,220 posts

so can buy thing from Legend or not ???
megatron007
post Apr 28 2008, 09:15 AM

4,000 posts

I heard the LCD cheap

but not sure sad.gif

125 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 36 > » Top