post Sep 15 2009, 12:56 AM

984 posts

laugh.gif feel laugh.gif
moomoos
post Sep 15 2009, 12:59 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(WereWolf84 @ Sep 15 2009, 12:56 AM)
laugh.gif feel  laugh.gif
yes.... the FEEL rclxms.gif
WereWolf84
post Sep 16 2009, 08:18 AM

984 posts

Any users of RX-V665 mind to share their reviews here?
htkaki
post Sep 16 2009, 09:32 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 15 2009, 12:31 AM)
yeah must audition one of these 20-30hz subs..  biggrin.gif  can change your views on modern power subs..
Yes, indeed. The modern sub performs a lot better. So, I bet the SVS did further change your view eh? tongue.gif

Then again, I find that a lot of ppl do not do proper sub calibration, making it too loud. This will muddle the rest of the speakers (coloration). It is very apparent when some guys showing off his gears with Hotel California or bass heavy movies. THOOOMMMPPPP.. tak... BOOOMMM..... BOOOMM... (Hotel California) doh.gif

If I listen to music, I'll press 'Pure Direct' on my Yammy 1800. Just my good old front spkrs to do the job. It still performs decently though blush.gif
moomoos
post Sep 16 2009, 07:04 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 16 2009, 09:32 AM)
Yes, indeed. The modern sub performs a lot better. So, I bet the SVS did further change your view eh?  tongue.gif

Then again, I find that a lot of ppl do not do proper sub calibration, making it too loud. This will muddle the rest of the speakers (coloration). It is very apparent when some guys showing off his gears with Hotel California or bass heavy movies. THOOOMMMPPPP.. tak... BOOOMMM..... BOOOMM... (Hotel California)  doh.gif

If I listen to music, I'll press 'Pure Direct' on my Yammy 1800. Just my good old front spkrs to do the job. It still performs decently though  blush.gif
yeah now someone is talking about Pure Direct Mode rclxms.gif

i calibrated the crossover at 85-90hz as my satellites are from 80hz to 25khz
then i increase the level gradually until i hear a bit of boom, go back to sweet spot, listen
recalibrate the level until the midbass sounds tight but not over powering, balance with overall percussion and vocals not muffed

is that the correct to calibrate, bro htkaki.

htkaki
post Sep 16 2009, 11:20 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

No, you need SPL meter to do that as your ears can pinpoint the level accurately.

In 'Pure Direct', only the front spkrs are being driven.
moomoos
post Sep 16 2009, 11:25 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 16 2009, 11:20 PM)
No, you need SPL meter to do that as your ears can pinpoint the level accurately.

In 'Pure Direct', only the front spkrs are being driven.
i did stress on Pure Direct mode but no one give a damn... haha as no one is interested biggrin.gif

yammy amps deactivated the LFE on pure Direct whereas Denon has the option to turn on LFE on Pure Direct

that was what i have been debating for previously, as i am using satellites on Pure Direct mode ( NO BASS) haha
htkaki
post Sep 16 2009, 11:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Satelites have many limitations. So, it is kind of hard to expect it to performs on par with standmount spkrs. To be honest, I haven't come across any sats that sound decent enough for music. Sounds harsh but that's the reality.

Bro, upgraditis path is the only way to enjoy better music via Pure Direct.
WereWolf84
post Sep 16 2009, 11:38 PM

984 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 16 2009, 11:30 PM)
Satelites have many limitations. So, it is kind of hard to expect it to performs on par with standmount spkrs. To be honest, I haven't come across any sats that sound decent enough for music.  Sounds harsh but that's the reality.

Does Klipsch B-3 system considered as satelites? hmm.gif
htkaki
post Sep 16 2009, 11:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

No, it isn't. That's standmount spkr
moomoos
post Sep 17 2009, 12:06 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 16 2009, 11:30 PM)
Satelites have many limitations. So, it is kind of hard to expect it to performs on par with standmount spkrs. To be honest, I haven't come across any sats that sound decent enough for music.  Sounds harsh but that's the reality.

Pure Direct modes are the best of both worlds, for people who wants to give up (not completely) on Hi-Fi for Simplicity

so i guess can't expect AVR Pure Direct modes to sound that fantastic even on a 6k floorstand

bro, have you tried the audica's tower, i dont think it sounded harsh ( my individual preference again la of course ) biggrin.gif

Added on September 17, 2009, 12:59 am
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 16 2009, 09:32 AM)
Yes, indeed. The modern sub performs a lot better. So, I bet the SVS did further change your view eh?  tongue.gif

If I listen to music, I'll press 'Pure Direct' on my Yammy 1800. Just my good old front spkrs to do the job. It still performs decently though  blush.gif
Yes...agreed !!!
designs, circuits and drivers getting better & better biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Sep 17 2009, 01:19 AM
lancicai
post Sep 18 2009, 10:21 PM

26 posts

SO WHAT'S THE REAL PRICE?

Lone*Wolf
post Sep 18 2009, 10:54 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(lancicai @ Sep 18 2009, 10:21 PM)
SO WHAT'S THE REAL PRICE?
SO WHATS WRONG WITH YOU??!!!
kianwee
post Sep 18 2009, 11:03 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 18 2009, 10:54 PM)
SO WHATS WRONG WITH YOU??!!!
Chill bro... we have weidos everywhere rolleyes.gif
ar188
post Sep 18 2009, 11:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 18 2009, 11:03 PM)
Chill bro... we have weidos everywhere  rolleyes.gif
weido is a weird word.. hmm.gif
kianwee
post Sep 18 2009, 11:41 PM

Cube
6,562 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 18 2009, 11:17 PM)
weido is a weird word..  hmm.gif
icon_question.gif
saprozeldo
post Sep 19 2009, 09:52 AM

113 posts

how come bro htkaki letting go of his rxv1800?

jchong
post Sep 19 2009, 11:04 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 15 2009, 12:27 AM)
we use sub when watching movies for the LFE track, not buy sub primarily to listen to music in a stereo system la.. so why talking about Hifi sound?   hmm.gif
That's true.

But sometimes I feel that movie's LFE are synthesized sounds and it's up to the sound engineer to define it. In terms of natural bass, this is where hi-fi comes in like if you have recordings of the kodo drums or jazz tracks with nice double bass action or pipe organ music. In fact one of the good tracks to demo dynamic bass is a fireworks recording on the Danley website, see here: http://www.danleysoundlabs.com/technical%20downloads.html

With natural bass, you have a chance to compare the real thing to your system capabilities. Like if you've attended a live fireworks display you know how the explosions feel and sound like. Then play the Danley recording, if your system can give approximately the same experience then you know your system is really good! smile.gif

Another example mentioned by moomoos already is the lion dance drums. If there was a good recording of this it would be a good test of the subwoofer's speed and attack.

Added on September 19, 2009, 11:11 am
QUOTE(moomoos @ Sep 16 2009, 11:25 PM)
i did stress on Pure Direct mode but no one give a damn... haha as no one is interested  biggrin.gif

yammy amps deactivated the LFE on pure Direct whereas Denon has the option to turn on LFE on Pure Direct

that was what i have been debating for previously, as i am using satellites on Pure Direct mode ( NO BASS) haha
For Pure Direct / Pure Audio, sometimes the AVR can use the LFE channel if you choose the 5.1 audio track (this will depend on your AVR brand). Like when I listen to Michael Buble BD, if I choose the 5.1 audio and use Pure Audio I will get some LFE (but the same as if I turn off Pure Audio).

This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 19 2009, 11:11 AM
arremie
post Sep 19 2009, 01:35 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 18 2009, 11:17 PM)
weido is a weird word..  hmm.gif
QUOTE(kianwee @ Sep 18 2009, 11:41 PM)
icon_question.gif
It's weirdo. U miss out the r laugh.gif

125 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 >Top