Propose for a proper, special access Kopitiam, Deny access to idiots

altie
post Feb 1 2008, 11:26 PM

Runaway Fridge™
673 posts

It's a fair suggestion, but to be brutally honest, it's like going to those apek coffee shops and saying "from now on, we'll have a non-smoking section of this shop". Everybody who goes there either smokes or doesn't care about air pollution. If you wanted clean air, you'd go to an air conditioned McDonald's restaurant.

Kopitiam was established to house discussions that don't fit anywhere else. It so happens that it means the bottom rung of the forum topic ladder.
GongFuChau
post Feb 1 2008, 11:27 PM

Tomoyo FTW
574 posts

QUOTE(natakaasd @ Feb 1 2008, 10:57 PM)
Frankly, I believe if the new Kopitiam can be used to discuss "trivia" but with "proper conversation standard", and not junk, it would be a cleaner version of Kopitiam, and for those who knows how to appreciate it. Even "trivial" questions like "Which Supermarket offers the cheapest Cooking oil" can be discussed, but with proper basis and not "Tesco Rox!" etc.

I don't mind sparing a few moments of my time. In fact, I would be glad to help.

~Cheers!
The bold part is the main reason? tongue.gif

Srsly i think if open up a new kopitiam will make things worse, and the current one can't change until the ppl who are responsible for all the BS type post can change the way they post. The problem start from the forumer itself and won't be gone by adding new rules/sections or those kinda stuffs until the mentality(izzit the right word?) of the forumer change.

P.S. I would like to help too, since I'm free all the time smile.gif.
natakaasd
post Feb 1 2008, 11:38 PM

2,188 posts

If you wanted clean air, you'd go to an air conditioned McDonald's restaurant.

Sometimes, people do smoke in McDonalds. Inconsiderate. LOL.

Kopitiam was established to house discussions that don't fit anywhere else. It so happens that it means the bottom rung of the forum topic ladder.

What about general discussions? "Cooking Oil Price Comparison" can't be a Serious Topic, can it? **Just an example.

The bold part is the main reason?

Not funny.

Srsly i think if open up a new kopitiam will make things worse, and the current one can't change until the ppl who are responsible for all the BS type post can change the way they post. The problem start from the forumer itself and won't be gone by adding new rules/sections or those kinda stuffs until the mentality(izzit the right word?) of the forumer change.

At least, let others don't suffer from severe eye-sores. It is like saying trash. Just dump? Can't recycle for a change?

~Cheers!
TSdaijoubu
post Feb 3 2008, 02:55 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Feb 1 2008, 07:01 PM)
There is always two ways of looking at this.

If we do come up with a more 'serious' kopitiam, it would work for some, but at the same time it would degrade the old kopitiam even more. You will then have jokers saying that everything should be allowed in the old kopitiam because its not the serious kopitiam. Moderators also end up having to do more to maintain the sanctity of the 'serious kopitiam', and have less time to oversee the old kopitiam.
Thats the main idea actually. Its okay to let the dirty Kopitiam to degrade. You put a warning, proceed with caution link before allowing people to enter the dirty kopitiam. State that it is unmoderated, unsanctified, and no liability towards LYN. Or you can be super trigger happy in the dirty thread, where by any unsightly post is straight shot.

QUOTE(se7en @ Feb 1 2008, 07:32 PM)
first criteria for moderator post - 0% warn meter.

try again in 6 months.
How about me 0.o. I dont want a mod post, i just want to be able to either delete, or mask a post that is considered as useless, non beneficial spam. Perhaps install a mod that allows mods or other user groups to be able to mark a post as spam, and what it does is that it just reduces the original post into an entry that says -SPAM-, while still retaining just the original poster's nickname (avatar, signature, etc info can be removed to safe space). Also, it keeps track of accumulated blotted spams of every user, and thus can give you statistics on the worse spammers, etc.

QUOTE(altie @ Feb 1 2008, 11:26 PM)
The thing is, there are discussions that are beneficial to the community, that might not fit anywhere else. But because of all the other non benefical crap load that is thrown in Kopitiam, it submerge the good ones, or, what ever good a thread could potentially bring, could be killed by the spams posted in the first few pages. I've seen so many of these. Advices, proper discussion, topics with potential to contribute in terms of general knowledge, isnt allowed to mature into proper discussion just because the first few pages are littered with FIRST, SECOND, welcome to year xxxx, repost is repost, so what? who cares? etc etc.

Imagine a proper vocal conversation of you asking a friend about how is malaysia lately with all the crimes and etc, and suddenly some other person barge in your conversation and says, aiya malaysia no use la better go other country la, goverment no good la, and starts bashing everything, not allowing a proper response by your first friend? What could be potentially be something knowledgable to you is well, down the drain. Multiply this by 50, and you'll get whats happening in Kopitiam.

This post has been edited by daijoubu: Feb 3 2008, 03:00 AM
dropanyloot
post Feb 3 2008, 05:39 AM

479 posts

kopitiam is actually a place for noobs and other degenerates...just my 2cents.

where else do they hangout until they are familiar with the whole LYN thing and all the rules. A mature forumer will start to leave Kopitiam and enjoy other threads and forums (there is others, dont you know that?)

i say, let all things be as they are... we are all noob once right?
fanco
post Feb 3 2008, 07:00 AM

120 posts

QUOTE(se7en @ Feb 1 2008, 07:32 PM)
first criteria for moderator post - 0% warn meter.

try again in 6 months.
how to see the warn meter?
RBR
post Feb 3 2008, 07:26 AM

keeping calm..
3,107 posts

QUOTE(dropanyloot @ Feb 3 2008, 05:39 AM)

Kopitiam was never made for noobs or degenerates like you. We'd rather lose 1000 noobs and degenerates like you and gain 50 good posters.
TSdaijoubu
post Feb 3 2008, 09:36 AM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

where else do they hangout until they are familiar with the whole LYN thing and all the rules. A mature forumer will start to leave Kopitiam and enjoy other threads and forums (there is others, dont you know that?)

there is a big difference in being a noob and being just obnoxious
and frankly speaking, the ones i see spamming the most arent mostly newcommers

natakaasd
post Feb 3 2008, 01:25 PM

2,188 posts

You don't have to be a terrible poster to admit you are a noob. I have seen noobies writing "treatises" in Security and Privacy, while the "not-so-noob" will comment accordingly. It is such a fantastic place to be in then.

Now, we have trash upon trash. AND, it is not even kopitiam.

Bad posting habits and amateurism do not go hand in hand.

~Cheers!
orenzai
post Feb 3 2008, 02:32 PM

3,114 posts

ok how bout this... i suggest we give authority for the thread starters in the kopitiam section to delete nonsense posts in their thread while giving a description of that members post was deleted(if he demands an explanation). This is to so avoid racism/bias/trigger happy in deleting peples post just because you dont like it... is that fair enough? i can give a clearer picture if anyone wants hear my tiny piece of suggestion smile.gif
Dark Steno
post Feb 3 2008, 04:03 PM

baaaaaaa
4,567 posts

This thing has become into something emotional. As far as I am being emotional, I stay out of Kopitiam for good. Living in Kopitiam is like talking with a blonde.
hizperion
post Feb 4 2008, 01:15 AM

Average Bitch
913 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Feb 3 2008, 02:32 PM)
ok how bout this... i suggest we give authority for the thread starters in the kopitiam section to delete nonsense posts in their thread while giving a description of that members post was deleted(if he demands an explanation). This is to so avoid racism/bias/trigger happy in deleting peples post just because you dont like it... is that fair enough? i can give a clearer picture if anyone wants hear my tiny piece of suggestion smile.gif
why don't TS just use the report button?
goldfries
post Feb 4 2008, 02:44 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you don't even get the idea of what is Kopitiam for.

it's a place for people to enjoy talk / discussion on any other topic that's not allocated a section on LYN.

the problem with our LYN forummer these days it that it's stated in bleeding obvious manner that Kopitiam is for "Topics that don't fit into any other category".

No, it does not in anyway say that this is the section for you guys to spam at your whims and fancy, creating topic as you feel like it, topics that serve no purpose and heads no direction other than into the trash bin.

And no, it also does not in anyway say that this is the place where you can be the nastiest and most inconsiderate way, it is NOT a NO-RULEZ zone either. Kopitiam has always been a place where topics that do not fit in any other category are created AND also a zone that we're more lenient on spams and such but apparently you guys just don't have the decency to appreciate the liberty given.
Azuma-kun
post Feb 4 2008, 11:13 AM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,415 posts

Seems like Kopitiam now dont have any particular rules.
U can spam as many as u want, open a shitty topic. even though kopitiam is for "Topics that don't fit into any other category" as said by goldfries, it give an advantage to spammers to reply with a nonsense word.
Last time was LOL WUT!!!, after that drop any looot and now 1st, 2nd shakehead.gif
orenzai
post Feb 4 2008, 02:08 PM

3,114 posts

QUOTE(hizperion @ Feb 4 2008, 01:15 AM)
why don't TS just use the report button?
ok i shall be a "temp mod" for now... mods!! get ready to receive loads of reports from me... spammers... better watch what you are posting..
i am sick of nonsense posts...
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 4 2008, 02:11 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

I find spam interesting atleast i can spam too..

But the funny thing iis actually CC when ppl ask question like "i think he like me but i duno, wat should i do"
For god's sake the answer is either wait or ask that guy, not ask LYN ppl.
jinaun
post Feb 4 2008, 02:18 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

are we segragating kopitiam into a high class kopitiam vs low class kopitiam??

eg.. comparing starbucks to .. a corner lot kopitiam selling roti bakar + hot drinks?? LOL perhaps some cendol too..

and i agree with 7, it will incurr additional overhead
eXPeri3nc3
post Feb 4 2008, 02:23 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Feb 4 2008, 02:08 PM)
ok i shall be a "temp mod" for now... mods!! get ready to receive loads of reports from me... spammers... better watch what you are posting..
i am sick of nonsense posts...
Even that there's tons and tons of reports, to execute them is PITA for the moderating team as they themselves are having a hard time to monitor the whole LYN population.
wKkaY
post Feb 4 2008, 02:28 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I see it in the distance.. Lowyat.NET's Caf de la LYN.

Times New Roman font, marble background, no smileys/pictures/signatures. By invitation only.
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 4 2008, 02:30 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 4 2008, 02:28 PM)
I see it in the distance.. Lowyat.NET's Caf de la LYN.

Times New Roman font, marble background, no smileys/pictures/signatures. By invitation only.
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

May i have one plssssssss

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0608sec    2.24    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:13 AM