between architecture & ID, which is better in term of job finding?
Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.
Oct 6 2008, 04:05 PM
173 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: da grand line |
between architecture & ID, which is better in term of job finding?
Oct 6 2008, 07:02 PM
i hv a problem now, or rather a dilemma.
i seriously, really, really wanna study architecture, which i'll most probably do next july (my trials are a lil..bad). however, my family- including father, mother, aunties, uncles, cousins, they all keep telling me to rethink carefuly coz the future aren't very bright for architects. they were like telling me constantly as to remind me. to further annoy me, they gv examples, like "i hv a colleague's friend bla bla bla, also like u wan take architecture, now end up earning bits for years", or "believe me, i got friend now architect so hard earn money, economy not good sumore"or "be architect need alot creativity 1 wor, u got meh?" especially my dad, he wants me to take finance much, or accounting, a subject that i'm doing very well now in form 5- which he claims hv much better future & income. that starts to make me wonder. i wan to study architecture, i really do. but, i'm a little afraid that i'll end up jobless. i always thought that where there's a will, there's a way. so i decided that, i'd rather do the things i like than to do the things i'm not interested. optimist> pessimist This post has been edited by Cenarius: Oct 6 2008, 07:06 PM |
Dec 16 2008, 12:18 AM
wanna ask, if i'm going for march intake, does that mean i lose out 2 months and have to catch up with those from january intake?
Dec 16 2008, 09:57 PM
Dec 18 2008, 09:58 PM
for ID, is there part 1,2,3 as well?
Jan 2 2009, 02:40 PM
which is better before moving on to a degree? stpm, foundation or diploma?
Jan 3 2009, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 3 2009, 03:45 PM) depends where u wanna go. lets say i take foundation in science, can i still go for degree in architecture?if u wanna go IPTAs, then STPM and matrics is ur best bet. diploma could get u in as well, but slightly limited. IPTAs dont take foundations anymore, and even if they do, only for their own universities. for IPTS, they take from every source - STPM, A-levels, foundation, diploma - u name it. so it all boils down to how much u're willing to spend and what sort of effort u're willing to churn out. i wanna go for taylor's foundation since their last intake for diploa is on jan. the cost is expensive though, around 18k for the foundation course. my parents are urging me to go for stpm if i wanna pursue this course. but hell, goin back to school with the uniform and sit for stpm seems to time wasting for me. and i heard that diploma or foundation students have a better advantage in degree coz of what they learned. |
Jan 5 2009, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 5 2009, 08:13 AM) STPM is more diverse and in depth than foundation. if u wanna use the "foundation learns more", u cant use it against STPM. the problem is, its too expensive. costs 18k. my dad disagrees to spend that much money in foundation when stpm (which is foc) could also get me into a degree.foundations only give advantage to the students in taking degree by way of automatic entry. if u fulfill a specific criteria during foundation year (for example: 3.00cgpa), u will automatically qualify for their 1st year degree. all u need to do is fill a form and u're in. however, this only works in a specific school. meaning, if u did ur foundation in taylor's, ur foundation is ONLY valid for taylor's degrees. it's practically worthless anywhere else. and in some cases, u cant even use it to use to apply to other courses. do check with taylor's. if i'm not mistaken, they have a specific "foundation in built environment/architecture" which u can take for a direct entry to their degree. i'm not sure if they do accept foundation in science. btw azarimy, do u hv any information about pursuing this course in japan? like after degree? i've read books that say a lot of leading architects in asia come from japan, and yet i've never heard of anyone in msia studying there? its either uk, aus or sometimes us. or is it not recognize in msia? QUOTE(Bishop @ Jan 5 2009, 10:21 AM) If you are sure that you want to do architecture, then you should just jump straight into a Diploma, no point spending(read : wasting) one or two years doing stpm/foundation that is not directly related to architecture. Might as well spend that time learning architecture, so when you get into the Degree course you have some foundation in architecture already. the last intake for taylor's diploma is january. and i'm now in overseas Taylors accepts intake straight from SPM. |
Jan 5 2009, 01:46 PM
Jan 5 2009, 08:06 PM
i may look like i'm finding an excuse, but a day before maths paper 2 i burned the midnight oil by gaming and ended with only an hour of sleep. when my teacher drew the graph, she too was shocked coz mine shaped like a cliff. hope the actual result's not a repetition of that
erm, so izit recommended for me to go for stpm instead of paying for foundation, even though stpm takes more time? and another inquiry, is it possible for me to take diploma in another, let's say college A, then pursue a degree in college B? Added on January 5, 2009, 8:17 pmbloody hell, now i'm starting to worry. what if, i'm unlucky enough, to once again flunk in spm maths? i've never once fail my maths, but there's this awful feeling. if i really do get 9G or 8E or 7D can i get into form6 and work even harder then move on to degree? This post has been edited by Cenarius: Jan 5 2009, 08:17 PM |
Jan 6 2009, 06:14 PM
edited
This post has been edited by Cenarius: Jan 6 2009, 11:32 PM |
Jan 8 2009, 10:24 PM
what is the difference between polytechnic schools and other schools? i cant seem to find a difference cuz they're both higher education learning just different names.
Jan 9 2009, 01:04 AM
does part 1 and part 2 works like spm and stpm? like when i have part 2, no one's gonna look at my part 1?
my dad is concerned that if i do my part 1 in malaysia, then part 2 overseas (3+2), my career will be affected since i'm holding a malaysian part 1 certificate. |
Jan 9 2009, 02:12 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 9 2009, 01:11 AM) also, in other fields people still talk about where they graduate from. architecture have moved away from that. it's how u perform that will reflect ur school. where u graduate from does not reflect upon ur performance yeah thats what he's worrying about. maybe it's a typical malaysian mindset that overseas> local.but damn, i dunno what's in his mind. first he told me to go form 6, then go overseas right away. i agreed. then he says why not do 3 years locally then 2 years overseas. when i told him my first choice is taylors, he goes amok saying australians= lazy people whose lifestyles dun suit us asians. going there will surely turn myself lazy as well. and now he's telling me that germany is great, and they offer a lot of scholarships, provided that i know how to speak german. he says i can learn german in goethe institute |
Jan 9 2009, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 9 2009, 09:04 AM) most of the time, i would suggest people to do part 1 locally and part 2 overseas. u'll get the benefit and exposure of both worlds. sometimes when u studied entirely overseas, u'll have problems readjusting conventions, language and architectural understandings, especially building regulations and law. however, u should not have any problem relearning within the first 1-2 years practicing in malaysia. it's just a matter if ur boss would put up with u or not anyway, if u plan to do ur part 1 locally and part 2 overseas, u gotta make sure u graduate from an accredited school. at the moment, only 6 schools in malaysia are accredited with LAM part 1: UTM, USM, UiTM, UM, UPM and UIAM. other schools have partnership programmes that allow their unaccredited degrees to get into a part 2 programme. for example: taylor's goto melbourne, LKW goto curtin etc. normally, their degrees are only valid in the university they have partnership programmes with. however, this is architecture. u are only as good as ur portfolio, regardless of what sort of degree u hold. so there are students going to other universities as well. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « from the chart, taylors bachelors of science is equivalent to LAM-PAM part 1? does that mean its still accredited? even if it isnt, can't i just take LAM part 1 exam? and if i'm reading the chart correctly, after year 3, with 65%, i can take RAIA part 2. does RAIA part 2= RIBA part 2? |
Jan 10 2009, 06:36 PM
QUOTE in architecture, there are two degrees. one is Bachelor of Science in Architecture (sometimes Bachelor of Arts), and the other one is Bachelor of Architecture. the first one is the general degree, carrying a part 1. the 2nd one is a professional degree, which carries a part 2. This post has been edited by Cenarius: Jan 10 2009, 06:40 PM |
Jan 29 2009, 12:35 AM
if i take SAM, after completing it can i get into BArch anywhere in the world? or only in australia?
Feb 8 2009, 05:15 PM
now i'm stuck. i dunno whether to go for form 6, or taylor's foundation.
if i go for form 6, i'd save the money for pre u studies. apart from that, i have load more of choices in choosing schools. but the bad thing is, i'm going to learn shit load of things and have another year gone. taylor's foundation seems straightforward to me. i finish the foundation, i move on to the degree, BSc, then with passing marks i'm off to BArch in Melbourne. sadly, its more costly. and it looks like just a straight path, all the way to melbourne. |
Feb 9 2009, 02:45 PM
melbourne is not my final target. in fact, i'm not particularly interested in going to oceania (except NZ). i know studying there is a great opportunity, maybe i'm just being bias. that's also why i'm afraid that taylor'r programme pathway is set only to melbourne, and not elsewhere.
is it possible to study BSc in taylors, then continue BArch in other uni? QUOTE STPM -> BSc in architecture in melbourne -> MArch in melbourne. wait, is MArch part 2? coz as i know, its BArch This post has been edited by Cenarius: Feb 9 2009, 02:48 PM |
Feb 9 2009, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 9 2009, 06:57 PM) + yes, it is possible to join other universities with BSc from taylor's. but the only problem is, the BSc is not recognized as part 1. meaning u wont be joining any BArch programmes (at least not in malaysia), but possibly joining final year of a part 1 programme. taylor's has a partnership programme with melbourne U that bypasses the part 1 requirement. i'm not sure what's the deal with other australian universities. + as far as i recall, australian part 2 have all been upgraded to MArch. QUOTE ok, on the bolded part, that's what we call "sugar coating". what the sentence means is that after u finish BSc architecture, u will have to sit for LAM part 1 exam. it's not automatic accreditation. there's only two ways to gain accreditation of part 1: u finish ur degree in an accredited university, or take the exam individually. what the sentence imply is probably a centralized application for the exam. meaning after ur batch finishes the degree, the school will organize LAM to come over the school at conduct examination all in one go rather than each students apply individually. it was worded that way to gently tell the prospective students that they are not fully accredited, but didnt want to put the students off from studying there. if u look into other schools like UCSI, LUCT and twintech, u can find similar phrases . so in other words, taylors Bsc is useless if i don't go for their partnership programme? what if i finish their BSc, then i sit for LAM part 1 exam, after that, is it possible to join any BArch programmes elsewhere? but with recognisation only from LAM (assuming i pass the exam), can i still go and apply for BArch in schools in like, UK? or do i have to sit for RIBA part 1 exam beforehand? This post has been edited by Cenarius: Feb 9 2009, 08:40 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0771sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:28 AM |