Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

Cenarius
post Feb 9 2009, 10:13 PM

173 posts

if i have a part 1 equivalent, and i'm trying to apply for a school that requires RIBA part 1, all i have to do is sit for RIBA part 1 test and i'm set?
Cenarius
post Feb 9 2009, 10:37 PM

173 posts

thanks, but still, i cant decide whether to go for form6 or taylor's foundation.

if u were me, which would be ur choice azarimy?
Cenarius
post Feb 10 2009, 01:43 AM

173 posts

awh man, now i'm really being indecisive.

my dad even told me he'd get me a car if i take a step into form 6.

but the idea to start my learning Architecture at 20 and practising at 25 is tormenting.

i want to be an architect, now. (hope that my youthful passion doesnt burn away as i grow up)

i've asked my friend who's in taylors foundation now, he said he had only learnt small bits about architecture. most of the classes are malaysian studies, english language, etc.

that is why i'm doubtful about the foundation. i mean, i'm afraid that i'll be paying around 18k to learn nothing but craps and in the end, all i gain is a shortcut into BSc.

grumble.gif

This post has been edited by Cenarius: Feb 10 2009, 01:43 AM
Cenarius
post Feb 11 2009, 12:10 AM

173 posts

thanks azarimy, hoong.ster and benjamin911 for ur words.

i guess i'll decide whether i'll enter form 6 or IPTS after i get my results.

i hope i dun screw up in spm. though i heard form 6 requirement is a credit in BM, i doubt it'll be easy to enter a school i want. even if i do screw up madly, with 3 credits i can still go for pre u studies in IPTS tongue.gif
Cenarius
post Feb 11 2009, 02:04 AM

173 posts

well, i called taylor's counselor. i asked about the accreditation but she said she doesnt have much info about it. she kept repeating, from foundation, i can move forward for their BSc. for LAM accreditation, they will arrange for me to take the part 1 exam. after that i asked her whether i'll have to take RAIA part 1 exam as well for the melbourne transfer program for BArch. then she got lost and even asked me what's RAIA doh.gif instead she told me why dun i visit them to get a much detail info that couldnt be conveyed through phone.

i think i'll ask them directly. as mentioned, it'd be worst to have a taylor's foundation and degree cert and i cant go anywhere.
Cenarius
post Feb 11 2009, 02:24 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Feb 11 2009, 02:21 AM)
i think it's pretty clear that under the partnership programme between taylor's and melbourne that u DONT have to take the RAIA part 1 exam. u just need to fulfill the minimum credit requirement and u're off!
LOL i just want to confirm lah. later cant go how?
Cenarius
post Feb 11 2009, 02:28 AM

173 posts

lolol ok but i'll just ask them directly to know more about the programme. didnt expect such speedy reply laugh.gif

and their website, i was told its outdated biggrin.gif thats why i didn't really bother to look at it hahaha
Cenarius
post Feb 21 2009, 08:39 PM

173 posts

taylors has stopped their diploma programme.

if u opt to take their foundation, its around 18k+, while the degree costs around 72k+
Cenarius
post Feb 23 2009, 08:35 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Feb 23 2009, 07:37 PM)

My architecture coursemate godlike drawing.... just for sharing
HOW DID HE DO THAT? shocking.gif
Cenarius
post Mar 18 2009, 09:37 PM

173 posts

i've registered for taylor's foundation programme. i've took my first step towards studying architecture biggrin.gif
Cenarius
post May 2 2009, 10:56 PM

173 posts

when i take the BArch, is it possible to pick the subjects that emphasize more in ID?
Cenarius
post Jul 1 2009, 10:59 PM

173 posts

i'm here to offer my opinion as a student in the taylors foundation course.

overall, the course is great. personally, i find it redundant. i feel like i'm wasting the 17,800 i paid. it's too laid back.

as the programme caters both future architecture and QS students, i didnt really get much learning about architecture. instead, we're kind of learning something somewhere in between these 2 fields. sure, i started learning some basic design principles, but that's all. there's a subject which is suppose to stimulate creative brain thinking, and another about construction industry, which i find unimpressive. but well, it's a quick ticket to the degree. i kinda pity the QS students, coz i'm pretty sure they aren't learning anything much related to QS (which is a big contrast compared to the diploma students i know)

Cenarius
post Jul 2 2009, 12:16 AM

173 posts

i'm in march intake. i just feel that it's not really worth the money. i mean, i'm not learning much.
Cenarius
post Dec 10 2009, 11:56 AM

173 posts

i got a final assignment coming up. the task is to design a portable retreat pod. problem is, the lecturer doesnt want to tell us about this pod. the closest i could find is a capsule like space, but i doubt that's the one i'm looking for. is there anyone who knows and would enlighten me about this?
Cenarius
post Dec 14 2009, 03:03 PM

173 posts

QUOTE(youcantkillbee @ Dec 13 2009, 09:42 PM)
Which one is better?

Architect, c&s engineer, or quantity surveyor?

Please rate!
if ur not that into architecture, better dun take it. u'll only regret or end up torturing urself in ur career. u dun want to waste few years studying what u think ur interested, then end up working ur arse off to meet ends and not enjoying the whole process at all. from what i know, it isnt always a bright future for architects, as the built environment, as TS pointed numerous times, are always the first to feel the impact when recession hits. there are, of coz, architects who have archieved stardom and enjoying luxurious life, but most of them are veteran in this line. also, bear in mind that there are much, much more architects struggling in this field.

on the other hand,

seriously, no one knows the exact meaning or portable retreat pod?
Cenarius
post Dec 16 2009, 10:21 AM

173 posts

already got it. didnt know we're allowed to be so subjective biggrin.gif

btw, when architects design a structure, do they do all the details, from the furnitures to shape of door knobs?
Cenarius
post Jan 13 2010, 01:09 PM

173 posts

is cedar wood a good choice to use as exterior wall of a small space?

0.0701sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:27 AM