Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

Bonetoad
post Dec 22 2010, 11:13 AM

158 posts

I found all the buildings u posted not ugly at all.
Bonetoad
post Dec 27 2010, 10:28 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(thebayau @ Dec 27 2010, 03:50 PM)
I wanna ask you an question..
Is it recommend to working at archi firm part time for my 4 month semester break and what the benefit that i can get from it 
btw I'm 1 year part 1 student...
and what job can i get there..??
Highly recommended. I work every opportunity i have. For me 10 years of architecture education is still not enough. There's too much to learn.
Bonetoad
post Jan 1 2011, 06:55 PM

158 posts

Mr.Azarimy, I've heard of a course called Architectural Engineering. If i'm not mistaken one who pursue this path will be able to sign both the architectural drawings and also the structural drawings of a building given that they fulfill all the requirements such as LAM part 3 and etc

Is it true?

Santiago Calatrava and Norman Foster took this course right?

Is it recognized here in Malaysia?
Bonetoad
post Jan 9 2011, 09:32 PM

158 posts

I just came back from Education Fair at KLCC just now. During the talk by Tony Liew, dean of architecture in Taylors, he told us that they might be offering a masters course later on this year. So you guys might want to add them in the list for comparison sake. Cheers
Bonetoad
post Jan 24 2011, 08:41 PM

158 posts

Superlike this thread! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
Bonetoad
post Jan 27 2011, 07:53 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(DD007 @ Jan 27 2011, 01:08 AM)
Do 1st year arch students have to sketch any other things besides house/building plans and elevations? If yes, is it freehand or u will be assisted with drawing instruments
Depends on the school and lecturer i guess. For mine i had to sketch a few random objects and scenery for our visual communication class. We are only allowed to use pencil. No pen, no eraser, no ruler.

I saw UTM's students had to sketch something from a given poetry.

I also saw UiTM's students once drew and paint something abstract on a A2 size paper.
Bonetoad
post Feb 3 2011, 10:08 PM

158 posts

Guys, I think I need your humble opinion. I've been using Autocad, Rhino, Sketchup, 3dsmax, Photoshop and Illustrator as my execution tools since forever, but it seems that nowadays there's quite a few companies have started using BIM softwares such as Archicad and Revit here in Malaysia.

Do you think it's worth my time to actually learn this software?

The good thing about it is that I think it will of course open up the opportunities when applying for jobs, less errors in drawings, instantaneous schedules, floor calculations, volumes, elevations, sections and 3D. Some claims that it is much faster compared to drawing conventionally in Autocad.

My concern is that I'm scared it won't make that much of a difference for the time sacrificed to learn the software. Tools are still tools. The end product should be the same no matter what we use. I'm currently working literally from sunrise to the next sunrise biggrin.gif My only freetime is during weekends.

What's your take on this? BIM yes, no? Pros and cons?
Bonetoad
post Feb 5 2011, 02:56 AM

158 posts

I have to agree that BIM softwares are not meant to render beautiful images. They lack the tools to bring out the artist in you wink.gif As they claimed them self it's more towards the documentation phase of the project.

I've made my decision though, I'm gonna start learning BIM softwares. Besides time, there's nothing else to lose. Extra knowledge will give extra advantages smile.gif

cheers
Bonetoad
post Feb 8 2011, 08:58 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(junya watanabe @ Feb 8 2011, 06:09 PM)
Hi, i would like to know, according to the LAM web, part1 exam got 3 stages

'Stage 1 - Examination of school syllabus and course content', what kind of exam it is ? is it like : 1 paper for building tech , 1 paper for building science etc ?

'Stage 2 - Examination of candidate's course work portfolio and Oral
Examination' , for oral examination, what kind of preparation should we do?

cheers.
I don't know about the examinations part, but what all my friends from IPTS did was they sent all their syllabus, results and some works to LAM and they straight away get their part 1. Same goes to part 2.
Bonetoad
post Feb 12 2011, 08:19 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(kuanming86 @ Feb 12 2011, 04:41 PM)
how long did your fren take  from sending in all the documents until the results release ?
Can't remember exactly how long, but it was a few months. Around 3-6 months if i'm not mistaken.

Bonetoad
post Feb 24 2011, 12:21 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ Feb 23 2011, 11:29 PM)
How true is the bolded phrase? Cause art/creativity often being looked as "only the gifted/talented can excel" which is quite discouraging for those not so talented people.
Lets put aside those gifted people and learn how to draw and design like everyone else.

1. Learn thru observation, copying(as reference) others artworks.
2. Learn the color theory
3. Learn bout design theory and history
4. Learn bout shapes, forms, orders, composition, symmetry, balance, axis, and other pattern language/principles.
5. Draw and design and draw and draw again and again and again

6. Now tell me that didn't helped at all.. i dare you.
Bonetoad
post Feb 24 2011, 09:12 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(BlueBean @ Feb 24 2011, 07:51 PM)
You learn all these by yourself? Are there any links you could be able to give me? I know google have tons of them, but it's just too much, some recommendations would be nice smile.gif
To some extent, yes. Some were taught during my studies.

I've spoon fed you quite an information there, the rest is up to you to find out and explore. As you said, it's all over Mr.Google. He's a pretty nice guy biggrin.gif

Bonetoad
post Mar 2 2011, 02:06 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(bayleef10 @ Mar 1 2011, 02:51 PM)
alamak, so math is important than arts? conclusion? or equal? omgomg..
Basic calculations such as

1. Area calculation = width x length (edit: why did i put height? haha)
2. Adding, subtraction, multiplication and dividing
3. Ratio : mostly to calculate the sloping of ramp and roofing
4. %
5. $$$ < this is the business side of architecture. heheh

Which one more important? both are equally important. U need to make sure the measurements are accurate while designing a pleasing looking building. Nothing to be scared of actually, those are simple maths.

This post has been edited by Bonetoad: Mar 3 2011, 12:34 AM
Bonetoad
post Mar 6 2011, 05:24 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Mar 6 2011, 03:10 PM)
negative... if you are certified architech, you will be damn rich....  brows.gif
Isn't that what he said? blink.gif

0.0740sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:36 AM