☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

Stuffi
post Dec 28 2010, 06:08 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

I got some question here.

Is it worth to upgrade my RM900 violin like changing bridges, bows, strings, rosins etc etc

or

Buy a RM1.5k violin ?

Quite confusing here haha
Stuffi
post Dec 28 2010, 08:35 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Dec 28 2010, 06:51 PM)
it's hard to make a conclusion without knowing your current violin's quality/condition. sometimes, you find RM900 violin sound better than RM1500 violin, and vice versa.

if your current violin has got setup problem, you can change bridge (RM120~150), soundpost adjustment (usually free). then, good quality strings (RM100+), good quality rosin (RM30+-). sometimes, fingerboard might not have proper scoop or overall shaping too. bow is entirely different matter, just like buying new violins, the more you pay, the better quality you get.

then, all the above problem might present on the RM1500 too if you don't choose carefully (along with knowledges and experiences), so you might end up buying another problematic violin.

at this price point, playability and setup is priority.
ohmy.gif Woah... Thanks alot sifu !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
laugh.gif Aye aye sir ! I understood ! laugh.gif
Stuffi
post Dec 31 2010, 11:50 AM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(DavidAw @ Dec 31 2010, 02:30 AM)
finally bought a violin from amadeus. brand's scott cao. am really happy with it smile.gif
thumbup.gif The sound okay? Handmade?
Stuffi
post Jan 1 2011, 12:25 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

Woah... How much does it cost?
Stuffi
post Jan 2 2011, 10:38 AM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

AWWW MAN !!!!!!!!!
It's a STEAL !

:drools:

Stuffi
post Jan 3 2011, 02:01 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

little ice, how long it takes you to become a grade 8 violinist?..

sad.gif .

I'm quite depressed because no matter how long and how hard I practiced, I just can't improve..

Unlike piano, you sit infront the piano for 2 hours to practice a song you can at least play until the end without mistakes but not so dynamically.

Violin is so different from piano ! Gosh... I think it took a DECADE or even a CENTURY (exaggerating) to master the violin.

I understand the theory of learning music, you cannot skip this skip that. You must learn in a proper order

Stuffi
post Jan 4 2011, 07:11 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jan 3 2011, 03:10 PM)
3 years sharp, i actually prepared my grade 8 pieces at the beginning of 3rd year, or was it like around 8 months before the exam?

to be fair, before i started the violin i already had good deal of musical trainings in general since 4 years old, as well as grade 8 in piano. so i can just focus on everything about violin, and sight reading was extra easy cause mainly just single line melody.

then, teacher and environment played a big role as a whole. my teacher is that kind of "the more you hardworking the faster you learn" kind of teacher, means, he will NEVER reserve any inputs for the students. if the student is ready, he'll straight spoon feed all kinds of necessary things to student. whether the student want to follow and practice hard, it's up to the student. back then, i was a full time music student too, so i have free time to practice all day long, and people around me are all being competitive (in a good way) so i was kiasu and practiced hard. brows.gif

not to say my teacher is suitable to everybody, obviously i reckon finding the right teacher is essential as a starting point, hence i highly recommend my teacher. mind you, i'm not his only student to scored grade 8 under 3 years.
I don't know how do you managed to do this but this is too incredible !

I assume your violin teacher is professional... Well mine's not.
She's studying diploma music don't know majoring what lah...
But she's not a very good teacher.

If I want to take professional teacher, it's like RM100 half an hour lesson.
And my family couldn't afford that.

Nevertheless, I found a violin centre which provides semi-professional violin classes priced at RM160 per month
for Grade 1,2 and 3 while RM240 at Grade 4,5 and 6. Grade 7 and 8 is very very expensive.
But I still couldn't afford.

At least I do practiced for hours a day, but still I can't improve...

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 3 2011, 10:51 PM)
hey dey....juz wanna share with you guys the new bow I just got.... its a brand called dorfler made from pernambuco wood. I'd spent my last 6 months working like hell and save like hell just to get this bow.

I had a student who finished Grade 8 in 16 months, believe it or not.  brows.gif

of course, I wasn't the one who guided him for 16 months fully.... He enrolled in April. he has Grade 6 piano and good ears ( dun relaly know whether its perfect pitch anot, but if it isn't then he has really good relative pitch). In April, that was my mum started to guide in all the basics...how to hold violin etc... then he finished grade 1 scale in 1st month, then started to play grade 2 and 3 songs in 2nd month....  It was in August, I started to guide him... my philosophy in training student is 50% scale, 40% studies and 10 % songs. it means I will focus alot on scale and studies.

here's the deal. If you are grade 3 onwards...you should start playing kayser (a study) and focus more on 3rd position (try to familiarize your third position by continuously playing C major on 3rd position)

so in August, I trained his 2nd position...it took him 2 months to master 2nd position, at the same time, I make him master his Grade 5 scale. So for his studies, he played Kayser, positional study (a china book that let you master different position)...songs? I used suzuki ...

In November, he registered for his Grade 5 exam. In November itself, I started his Grade 8 scale ( to those who are doing Grade 8 now or done it....you will know only one word can be referred to Grade 8 scale- HELL ) . Its hard but he didnt give up.... I will wanna cry out if I was him. he is a tough guy at the age of 17 at that time. In December....I realized he mastered half of his Grade 8 scale.... I made him registered for his grade 8 exam.

now as a tutor...I realized...I have only 8 months to prepare for his grade 5 and 8 exam.... He finished most of grade 8 scale in January and I started his first piece of grade 8 song. but then I stop. I further trained and try to perfect only his scale and studies..... In February, I passed him to my teacher who got a shock when he knew that hes gonna take grade 8.... my teacher keep on saying he's not gonna make it  for some times.... I said... he is not a skipper....he's got basics....that was what I had been training him for the past 6 months. Through hard work....He passed his grade 5 (which he didnt care at all ...lol) and grade 8....

now this student....how did he make it?
-he practised about 6-8 hours a day.
-he got good ears
-he's discipline and determine
-he listen to his tutor and so he practised nothing but basic.....
-he did studies....after he went to my teacher. my teacher gave him kreutzer (another more difficult study). and I became his friend eventually and lend him some of my studies....including Hrimaly, sevcik...etc.

see? everything is possible...but practise is a must!
This guy is crazy !!! Really ! 16 months...... Unbelievable..

It was 2nd month already and I played Grade 2 songs... Still cannot play very well...

What the hell your student is very diligent I guess I can't be like him......

I think it's my teacher's lazy attitude.... Sigh.. I really should change a teacher YET AGAIN.

Stuffi
post Jan 5 2011, 02:12 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jan 4 2011, 07:51 PM)
my teacher charge RM100 per hour. although i don't recommend, if financial is an issue, he's able to give you lesson per 2 weeks, so it's about RM200 per month, regardless of what grade you're in. he don't do 30mins per week lesson though.

but since liez has produced a record breaking grade 8 holder. why don't you try to learn under him? laugh.gif
i reckon that you don't get carried away too much by all these grading things. acquiring a certain grade only means the player can play those 3 exam pieces, scales, and others that're required in the exam. no more, no less. smile.gif

in the professional world, examination board gradings are practically meaningless. it's about either one can play, or not.
i'm trying to use abrsm grades as a references only. in fact, i am not planning to take any exams except for grade 5 and grade 8.
maybe i can consider hehehe

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 4 2011, 08:57 PM)
dont waste time la about all these grade 8 la..diploma la..whatever la. so many people with diploma cant even play by ear! Must have a score in front of them. NO score...cant play. Really meaningless!

Sure...you learn the rudiments and 'proper' technique...but beyond the silly 3 exam pieces and scales a year...whaty good is spending so much money just to get the paper?? I have seen so many people like these.

If you think I am not qualified to say this...you can ask little ice. He can tell you whether I am qualified or not.
well i don't suppose i have a pair of good ears... but i realized when the tone is too flat or too sharp.
and i know how to tune my violin by sitting in front of my piano haha (no tuner) .
i can guess a note but doesn't guaranteed correct everytime.

but i still don't know how to listen to perfect fifths on violin.

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 4 2011, 09:49 PM)
huh? I thought this is a forum. Its better to have the more knowledge, the merrier it is right?  hmm.gif
with correct daily basic exercise and hours of hardwork practise everyday, ok lar...and at least some good ears lar... its achievable.

-its not diligence that achieve you something, its hardwork and proper guidance. and try not to give too much attention to examination songs that you are playing... Its the basics that you have to do well. Normally we can't paly well a song becoz we have yet to adapt to the necessary skills involved in the piece. e.g: fingers strength, shifting, fingers movement, and most importantly intonation and bow controlling.
I dunno whether its record breaking or not. Coz as far as I am concerned, there are more students than I know had achieved this feat. I know guys at my age who finished piano grade 8 in 2 years, a few more who finished grade 8 in 1 year. I did not break the record and the grade 8 student I mentioned earlier was not completed by me alone. And I can't guarantee to achieve this feat to anyone who comes to me. If I am able to, I would probably be millionaire now. Fact is, I am not too fierce type of teacher thus resulting about 80% of my students don't practice their violin/piano. But if they do, I will give them what they need of course.

its not the tutor who produce a good student. with a decent hearing student who practices violin as you told him and with proper method, even you can produce one. Serious.
i don't tend to break record... because... i feel that it really was too fast......
even you have the skills but you don't have any music knowledge/experience it's still like... erm... bad.

i prefer to be a concert violinist than a violin soloist...
hehehe laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Stuffi: Jan 5 2011, 02:13 PM
Stuffi
post Jan 6 2011, 09:36 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

thanks.

but... i don't understand... playing notes and music...?
i guess the truth meanings aren't simple right?
Stuffi
post Jan 7 2011, 02:07 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 6 2011, 11:21 PM)
playing notes...read the score and play...
playing music.... read the score, understand the song and play with suitable touch.... many definitions.  hmm.gif

don't have to care much about those definitions first... just play the violin well is more than enough for lower grade students. all the philosophies should come when you got into Grade 7,8  or diploma.
I couldn't help but I have to disagree with that...

Even if you were grade 5 and that doesn't mean you should play a song with a few or even NO expressions etc etc as long as you finished it smoothly.

Let's say your teacher gave you a cantando piece but you just... played it like you were in a battlefield, very very serious. Too serious.

If you don't express dynamics, feelings and so on you wouldn't care what the piece is about. Then you wouldn't care the phrasings, colors of the music...

Stuffi
post Jan 8 2011, 11:08 AM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

Ohh...
I shall say only musicians with passion towards music will search for these philosophies. It doesn't matter any grade right? And of course age matters. Young children wouldn't give a damn for these laugh.gif .

Stuffi
post Jan 8 2011, 08:04 PM

Orchid Malevolence.
1,154 posts

O.O who... him? LOLOLOL

0.0458sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:55 PM