☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

BelowAverage
post Oct 15 2008, 11:02 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Oct 15 2008, 07:54 PM)
grade 8 or what is not important. I've seen many violin/piano diploma holders play like hopeless idiots without the book. They are so dependant on the book that they became instant retards without any book.

Each time someone tells me they have grade 8 or higher, I make them play something without book. Sure they will behave like retards!.Hahaha...
i can play a piece apon hearing twice.
first time is for the chords.
second time is for the notes.

just because ppl u know are retard, doesnt mean that all grade 8 musicians are stupid.
Is a matter of whether how much they learn from the outside, and not in the classroom. i play piano, but i still play with a small chamber music group and we were featured in the star. all our peices didnt use paper, so im a retard??
I play the lead guitarist in my band, and i dont use a book, so im a retard too??
I play normal songs without book, hearing by ear, and improvising on chords and melody, but i didnt use a book, so im a retard??

so i guess those who learn by themselves are the greatest musician?

such poor mentality u have there.
BelowAverage
post Nov 10 2009, 05:34 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Nov 10 2009, 05:32 PM)
how abt the body ler... coz the rosin all sprinkled on my violin body dy sad.gif i use tisu wipe aso no wipe away
pour heneiken on it

tongue.gif
BelowAverage
post Dec 9 2009, 11:17 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Dec 6 2009, 11:35 PM)
erm.. regarding the online tunning.. do u ppl think it's accurate?
depend on ur mic lo.

if ur mic rm5 cannot receive high frenquency ma gone.

but normal cheap cheap mic can liao~~
BelowAverage
post Dec 13 2009, 01:52 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Dec 13 2009, 12:06 AM)
better violins are better in:

1. richness in tone - this is an immediate quality improvements. some cheap violins can sound like tin cans, while the better ones are richer or "thicker" in sound.

2. balance on 4 strings and across the register- this is actually very difficult to get, unless you willing to spend more than RM10k. neither any of the strings are overpowering or sounded like alien to the rest, all 4 strings are well balanced. also, some violin will sound poor up above the high register.

3. dynamic range - better violin can play much softer AND much louder. how broad the range from the softest and loudest sound you can play matter a lot. a violin only can play mp to f isn't an ideal concert violin.

4. clearer and cleaner tone - the best violin has the least distortion to the sound and overtones. if you play 2 notes together (double stops), you can immediately hear this effect - clearer and cleaner tone will sound more harmonized if 2 notes are played together. another way is to play with piano (well tuned one), out of tune is so easy to detect because the sound is clear to listen, not mud-like.

5. projection - ability of how the violin can project the sound. this is related to the point above, a powerful violin that doesn't have a pure tone the sound will not travel (if you want to read more, google "phase cancelation"). a truely projecting violin doesn't need to be powerful, and personally, i prefer broad dynamic range than plain powerful violin.

6. respond - better violin simply respond better to your bow stroke. means you don't need to dig the sound out, it'll automatically rings out without much effort. however, watch out for the overly responsive violin, they can be poor on dynamic range.

7. ability to control the colour - this is one of the rare quality in violins. a truely great violin can let you play bright sound AND mellow sound that is so easy to control, or more subtle differences such as "whispering", "roaring", "luminous", "airy" etc, all from the very same violin. a lot of people think violin can only have 1 character which is bright or dark or in between.
i might have missed out some points, but that's about it.
and lastly, if you haven't play some better violins you will never know what i was talking about. you'll never know how bad a cheap student violin is, if you never play a better ones. go to shop and start to play some, you'll know it by then. wink.gif
enter bentley

AUNKER!! give me ur most expensive handmade violin

PLAY PLAY PLAY PLAY

THANKS AUNKER!

Come back and brag in lowyat musician subforum laugh.gif whistling.gif tongue.gif biggrin.gif
BelowAverage
post Dec 30 2009, 02:58 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 23 2009, 05:02 PM)
When I was young, I palyed in chong ching orchestra and NSO junior before...That was the time before they moved the whole thing to Istana Budaya. Stopped my violin and piano at standard 3 then continue at Form 3... SO juz playing for fun now. Didn't really play in any professional orchestra (duh...there's only one in Malaysia and is full of ang mors) . Played in KL Pac O, PCCO, KLSO all these aren't really professional orchestra but they are good orchestra with nice ppl around IMO. And junior string ensemble at my house formed by my mum... lol...
An ensemble is mroe than enough I guessed. Lol. I can hardly think of any forumers here who owned brass/woodwind and percussion instruments especially a set of timpanis. lol.
I am alto  drool.gif
wow, male alto@@?? that like freaking high!!!

QUOTE(Wolffeh @ Dec 23 2009, 09:00 PM)
All you need is 3 violinists and a cellist for Canon in D. I'd expect the number of people who personally own stuff like timpanis and double bass to be <50.

Speaking of orchestras... apparently I've been accepted to PESSOC's training orchestra.... didn't know they had enough people for one. Or even heard of this training orchestra before.
2 violin, 1 viola and cello =D!!

too bad viola hard to find doh.gif
BelowAverage
post Dec 31 2009, 05:57 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(dopeycheese @ Dec 31 2009, 05:42 PM)
i've always wondered how some people learn violin without a piano or keyboard at home to use as reference, i'm talking about normal fellas without perfect pitch or anything, just picking up violin(or any string instrument for that matter) as their first instrument, how would they know their passage intonation is ok? especially passages with some accidentals

so far i haven't known of anyone attempting to learn violin without a piano background, how would absolute beginners go about their intonation w/o piano/tuner?

Play along with music or video? biggrin.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 10 2010, 09:55 PM

1,274 posts

yesterday i play on my frens violin

and i notice that the distance between his strings and the fretboard is nearer, making it easier to play.
as in pressing is easier and bowing is easier to me

mine string to fretboard distance seems to be further, making it harder to play to me.

any sifu care to explain =(?
BelowAverage
post Jan 11 2010, 02:28 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(kelvin1989 @ Jan 11 2010, 09:45 AM)
A good relative pitch can help in identifying how a note sound like what the perfect pitch does?
no idea.that day my teacher was like demo-ing scale C-major scale

and after that i told her, teacher u play slightly 1 semitone higher.

her face was like doh.gif sweat.gif

lol next time better keep my mouth shut rclxub.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 11 2010, 05:07 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Jan 11 2010, 03:59 PM)
i dont understand of why i feel pain on my arm , after i have finished practising violin, and i ever asked my violin teacher if my bowing technique is correct, she said yes, but i feel my muscle feel sore when i make a down bow to the head of the violin bow, this will be the major problem that i am facing now, wish to get some guidelines here from sifu
mayb cause u are not using muscles that u normally use??

that explains the soreness~

practice more n the feel will go away
BelowAverage
post Jan 11 2010, 10:40 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(little ice @ Jan 11 2010, 08:57 PM)
oops, i was answering BelowAverage's post wrongly.

if you're talking about string heights, sometimes it's just as simple as reshape the bridge. but sometimes it's more than that - neck angle drop which require a neck reset, maybe as expensive as buying a new student violin. it might be a bad fingerboard shaping too, a new fingerboard is also not cheap.

so have a lutheir to check it, best bring it down to singapore if yours is expensive violin (RM5000 and above). if not, maybe luthiers in KL should do a good job on fixing it.
PS: don't worry about perfect pitch. many musicians and composers in the past didn't have perfect pitch, including Paganini (if my guess is correct, based on how he tune his violin). so why bother if you have or not? wink.gif
haha. ya, but ur former explaination also help me understand better!

cause when i play my friends violin, i was more relax compared to mine, as i gotta press harder because of the strings height

can normal violin adjust it? like mayb a violin teacher? i mean i dunno any violin luthier sweat.gif
BelowAverage
post Jan 23 2010, 12:36 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(MISHUGINA @ Jan 22 2010, 10:56 PM)
Your intonation didn't make your tuner happy? Sorry to be a b**** kid, but are you on drugs? The tuner is just an electronic tool, it doesn't have emotions on its own to feel prejudice or biased towards anyone. It would just tell you whether you are sharp or flat, pronto.

Telling people that tuner is useless is akin to get lost inside a huge forest without a compass. Yeah, just watch the birds or the direction of the sun you'll get there.

You admitted you only used tuner ONCE and you admit you rarely hit the green light. How do you know your aural ability is not on par say, William Hung? Yeah, just listen to your pianist or cds. William Hung did listen to cds too  rolleyes.gif You can play all the Paganini in the world but can you blend in with the 2nd violins in MPYO?
QUOTE(MISHUGINA @ Jan 22 2010, 11:25 PM)
Its not a matter of arguing, I'm simply giving another point of view so at least no n00b walks out of this forum thinking "Oh the lowyat musicians thinks tuner is useless so it must be true".
heyhey, lets not start a flamewar!

each is entitled to their own opinion of practice and learning, so nobody is right or wrong.

And mishugina, im pretty startled at your word "noob" in refering to lyn members. you are in no help at all, insulting, and flaming little ice.
if you have your opinion, write it in a good manner, like a musician.

look at empire, eventhou he have different opinion about getting a good intonation, he dont go around using words like b*****, drugs, noob or whatever. he answer it properly, and with mannerism, but straight to his point. that's what i call a good musician!

sorry, i dont respect your way of communicating for now.

if you dont like what you see, and don't want to reply in a manner of a musician, then dont bother at all

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Jan 23 2010, 12:38 AM
BelowAverage
post Jan 24 2010, 12:15 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Jan 24 2010, 10:22 AM)
PErfect pitch don't grant you a perfect intonation. It just grants you a better hearning... Lol. Those who are with perfect pitch had to train more or less equally hard as those without to get a ncie full tune.

nay, perfect pitch helps training of violin alot.

Cause every note you play, you know wether is excatly right, slightly out, or totally out.

so whenever you play a note slightly out, your ear hears it, your brain interprets it, and your finger shift to the proper position for an accurate tone.

so because of that, your finger muscle can easily remember the position of the pitch without having dilemma whether that is the correct pitch or not.

speeds up the practicing alot smile.gif

Added on January 24, 2010, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(MISHUGINA @ Jan 23 2010, 12:21 PM)
apologies to little ice and other posters if my language is rough, been moody these few days.

Everybody is entitled to their own opinion but there are some principles in music you cannot simply compromise. It pisses me off when I observe teachers who are pass themselves off as "sifu", dispensing themselves with dangerous advice and wrong, harmful technique to its students.

Not that I accuse little ice of being that case, you have to admit he is a pretty knowledgeable violinist but nobody is perfect. Regarding his views of pitching and intonation I just have to disagree with him. 

I don't know if little ice have played with an orchestra before but I've worked with some people from MPO, NSO etc and I can tell you you have to be obsessed with getting good pitch in order to get at least decent respect from these folks. I don't believe that pure perfection is the means to making good music either if you get my gist.

I'm not saying these folks open their tuner during duration of live concert but if a student's aural perception is so bad, how to get him to understand equal temperament and such on his own without getting solid basics grounded 1st?

The only way and ONLY way the debate can be settled is by readers to ask real pros in the outside world (not the sifus in ABC music school). For starters, you can ask ANY violinist who hangs out in KLCC =P. I don't want to further prolong this discussion, argument, whatever.
haha, understand what you mean dude, cheers icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Jan 24 2010, 12:16 PM
BelowAverage
post Jan 31 2010, 12:48 AM

1,274 posts

lol, perfect pitch doesnt grant you instant epic awesome intonation XD

u still go out!

but the difference is that you know you are out, thats all~

edit: n yes, PP people still have to go through the same training and torture rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by BelowAverage: Jan 31 2010, 12:50 AM
BelowAverage
post Jan 31 2010, 07:14 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(b3ta @ Jan 31 2010, 06:08 AM)
any bassists here into estrella? they have nice songs with sweet jazz basslines laugh.gif
are u in the right thread?

anyway, estrella "Stay" verii nice, and the lead verii cute!
BelowAverage
post Feb 2 2010, 11:41 PM

1,274 posts

i prefer cello.

double bass not so nice when u perform solo to people.

but cello, u can play bach suite to people, so nice~

its much mellower, sweeter than a violin, sometimes i prefer cello sound more to violin.

double bass? nono~ good for orchestra only
BelowAverage
post Mar 12 2010, 02:36 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE("K" @ Mar 11 2010, 11:35 PM)
what do u guys think about this violin

user posted image drool.gif

just for show?
Black and White FTW tongue.gif

I told my teacher that i want black violin

She say how u going to bring that into exam

i lol'd
BelowAverage
post Apr 20 2010, 11:12 AM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(noob4life @ Apr 14 2010, 02:37 AM)
Anyone here bow on electric fiddles ?  Im looking for a Yamaha SV-130 and a Roland amp to go with it...

Been playing accoustic for 2 years and plan to go electric. ^^    Inspired by some Jazz player in a bar.

The problem is, i cant find Yamaha electrics in Penang... The roland amp is fine and can be found almost anywhere... but for electric violins... all i find is those cheap china electrics costing 100$ on ebay. ( and, mind you, theres plenty to go around )

Anyone seen good quality electric fiddles around ? KL perhaps ?
Distortion!@!!!!! thumbup.gif

0.0465sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:23 AM