13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

little ice
post Sep 11 2010, 06:35 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Sep 11 2010, 04:02 AM)
I think I might pick up violin one day if I ever find a cheap violin.
they're as cheap as guitars.
little ice
post Sep 26 2010, 01:12 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

yamaha recently raised their fees, beginner was RM120, and increased about 10%. that applies for retail branches, franchises can follow or set their own fees (due to better renovation, rental due to location etc etc).

for RM150...wangsa walk? hmm.gif
little ice
post Sep 26 2010, 11:26 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(MaggieQ @ Sep 26 2010, 09:22 PM)
so is rm150 too expensive? or reasonable?
reasonable.

RM133 of beginner violin lesson in retail yamaha branch (not franchise) is only 30mins per lesson and no theory.
little ice
post Oct 9 2010, 09:53 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Oct 6 2010, 04:02 PM)
she broke it and u pay?
put it this way - teacher doesn't want to take any responsbility, then the teacher let the student tune, but the student dunno how to tune, and broke 4 or 5 strings before the student get the job done.

breaking the string can be caused by different reasons - bad maintenance for the string grooves on bridge/nut, bad nut shaping, strings jamming at the pegbox wall etc. it's difficult to break a string if one is careful and tune the string slowly.

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 9 2010, 07:33 AM)
need help from sifu, usually after practicing my violin for half an hour then started to feel pain on my shoulder, is it normal, i am currently using fom shoulder rest, but it does not set me in a very confortable feel, after i have been adjusting it with varying position and height, i have a longer neck, and it does not seem to be enuf in fitting the space "between shoulder and neck"  of mine. is there any other type of shoulder rest, that comes with better flexibility and more comforable?
it's hard to solve your problem without looking at how you hold the violin. usually, it's the posture that's causing the problem, rather than shoulder rest.
little ice
post Oct 9 2010, 10:18 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Oct 9 2010, 02:53 PM)
but little ice, dun you think a comfortable shoulder rest reduce the potential for you to stress yourself? i agree the prob is posture, but i tink a shoulder rest can aid in correcting it.
yes, comfortable shoulder rest is essential, but you can't be sure if certain shoulder rest is suitable for which individual. without seeing the problem in person, it's hard to tell.

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 9 2010, 04:04 PM)
wish to know kun shoulder rest selling at such high price with not much different with fom shoulder rest , correct me if i am wrong. Is it worth to get it?
i never use a KUN before, but as far as i can see, KUN has better quality material. FOM is obviously an imitation, and it's like 1/4 of the price of KUN. but what i don't like FOM is that the platic flex a little so sometimes the shoulder rest is easy to come off, even no pressure between shoulder/chin.

i definitely recommend FOM simply because it's dirt cheap and i had one that lasted me 5 years, still can use but the foam and rubber need to change cause they're worn smooth and no grip already. it's so cheap to replace it anyway...
little ice
post Oct 12 2010, 02:20 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 12 2010, 07:05 AM)
i wish to know how to determine if enough rosin is applied onto the bow? pls help...
when you feel the bow is floating on the string and you need to dig into the string to make good sound, then you need to rosin your bow.

if you see rosin dusts collecting on the violin surface under the strings, or fingerboard, it's a little too much but still ok. but if you bow and you see "smokes" coming out from the bow hair, it's way too much...

PS: to answer your PM, sorry i really don't know when i'm ok. sweat.gif

QUOTE(TandooriC @ Oct 12 2010, 09:48 AM)
How tight should the bow hair be? How do we know if it is tight enough?
usually, the distance between bowhair/stick at the middle is about the same width of the bow stick.

i the bow bounce too much on normal bowing, tighten it more. as a general rule of thumb, never tighten to the extent that the bow stick looks straight, it should leave at least some inward curve on it.

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Oct 12 2010, 12:28 PM)
all this talk about tightness and stiffness. hmmm
you mean G string? drool.gif
little ice
post Oct 25 2010, 05:53 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

vibrato is highly personal. you'll have to figure it out yourself no matter how much the teacher help you.

basically, you need imagination, and imagination of the whole picture, not just focus on small area e.g. your wrist/finger/arm only.

watch these to get some tips:

Added on October 25, 2010, 7:55 pm
QUOTE(Zidane Chan @ Oct 21 2010, 08:58 PM)
Anyone here knows where can I find a violin shop that offers installment/loan payment of purchasing a higher range violin model?
you can try phone euro music and chamber music. i think chamber music offer the EZ payment or something, and they have a few fine violins there for not too much of money.

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 25 2010, 11:53 AM)
i have a problem here when counting rhythm by heart (without foot tapping). When i put more concentration in listening to the sound, a little bit lost when counting the rhythm by heart. when i concentrate more on the counting, then i cannot pay attention to the tone i play. when i "foot tap", then everything is fine, but my instructor told me not to nurture such habit. Is this common issue for beginner?
yes it's a common issue, more like for any instruments/beginner.

basically, you'll have to listen to the sound, and react to the sound you hear. you don't concentrate to what you do, just concentrate on what you hear.

it's like, you play L4D, counter strike, or any other action games. you stare at the screen, and your fingers will react to what you see, subconciously, as if the keyboard is part of your hand.

in short, listen to what you play, not what you do. don't worry, your teacher will point out the error on posture or other problems. wink.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Oct 25 2010, 07:55 PM
little ice
post Oct 25 2010, 08:18 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

stiff finger is considered wrong by majority of violinists. it's simple, your finger's knuckle need to be moving to achieve a big and beautiful vibrato swing.

there might be violinists with stiff finger vibrato but it's a very rare case.
little ice
post Oct 27 2010, 05:50 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

bow that came with RM1000 violin usually slightly better but probably about RM200, so it's not really worth to repair if you compare like that. but i can't be sure what kind of bow you have, especially if it's worth your time and money to buy a new (better) bow or just rehair, for the reason karen mentioned.

good rehair running about RM100~RM120 in KL. RM60 sounds too low for rehair. good horse hair doesn't come cheap anyway. but then, RM60 sounds about right to get your (most likely) cheap bow to rehair.

i'd say, it's a good reason to upgrade your bow right now. better bow make your learning progress faster, and most likely will sound better.
little ice
post Oct 28 2010, 12:22 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Jingle_bubbles @ Oct 27 2010, 07:21 PM)
Any idea how much a good bow would cost like?
good wooden bow that offer significant difference is about RM800 and up. carbon fiber is a better choice in the lower price range. i always recommend a carbon fiber bow selling for RM230 at euro music KL that plays very well and comparable to wooden bow that cost RM800 or even RM1000'ish...

just that the sound might not be as warm but for RM230, it's definitely well worth the price.
little ice
post Oct 28 2010, 11:08 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Oct 28 2010, 08:43 AM)
little ice, wats the brand? or i jz go there and tell them i want the 230 carbon bow? haha
no brand, but it's the only carbon fiber bow in euro music i think. just ask for carbon fiber bow and they'll show you that RM230 priced bow...

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 28 2010, 10:25 PM)
what are the aspects that carbon fiber bow is good at, might consider to replace my synwin bow with a better one... wish to know more about the details
carbon fiber bow usually strong with lots of spring to the stick, and they're inexpensive compared to wooden bow that offer the same playability. carbon fiber bow usually have faster respond too, you'll find it'll stick to the string or make the string vibrate easier. CF bow by nature also much more durable than wooden bows.

however, CF bows usually draw a little thinner sound, or brighter than most wooden bow, and usually not as warm as wooden bow. brighter here doesn't mean harsh though, just more treble. for lower price range, CF bow almost always better than wooden bow of the same price range.
little ice
post Oct 28 2010, 11:41 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Oct 28 2010, 11:31 PM)
thanks for the information given. little ice, last time u said a good bow or a good violin can be a good tutor. what does this statement mean
you'll know when you start to play on a better bow...

cheap bows are like dead horse, you try to input something to it and it won't respond. heck, you'd even struggle just to get a good and stable tone out of a bad bow.
little ice
post Nov 9 2010, 09:57 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(aiishiteru @ Nov 9 2010, 09:44 PM)
Im a violist. Do you guys have any ideas to get Viola Strings thru the net? Tq smile.gif
my favourite place to order strings online.

http://concordmusic.com/

some are priced cheaper than malaysia, some not. but they don't charge insane shipping price, and you can buy some strings that're not available in malaysia.
little ice
post Nov 16 2010, 06:19 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

Cirno
vibrato on cello is easier. but there're so many violinists with beautiful vibrato. wink.gif

i saw the hofner electric violin selling at chamber music, and my friend bought it, the same that's pictured below:
http://en.woodbrass.com/electric+violin+ho...160ev+as+160e+v

it's decent sounding and certainly quality isn't much difference than yamaha silent violin (i actually prefer hofner to yamaha in tone character) that's selling for RM4000+ versus the hofner selling for RM1200+- even at chamber music.

not sure whether they still bring in that model, give them a call first.
little ice
post Nov 16 2010, 09:12 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Nov 16 2010, 07:48 PM)
Little Ice:

I know bows are personal stuff la, but i still gonna ask. Have u tried the Codabows before? Think its value for money?
nope, but i wasn't into coda bows right from the start so i never try them. lot of people love them, but you can't judge opinions from the public because you'll never know in what way they appreciate the bow. their newer Joule model is interesting, that's designed to drive the C string on 5 string violin.

CF bow usually has superior response, power and being able to draw very clean tone with very little noise, but they always have a colder sound compared to wooden bow. if you don't mind the sound, in the price range of RM2000 and below, it's hard to beat CF bow especially in playability. if you want my opinion what to get as advancing bow, i'd recommend to go the wooden bow route, but that's just me.

if you insist on buying CF bows, be careful that CF bows can vary in quality more than you'd imagine, try before buy if you can.

PS: i once owned an Arcus Cadenza Gold. very nice bow, love it until i bought an old wooden bow for under RM3k (i was being lucky actually) that beat the hell out of that Arcus bow that cost 4 times more. sold it, and never look back since then. never trust anyone who claim CF bow is superior to even the best wooden bow.

This post has been edited by little ice: Nov 16 2010, 09:13 PM
little ice
post Nov 22 2010, 09:30 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(diegoadriadona @ Nov 19 2010, 08:53 PM)
Hey guys, just wanna enquire whether are there any violin teachers around in bukit jalil area? Im a IMU student who wishes to play the violin although im already 20. hee..

Any teachers around, pls let me know their pricings per lessons too if possible..Thank you=)
i have a professional teacher to recommend, staying in vista commonwealth, right next to the IMU @ bukit jalil.

RM100 per 1 hour lesson, so RM400 per week. his 1 month teaching can be a much as 3~6 months on regular teacher, depends how fast and hardworking you are.
little ice
post Nov 23 2010, 01:02 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Nov 22 2010, 09:55 PM)
little ice: the teacher is so power? got short courses available?
he's my teacher. i got my grade 8 trinity with distinction grade (from totally dunno how to play violin) within 3 years (took exam november of 3rd year, so i actually prepared grade 8 exam pieces during earlier of 3rd year).

and i'm not the only one, quite a few of his other students are doing as good.

not that he's offering short course, he never waste time teaching unnecessary things. but if you don't follow each lesson tightly, you're the one wasting time, not the teacher.

however, that's if you have at least some musical background, can read music and decent theory knowledge about grade 3 or best, grade 5. if starting as a totally beginner without any musical background, not that it's impossible, you have to be very very hard working to prepare for each lesson and taking theory lessons with other teacher along with the regular violin lessons.

if you can buy time with money, why not?
little ice
post Nov 27 2010, 11:30 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Karenalvin @ Nov 25 2010, 07:56 PM)
sorry, turned up nothing. perhaps little ice can point somewhere
sorry, i don't have anything under my sleeve too...

QUOTE(trace_123 @ Nov 26 2010, 04:43 PM)
hey ..do u guys know is kayser op 20 is a song book?
what are you trying to ask?

QUOTE(empire @ Nov 26 2010, 05:02 PM)
you get to meet the wise and lousy Little Ice in person too as he will be there :-)
there, corrected for you...
little ice
post Dec 3 2010, 11:50 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(cowboy9686 @ Dec 3 2010, 10:22 PM)
so it is like 125 per month for an hour. is that a fair deal? so I could get cheaper at somewhere else?  rolleyes.gif
you get what you pay for...

This post has been edited by little ice: Dec 3 2010, 11:51 PM
little ice
post Dec 4 2010, 10:23 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Dec 4 2010, 10:11 PM)
I wish to know how to determine use which finger to press a note? For example: C# of g string, 3rd finger or 4th finger?
depends on the passage, see which finger works better.

if it's a single note, for C#, i normally use 3, and if Db, i use 4.

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0414sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:50 AM