13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

☆Fellowship of the Strings☆Violin,Viola,Cello etc., ~String Instruments Lovers are welcome!~

little ice
post Nov 19 2009, 01:11 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(storm04 @ Nov 17 2009, 01:09 PM)
hmm... interesting.... all about how to clean your violin... i am wondering why no one mentioned about cleaning the bow?
yup, clean the bow with soft cloth. just wrap the cloth around the stick and wipe it up and down. remember to clean the head/tip too, many people don't clean that part which often covered with rosins too.

QUOTE(hysteresis @ Nov 19 2009, 11:27 AM)
Hi all...does anyone has any experience or review on Scott Cao violins? I am planning to invest in a lower range intermediate violin which costs around 2 to 3K.
scott cao violins are famous in US, but almost nobody talks about it in malaysia.

for 2k~3k, i played some synwin (singapore) that're pretty nice for the money. lower range sandner are nice too. at this price range, you're still looking at china violins, so IMHO brand doesn't really matter much.
little ice
post Nov 25 2009, 10:23 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Nov 25 2009, 01:31 AM)
can recommend me nice violin strings? i heard pyramid is good?
pyramid is decent, but those RM12.50 one set are usable too. at RM50 or lower, avoid those strings that are too thick especially G string, which tends to slow down the respond, in other words, you feel like you want to dig into the strings to get a decent sound.

i played a RM1000 china made violin with that RM12.50 strings on it, still sound warm and thick. sometimes it depends on the violin...
little ice
post Nov 26 2009, 11:03 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(storm04 @ Nov 25 2009, 01:19 PM)
changed them with the spare - dominant strings. however, the new g doesnt sound as good. and even to my inexperience ears, kinda off... maybe it is me...
i'm not surprised - dominant strings generally have slower respond, means the moment you start to draw the bow, it will not sound immediately, or as quick as steel strings. in return, they give more manipulation to the tonal and dynamic changes. basically, dominants are designed to replace guts, which they don't, but still feels quite close to gut strings nonetheless and have some advantages over guts.

moreover, it's the other way round - dominant is very honest strings, it will bring out the violin's character more than other strings in general, if you know what i mean. there're quite a few colleagues hate dominant strings, they'd use something else, usually more expesive like pirastro obligato or evah pirazzi. but my violin initially came with evah pirazzi, i hated it - too loud (stiff), and hard to play soft, and can't play expressively. changed to dominants, and since then experimented with other strings, still prefer dominants.

lots of world class soloist still put a set of dominants on their millions of dollars violins...

QUOTE(storm04 @ Nov 25 2009, 01:19 PM)
maybe get a new g-string that "fits" (pun intended)...

so i assume we can buy a single string by itself and not the whole set, r8? so for G string, any recommedations?
i believe isetan or jusco will have a lot of choices, if not you should head to blush! to buy some, lots of sexy ones. laugh.gif

ok for serious, you can guy single strings, but since strings should be changed together at once as they'll degrade after some use, so you'll get even quality across the 4 strings. try something cheaper first, no need to buy expensive strings cause it doesn't make too much of a differences between lower range strings.

QUOTE(Mysterious Dr X @ Nov 26 2009, 04:06 AM)
Good morning guys, I would like to ask what violin would you guys recommend for a beginner? Roughly Rm 500-RM1000. Hopefully something that'll last me till at least an intermediate level smile.gif

Oh, and also is it different playing the violin and viola? Thanks alot smile.gif
RM500 will fit a eurostrings model 200, and RM1000 will fit model 300. they're pretty good for the price, but that's what i have experiences with, maybe there're better ones but i don't know.

violin and viola, although looks similar, they're entirely different when it comes to "playing them as what they are". lots of violinist thought they can play viola just like that, but the outcome is simply just playing violin with a deeper (and lower) voice. a true viola (violist) will make it sounds with a tonal character combining violin and cello (my descriptions, of course). there're a little differences in bow pressure which has a lot to do with tone production, but others basically is about the same.
little ice
post Nov 26 2009, 05:21 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(storm04 @ Nov 26 2009, 02:45 PM)
when u you know it's time to change the bridge on your violin?
when it's mati pucuk, cannot stand anymore.

seriously. tongue.gif

(means the bridge cannot hold straight up anymore, will bend when tuning strings cause the middle part become warped and soften...) laugh.gif
little ice
post Nov 27 2009, 10:59 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Boolean @ Nov 27 2009, 05:00 AM)
Hehe. i own a Scott Cao. It's a copy of "the Heifety", which i never heard of before. Looks sweet, sounds good too.

My backup violin is a Gliga (Gems 2)... nothing much to shout about though. I'm trying to sell of that one.
it's Heifetz i'm supposed, should be copy of Heifetz's guarneri del gesu violin.

search youtube about his name Jascha Heifetz and see how he plays. god-like playing, even top soloist of today will open mouth big big if they see him play in person (if he still alive lah) or his videos.

gliga? good luck on selling yours. wink.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Nov 27 2009, 11:00 AM
little ice
post Nov 27 2009, 10:04 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Boolean @ Nov 27 2009, 02:26 PM)
haha, that bad meh???? for my amateurish level, Gliga is okay ma....
yup they're ok, in fact, they're better for beginners and intermediate students because of the less offensive sound like those typical chinese violins...but advance students or professionals will find them weak or too gentle...

QUOTE(Boolean @ Nov 27 2009, 02:26 PM)
hm, ur knowledge is extensive , are you a professional violinist? I thought ur a composer or arranger, lol...
i was a composer/arranger. basically i'm an enthusiast, but no where near expert. talk maybe can lah, but if truely demonstrate, i'm still no where near "expert"...

but if you consider professional = earn money by playing violin, then i am playing violin as a professional. laugh.gif
little ice
post Nov 30 2009, 06:48 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(legaia_green @ Nov 30 2009, 06:05 PM)
Any honest insights on the Gligas?
i owned and played both Gliga GAMA and Maestro before.

they're good, and bad, depends on many different aspects. generally, you don't want to spend that much money on the Maestro model, they don't worth it in general. even if you have the money for that, try to play that particular violin (or other instruments), and compare to lower models, before you buy.

in general, gligas are a little weak, but that kind of warm soft and mellow sound is what novices want, because naturally lower range violins are commonly shrill sounding to begin with. novices is in the stage of having their fresh ears to accept and getting used to the sorprano sound - shrill sounding violins are of course not the best option.

advancing players want to ask for more from their instruments. it's more than just bowing 1 kind of sound, and advancing players will want their "voice" to be heard, that's when they start to ditch such violins. things like power and projections, dymanics, focus to the sound with colours to manipulate, you'll find gligas lacking a lot in all these advance requirement. more expensive china instruments are capable to give all these, just that they usually have a rougher sound to begin with.
little ice
post Dec 8 2009, 02:17 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Wolffeh @ Dec 7 2009, 11:08 PM)
It can be affected by crap speakers. I think it's reasonably accurate. I was wondering if anyone knows what the grade 6 exam pieces are, and where I could grab the score?
they're both digital, so it's 100% accurate. i guess no matter how crappy your speakers are, cannot be worst than the tiny speaker on the tuner right? sweat.gif

violin exam pieces? if you can go to KL, visit chamber music or euro music. you can always phone them to ask first.

QUOTE(studwo @ Dec 8 2009, 12:00 AM)
i am planning to get a new violin . Budget wise : 5 K . Bow : 500 - 800 So far i had only visited house of violins in puchong . Are there any places in the KL , Puchong , PJ areas that sells good violins . Currently i am using a french violin .

I manage to try out alot of violins in there . I like one of the "ruggi master" series of the house of violins and 1 bow made of animal horn(????) . Just would like to try out more violins before buying them /
RM5k? you can PM me if you're interested. my friend selling a few nice violins in that price range, old and new. he only earn a little, so it's not like dealers chop you kao kao. biggrin.gif

if you insist on buying from dealers, chamber music actually carry quite a few nice violins, as well as euro music. or head to the shop/school called "amadeus" something, few lots away from digital mall @ PJ. they carry violins from student grade to professional italian violins (RM30k~RM50k).
little ice
post Dec 11 2009, 09:59 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(Boolean @ Dec 10 2009, 06:17 PM)

ah...shit happens!

don't worry, your violin appeared to be "antiqued finish", means to make the violin looks like it's old. just rub some oil (say, oils from your nose...) and dirts on that part, and it will appear as like other black spots that is everywhere on those centuries old violins due to scratches and dings that collect dirts/oils.

QUOTE(cusx @ Dec 11 2009, 07:02 PM)
your friend is dealer ? or collector ? or seller ? or middle man.

I'm quite interested too.
nope, he's an orchestra player but also private seller, you can say he's kind of like a collector. as far as i see, he's very honest with his sales, he probably mark up like 10% or something cause he don't need maintenance fees like shops and dealers. you'll never know, some dealers mark up like 120% for you to ask for discount (say, RM3000 violin selling at RM7000!).
little ice
post Dec 13 2009, 12:06 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

better violins are better in:

1. richness in tone - this is an immediate quality improvements. some cheap violins can sound like tin cans, while the better ones are richer or "thicker" in sound.

2. balance on 4 strings and across the register- this is actually very difficult to get, unless you willing to spend more than RM10k. neither any of the strings are overpowering or sounded like alien to the rest, all 4 strings are well balanced. also, some violin will sound poor up above the high register.

3. dynamic range - better violin can play much softer AND much louder. how broad the range from the softest and loudest sound you can play matter a lot. a violin only can play mp to f isn't an ideal concert violin.

4. clearer and cleaner tone - the best violin has the least distortion to the sound and overtones. if you play 2 notes together (double stops), you can immediately hear this effect - clearer and cleaner tone will sound more harmonized if 2 notes are played together. another way is to play with piano (well tuned one), out of tune is so easy to detect because the sound is clear to listen, not mud-like.

5. projection - ability of how the violin can project the sound. this is related to the point above, a powerful violin that doesn't have a pure tone the sound will not travel (if you want to read more, google "phase cancelation"). a truely projecting violin doesn't need to be powerful, and personally, i prefer broad dynamic range than plain powerful violin.

6. respond - better violin simply respond better to your bow stroke. means you don't need to dig the sound out, it'll automatically rings out without much effort. however, watch out for the overly responsive violin, they can be poor on dynamic range.

7. ability to control the colour - this is one of the rare quality in violins. a truely great violin can let you play bright sound AND mellow sound that is so easy to control, or more subtle differences such as "whispering", "roaring", "luminous", "airy" etc, all from the very same violin. a lot of people think violin can only have 1 character which is bright or dark or in between.

i might have missed out some points, but that's about it.

and lastly, if you haven't play some better violins you will never know what i was talking about. you'll never know how bad a cheap student violin is, if you never play a better ones. go to shop and start to play some, you'll know it by then. wink.gif
little ice
post Dec 13 2009, 01:16 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 13 2009, 07:43 AM)
My mere opinion.   rclxms.gif
but i was speaking from experiences. believe it or not, i have a RM20k violin that can do all of the above points i mentioned. wink.gif

i don't want to talk bad about other people, but fine violin sales in malaysia is indeed a big fat meat to chew on. so you rarely get honest sales. i got my violin through online, though. call me crazy, but it is as rewarding as it can be. if you have doubts, we can meet up. icon_idea.gif

some of the fine violinist today will only own 2 instrument - a fine modern setup violin (old or new), and a baroque setup violin. because a fine modern setup violin can give whatever sound a violinist can get, except baroque setup violin because it's very different so a seperate baroque violin is needed. then, in order to play repertoires from different periods, they'll use different bow instead of different violin. world class soloist will have collections of bows while they might only have 1 fine violin.

and if you have ever experienced what a fine french bow can give, you'll immediately realize you missed a whole new world of possibilities in the violin world.

then, if one want to play other genres than classical, THEN you need another violin. celtic or country fiddling, you will need something different. however, still, people like Stephane Grappelli who's the most famous jazz violinist, uses fine old italian violins which i think included a fine gagliano.

PS: regarding your first point, yes come and listen to my violin. thick and juicy, but buttery smooth sound. richness is one thing, tone quality is another. maybe you haven't heard those smooth sounding violin before. wink.gif

QUOTE(cusx @ Dec 13 2009, 11:36 AM)
those are really some advance things that newbie like me would not know how to differentiate.

It's just too advance.
So, when buying a handmade violin :

we can't differentiate between a good violin and a bad one in terms of price and performance ratio.

Is it a good idea to trust the seller ? or prepare to be chop ?
EDIT: anyone know anything about those Czech handmade Violin's or ever tried them ?
speaking of handmade violins today, you cannot generalize any of the country they made from. for examples, china violins can beat european made violins in the same price range, up to maybe RM15k range, however that is also not always.

in other words, if you cannot appreciate the differences, then just buy accordingly. put it in other words, buy something that you think it's good. very good violins can be really difficult for beginners to play, because they can be tricky to bring out the full potential, and might actually being unhelpful in the learning progress because you suffer a lot. on the other hand, cheaper student violin might give you less controls, but they can be easier to play. so you can focus on something more basic. then from there, after you advanced, you will want something better, THEN only you buy another violin. take your time, things like this cannot be rushed.

i give you another example, you just learned how to drive a car, suddenly give you ferrari, you dare to drive or not? even if you dare, if you get the car to bang here and there, you don't feel heart pain don't you? wink.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Dec 13 2009, 01:25 PM
little ice
post Dec 14 2009, 02:08 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(cusx @ Dec 13 2009, 01:29 PM)
little ice, are you a violin teacher ?

do you help people to buy violins ?  if yes do drop me a pm.

I actually need some help because I am not attach to any teacher anymore.

cry.gif
i suggest you to openly ask your question here, so if there's anyone who has the same problem can look at the discussions.

unless you want to meet me up personally, and need help from me, drop me a PM with your requests. wink.gif

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 14 2009, 01:09 AM)
It's just that every different players have their own ways of describing a violin.
i got nothing to add, but you seems to be quite sensitive when people responding your statements... hmm.gif
little ice
post Dec 14 2009, 01:29 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 14 2009, 01:26 PM)
which part  hmm.gif
nevermind... smile.gif
little ice
post Dec 14 2009, 07:59 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 14 2009, 07:52 PM)
I seriously mean no offensive remarks to your knowledge, man. I meant I agreed to most of them juz I got my own opinions on some minor issues. That's it so if I did make you think that I am trying to bring down your post then I am sorry.  sad.gif
aiyo i didn't mean that lah. what i meant was it seems that you're a little nervous when i responded to your statements and opinions, but i think that was pretty small matter, so don't worry about it. sweat.gif

and no offense taken! peace~ icon_rolleyes.gif
little ice
post Dec 15 2009, 07:21 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

i only played in amateur orchestra a few times, a very small orchestra. never join any real orchestra though.
little ice
post Dec 17 2009, 11:15 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

not a bad idea but what are the chances to get everybody together and play?

and...where??
little ice
post Jan 7 2010, 10:51 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Jan 7 2010, 02:56 AM)
i am a beginner and currently practicing with am electronic tuner in front of me, to make sure the problem of out of tune is not too servere.... Memorizing notes are very difficult to me and it is totally different with how we memorize others' phone number.... i started to feel doubtful with my potential in learning violin.... haiz....
what you're trying to achieve is to acquire "perfect pitch". seriously, that is not something that can be trained. i don't have perfect pitch, and i don't find myself missing anything. heck, even perfect pitch can play out of tune without even knowing they did so.

do NOT practice with a tuner. practice with the markings on the fingerboard first. then learn to get fimilar with the sound you hear, in a way how a note is related to another.
little ice
post Jan 11 2010, 01:19 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Jan 10 2010, 08:28 PM)
For example, open string D is followed by E, F shap, g note, when i play a note after another, i get my finger holding down the right position for the right sound, but when i use my first second and third finger to press on the string at the same time, to get the g note, and leave them off one by one for F sharp and E note, it has always given me crap, is there any way to train for that?
normally i give my students a few practice sheets that i written myself.

every teacher has their own way of teaching this, you can always ask your teacher how to overcome this.

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Jan 10 2010, 09:55 PM)
yesterday i play on my frens violin

and i notice that the distance between his strings and the fretboard is nearer, making it easier to play.
as in pressing is easier and bowing is easier to me

mine string to fretboard distance seems to be further, making it harder to play to me.

any sifu care to explain =(?
it depends on your finger thickness. i find if play strings too near to each other i'll be very frustrated to play bach pieces.

it's all about personal preferences. you can always have a luthier who know how to make a proper string groove and spacing, have the strings spaced closer to each other.

bowing is another issue, the curve on the bridge has to be properly shaped so they're not too curved, nor too shallow that your bow will touch other strings very easily.
little ice
post Jan 11 2010, 08:57 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

oops, i was answering BelowAverage's post wrongly.

if you're talking about string heights, sometimes it's just as simple as reshape the bridge. but sometimes it's more than that - neck angle drop which require a neck reset, maybe as expensive as buying a new student violin. it might be a bad fingerboard shaping too, a new fingerboard is also not cheap.

so have a lutheir to check it, best bring it down to singapore if yours is expensive violin (RM5000 and above). if not, maybe luthiers in KL should do a good job on fixing it.

PS: don't worry about perfect pitch. many musicians and composers in the past didn't have perfect pitch, including Paganini (if my guess is correct, based on how he tune his violin). so why bother if you have or not? wink.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Jan 11 2010, 08:59 PM
little ice
post Jan 11 2010, 11:53 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(ilovestitch @ Jan 11 2010, 09:55 PM)
i dun really understand about relative pitch.... is it to play the notes accurately from what u have heard?
relative pitch is that one can relate a note from another notes, but cannot tell the exact name of the notes because relative pitch musicians cannot "remember" the exact pitch.

they can play back the same song in all 12 keys, but they can't tell you what is the original key they have listened to without any references.

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Jan 11 2010, 10:40 PM)
haha. ya, but ur former explaination also help me understand better!

cause when i play my friends violin, i was more relax compared to mine, as i gotta press harder because of the strings height

can normal violin adjust it? like mayb a violin teacher? i mean i dunno any violin luthier sweat.gif
definitely not your violin teacher. it need proper height reduction (means cutting some wood off) and the curve of the bridge isn't simply done without knowledges, as well as the string spacings which need to be redone after the shaping.

euro music, early music venture, carimen dolce, 3 also got in house luthiers. i recommend euro music or early music venture.

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0254sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:08 AM