iPhone iPhone Club Version5, FW1.1.4 is out..........................

mugenfoo
post Feb 19 2008, 01:17 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

This just in ....

Today i got hold of a "bricked" 112 OTB iPhone . Week-50 series.
It had: IMEI unknown , ICCID unknown at the activation screen's "i", and would pop-up the "repair needed... bla bla bla " window after a while.

Suspect that the Baseband somehow is corrupted by some bungling moron's half-baked attempts to hack the unit.

So anyhow ... here's what it took to restore (and hack) it nicely to full working order:

1. Put the iBrick into DFU mode.

2. use iTunes 7.5 or later and restore with 1.1.3 FW.
Funny thing... the restore process ended with a Hex Error "0xE8000025".
But heck ... at the activation screen, the IMEI and ICCID came back from the dead.

3. Reboot iPhone... connect to PC (or Mac if u prefer)... and ran Ziphone v2.4 (the latest so far). Just used the "FULL AUTOMATIC.BAT" file and voila... unlocked 1.1.3 iPhone!!

4. Some house cleaning ... installed BSD, and iClarified for 1.1.3.

Result: Unlocked Working 1.1.3 (with proper 4.03.13G BaseBand) , Youtube OK, wifi OK, call in call out OK, G-map client OK. Lazy to test the SMS.

the jiggly wiggly icons are kinda cool.. so are the webclips, and GMap client... but not enough a motivation to upgrade my personal 1.1.2 iPhone....

Afterthoughts .. if this was a 113OTB iPhone ... then its pretty much a bricked unit until we get 1.1.4 secpack , or if ZIPhone could still access and downgrade the BL. Actually .. no , since GeoHot's utility can nuke the secpack in the seczone by exploiting the write timings... so all's well ! <Until Apple plugs this hole with a new bootloader >

Haven't had the chance to experiment on a "bricked 113OTB yet".

The "IDT" and "Nate-True" Jailbreak methods are pretty much obsoleted and superseded by the latest GeoHot/Zibri combined effort now.

Ziphone rocks. 101% convenience at your control.

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Feb 19 2008, 10:08 PM
mugenfoo
post Feb 19 2008, 08:00 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 19 2008, 07:37 PM)
$89.70 + $33 shipping charges for 3 units.  Cant wait for it to arrive. Once it arrives, I'm gonna take 1 to my friend's carbon fiber car parts factory n ask him to fabricate it in aerospace grade carbon fiber.  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Who ? Bobo ah ?

mugenfoo
post Feb 19 2008, 10:16 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 19 2008, 08:31 PM)
Either him or Shedden oso can. Y? U want 1 too?  brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
of course man .... put me down for one of the "prototype" unit too ler !!
rclxms.gif

Nothing shouts out louder than an iPhone with race-material carbon fibre skin. Got the looks, the style, and the techMology.

This post has been edited by mugenfoo: Feb 19 2008, 10:17 PM
mugenfoo
post Feb 21 2008, 11:35 PM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

QUOTE(bola @ Feb 21 2008, 07:34 PM)

another vaguely related issue, i read somewhere in the threads that one of those 3.5mm jack adapter is available for RM25 but cant remember which thread. was wondering if anyone has an idea where to get one. i have a audio/video cable from apple when i bought the ipod photo from way back and wanted to use the 3.5mm adapter to hook it up to the HID in the car or to a TV.

thanks.
those iphone earphone adapters are available at sunway pyramid Machines shop. Their other branches might have also. About RM35+ or so. Nicely packaged and stuff.

I made my own by finding some old earphone cable,and just grind off the plastic surround so that it fits into the iPhone jack, and then solder a female earphone jack on the other end. total cost: less than RM5.00

mugenfoo
post Feb 25 2008, 01:56 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

2K paint + the top clear coat !
mugenfoo
post Feb 28 2008, 12:04 AM

"Assembled Phenomena"
1,061 posts

http://www.ziphone.org/