ICAP, traded price higher than NAV

highcourt
post Aug 18 2012, 11:02 AM

190 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Aug 18 2012, 08:49 AM)
Gutten morgan HJebat.
Elite? Thanks - just trying to add value & help fellow financial freedom seekers avoid stupidities i hit squarely on the head before  blush.gif

Nah, i'm definitely not a secret admirer of Mr. TTB.
I admire the quiet, simple and value-adding life of the old Mr. WB and the likes, thus Mr. TTB's "style" is a bit "lebih" for me to admire  sweat.gif

I just aim to buy ICAP on the similar principle of "severe lelong" as some of my filtered stocks & unit trust/mutual funds  brows.gif
Thus far, i'm making net about 11.97% if disposed now, bought end Dec 2011/early Jan2012, thanks to uncle (i'm sure he's either older or bloody more knowledgeable  notworthy.gif) Gark's postings and discussion on ICAP.
I'm just worried about the comparatively low daily volume averaging low-ish 60K+ (ignoring recent 0.61M+/- spike) if/when i want to dispose.. er.. not like i'm holding millions of units lar tongue.gif
To even compare WB with TTB is an insult to the respectable old man. Different league altogether lah. Ask Robert Kuok see how he feels to be compared to Chatime boss?
highcourt
post Oct 12 2014, 06:58 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 12 2014, 04:10 PM)
GOOD SPOT on the INSANE increase in AGM expenses!

The objective is clear isn't it?

When you have a product and you want to sell, you advertise maybe you spend lavishly whenever there are shareholder meetings.

But sadly this is just a listed closed end fund.

There is no product to sell!!!!

There is literally NOTHING to advertise!

The objective of the fund is to make money!

Promoting the fund will not help the fund make money.

My opinion of such unwise money spending?
I have to say the fund manager, Teng Boo, has acted overboard.
He has abused shareholder fund to promote his own name (should I say face?) by spending too much money on advertising and agm expenses!

451 thousand on AGM expenses for 2014??? OMG!!!!

doh.gif
You are right. What is there to promote? It is a closed end fund. The existing investors of the fund do not benefit if another fund is set up and managed by TTB. Another thing is, if I pay fund management fee for a fund manager to manage my fund, I expect him to use whatever expertise he has to optimize the return right? Why do I need to pay another "investment advisory fees"??? rclxub.gif

Even if it is an open end fund, it makes no sense to ask the fund to pay promotional expenses because shareholders gets nothing extra if new funds are added in at NTA. The fund manager is the only one benefitting from increased fund management fees and Investment advisory fees(whatever that is) and possibly through further profit sharing( not sure whether there is profit sharing if high watermark is achieved.)

This post has been edited by highcourt: Oct 12 2014, 07:04 PM
highcourt
post Nov 17 2014, 07:20 AM

190 posts

Is ICAP still holding Parkson? TTB was very bullish about it but Parkson is not doing good at all.
highcourt
post Dec 20 2014, 11:17 AM

190 posts

Even if market crash now to 500, it also won't make him right because he was already wrong for 5 years from 2010 to 2014. Any astute investor would have gotten in in 2008 and added on till 2010 and ride the market till now. If people wants to pay so much investment management fee plus advisory fees to receive advice to sit out of the market from 2010 to 2014 and yet still want to defend the sanctity of his idol, then so be it. Now, lets just move on!

0.0364sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:36 AM