QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 28 2014, 09:26 PM)
im attending 2014 ICAP Investor day;http://invday.icapital.my/
ICAP, traded price higher than NAV
Sep 29 2014, 09:00 AM
6,356 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 28 2014, 09:26 PM) im attending 2014 ICAP Investor day;http://invday.icapital.my/ |
Oct 5 2014, 06:24 PM
QUOTE(plumberly @ Oct 5 2014, 05:28 PM) Looking at icapital to invest. iCapital.biz future at stake If my memory cells are still ok, I thought I read in the newspaper on a problem in icapital last year (takeover?). Please let me know if you know what it was. Many thanks. http://www.thestar.com.my/Story/?file=%2F2...ess%2F12283765& You see him give talk meanz someone failed to get rid of him » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Oct 5 2014, 08:36 PM
Oct 9 2014, 10:08 AM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 9 2014, 09:08 AM) huh? i do agree with Ok. I do not mind repeating. This year or rather recently. What did he say? He warned about overvalued markets. No problem. That's his opinion. Last year he made the following statement: "Shares on Bursa Malaysia are not cheap… many stocks are overvalued at present,”. Proof that I do no twist any words: http://www.thestar.com.my/Business/Busines...overvalued.aspx Every year he also say markets overvalued. Am I twisting this statement? Well Uncle Ah Goog very powderful. Cannot run cannot hide. http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/features/18...uy-on-dips.html Scroll down and you will see the following statement. Yup, since 2010, he insisted the markets not cheap/valuations not attractive and then overvalued and more overvalued. That's what he says each year. And each year, this stock, this closed end fund, has seen its cash balances increased.... Can you find annual reports online? Here's 2011 annual report link: http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...ncements/917504 Look for the balance sheet. Can see short term deposits + cashand bank balances? In 2010 the total cash was 103,925,260. In 2011 the total cash was 115,907,950 Latest: the total cash balances is more than 240 million. You tell me what he's doing as a fund manager? He's collecting cash by disposing some of his good stock picks (like I said, I do give him credit for starting the fund at the right time and picking some good stock picks). Cash increased from 103 million to 240 million. Every year when he's embarking on this strategy, he claims the market is overvalued.... Fact: In 2010, the CI started at 1272 points. What's the CI today? Answer? ........................................ Read this again: http://klse.i3investor.com/blogs/kianweiaritcles/61168.jsp If you understand what was written above, clearly iCapital has done rather poorly since 2010. Why? Cos the fund played safe and adopted a cash policy... BUT each year, market grew higher and higher, which means his strategy to stick to cash is wrong! It's like football. The team score 2 goals in the first 5 mins... then decide to play safe for the rest of the match. For sure: result wise, that team above did very well (IF they hold on) and win the match. But for fans.... they have to endure a very boring and lifeless match for the rest of the 85 mins.... Yes, for some it's acceptable but for some... it's a no. Back to the original statements. Every year, Teng Boo says markets overvalued. Well if he keeps this up... and since the fact that no market can go up forever and ever.... soon... one year.... he will be correct. And our markets... they are rather selective in memory.... they will remember his statement for saying market is overvalued.... and since he is correct for that year (in the future).... yes, most likely he will be considered a genius! i write down in mine book 555. buy his stock when market crash Ah Boon - are you going to listen Im going there This post has been edited by felixmask: Oct 9 2014, 10:15 AM |
Oct 9 2014, 11:23 AM
Nov 18 2014, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Nov 18 2014, 04:22 PM) What so scary? If Teng Boo isn't willing to invest/put more money into the market then by right, he should return it to the shareholders. He cannot be every year since 2010, hold EXPENSIVE AGMS.... Sing songs too!! (apparently!)... and every year cry out loud say market is expensive.... and yet.... every single year market proves him wrong! What does he really expect? Sit every year and collect his BIG FAT fees (as shown clearly in past few pages) and expect everyone to be OK with him. It's a listed CLOSED END FUND laaa.... he's paid to make money for the money.... no? I give mine proxy 2 u. |
Dec 2 2014, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 2 2014, 09:07 AM) No I don't study his shares at all. Ah Boon3,It's just part of the topic. We question his investment strategies and with that, we need to ask the question "If the market fall, what about his porfolio"? The stuff I posted - that's 10 mins look see work. Petdag? I believe they used to hold a lot of shares but due to Petdag declining earnings + extreme high valuations, I guess he RIGHTLY took profit. We pump oil in BolehLand in RM PetDag buy the OIL in USD or RM? what the implicationg of RM is weaken ? This post has been edited by felixmask: Dec 2 2014, 09:10 AM |
Dec 2 2014, 09:14 AM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Dec 2 2014, 09:11 AM) Bro Boon3..thanks you..mine hand itchy..hard to decide to buy PetDag or Follow gark buy Bumi Armada. Bumi Armada contract in USD earn back in RM as profit. Their Debts + Ship Captain & Crew salary in USD. This post has been edited by felixmask: Dec 2 2014, 09:15 AM |
Apr 16 2015, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Apr 15 2015, 11:37 PM) TTB will conduct special seminar 'The Art of Successful Investing' on 9/5/2015 @ KLCC not free and not cheap.....leh....http://capitaldynamics.biz/seminar2015/ Anyone attending? after embezzled with huge management fee still require us to pay to listen to him... he shld give free seminar...not the other way round . This post has been edited by felixmask: Apr 16 2015, 04:14 PM |
Aug 24 2015, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(yok70 @ Aug 24 2015, 02:02 AM) TTB said (in ICAP's recent report) Warren Buffett also cannot find any stock to buy. He was lying! Who said WB didn't buy? He kept buying IBM and Well Fargo (millions USD) in the past few quarters. And just recently made the highest investment ever on buying Precision Castparts Corp with a price above market value of 21%! He charge High management fee for him to wait.TTB is bluffing us. WB where got wait? WB keeps looking for value investment opportunity. TTB do what? Just wait for market to crash, that's what he did in the past few years. Who cannot do that waiting? Market crash until many people cry and jump off the building that time, just buy cash rich blue chips lah, sure win money. What skill is that? |
Aug 27 2015, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(Boon3 @ Aug 27 2015, 08:28 AM) This thread active again.... The fund manager is the main key - the main asset and the main liability of the fund itself. Hence, any focus, any discussion has to be on the fund manager itself. The investor of the fund (I think la.. but then... I could be wrong since I am a trader only) needs to gauge and understand what he HAS BEEN doing for fund the past few years. That's the most important gauge. Reputation of the fund manager or his so-called investment ideas/philosophy counts for NOTHING if the fund manager does NOTHING to create value for the fund. As mentioned few very long winded time before... Total fees for 2009 is 3,495,212 Total fees for 2010 is 4,037,100 Total fees for 2012 is 5,789,726 Total fees for 2013 is 6,179,782 Total fees for 2014 is 6,218,982 Total fees for 2015 is 6,318,354 Current total of all fees collected since 2009:32,095,510. Those figures highlights exactly what you mentioned: closed end traded funds like ICAP are perpetual money machine ----- for the fund manager, not you Teng Boo, has collected (not in donations la) 32 million from the fees he charges since 2009!!! And the fees each year INCREASES! And, if anyone analyse these figures and compare to what he has done (FOR the FUND) for the past few years..... yes? And every year, since 2010, he says the same thing... over and over again. Like a broken record.... the market is expensive/over valued/no value blah, blah, blah.. and of course, everyone knows that since 2010, the KLCI went on a fantastic BULL RUN !!! so bull run... this funny manager... just opens his mouth... say market expensive.... and that's it.... meanwhile... he collects his FEES. So how would you even gauge such a funny manager? Would you have RESPECT? Me? I admire him... He so cunning.... Just collects fees only.... and yet he can have so many fansi of his fun ! And for the record... for those who are lazy... this is from the last annual report... ![]() ** looks like Parkson LOSSES for icapital will be MASSIVE! as at 31st May 2015 (29 May to be precise), Parkson last traded at 2.03. Parkson today is trading at 1.12. This looks like another 10 MILLION loss in a single stock for iCapital again. (Axiata was the first!) and this screen shot is from 2014 annual report... ![]() now the question is this..... WHAT SHOULD AN INVESTOR DO IF TENG BOO DOES NOTHING WITH THE 200+++ MILLION CASH IN THE FUND ??? Would you come back the following year, and yet, have the same faith in this fund and its funny manager? ps: this is a broken record for me. evey year... same old same old.... ask where the he KEEP DONATION money. |
Aug 27 2015, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(myr.medinsurance @ Aug 27 2015, 10:18 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Shareholders should push for share buyback by ICAP at AGM. Current market price is 20 - 30% below NAV. If ICAP buyback shares and CANCELS units, that will increase NAV per unit of each share of those who still believe in fund manager while allowing those who have lost faith to get back money at a smaller discount to NAV. However, this act will decrease total fund size (and thus manager fee). So, hard to ask turkeys to vote for Christmas. Fund manager won't do it unless forced to. I think share buyback would be a good compromise between totally dissolving fund (killing the fund manager's golden goose) and just continue business as usual (forcing shareholders to hold shares at discount to NAV). Anyway, dissolving the fund when market is down is the worst decision to make. Better to wait for recovery and look at his performance. If he underperforms KLCI, time to dissolve fund. Fund manager that cannot make the cut should not hold shareholders hostage. Maybe a minority shareholder can raise this issue at AGM and see who around him supports him. If no response, then time to quietly sell out. My 2 cents. you give me your cash I help you to keep for 4 year? can when I return 70% your money as full return of your MONEY ? 30% is mine service fee for keeping your money. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by felixmask: Aug 27 2015, 10:34 AM |
Aug 27 2015, 11:55 AM
Sep 21 2016, 11:09 PM
| Change to: | 0.0477sec
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:04 PM |