4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Discussion Best Goalie (Ever), Let's not clutter the other thread!

befitozi
post Jan 23 2008, 11:44 PM

1,468 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 23 2008, 11:13 PM)
I always wonder why SAF got all those really inconsistent goalkeepers: Roy Carroll (ok lah...but not really good), Tim Howard (also ok only), Ricardo (huh?), Fabien Barthez (shortie that likes to let French compatriots from Arsenal to score...), Andy Goram (huh?), Massimo Taibi (this guys used to have potential but...), Mark Bosnich (a joke man...), Paul Rachubka (err...1 match man?), Nick Culkin (err...1 minute man?), Raimond van der Gouw (huh?)...

And then, came Van der Sar  thumbup.gif
van der Gouw wasn't that bad.
clayclws
post Jan 23 2008, 11:47 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Jan 23 2008, 11:44 PM)
van der Gouw wasn't that bad.
Oh...sorry. I forgot all the important saves he made while Schmeichel was injured. Post editted. Thanks for pointing it out wink.gif

This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 23 2008, 11:48 PM
schmeichel7
post Jan 23 2008, 11:49 PM

The JERSEYMAN
2,475 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 23 2008, 11:13 PM)
I always wonder why SAF got all those really inconsistent goalkeepers: Roy Carroll (ok lah...but not really good), Tim Howard (also ok only), Ricardo (huh?), Fabien Barthez (shortie that likes to let French compatriots from Arsenal to score...), Andy Goram (huh?), Massimo Taibi (this guys used to have potential but...), Mark Bosnich (a joke man...), Paul Rachubka (err...1 match man?), Nick Culkin (err...1 minute man?), Raimond van der Gouw (pretty good...but overshadowed by Schmeichel)...

And then, came Van der Sar  thumbup.gif
Because it was a big shoes to fill in.. to replace big peter.

Being goalkeeper for United is a very hard job. The amount of pressure it has.. is unbearable!
clayclws
post Jan 23 2008, 11:54 PM

2,659 posts

Well, with Van der Sar (which SAF wanted after Peter left but couldn't), at least Man Utd is in safe hands now wink.gif

This post has been edited by clayclws: Jan 23 2008, 11:55 PM
nizamhameed
post Jan 24 2008, 12:00 AM

6,437 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 23 2008, 11:54 PM)
Well, with Van der Sar (which SAF wanted after Peter left but couldn't), at least Man Utd is in safe hands now wink.gif
yeah perfect replacement after the big Dane... what we need is Consistency....
fun_feng
post Jan 24 2008, 12:15 AM

One Cat to Rule Them ALL
2,289 posts

One of the best saves ever!!!
clayclws
post Jan 24 2008, 12:18 AM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(fun_feng @ Jan 24 2008, 12:15 AM)
One of the best saves ever!!!
Indeed it is a great save. Big shoes for England to fill (I know it's Arsenal playing but heck...).
Belphegor
post Jan 24 2008, 01:38 AM

Dreamer
5,806 posts

Who can do better than he does? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Belphegor: Jan 24 2008, 01:39 AM
sbh_6479
post Jan 24 2008, 01:47 AM

122 posts

iker casillas
TSmadmoz
post Jan 24 2008, 08:57 AM

4,250 posts

10 sweet minutes for fellow Liverpool fans rclxms.gif
Btw, Carragher is a closet keeper... you can see him giving instructions to dudek!

p.s. No wonder our keepers are good at saving penalties - All thanks to Carra!!!

This post has been edited by madmoz: Jan 24 2008, 09:03 AM
chimera_wingrove
post Jan 24 2008, 10:08 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(nizamhameed @ Jan 24 2008, 12:00 AM)
yeah perfect replacement after the big Dane... what we need is Consistency....
time to scout for a replacement, it will be just nice by the time his contract runs out
thumbup.gif
frankieNrosie
post Jan 24 2008, 10:18 AM

b||ooDY b|u3s
786 posts

QUOTE(zamarano @ Jan 23 2008, 11:27 PM)
his record broke by rogerio ceni ( sao paolo goalkeeper )
yeay..
great rogerio ceni..
supadupa
post Jan 24 2008, 11:05 AM

beer beer !!!
841 posts

how abt Rashid Hassan?
easypeasy
post Jan 24 2008, 11:13 AM

564 posts

Growing up watching ManUtd winning almost everything, I'm pretty convinced that the Big Dane is the main man. I like the way he controlled his defense. One single mistake and you'd have to prepare hearing him shouting at you. A commanding goalkeeper is always a plus for any team. Also his one-on-ones were superb. He'd do the cobra-style and that'd scare the sh8t out of the striker.
Duke Red
post Jan 24 2008, 12:09 PM

6,112 posts

The diminutive and certainly colourful, Jorge Campos!

Added on January 24, 2008, 12:12 pmCheck our Gregory Coupet's double save at no.3

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Jan 24 2008, 12:12 PM
chcher
post Jan 24 2008, 12:15 PM

557 posts

I would vote for Sergio Goycochea based on his performances in Italia 90 for Argentina. Not as the best in the world etc, but i think he deserves praise for his feat in that WC. He was oustanding in all those penalty saves that took Argentina to the finals. He almost saved that eventual-winning-penalty as well....got his fingertips to it.....

Duke Red
post Jan 24 2008, 12:21 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(chcher @ Jan 24 2008, 12:15 PM)
I would vote for Sergio Goycochea based on his performances in Italia 90 for Argentina. Not as the best in the world etc, but i think he deserves praise for his feat in that WC. He was oustanding in all those penalty saves that took Argentina to the finals. He almost saved that eventual-winning-penalty as well....got his fingertips to it.....
I'm a fan of his as well. No one had heard of him before the 1990 World Cup. First choice keeper Neri Pumpido got injured on their opening game against Cameroon when they were shocked 1-0 and Goycochea made a number of top class saves to put them in the finals against Germany, winning 2 penalty shootouts along the way. Germany won 1-0 in the final via a penalty that was scored by Andreas Brehmen but Goycochea was a whisker away from saving it. He is truly the first keeper I know that deserves the title, "penalty king", if there ever was one. Sadly I could never track his progress after the tournament as he continued to ply his trade in South America and he disappeared into obscurity.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sergio_Goycochea

airline
post Jan 24 2008, 12:24 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

Sergio Goycochea has my vote too. He nearly won World Cup for Argentina 1990. That tournamant Maradona was playing badly.
yngwie
post Jan 24 2008, 05:54 PM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

me used to play as a gk during school days....
watched ol' skool videos of lev yashin, gordon banks' famous save, peter shilton flying acts, ray clemence's 1 on 1 superiority, martin brunno of france, the flying jean marie pfaff of belgium, harald schumacher and some south american's ol' skool gk.
ol' skool south americans' gk tend to be more acrobatic and adventerous in their approach, while their european counterparts are more orthodox and direct. but the trend seems to be changing now.
a tournament or a season wonder gk definitely can't be the best. but their saves will be remembered!
so...
damn ol' skool laugh.gif best gk goes to lev yashin thumbup.gif
ol' skool best smile.gif gk goes to err.... tie between peter shilton, dino zoff, harald schumacher and jean marie pfaff hmm.gif
of the current active gk, casillas and buffon definitely on the class of their own.
van de sar seems to be doing well with mu too.

This post has been edited by yngwie: Jan 24 2008, 05:55 PM
ristikol
post Jan 24 2008, 06:52 PM

\~*Grand Belial's Key*~/
1,049 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Jan 23 2008, 11:07 PM)
What is said to be one of Schmikes best save.

yeah schmike very the best GK notworthy.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0219sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:20 AM