KAV vs KIS?, Which one is better?

TScalvintan1985
post Jan 23 2008, 03:06 PM, updated 18y ago

Compare both of these kaspersky which one do u think more suitable for normal gamer?

I install both but so far only problem to me is KIS coz connection need to setting especially the firewall.

Any1 noe which 1 more better?

Previous I am Bitdefender user, but now totally regret buying the Top No. 1 antivirus
Joshua_0718
post Jan 23 2008, 03:16 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

QUOTE(calvintan1985 @ Jan 23 2008, 03:06 PM)
Compare both of these kaspersky which one do u think more suitable for normal gamer?

I install both but so far only problem to me is KIS coz connection need to setting especially the firewall.

Previous I am Bitdefender user, but now totally regret buying the Top No. 1 antivirus
KIS is better, obviously? It take care your windows firewall too, you can set your windows firewall off.

Playing game and having problem due to the firewall? Just go to the firewall setting, set your game approved into the firewall. That's all
natakaasd
post Jan 23 2008, 06:40 PM

2,188 posts

Difference between KAS and KIV:
KAV = Anti Virus ONLY
KIS = Anti Virus + Anti Spyware + Firewall etc. In other words, more complete security PACKAGE, but harder for you to do Combinations Customization.

Your Choice.

~Cheers!

Edited due to Severe Typo Error.

This post has been edited by natakaasd: Jan 23 2008, 09:10 PM
Skylinestar
post Jan 23 2008, 07:14 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

it's up to u whether u want the firewall.
elfreakz
post Jan 23 2008, 07:35 PM

3,905 posts

QUOTE(natakaasd @ Jan 23 2008, 06:40 PM)
Difference between KAS and KIV:
KAS = Anti Virus ONLY
KIV = Anti Virus + Anti Spyware + Firewall etc. In other words, more complete security PACKAGE, but harder for you to do Combinations Customization.

Your Choice.

~Cheers!
you make me confuse with that terms.. KAS = KAV right?.. ad KIV = KIS right?

as far as i know, isn't KAV also have spyware function? = Kaspersky(R) Anti-Virus 7.0 Award-winning antivirus software which protects your PC from viruses, Trojans, spyware, rootkits and other malicious programs. Reactive detection methods are combined with proactive technologies to provide balanced and effective security, while automatic updates ensure uninterrupted protection and peace of mind.
Digifriend07
post Jan 23 2008, 07:46 PM

596 posts

kaspersky firewall is quite good...
zhen^wei
post Jan 23 2008, 07:47 PM

4,057 posts

if normal user, then KAV is more than enough.
dr_virus
post Jan 23 2008, 07:58 PM

186 posts

KAV sufficient enuff to protect ur pc from virus,trojan n etc. If u want to install firewall, then go for KIS.
I'm using KAV n i prefer KAV than KIS. thumbup.gif

elfreakz
post Jan 23 2008, 08:40 PM

3,905 posts

im using KAV too.. there are 2 avp.exe start when i boot up..

one avp.exe about 6,500K
another one avp.exe about 15,000K

is that normal?
cornelius_young
post Jan 23 2008, 09:06 PM

369 posts

For normal user, Kav is good already. If you use Kis, configure the firewall to allow your game.
It should be OKay then.
natakaasd
post Jan 23 2008, 09:11 PM

2,188 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Jan 23 2008, 07:35 PM)
you make me confuse with that terms.. KAS = KAV right?.. ad KIV = KIS right?

as far as i know, isn't KAV also have spyware function? = Kaspersky(R) Anti-Virus 7.0 Award-winning antivirus software which protects your PC from viruses, Trojans, spyware, rootkits and other malicious programs. Reactive detection methods are combined with proactive technologies to provide balanced and effective security, while automatic updates ensure uninterrupted protection and peace of mind.
I am very sorry. Made a typo error. Thanks for pointing out.

Well, as a general thumb of rule, Anti-Viruses lately also detect Spyware etc, So, yeah, you are right on that one too.

My bad.

~Cheers!
myee
post Feb 15 2008, 05:39 AM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

I choose KIS....
all package inside....no need to pening2...
sunmenghao
post Feb 15 2008, 04:41 PM

502 posts

I choose YOU! hahahaha joking biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sunmenghao: Feb 15 2008, 04:41 PM
beyond_99
post Feb 15 2008, 09:35 PM

1,035 posts

I am using KIS now. The function of KIS more than KAV a bit(i think).
Windows firewall always block game so i need to turn it off.
With KIS firewall u can turn off windows firewall.
eXPeri3nc3
post Feb 16 2008, 04:47 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

I'm using KIS too. So far so good no complains. BTW, it's v6.
korn
post Feb 22 2008, 12:32 AM

The Fault in Our Stars
2,230 posts

Im just using KAV 7, not KIS. The reason, im not using firewall, lazy to configure so many... another reason, maintain and optimize my CPU usage and RAM biggrin.gif

KAV 7 sufficient enough if you know which web u r surfing. Last time (old skool) using the KAV + ZoneAlarm, one of the best firewall (for now i don't know) so many to configure haha... but give up playing with ZoneAlarm already since nobody care wanna hack to my pc lol Antivirus alone is enough~

peace.

This post has been edited by korn: Feb 22 2008, 12:33 AM
fiqir
post Feb 24 2008, 09:41 AM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

comodo firewall better.. lol biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by fiqir: Feb 24 2008, 09:42 AM
MangKoK^ayon
post Feb 27 2008, 01:43 PM

look at my stars
859 posts

go for KIS la...can block banner ad summore....for YM banner also blocked....good wat
super macgyver
post Mar 11 2008, 01:32 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,324 posts

QUOTE(elfreakz @ Jan 23 2008, 08:40 PM)
im using KAV too.. there are 2 avp.exe start when i boot up..

one avp.exe about 6,500K
another one avp.exe about 15,000K

is that normal?
mine eat up.
3.42mb
7.88mb
SilentE
post Jun 3 2008, 11:04 AM

228 posts

KIS had better protection.
eXPeri3nc3
post Jun 3 2008, 02:55 PM

9,257 posts

My avp(s): 5k and 28k. blink.gif
TechnoDude94
post Jun 3 2008, 03:17 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(SilentE @ Jun 3 2008, 11:04 AM)
KIS had better protection.
What you mean "had"? I lawl-ed harder.
spartacvs
post Jun 5 2008, 03:58 PM

I thought my jokes were bad!
1,281 posts

Im using neither but since this is a question of preference, I would go with the Kaspersky Internet Security rather than the other one. KIS offers more control and better customization over some of the features provided.
TechnoDude94
post Jun 5 2008, 11:19 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(spartacvs @ Jun 5 2008, 03:58 PM)
Im using neither but since this is a question of preference, I would go with the Kaspersky Internet Security rather than the other one. KIS offers more control and better customization over some of the features provided.
Yeap, I just installed it on a 3 year old laptop. It runs great, without much lag but occasionally when your scanning then it'll lag.
well
post Jun 10 2008, 04:56 PM

253 posts

KIS or KAV which one suitable for office use?
Digifriend07
post Jun 10 2008, 09:13 PM

596 posts

For office use if you're using server and client, use the kaspersky space if i'm not mistaken...
haya
post Jun 12 2008, 10:11 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

(define [KAV]
"Kapersky Anti-virus")

(define [KIS]
"kapersky Internet Security")

Personally, I'm not a big fan of these "all-in-one" security packages. IMO they cause more problems than they solve. And if nothing else, usually they are bloated and filled with unnecessary features. Witness Norton, McAfee, and in more contempary times, AVG.

Personally, its better to have tools that are specific for the job. Antivirus is antivirus, not catching spyware and rootkits. The former threat I deal with Spybot, ad-aware and AVG anti-spyware, while the latter I use Icesword, and when I'm not feeling brave, RootkitRevealer.

I use KAV, and I used KIV, and KIV was horrible. It pretty much took over eveything about security. While that would probably be a good idea for people who don't know any better, I need full control.

And no one will doubt that KIV uses more resources than KAV.
oRoXoRo
post Jun 12 2008, 11:22 AM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

I think for normal users it's better for them to use the all-in-one package. Easier smile.gif
hunk-u
post Jun 16 2008, 10:38 PM

88 posts

QUOTE(fiqir @ Feb 24 2008, 09:41 AM)
comodo firewall better.. lol    biggrin.gif
but comodo cannot use with KAV lah...tried it b4..

low budget like me, I use KAV & online armor...cheap combination.
seiji_kun
post Jun 17 2008, 12:59 AM

641 posts

kis aso good lor better protection at intrnt...
Grand Inquisitor
post Jun 18 2008, 02:29 AM

403 posts

KIS show me a better security. KAV just protected us from virus and malware.
chika138
post Jun 23 2008, 02:33 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

KIS all the way. If u want extra protection from spywares, just add spyware doctor starter edition(free)
shoduken
post Jun 30 2008, 09:31 PM

1,741 posts

I just bought this kaspersky internet security (was using Avast + Comodo which is good, but going for kaspersky since I saw a lot of good review).

K I use it. The problem is going on, as well for everyone having problem in the forum posting about it too.

I'm going to have a review about it.

Good thing about it is :-

1. Nice GUI
2. Fast scanning
3. Fast acting (the moment you load a webpage with virus it stop it which I never see before in other Antivirus program).

Tat's all about it lol

Bad thing is much more:-

1. Very bad firewall. Configuration is not user friendly like the Comodo.
2. Best detection? Well, I don't know. It work like how the free Avast did, with more annoying pop up than Avast.
3. Application like Firefox 3 (experience hang, i got it fixed, which you have to reset everything in the firewall, and it will repeat again which i don't know when it will)
4. Some other internet-related program like FDM (FreeDownloadManager) not working flawlessly with the program. It just block some of my download.
5. Helkern.worm attack pop up randomly, seem like this is a popular pop up (I have two computer, they pop up just the same, I guess this goes with everyone else) and I don't really like it, it's like making us believing this antivirus actually doing it work! LOL.

In my opinion, it was way more smoother using Avast + Comodo.
Haven't tried the Avira (the download jump to Top 4 in Download.com beating Avast).
eXPeri3nc3
post Jul 1 2008, 03:20 AM

9,257 posts

Bloody KIS7 cannot be used with ZA family vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

KIS6 is working fine tho. mellow.gif Mine expired... so I have to opt for other AV now... sad.gif
keaizer
post Jul 1 2008, 10:53 AM

432 posts

KIS is the best...
more protection than KAV
winnietan
post Jul 1 2008, 10:30 PM

Im using Kaspersky Internet Security and I thought it able to detect hacker.
In fact is not and I just got hack by an hacker and stolen my password.
Kaspersky Internet Security is SUCK... indeed.
Furthermore, the software unable to use for 3 users. After 3 user it will not be able to activate. Until today they couldn't investigate and improve their software.
It SUCK.. Don't tell me that I didn't warn you. Kaspersky is SUCK!!!!
Now I rather use AVG or Avast.

QUOTE(calvintan1985 @ Jan 23 2008, 03:06 PM)

ForCe
post Jul 18 2008, 09:44 PM

260 posts

bro how u know got hacker hack your password ? and wad password btw.
korn
post Jul 18 2008, 11:06 PM

The Fault in Our Stars
2,230 posts

im using KAV smile.gif
myee
post Jul 24 2008, 02:29 PM

>>>>>SAMA Inside<<<<<
1,157 posts

i'm using KIS7 for almost 7 month d...just bought another KIS8 for my lappy....both of this i get from mika...it really satisfied me and wanna check whut is the different between KIS7 and KIS8...
kcng
post Jul 24 2008, 02:38 PM

~ Or@ng Giler ~
17,566 posts

QUOTE(winnietan @ Jul 1 2008, 10:30 PM)
Im using Kaspersky Internet Security and I thought it able to detect hacker.
In fact is not and I just got hack by an hacker and stolen my password.
Kaspersky Internet Security is SUCK... indeed.
Furthermore, the software unable to use for 3 users. After 3 user it will not be able to activate. Until today they couldn't investigate and improve their software.
It SUCK.. Don't tell me that I didn't warn you. Kaspersky is SUCK!!!!
Now I rather use AVG or Avast.

what type of hack?

password for what is stolen?

your msn?
yukiz
post Jul 29 2008, 10:30 PM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

y dun ts set up a poll for this thread...
let ppl vote for their choice instead...
spartacvs
post Jul 30 2008, 01:15 AM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(yukiz @ Jul 29 2008, 10:30 PM)
y dun ts set up a poll for this thread...
let ppl vote for their choice instead...
I thought this was a good suggestion.

Anyway, if you are using your computer with no Internet connection whatsoever, then perhaps getting yourself the Kaspersky Anti-Virus [KAS] software would be a good idea since not a single feature in Kaspersky Internet Security [KIS] software would benefit you. However, if you are going to use your computer to go online, even if it's for a chat, I would recommend the KIS software.

This post has been edited by spartacvs: Jul 30 2008, 01:15 AM
yukiz
post Jul 30 2008, 08:11 PM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

but if u didnt have any internet connection,might as well dun ned to use any antivirus software coz no one/virus from the net will be able to hack ur com... laugh.gif

anyway,d downside of kaspersky is u need to update regularly...if u didnt update for a period of time,it will be blacklisted n ur antivirus wont work iirc... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yukiz: Jul 30 2008, 08:12 PM
spartacvs
post Aug 1 2008, 09:37 PM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(yukiz @ Jul 30 2008, 08:11 PM)
but if u didnt have any internet connection,might as well dun ned to use any antivirus software coz no one/virus from the net will be able to hack ur com... laugh.gif
There is still the need for an antivirus software to be installed onto a computer, even if it'll never be used to go online, as viruses can still penetrate into a computer system through pendrive, external hardisk, CD-R whereby file(s) copied from another's computer, such as a friend's, might contain viruses.

Probably the only way that a computer doesn't require any antivirus software is when one can make sure that not a single file from any external source will come in contact with that computer. However, if this is the case, then it would be muct better to not have the computer in the first place. tongue.gif

anyway,d downside of kaspersky is u need to update regularly...if u didnt update for a period of time,it will be blacklisted n ur antivirus wont work iirc... laugh.gif
This is something new to me. I wasn't aware that the software will cease to work if it wasn't updated for a period of time. How long usually before it's blacklisted la?

This post has been edited by spartacvs: Aug 1 2008, 09:42 PM
yukiz
post Aug 1 2008, 10:01 PM

★ ★ ★ ★
516 posts

QUOTE(spartacvs @ Aug 1 2008, 09:37 PM)
This is something new to me. I wasn't aware that the software will cease to work if it wasn't updated for a period of time. How long usually before it's blacklisted la?
not sure thou...mayb after a week...
i kena b4 but i forget wat d exact duration liao...paiseh... laugh.gif
noien
post Aug 15 2008, 12:38 PM

3,186 posts

i prefer kis.at least it will block a lot of virus and trojan
Joshua_0718
post Aug 15 2008, 02:10 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

shocking.gif Are you sure on this?

QUOTE(noien @ Aug 15 2008, 12:38 PM)
i prefer kis.at least it will block a lot of virus and trojan
Anti-virus work for that too
Jieb
post Aug 17 2008, 01:37 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(yukiz @ Aug 1 2008, 10:01 PM)
not sure thou...mayb after a week...
i kena b4 but i forget wat d exact duration liao...paiseh... laugh.gif
is not rite bro.. I using KIS and not update for more than 1 mth.. never blacklisted..
Are u purchased that key??? just Q&A..
NOwaday Kaspersky cheap edi maa..
AMDAthlon
post Aug 18 2008, 01:35 AM

The future is Fusion
5,221 posts

Easy and simple

KAV : Anti Virus Only
KIS : Anti Virus,Anti Hacker,Anti Spam,Anti Spyware(Ad Blocker..etc) and Parental Control

Choose it.I prefer KIS,less software to use.
punkyswat
post Aug 19 2008, 09:30 PM

1,519 posts

i am getting laptop soon but i need anti virus software.which KAV or KIS would suitable for my lappie?i am doing study purposes
SPASTICZ
post Aug 20 2008, 03:04 PM

889 posts

probably i would recommend you to use KIS 2009.

QUOTE(punkyswat @ Aug 19 2008, 10:30 PM)
i am getting laptop soon but i need anti virus software.which KAV or KIS would suitable  for my lappie?i am doing study purposes

Added on August 20, 2008, 3:06 pmyea lolz.. pay a lil for more protection. reasonable wat rite? tongue.gif

QUOTE(Jieb @ Aug 17 2008, 02:37 PM)
is not rite bro.. I using KIS and not update for more than 1 mth.. never blacklisted..
Are u purchased that key??? just Q&A..
NOwaday Kaspersky cheap edi maa..
This post has been edited by SPASTICZ: Aug 20 2008, 03:06 PM
Digifriend07
post Aug 20 2008, 09:46 PM

596 posts

Both KAV and KIS is Antimalwares, that's mean antivirus+antispyware...
Hoodlums
post Aug 23 2008, 07:44 PM

598 posts

KIS the best, now using KIS 2009 wub.gif
SPASTICZ
post Aug 25 2008, 02:14 PM

889 posts

i'm using KIS also!! KIS is the best and the best!! Go Secure! Go Kaspersky! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Hoodlums @ Aug 23 2008, 08:44 PM)
KIS the best, now using KIS 2009 wub.gif
DemonKnight
post Dec 22 2008, 11:01 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ Jun 30 2008, 09:31 PM)
I just bought this kaspersky internet security (was using Avast + Comodo which is good, but going for kaspersky since I saw a lot of good review).

K I use it. The problem is going on, as well for everyone having problem in the forum posting about it too.

I'm going to have a review about it.

Good thing about it is :-

1. Nice GUI
2. Fast scanning
3. Fast acting (the moment you load a webpage with virus it stop it which I never see before in other Antivirus program).

Tat's all about it lol

Bad thing is much more:-

1. Very bad firewall. Configuration is not user friendly like the Comodo.
2. Best detection? Well, I don't know. It work like how the free Avast did, with more annoying pop up than Avast.
3. Application like Firefox 3 (experience hang, i got it fixed, which you have to reset everything in the firewall, and it will repeat again which i don't know when it will)
4. Some other internet-related program like FDM (FreeDownloadManager) not working flawlessly with the program. It just block some of my download.
5. Helkern.worm attack pop up randomly, seem like this is a popular pop up (I have two computer, they pop up just the same, I guess this goes with everyone else) and I don't really like it, it's like making us believing this antivirus actually doing it work! LOL.

In my opinion, it was way more smoother using Avast + Comodo.
Haven't tried the Avira (the download jump to Top 4 in Download.com beating Avast).
r u ppl getting the helkern.worm attack pop up? quite annoying? how to turn it off? vmad.gif
herojack41
post Dec 22 2008, 11:17 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(DemonKnight @ Dec 22 2008, 11:01 PM)
r u ppl getting the helkern.worm attack pop up?  quite annoying?  how to turn it off?  vmad.gif
why bring up this super long post rclxub.gif
Naruki
post Dec 24 2008, 09:07 AM

186 posts

KIS is cheaper then KAV.
senang_giler
post Dec 24 2008, 04:38 PM

59 posts

no la.... kav is cheaper than kis.... btw....kis= kav+firewall
TechnoDude94
post Dec 24 2008, 05:18 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Naruki @ Dec 24 2008, 09:07 AM)
KIS is cheaper then KAV.
Sorry to say this but it's pure BS. KAV is obviously cheaper than KIS due to lack of certain functions.
Naruki
post Dec 24 2008, 07:00 PM

186 posts

According to the website, KAV = £29.99 and KIS = £19.99.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 25 2008, 12:09 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Naruki @ Dec 24 2008, 07:00 PM)
According to the website, KAV = £29.99 and KIS = £19.99.
The website should be wrong, how can they sell something with more functions cheaper than something with less functions. In Malaysia, Singapore and China. KAV is cheaper than KIS.
Naruki
post Dec 25 2008, 07:37 AM

186 posts

Seems like its reduced from £39.99 to £19.99. But, will KIS take up much bandwidth?
wztech
post Dec 25 2008, 12:00 PM

521 posts

KAV is enough already...it provides complete virus protection especially for gamers as it uses less resources than KIS....and u can install another firewall programs or just just the Windows Firewall and some antispyware programs such Spyware Doctor and DONE!!! Ur pc is now protected....
wink.gif
TechnoDude94
post Dec 25 2008, 03:38 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Naruki @ Dec 25 2008, 07:37 AM)
Seems like its reduced from £39.99 to £19.99. But, will KIS take up much bandwidth?
Bandwidth as in system resources? Well, all I can say is that, I can run it on 512MB RAM and no problems.
xelnamikaze
post Dec 26 2008, 12:39 AM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

@.@?
why are we talking in £ currency?

KIS vs KAV = 1 : 0 ^^

Internet Security has more features than the Anti Virus.
maybe for people who are simple minded, they should go for the latter.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 12:58 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 26 2008, 12:39 AM)
@.@?
why are we talking in £ currency?

KIS vs KAV = 1 : 0 ^^

Internet Security has more features than the Anti Virus.
maybe for people who are simple minded, they should go for the latter.
Sorry bro, can't really agree with you. KIS has Firewall which KAV doesn't.
xelnamikaze
post Dec 26 2008, 01:00 AM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

yeah i know .. the firewall if not properly set will block all traffic including internet access..
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 02:18 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(xelnamikaze @ Dec 26 2008, 01:00 AM)
yeah i know .. the firewall if not properly set will block all traffic including internet access..
Not really, the default settings will only allow access for IE 7. icon_rolleyes.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 26 2008, 08:30 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

VISTA got a decent enough firewall which blocks 2 way traffic. If using XP, KIS is recommended, for VISTA KAV is enough, but of course, KIS has more advanced firewall than VISTA built-in firewall.

But for simple users, i thnk they should just stick to VISTA firewall...well, at least if i'm installing for somebody else so that they don't bug me with too many questions...LOL.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 01:33 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 26 2008, 08:30 AM)
VISTA got a decent enough firewall which blocks 2 way traffic. If using XP, KIS is recommended, for VISTA KAV is enough, but of course, KIS has more advanced firewall than VISTA built-in firewall.

But for simple users, i thnk they should just stick to VISTA firewall...well, at least if i'm installing for somebody else so that they don't bug me with too many questions...LOL.
But for advanced users:
I think they should use any good/trusted/known AV and use a 3rd-party firewall like "ZoneAlarm or Comodo". tongue.gif icon_idea.gif
eXPeri3nc3
post Dec 26 2008, 02:14 PM

9,257 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Dec 26 2008, 08:30 AM)

Nope, you have no idea how powerful Vista Firewall can be with advance settings unlocked.
TechnoDude94
post Dec 26 2008, 02:45 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Dec 26 2008, 02:14 PM)
Nope, you have no idea how powerful Vista Firewall can be with advance settings unlocked.
And how do you unlock the advance settings? brows.gif

0.0386sec    0.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 05:56 AM