7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Photography Canon EOS 300D/350D/400D/450D, Go Rebellionz - V2!, DigitalRebel XT/XTi/XSi/KISS Territory!

goldfries
post Jan 29 2008, 01:16 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

*goldfries is selling anti-racun / haz-mat suit* biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jan 29 2008, 12:16 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i usually use JPG la. can snap more stuff.

use RAW only when really critical stuff where WB looks a bit screwed. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jan 29 2008, 05:10 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(fcbarcelona-my @ Jan 29 2008, 03:31 PM)
18-200 OS around rm1.7k. but for used one...around 1.2~1.4 . depends. its oso in my wish list tongue.gif
no. if you look around used unit comes to around RM 1.5 - 1.6k. i've not come by any that dropped to RM 1.2 to 1.4k, unless no warranty already or something. if not, could be desperate seller but seriously, i've look around not come by any below RM 1.5k for those few months old and in good condition.
goldfries
post Jan 30 2008, 01:15 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

no, it's not a matter of monitor or not.

when you use Adobe RGB to snap pic la. you view on computer ok. you view on photoshop ok. you upload to browser - KO, color all off wan.

smile.gif Adobe RGB has more color gamut than sRGB.

anyway try this - load your Adobe RGB profiled picture on Photoshop (if you have the software), select AUTO-COLOR then adjust color balance for the mid-tones for cyan/red to -7. see if it works for you.

Added on January 30, 2008, 1:19 am
QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 30 2008, 12:34 AM)
I use Adobe RGB, then convert them with a ProPhotoRGB profile in Lightroom. Because ProPhotoRGB gives me the best almost accurate colors when i print them out. And if I want to post the photos online. I'll just convert the color profile to sRGB using photoshop once I edited everything.

the thing is this. you can snap on Adobe RGB profile.

view on photoshop, looks nice. view on windows picture viewer, fine too.

but once you upload on web - browser can't show the colors as it should, so it'll be to sRGB.

i also tried. open my Adobe RGB profile pictures, once i assign sRGB profile - gone case, skin tones are off and all.

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 30 2008, 12:34 AM)
Things you must know when before you do editing. CALIBRATE your monitor. Spend a few hundred on calibrating hardwares like the Spider2express or newer versions. There's a good calibrating hardware like the Huey Pro too. Cost alot more than the Spider2express. Once you finished calibrating your computer, you get more accurate colors.

Note that the internet uses sRGB, so if you post a photo online with a AdobeRGB as the color profile. Then you'll face risk of losing the colors. Here's an example:

yup. it loses the color thing.

anyway as to monitor calibration, you can get some professionals to tune it for you.

but for me, (currently on my Dell 2007WFP) i see it this way. as long as red, green, blue, white and black are as it is, it's fine by me. of course it's always better to get it calibrated la if you're picky on colors.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 30 2008, 01:19 AM
goldfries
post Jan 30 2008, 07:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Av mode and M mode lor.
goldfries
post Jan 30 2008, 04:46 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Jan 30 2008, 02:42 PM)
eh i wanna ask something. does IS really important?
no it's NOT important but it's damn useful to have.
goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 12:08 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(-vip3rleon9- @ Jan 30 2008, 07:54 PM)
i have a question guys, say i'm shooting something red in color. and i want that red object to stand out above the rest. how do i go about it?

do i play with the color settings? \

unsure.gif
usually is the WB setting that you have to consider.

if cannot control, snap in RAW la.

goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 12:35 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Lynette, the question is whether your screen is showing correctly? smile.gif

well anyway i had some pictures printed, some turned out not as nice as it is either.

what you see is not always what you get cos display is a matter of mixture of RGB signals. what you see on screen isn't what other people see on their screen either.

(yes, i know. i could have 4 LCD panels at anyone one time and they all show different color)

printout on the other hand involves so many things. paper type. ink quality. printer quality. so many things. smile.gif
goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 12:48 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

well usually people who are in photo-studios won't even want to touch your photos. no point, they know the risk. they won't spend time either.

i did print photos at foto-shangrila before and it was fine. I just gave them the JPG files and that's it. printed and sliced. all turned out fine.

another i heard is that you can go to shops with FUJI FDI printing machine. supposedly very good.
goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 12:52 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

calibration, you can DIY or you can pay people do to lor. will cost you la. either way it costs you.

calibration is to make sure your display output is as accurate as possible. RED is RED, GREEN is GREEN, BLUE is BLUE and whatever else is whatever....

Added on January 31, 2008, 12:53 am
QUOTE(valho @ Jan 31 2008, 12:51 AM)
maybe you can get them to test print out a sample for you first, coz sometimes their printer might be calibrated differently. if i not mistaken they can adjust their printer calibration to print out the color that you want
now i think la. the question would lie in WHAT kind of printer they use.

what can you do if their using cheapo printer that's badly maintained.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 31 2008, 12:53 AM
goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 01:14 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

no, not every shop charge handling / processing.

RM 30 for 50 photos come to around. 65 sen per piece i think. smile.gif can't remember how much i paid.
goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 03:53 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

their color should be so far off from what you had in the image file.

it might become a little darker due to ink and paper type but it should not be so bad until it looks distinctly different.

i had some pictures also, printed by pro printers but it turned out a little darker than screen.
goldfries
post Jan 31 2008, 10:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hunting high and low for ultra-wide angles. damn difficult to find......used unit that is. other than some Tokina 12-24.
goldfries
post Feb 1 2008, 12:51 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

sherren, i have the Tamron (now in hospital) and I did test the Sigma a bit and some how i just FEEL that the Sigma is better.

but then as you can see from my shots, the Tamron 70-300 isn't a bad lens for its price.
goldfries
post Feb 1 2008, 04:00 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Feb 1 2008, 12:53 AM)
I see what happen to your tamron  blink.gif  shocking.gif  hmm.gif , o why is the sigma feels better? hmm.gif
some how the build feels nicer. and the few shots i took with it looks pretty nice. not that i can tell the difference between my tammy and that because i didn't compare them side by side, thus i say FEEL.
goldfries
post Feb 1 2008, 05:12 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Fotokem expensive wan la. i was price hunting yesterday and they quote me RM 200 -300 range higher than others.
goldfries
post Feb 2 2008, 10:58 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Feb 2 2008, 08:28 PM)
Warranty Issues and takes a longer time ,
that's the 1st reason you gave when people ask.

is that the best reason you can come up with?

did you know that some reports found that the Sigma 70-300 is the best among low-end tele and the Canon ranks around middle / back of the few lenses compared?

anyway my point is. warranty issue is just 1 factor and you're probably the first I've ever come by to tell someone to get a lens just because of warranty issue. c'mon la, there's other issues like build quality and output quality. smile.gif

anyway I've no problem recommending the Sigma 70-300 and Tamron 70-300. they're good low-end tele lenses.
goldfries
post Feb 3 2008, 02:05 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Feb 2 2008, 11:44 PM)
probably gua. still in the middle of doing research on review and opinion. =D

i have Tamron 70-300 and I've used it on many outings and they snap nice pictures. smile.gif

for that price, what's there to complain la? well other than being soft on the other end (200mm onwards).

goldfries
post Feb 3 2008, 06:20 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

FYI used unit of 70-200 F4L non-IS can be acquire for around RM 2k. smile.gif

it's not that far of a jump, isn't it? i plan to get those 70-200 but later on, much later on.
goldfries
post Feb 3 2008, 07:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

damn hard to find 70-200 F4L IS USM la.

edited : sorry, referring to used unit.

those that i see on sale are all the non-IS.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Feb 3 2008, 07:47 PM

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0426sec    1.04    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:50 AM