Photography Canon EOS 300D/350D/400D/450D, Go Rebellionz - V2!, DigitalRebel XT/XTi/XSi/KISS Territory!

-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 1 2008, 08:11 PM

.:νιρэяıэои9:.
7,516 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 1 2008, 12:39 AM)
Yeah, I would say at least a Canon 430EX. Easily affordable and usable. At least you can upgrade to 580EX in the future and then use the 430EX as a slave. A lot of people follow this upgrade path.

But if you are willing to invest, then 580EX straight.

yup cause for people like myself, i don't plan on having 2 flash unit's, so if i want i'll save up and hit the 580EX straight. tongue.gif

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 1 2008, 05:20 AM)
you very good la. much teach us how to smile when in pain. smile.gif

ok will do. when you are feeling pain, just look at the beautiful 580EX that you have. then feel the surge of happiness along with the flow of excitement and you'll naturally smile.

QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 1 2008, 07:14 AM)
viperleong i got already leh. 400D+Sigma 18-200mm OS +50mm f1.8+BG-E3 ._.

waiting for my brother paycheck then ask him buy me flashgun tongue.gif

wah, nice gear. tongue.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 6 2008, 03:14 PM

7,516 posts

hey guys,

Tamron 17-50mm F2.8 first or Siggy 70-300mm F4-5.6?

tongue.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 6 2008, 03:25 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 6 2008, 03:18 PM)
Depends on what lens you already have and what areas you want to explore in photography.

well very seldom on wildlife, usually more on landscape + portraits. smile.gif

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Mar 6 2008, 03:19 PM)
Budget telelens for decent macro + wild life = Siggy 70-300mm f4-5.6 Macro
Good + Sharp portrait + wide angle lens = Tamron 17-50mm f2.8

then i guss it's the Tammy 17-500 F2.8

roughly how much ah now? tongue.gif RM1.5k?
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 6 2008, 03:35 PM

7,516 posts

wahlao. now got budget of RM1k dunno how to stretch till RM1.5k la wei. tongue.gif

cannot la that one. will over-exceed the budget by a long mile. laugh.gif

edit : typo. doh.gif

This post has been edited by -vip3rleon9-: Mar 6 2008, 03:44 PM
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 6 2008, 06:16 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(asrolsani @ Mar 6 2008, 03:56 PM)

thanks for the links! smile.gif

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 6 2008, 04:23 PM)
Don't forget about the Sigma 18-200mm APO lens. This one lets you do both at an affordable price. But if you can afford it, the OS variant is good too. Tamron's 70-300 is also not bad.

hmm, thanks for the recommendations. smile.gif

what if i get a Tammy 17-50 and a Siggy 70-300? hmm.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 6 2008, 11:01 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 6 2008, 10:38 PM)
Yup. 18-200 OS is recommended but I mentioned the non-OS just in case requestor is on budget. The EF70-300mm IS is of course a good lens. I tried it before, the IS is very useful but I opt for the 70-200 F4L in the end. I think Tamron 17-50 + Sigma 70-300 is a good combination. But you can't use the sigma for low light though. I think should be alright if you confine it for daylight shooting.

hmm.. the Sigma will most probably be used for daytime shooting. compared with the Canon 80-200mm, it's much better, right? laugh.gif

how about if it's paired with an external flash, will the Siggy still be weak? hmm.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 7 2008, 01:43 PM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 6 2008, 11:11 PM)
Should be ok lor with a flash. What is the smallest aperture for that lens? Anyway you'll have problem if you shoot and flash from afar. Either the flash is overworked or your flash will be too harsh because you will most likely spray straight. I'm still not good at this area.

the Siggy 70-300mm is a F4-5.6 lens. tongue.gif

yeah true, if the subject is very far away, a flashgun won't help much, i guess. i think. laugh.gif

i remember someone telling me this but i've forgotten it, for the 70-300mm lens, the Siggy is better than the Tammy, right? laugh.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 8 2008, 12:08 AM

7,516 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Mar 7 2008, 01:50 PM)
Siggy is better than Tammy for the 70-300mm f4-5.6 Macro lens smile.gif

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 7 2008, 02:06 PM)
I think Sigma is more consistent lar. Try to get APO version if available. F5.6 should still be ok if you have a strong flash like 580EX II. For long distances, you need more than one flash liao. In a hall, you can station 2 large softboxes brows.gif at the corners. Should give you enough lighting. I saw this implementation from Planet Neil. Not bad the results.

ahhhh.. only if i had enough money. will play with the Tammy wide and Siggy tele first la.

if i manage to get them. tongue.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 12 2008, 12:41 AM

7,516 posts

drool.gif
-vip3rleon9-
post Mar 22 2008, 01:20 PM

7,516 posts

why not save a lil more then get a 580EX II? tongue.gif