15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!

GodLuvSxS
post Sep 24 2008, 02:40 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(alamakazam @ Sep 24 2008, 01:09 PM)
ehh guys

how long did you wait for the OPAs after payment to kingwa

last weekend paid him thru paypal, and I havent heard of him already...
Hi dude! Kingwa just came back from Hong Kong, they also just replied my email which was sent during the weekend. Stay tuned, he's a reliable guy, no worries! Will submit the payment later ... hope to get them next Monday, so I could send it to you guys asap and enjoy it during Raya holiday biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Sep 24 2008, 05:08 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(alamakazam @ Sep 24 2008, 05:06 PM)
thanks man, china very scary
not scary, man biggrin.gif Lotsa great thing to be found there, heaven to us audiophile, especially budget one biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Sep 25 2008, 12:15 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(eddylws @ Sep 25 2008, 12:02 AM)
Hi RAV4,

Octave have Switchcraft RCA which is very good for CD, AMP or DAC, if is not misstaken is RM35 - RM40 per pic, Is you looking for better one you ask the Boss (Mr.Yap) to order the ETI RCA for you the RCA cause RM180 per pair.
Switchcraft RCA is much Natural & warm.
ETI RCA is more to Clearn, Dynamic, and fast signal pass to. 

It is depend what is lack out from your system, that is nothing is better and better, event you can use back your original RCA and change the signal cable to sliver or pure copper cable. that will give you alot improvement already.

Eddy Lim
Which Switchcraft RCA model are u refering to? Seems abit too overprice ... with than kind of money, can try the revolutionary Eichmann Bullet Plugs, i think Octave does carry these too, last time they quote me RM32 each ... after some extensive review by user around the globe, they really do HEAR some improvement over conventional rca plug ...

Eddy, if possible please do try this, worth a gamble! biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Sep 30 2008, 03:52 AM

1,359 posts

The audio gd's rca female seems to be quite solid, quite be quite bang for the bucks, i will try asking the price. I may go and order the OCC copper cable, anyone want to join? together share share the shipping, shipping from canada to malaysia is abit too expensive tongue.gif

The hifidiy mini USB dac is kinda attractive, might consider bring in one unit to review it's market potential biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Sep 30 2008, 09:18 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 30 2008, 09:09 PM)
yes, still looking at what RCA to get. Since yours is so positive, I hope GodLuv can arrange to get them from Audio-gd as well.
I will try to "persuade" audio gd to send some as free gift LOL If not, I will consider paying for it since it's manufacture by CMC, quality is there smile.gif Wanna try OCC copper instead of Silver though, my current setup does sound abit bright to me smile.gif Dun wanna add anymore brightness to it biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Sep 30 2008, 11:53 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(RAV4 @ Sep 30 2008, 11:07 PM)
Oh, I'm not scared of the soldering. That's a simple enuf job. But to try and listen, then remove n resolder to compare .1 and .3 is quite cumbersome so having 2 units is useful for comparison. I believe that's also why Chua bought 2? ;-)

Added on September 30, 2008, 11:17 pmEddy, you mentioned about Black Gate caps so I did a search and found that they're indeed very costly and also scarce. Some are like Euro 10 each! So where do you get your stock from? Actually just curious but I think modding BG for Zero is rather extreme? Might end up to cost as much as the unit itself...
BG might be abit overkill for ZERO, best one would those Elna or Nichicon, quite bang for the bucks biggrin.gif If possible i think both the input and ouput rca female should be replace with better one, again garbage in garbage in, nice in nice out biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 3 2008, 12:14 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(FiSHjIGN @ Oct 3 2008, 12:01 AM)
Anyone tried this mod before?

LINK
Some owner did try the RCA female and removal of the capacitor situated beside the RCA female smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 5 2008, 09:56 PM

1,359 posts

Wow ... cool down guys ... just did my cap snip (those cap around the RCA output) yesterday ... to my ears the difference is quite significant, lots more transparency till the level of abit fatigue listening to ...

Anyone of you agrees with me?
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 5 2008, 10:22 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 5 2008, 10:09 PM)
are u using headphone, if so, extra 2 cap need to be snipped around the headphone opamp.

On my system, I dont really feel if it sounds harsh but it avoid the high frequency being roll off and hence more details. The sound harsh is coming from the vocals, and vocals lies in the frequency range of 2000 Hz.

Perhaps yr gear in the chain has something to be improved or the recording is like that.
I think most probably it's the less roll off high frequency, before the cap snip the highs just kinda extend like "dwinnnnn" now become "dinnnnn" Hope u guys know what I meant biggrin.gif

So far anyone one compare the ZERO with discrete opamp with any entry level CDP?
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 6 2008, 04:45 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Oct 6 2008, 04:29 PM)
I tried the zero dac/earth  with my old Onkyo CDP ( those day cost about 2.5K ) entry player, using SS amplifiers ( pre /power ) and Jamo/JM Lab speakers.

The gain is great, having nice and outstanding vocal  , more  transparency and  more detailed in instruments , though using less expensive QED interconnect this time ( still need time to run in ).

I see zero dac/earth as an enhancement to my system, something likes  value added.

Fatigue with Cap Snip? meaning it is anti climax ? So better put on hold ,  right ?

Added on October 6, 2008, 4:31 pm
Emm ... as ccschua mentioned, it's the more extended high makes me feeling abit fatique, before the cap snip the highs were gently roll off ... more easy to me ears, although it doesnt sound accurate biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 7 2008, 12:35 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(eddylws @ Oct 5 2008, 11:54 PM)
To all Zero DAC lover,

If any one of you planing to install a super clock on your Zero DAC, KingWa JZ-1 CD/DVD摩机时钟板 could be a good choice.
I have tested this clock on my marantz CD 94 player and another player it sounded very good, more dynamic, strong attack & thickness but a bit lack of transparentcy. 
I did a compare to my singapore super clock and Audio_GD clock sounded very close to my singapore clock, i hope after 100hours it can sound better then the singapore clock. (the singapore clock cost me RM800.)

Attach below are some of the pic.
Hi eddy, that was impressive, actually is it going to be hard to install the clock? Check the price, around RM75 ... quite within budget, but just that it seems hard to implement in ...
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 8 2008, 01:36 AM

1,359 posts

Guys, those who are using foobar2000 as playback software, please do consider go and download the latest V0.9.5.6, to my ears it's sound more balanced, vocals are more natural, and less fatigue listening to, go and download ... software does plays a difference too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by GodLuvSxS: Oct 8 2008, 01:37 AM
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 13 2008, 10:15 AM

1,359 posts

Ok guys, discrete opamps are here ... Time to calculate the handling:D

International Shipping: USD30 x 3.4=RM102, RM102/24pcs of opamps =RM4 per opamp
Local shipping + packaging: RM6(poslaju) + RM2(packaging with bubble wrap and envelope) = RM8 per buyer

MOON
====
1. GodLuvSxS (MOON) -
2. jerren (MOON + 1 extension cable) CLEAR
3. DEz012 (MOON) RM12

4. RAV4 (MOON) + RAV4's friend (MOON) RM16
5. stormspider (MOON + 1 extension cable) RM12
6. skydna (MOON) RM12

7. utellme (MOON + 1 extension cable) clear
8. leshita87 (MOON + 1 extension cable) RM12 - RM3 balance = RM9
9. ccschua (MOON) RM12

10. Oxburg (MOON + 1 extension cable) RM12, contact me if u want to ship with DAC
11. sakuragi01 (MOON + 1 extension cable) RM12 - RM3 = RM9

OTHERS
=====
1. DEVICLOT (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 2 cables) RM20
2. FiSHjIGN (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) RM20, contact me if u want to ship with DAC
3. yennshin (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) clear
4. ALPS2008 (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) RM20, contact me if u want to ship with DAC

Bank in details: Maybank 108178781772 Leong Chun Yen

Some poison: Emmm ... highs sound abit harsh compare to quite well burned in Earth at first listening, vocal certainly thicker than the Earth, soundstage emm ... it's smaller than the Earth, well that's the nature of warm sound biggrin.gif Still gotta burn in more to see the real beast ... my EARTH still havent well burn in yet, I guess just roughly around 50hours ... casual listening all the time tongue.gif

This post has been edited by GodLuvSxS: Oct 13 2008, 02:49 PM
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 13 2008, 11:04 PM

1,359 posts

Latest update:

MOON
====
1. GodLuvSxS (MOON) -
2. jerren (MOON + 1 extension cable) CLEAR
3. DEz012 (MOON) RM12

5. stormspider (MOON + 1 extension cable) CLEAR
6. skydna (MOON) CLEAR

7. utellme (MOON + 1 extension cable) CLEAR
9. ccschua (MOON) RM12

10. Oxburg (MOON + 1 extension cable) RM12, contact me if u want to ship with DAC

OTHERS
=====
1. DEVICLOT (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 2 cables) CLEAR
2. FiSHjIGN (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) ship with DAC
3. yennshin (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) CLEAR
4. ALPS2008 (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) RM20, contact me if u want to ship with DAC

Will post it out 2moro for those who paid biggrin.gif

I will do a bulk for audio-gd again if the demand is there biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 14 2008, 05:00 PM

1,359 posts

Latest update:

MOON
====
1. GodLuvSxS (MOON) -
2. jerren (MOON + 1 extension cable) POSLAJUed
3. DEz012 (MOON) RM12

5. stormspider (MOON + 1 extension cable) POSLAJUed
6. skydna (MOON) CLEAR

7. utellme (MOON + 1 extension cable) POSLAJUed
9. ccschua (MOON) POSLAJUed

OTHERS
=====
1. DEVICLOT (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 2 cables) POSLAJUed
2. FiSHjIGN (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) ship with DAC
3. yennshin (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) POSLAJUed
4. ALPS2008 (SUN + EARTH free MOON + 1 cable) POSLAJUed

Emmm .... hope u guys like it ! biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 15 2008, 09:26 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(DEVICLOT @ Oct 15 2008, 04:19 PM)
Juz received my opamp. So nice~  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif Love de green LED in Sun~  drool.gif  drool.gif
How about the sound quality? tongue.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 16 2008, 12:23 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Oct 16 2008, 12:09 AM)
My first impression with OPA Earth is nothing short of surprises. Each time with the OPA release, the sound quality improve by another level.

The Moon OPA is more transparent, surprisingly than OPA Earth. The vocal is warm as in thick and airy. Listening to the Jazz at Pawnshop, the bells are not as bright as OPA Earth which is more neutral. The bass department is good too and dynamics response is so so only.  Overall Moon does excell than OPA Earth. surprise.
Emmm .... i think it's the transparency makes me feel that the high is abit bright, too much of transparency reveals my music's bad quality recording tongue.gif Vocal is abit thick to me ... I mean I could feel the singer's vocal but the more closed in sound cant clearly describe the surrounding ... emmm ... I think EARTH still the one for me biggrin.gif

QUOTE(stormspider @ Oct 16 2008, 12:10 AM)
Hey Steve,

Received my opamp and cable..
All in good conditions... too busy to plug it into the Zero for burn in though.. sad.gif
Hopefully will have time over the weekend...
Hope u enjoy it over the weekend ...
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 16 2008, 03:03 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Oct 16 2008, 01:19 AM)
hahaha if u got 2 pc than maybe i can test for my CDP

steve can u give me 3 opamp review

What i found at chua
Earth - I found neutral not dynamic either warm
Sun -
Moon -
emmm ....

Earth - neutral not dynamic either warm, quite an allrounder here biggrin.gif I love this very well
Sun - dynamic, more extended at both end, forward vocal
Moon - surprisingly quite transparent, as chua mentioned it's even more transparent to EARTH, thick vocal, bass is there but seems like bass impact not as well as EARTH ... emmm ... not quite my cup of tea, sounds abit closed in, i think it's gonna take at least 50hours to show it's true color biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 16 2008, 11:33 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Oct 16 2008, 11:18 AM)
steve u got any spare 2 Earth wanna try on my CD-63 bcoz this CD player sound soft n slow wanna try on earth to give more dynamic but i will bypass marantz original HDAM first heeheh
Emm ... i got only one EARTH, sorry to tell you that ... u got the CD-63 off hifi4sale? Cos I seen one selling few days ago ... biggrin.gif Heard that bypass the original HDAM does makes it sound more transparent, emmm ... CD63 does sound musical and the HDAM is quite influential to the sound, IMHO maybe u should play with the internal cable connecting to the RCA female, try with high quality copper cable see how it sound biggrin.gif Sometimes I feel that musical sound is abit more difficult to tune compare to transparency sound, just hope to you could improve further in details and dynamic without losing the musicality smile.gif

Marantz CD63 mod list - lotsa mod done for CD63 could be found here ... hope it helps biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by GodLuvSxS: Oct 16 2008, 11:35 AM
GodLuvSxS
post Oct 16 2008, 12:37 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Oct 16 2008, 11:52 AM)
i got see this page liow got over 1000pages not from hifi4sale thats is over price i get it some where else hehehe chua got 1 earth u got 1 earth than ngam loh hehehe
sad.gif That one for my own usage le ... bro ... Chua got 2 EARTH ma .... maybe he fall in love with MOON, then he can sell you both biggrin.gif

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0390sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:30 AM