10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!

abel
post Jun 12 2008, 12:44 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jun 10 2008, 09:59 PM)
HI VELO,

from where u get the supra power cord and teletron power conditioner? and how much for each

looks like the opamp rolling is coming a long way. now the 637 is coming. LT 1358 any order ?

hope to receive the mysterious DY2000 for rolling. my fiber optical cable from blue jean sou be in soon.

Well this HDAM actually comes from the genius from China. The guru I admire so much.

thnks to Godluvsxs for introducing this genius.
u want supra cable ? i know where can get ... but is bulk cable smile.gif
abel
post Jun 12 2008, 10:31 AM

571 posts

abt RM 90 per m u try to find at amcorp mall Acoustics System look for LIm
abel
post Jun 13 2008, 01:01 AM

571 posts

i get mine abt 3 weeks

now my choice is LM4562 , LT1364 and LT1057 .... smile.gif DY2000 not yet try soo dunno how it sound

This post has been edited by abel: Jun 13 2008, 01:34 AM
abel
post Jun 19 2008, 03:50 PM

571 posts

i wanna try for LT1358
abel
post Jun 20 2008, 11:06 AM

571 posts

hehe chua no choice bcoz alot of china recording is like that cant help on it if wanna test try on mat salleh singer or tsai chin make sure not china recording

i received my DAC this morning abt 9am cant wait tonight will plug it n try on my system hehehe

opss thanks for inform me typing error

This post has been edited by abel: Jun 20 2008, 01:45 PM
abel
post Jun 20 2008, 01:45 PM

571 posts

ohh opa2107 smile.gif wanna try it out
abel
post Jun 21 2008, 01:17 AM

571 posts

ermm i found OPA627 too dynamics for me .... not suite my taste smile.gif

i prefer warm n laid back n have thick vocal .... smile.gif
abel
post Jun 21 2008, 10:20 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 21 2008, 05:40 PM)
uiks??? gathering??? where and when? hopefully me free then can bring muh modded unit oso biggrin.gif

anyway, i LOVE the 2107. i think theyre wicked awesome for the price. i especially love how they tamed the highs on my DT990 man. also making the sound airy makes music really enjoyable.

but since i paid like over 300 bux for my 627....im sticking to those laugh.gif

sounds very similar anyway, though it is better than the 2107 in more than one way
yala wanna compared ur mod unit with stock unit hehehe now waiting opa2107 to arrived
now i let my DAC to run in .... ermm now wanna find the coaxial cable smile.gif dunno which one to use

DY2000 is from AD (Analog Device)

This post has been edited by abel: Jun 21 2008, 10:27 PM
abel
post Jun 25 2008, 09:23 AM

571 posts

ccschua get the dy2000 from internet i also ask him to get one for me also but no time to meet him yet tongue.gif

for soo many day i tested on Zero with different opamp currently i try on opa2107 .... wut i found the sound slightly dry n digital (fake) will all op when running using toslink .... than yesterday just bought MIT coaxial ... but not fully run it yet still dunno wut the result yet i compare back last 2 week when i listen to CD-63 KI the vocal are thick more sweet sounding .... when the CD-63 connect to DAC is totally different seem the sound more dynamic n more resolution vocal is slightly thin ...

the different is CD-63 KI is running on 16bit and Zero is 24bit

actually depends on ur taste ... if u like those new age or fast music Zero is more suitable ...

Now just wait to running in n test on final result that day i try on Headphone the sound are dull dunno y maybe i use cheap headphone tongue.gif

This post has been edited by abel: Jun 25 2008, 09:38 AM
abel
post Jun 25 2008, 10:56 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jun 25 2008, 10:26 AM)
Perhaps it may need some kind of burn in, lotsa headfier reporting improvement after 100 hours of burn in smile.gif If the OPA2107 sounds like OPA627 as ppl reporting, ccschua mentioned OPA627 sounds kinda a lil too neutral and dynamic to him a vocal fanatic, as you two gathering alot, u may borrow his opamps play play biggrin.gif
yeah i already give few opamp for him to try out ..... smile.gif
yeah me n ccschua almost same taste more to vocal .... we are vocal fanatic laugh.gif
now i trying opa2107 is less dynamic compare to opa627 .... still need some time to audit n burn in.

haha now waiting the dy2000 haiz need to run in all the opamp before have final result

currently i didnt connect to my tube preamp now just direct from DAC

Added on June 25, 2008, 11:16 am
QUOTE(abel @ Jun 25 2008, 10:56 AM)
yeah i already give few opamp for him to try out ..... smile.gif
yeah me n ccschua almost same taste more to vocal .... we are vocal fanatic  laugh.gif
now i trying opa2107 is less dynamic compare to opa627 .... still need some time to audit n burn in.

haha now waiting the dy2000 haiz need to run in all the opamp before have final result

currently i didnt connect to my tube preamp now just direct from DAC
i got 1 extra opa2107 who wanna swap with me n try heheh

This post has been edited by abel: Jun 25 2008, 11:16 AM
abel
post Jun 26 2008, 09:18 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 26 2008, 12:55 AM)
Will it demage my amp or speaker?
Or i will use the 140W amp.

Quote from another sifu:
the meaning for 140w is u open max volume only running full 140w ....

normally just produce 20-30% depends the volume u open
abel
post Jun 28 2008, 02:17 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 27 2008, 10:41 AM)
Thank you for the insight,  laugh.gif
i also read  that, The 9.1 has several weaknesses. Their biggest weakness is an overly rich mid-bass. This gives a warm, pleasant tone, but it slows the speaker down and muddies the proceedings in the process. The 2nd weakness is resolution. By comparison to the rest you mention that I recognise, the 9.1 suffers from a lack of detail, definition and frequency extension.

others like rogers, quad, atc scm, harbeth price range is around RM4K- 12K. Really expensive for a begginer.

BTW, my amp back view is like this. Can pair with Zero rite?

previously i tested 3 speaker 9.1 , MS 902i and carnival 2 ,

Wharfedale 9.1 wut i know abit power hungry ,sound warm if u have enuf power to push this baby sound not bad really good for vocal no shh shh shh sound hahaha actually i really like this baby but my amp not enuf to push make vocal abit blur.

MS902i - sound dynamic and tweeter sound harsh , good resolution , nice detail and easy to push but vocal thin.

MS Carnival 2 what i using now - sound between of this 2 not bright not warm and easy to push smile.gif nothing impress hahaha

LS 3/5A i audit before it really nice ... this really power hungry bcoz running on 11ohm minimum some version with 15ohm and 16ohm also got if i not mistaken ....

the mid and tweeter is made by KEF and just the branding is different all the speaker they send back to BBC to inspection. currently KEF already stop production of this speaker and now the lastest version is STERLING and they ask scans speak to make the tweeter follow the original spec and the mid from SEAS ... and BBC say is get abt 95%
similar to the old LS 3/5A

http://www.stirlingbroadcast.net/

This post has been edited by abel: Jun 28 2008, 02:33 AM
abel
post Jun 28 2008, 04:48 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jun 28 2008, 02:42 AM)
Thanks again for sharing  notworthy.gif

Power: 20-100W
Nominal Impedance: 6ohm
Sensitivity: 86dB

Many says Wharfy is hard to drive.. but why?
bcoz the Sensitivity is low ... 86db is low at least u need 70-80w RMS to push my fren own 8.2 use Arcam Power amp to push and is 100w RMS per channel hehehe

my MS Carnival is 90db
88 db to 90db this range is the best and easy to push. they got calculation one but forget how to calculate hhehe

Added on June 28, 2008, 4:54 pmmy opamp collection
now testing on LT1358 it give music more alive .... it got more energy compare to LT1057 is say dynamic is not say warm also not hehehe very special ... let it running n see now abit bright.

i got 2 unit OPA2107ap who interested PM me

This post has been edited by abel: Jun 29 2008, 01:07 PM
abel
post Jun 29 2008, 01:05 PM

571 posts

military use that for their tube radio ghahahah
abel
post Jun 30 2008, 10:54 PM

571 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jun 30 2008, 08:49 PM)
it is a good opamp.bro,the LT1057+Lm4562 mean what?does it mean 1 opamp on the DAC section in Zero and another in headphone amp section?
yeah ... is true 1 for DAC and got 2 for headphone section

LT1057 not bad LM4562 also not bad but i prefer LT1057 ... now i testing DY2000 found this opamp very special sound, calm n relax really no attack more slow than LT1057 but mid is really smooth like tube feel ... dunno how to explain

LT1361 ermm ok
LT1364 sound better than LT1361 for my taste

wut i found i prefer DY2000 , LT1057 , LT1364 and last but not list LM4562 other not really suite my taste at first found LT1358 not bad but after sometime i feel bored and frustrated maybe the vocal too forward fell the singer saliva spit to my face laugh.gif

for those who like dynamic n fast go for OPA627 bass are fast n tight opa2107 also not bad.

This post has been edited by abel: Jul 1 2008, 01:28 AM
abel
post Jul 1 2008, 01:11 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jun 30 2008, 11:41 PM)
LT1057+LM4562 mean we put 1 LT1057 in DAC and 2 LM4562 in headphone section?
yup u are right
abel
post Jul 1 2008, 01:22 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 1 2008, 01:21 AM)
opamp in the headphone amp is it for listening headphone only?will it have effect on speaker listening?
no is separate section except u use Preamp to connect to power amp if u headphone kaki i think u need to change all the opamp
bcoz i also got headphone test found speaker sound n headphone different sound wut i found when like let say LT1057 for DAC is slow n relax when go to headphone (i use opa2107) feel the sound thin n sharp i think better use opamp for all section than u will get the rights sound for combination not say not bad but u need alot of time to tweak n test brows.gif

This post has been edited by abel: Jul 1 2008, 01:31 AM
abel
post Jul 1 2008, 01:35 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(scy320 @ Jul 1 2008, 01:30 AM)
so i can just change the opamp in DAC section only to get the effect of that opamp?
change DAC section also got different .... smile.gif
u change any opamp also got sound different see u use for headphone or direct to amp

if u got use headphone than better change all .... u try to change the DAC section than compare with change other see which one u like

This post has been edited by abel: Jul 1 2008, 01:37 AM
abel
post Jul 1 2008, 04:05 PM

571 posts

not fully tested yet

wut i found DY2000 sound very smooth sounding , bass more refine not soo punch , feel the bass very transparent , vocal more forward and found the high smooth no sshhh shhhh bright sound already but some ppl say abit dark ... depends ur own taste.

This post has been edited by abel: Jul 1 2008, 04:06 PM
abel
post Jul 3 2008, 04:47 PM

571 posts

ermm seem alot ppl got for opa627 if who interested i got 2 opa2107 for sale ..... biggrin.gif

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0469sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:10 PM