99 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!

mikelanding
post Jan 22 2008, 08:50 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 22 2008, 08:42 PM)
SOURCE

some opamps tested in the ZERO....long list (quoted from head-fi)

laugh.gif i dont speak ur language man...but i guessing ur saying the Zhaolu is better. wont be surprised honestly. but considering those damn things are difficult to get now... i think this is actually quite a steal. it really does sound good (too lazy to write review right now tongue.gif )

the unit i have is on loan....heck, i just might buy it off laugh.gif
lol..i also dun speak that lingo..
But Rm410 for a external DAC sure will pwn those PCI sound card kaw kaw....I am comparing those who use PC as source...Nowaday, most medium price range MOBO come with at least optical output...
I would said is another alternative to PC user who have audiophile sense...smile.gif
yeah_guyz
post Jan 22 2008, 09:43 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 22 2008, 08:50 PM)
lol..i also dun speak that lingo..
But Rm410 for a external DAC sure will pwn those PCI sound card kaw kaw....I am comparing those who use PC as source...Nowaday, most medium price range MOBO come with at least optical output...
I would said is another alternative to PC user who have audiophile sense...smile.gif
RM410 really rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
definitely worth to try it wub.gif
madman, i am waiting for you bring your dac come to my home...lets AB test with DAH1...wait after CNY or march i will be free laugh.gif
mikelanding
post Jan 22 2008, 09:47 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jan 22 2008, 09:43 PM)
RM410 really  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
definitely worth to try it wub.gif
madman, i am waiting for you bring your dac come to my home...lets AB test with DAH1...wait after CNY or march i will be free laugh.gif
wat la..need to wait that long...maybe other DAH01 owner (cough cough cough TeOtq) can have a AB test this weekend..tongue.gif
TSmADmAN
post Jan 22 2008, 09:49 PM

10,530 posts

WAH......senang senang hati only wanna setup appointment for me?? laugh.gif

not free this weekend. need to work cry.gif

but no worries...next week i got dental surgery (removing widsom tooth) so meaning i got few days MC!!! laugh.gif

EDIT: crap....just remembered...next week moving office so my surgery oso have to delay doh.gif

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 22 2008, 09:51 PM
mikelanding
post Jan 22 2008, 09:54 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 22 2008, 09:49 PM)
WAH......senang senang hati only wanna setup appointment for me?? laugh.gif

not free this weekend. need to work cry.gif

but no worries...next week i got dental surgery (removing widsom tooth) so meaning i got few days MC!!! laugh.gif

EDIT: crap....just remembered...next week moving office so my surgery oso have to delay doh.gif
but how to fight...RM1K vs RM400...maybe if even ..this 1 still win..lol..
Anway, looking forward for more reviews from other people..smile.gif
yeah_guyz
post Jan 22 2008, 09:55 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 22 2008, 09:47 PM)
wat la..need to wait that long...maybe other DAH01 owner (cough cough cough TeOtq) can have a AB test this weekend..tongue.gif
lol...TeoTQ not in MALAYSIA la... he is foreiner...LOL tongue.gif

Added on January 22, 2008, 9:57 pm
QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jan 22 2008, 09:55 PM)
QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 22 2008, 09:54 PM)
but how to fight...RM1K vs RM400...maybe if even ..this 1 still win..lol..
Anway, looking forward for more reviews from other people..smile.gif
never try never know..LOL,
dont judge something by price...try with own ear tongue.gif
but look at the spec of both DAC...RM400 will lose la blush.gif

This post has been edited by yeah_guyz: Jan 22 2008, 09:57 PM
GodLuvSxS
post Jan 22 2008, 10:02 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jan 22 2008, 09:55 PM)

Added on January 22, 2008, 9:57 pm
never try never know..LOL,
dont judge something by price...try with own ear tongue.gif
but look at the spec of both DAC...RM400  will lose la blush.gif
Of course RM400 will lose tongue.gif Different level laugh.gif AD1955 + HEF188, the ZERO just cheapo AD1852 + dunno what design internal amp tongue.gif
yeah_guyz
post Jan 22 2008, 10:04 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jan 22 2008, 10:02 PM)
Of course RM400 will lose tongue.gif Different level laugh.gif AD1955 + HEF188, the ZERO just cheapo AD1852 + dunno what design internal amp tongue.gif
godluv you got demo unit? u stay nearby w.maju right? can i go kkcc u ;p
GodLuvSxS
post Jan 22 2008, 10:07 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Jan 22 2008, 10:04 PM)
godluv you got demo unit? u stay nearby w.maju right? can i go kkcc u ;p
I leave my unit loan at mADmAN there, I'm not from W.Maju, but it's just that I may be frequent there maybe once in a month, cos I'm Ipoh lang tongue.gif

EDITED: For those who like to do opamp rolling, me and mADmAN could teach you how to get impressive FREE opamp lol

This post has been edited by GodLuvSxS: Jan 22 2008, 10:09 PM
mikelanding
post Jan 22 2008, 10:20 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jan 22 2008, 10:07 PM)
I leave my unit loan at mADmAN there, I'm not from W.Maju, but it's just that I may be frequent there maybe once in a month, cos I'm Ipoh lang tongue.gif

EDITED: For those who like to do opamp rolling, me and mADmAN could teach you how to get impressive FREE opamp lol
lai lai..teach me/ enlighten me.I need single channel opamp..tongue.gif...so far I rolled opa627...really like the detail and also the tight, deep bass. Not sure about other.

TeOtq
post Jan 22 2008, 11:13 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 22 2008, 09:47 PM)
why me?!lol
i not at malaysia ler,now work at singapore.
rm400+ really really a good price!!!!
mikelanding
post Jan 22 2008, 11:29 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(TeOtq @ Jan 22 2008, 11:13 PM)
why me?!lol
i not at malaysia ler,now work at singapore.
rm400+ really really a good price!!!!
errr....coz U a easy kena poison guy ma...lol..j/k
Ya...RM410 is cheap...must resist!!!

Look at the opamp rolling option listed, so much fun le....
TeOtq
post Jan 22 2008, 11:35 PM

839 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Jan 22 2008, 11:29 PM)
errr....coz U a easy kena poison guy ma...lol..j/k
Ya...RM410 is cheap...must resist!!!

Look at the opamp rolling option listed, so much fun le....
lol...
but with dah1 maybe wont upgrade or "short" period blink.gif
haha,but read the review at head fi,tis Tian Yun really nice!
ccschua
post Jan 22 2008, 11:48 PM

1,630 posts

someone pls help, where to get these 2 item

LM4562:

OPA627 x2 on Brown Dog Adaptor

GodLuvSxS
post Jan 22 2008, 11:50 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 22 2008, 11:48 PM)
someone pls help, where to get these 2 item

LM4562:

OPA627 x2 on Brown Dog Adaptor
If I'm not wrong, you could PM Walabies, he got few stock left.
Akabane@DrJackel
post Jan 22 2008, 11:53 PM

**Music Listeners**
4,540 posts

Another nice DAC. i think should upgrade myself again this time.
SandyPiggy
post Jan 23 2008, 12:36 PM

27 posts

Wow .... a great DAC and considering to get one for my dad as birthday gift, but still gotta read more review before the final decision. smile.gif

This post has been edited by SandyPiggy: Jan 23 2008, 12:38 PM
ccschua
post Jan 23 2008, 01:22 PM

1,630 posts

Below is the comment from head-fi.org. This clears the doubt of what the noob like me keep asking the same question all over the net.

" basically DAC performs in analogy to a good player dac circuit like that in marantz CD 6000. In turn, u can couple the DAC with dvd player having optical out/with computer optical. In this way, u dont have to buy a quality cd player and dvd player. " dunno if my assumption is correct.

--------------------------------------------------

As a DAC itself, comparing the Zero DAC with the internal DAC of the Marantz CD6000 OSE, I see they have different personalities. The Marantz is more crispy and more "in front" sound, while the Zero DAC is more relaxed and "analogic", but without losing much in details. After few months, I must admit I prefer the Zero DAC, more relax and charm, expecially with classical music and jazz!
With the pre-amp stage on, I see the sound is not impacted, I mean either in bad or in good. As headphone, it provides power, control and soundstage to my Sessheiser without any hint of noise, but I cannot make any significant review here (I don't have any dedicated headamp to compare with).

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f5/review-ze...58/index71.html

This post has been edited by ccschua: Jan 23 2008, 01:24 PM
GodLuvSxS
post Jan 23 2008, 01:36 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 23 2008, 01:22 PM)
Below is the comment from head-fi.org. This clears the doubt of what the noob like me keep asking the same question all over the net.

" basically DAC performs in analogy to a good player dac circuit like that in marantz CD 6000. In turn, u can couple the DAC with dvd player having optical out/with computer optical. In this way, u dont have to buy a quality cd player and dvd player. " dunno if my assumption is correct.

--------------------------------------------------

As a DAC itself, comparing the Zero DAC with the internal DAC of the Marantz CD6000 OSE, I see they have different personalities. The Marantz is more crispy and more "in front" sound, while the Zero DAC is more relaxed and "analogic", but without losing much in details. After few months, I must admit I prefer the Zero DAC, more relax and charm, expecially with classical music and jazz!
With the pre-amp stage on, I see the sound is not impacted, I mean either in bad or in good. As headphone, it provides power, control and soundstage to my Sessheiser without any hint of noise, but I cannot make any significant review here (I don't have any dedicated headamp to compare with).

http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f5/review-ze...58/index71.html
IMHO, I always think that it's good to opt for external DAC instead of soundcard, it provides more flexibility from time to time, no matter you are integrating the DAC into HTPC or doing proper hifi setup smile.gif
walabies
post Jan 23 2008, 01:50 PM

Jaben Network.. A headphones store with teddy bears...
6,934 posts

Feel the power of standalone DAC!!! Get this, then if happy upgrade to DA-10!!! rclxm9.gif

Btw, ZLs are not hard to come by, we have two 2nd hand here soon. brows.gif

99 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:39 PM