2,013 posts

then how u get rid of d snake anyway...
rarapu
post Jan 25 2008, 04:09 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 24 2008, 11:29 PM)
then how u get rid of d snake anyway...
my guess will be, he close the casing, throw it all together. safer that way whistling.gif
Shawnzz
post Jan 25 2008, 05:52 PM

1,911 posts

trow, hahahahha
jedi_dc
post Jan 25 2008, 07:05 PM

2,273 posts

he threw away the whole set, im guessing he use shieldtox + lighter burn it . laugh.gif .. no laaa.. impossible.! im guessing he just left it there as his pet tongue.gif .btw. im using open-casing now , No problem whatsoever. my temeperature is cooler by a few degrees if i open it , .
littleman
post Jan 25 2008, 08:38 PM

834 posts

Is it appropriate to drill alot of holes on your casing?
I mean A LOT...
ocz
post Jan 25 2008, 09:29 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(littleman @ Jan 25 2008, 08:38 PM)
Is it appropriate to drill alot of holes on your casing?
I mean A LOT...
It will not costs a problem.
But what for drilling a lot of holes?
SUSN's
post Jan 25 2008, 09:41 PM

1,091 posts

I got a cap ayam brand, the design is like cap unta brand. I didnt open the casing because can easily collect dust and also noisy. Bad for ears.
ocz
post Jan 25 2008, 09:47 PM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

QUOTE(N's @ Jan 25 2008, 09:41 PM)
I got a cap ayam brand, the design is like cap unta brand. I didnt open the casing because can easily collect dust and also noisy. Bad for ears.
Why is it noisy?? i think you uses a lots of fans,chipset cooler with fans,gpu cooler with fans.
deric88
post Jan 25 2008, 11:22 PM

Spam Ranking
1,464 posts

open or closed?
my CM C5 is always closed, there's once , i found a dead grasshopper* inside .....
my intake front has a filter my back is exhaust.....

*my house has no grass areas

This post has been edited by deric88: Jan 25 2008, 11:36 PM
frankieNrosie
post Jan 25 2008, 11:50 PM

b||ooDY b|u3s
786 posts

QUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 20 2008, 11:35 AM)
It's noisy.
it depend on ur fans la..
buy silent fans will help the sound more silent
goldfries
post Jan 26 2008, 01:23 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 20 2008, 11:18 AM)
but there is one article i read in the newspaper stating that opening your pc's casing doesnt actually help much on the cooling part, says its broken the way the ventilation or watever it means.. tongue.gif and cooling effect will be worst than adding fans inside.

and the casing cover actually is the last line of defense for blocking all those radiation frm those component inside.

the article is not wrong.

but btw, we don't have radioactive elements in our PC. smile.gif

QUOTE(maranello55 @ Jan 20 2008, 11:21 AM)
Depends on what casing u have....if u have a casing that have a proper fan and ventilation path, opening it can disrupt the cooling. But if u have a cap ayam mini-atx casing and an OC GC and proc...u better have it opened and put a table fan to it...
not necessarily. even cheap mATX casing and OC GC, with proper placement of fan you can have good ventilation. it's not about casing size or quality. it's the science of cooling.

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 20 2008, 04:26 PM)
Yes I have to agree, open casing is giving better airflow but dusty. I cleaned my pc every two days with vacuum, just suck out all the dust.

open casing DOES NOT give better airflow. you have to put a table fan to get the max out of it.

if you use stuff like Artic Cooling Accelero S1, you wouldn't want to use open casing unless you run the Turbo Module. same goes to running fanless.

FYI my system ran fanless. once i open casing, the system will hang sooner or later. this already proves open casing DOES NOT mean better air flow.

*if anyone wants to argue with me. i run a silent PC that runs fanless on the processor and relies heavily on casing air-flow. it was done by spending hours observing fan speed + temperature to have an optimal setup that works with low-noise and acceptable temperature.

QUOTE(amd_hardcore @ Jan 20 2008, 07:27 PM)
dun trust newspaper article...

newspaper article is for newbie , correct me if im wrong..

if article for newbie. how can you not trust it? again it depends on the article. i find forummers and people who lack knowledge are more damaging that newspaper articles.

QUOTE(amd_hardcore @ Jan 20 2008, 07:27 PM)
i am oredi experience this thing... my hardware is assemble without use any casing... the tmpreatrure is excellent...

i did both. side-panel open doesn't bring better air-flow or make it more cooling.

if you open side-panel and the temperature is better, then it's clear that your casing doesn't have good air-flow in the first place but that doesn't mean open side-panel always bring you better air-flow.

------------

so yeah. that's about it.

oh and about dust. when your casing have good air-flow, it's not surprising to have dust collection. as long as there's moving air, there will be dust collection. even if you put dust filter (which hurst the air flow) there will still be dust collection some where, with filter on means it'll be on the filter la so either way you still have some thing to clean.

mizivincible
post Jan 26 2008, 01:46 AM

"They'll be singing que sera sera"
1,633 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 26 2008, 01:23 AM)
the article is not wrong.

but btw, we don't have radioactive elements in our PC. smile.gif
not necessarily. even cheap mATX casing and OC GC, with proper placement of fan you can have good ventilation. it's not about casing size or quality. it's the science of cooling.
open casing DOES NOT give better airflow. you have to put a table fan to get the max out of it.

if you use stuff like Artic Cooling Accelero S1, you wouldn't want to use open casing unless you run the Turbo Module. same goes to running fanless.

FYI my system ran fanless. once i open casing, the system will hang sooner or later. this already proves open casing DOES NOT mean better air flow.

*if anyone wants to argue with me. i run a silent PC that runs fanless on the processor and relies heavily on casing air-flow. it was done by spending hours observing fan speed + temperature to have an optimal setup that works with low-noise and acceptable temperature.
if article for newbie. how can you not trust it? again it depends on the article. i find forummers and people who lack knowledge are more damaging that newspaper articles.
i did both. side-panel open doesn't bring better air-flow or make it more cooling.

if you open side-panel and the temperature is better, then it's clear that your casing doesn't have good air-flow in the first place but that doesn't mean open side-panel always bring you better air-flow.

------------

so yeah. that's about it.

oh and about dust. when your casing have good air-flow, it's not surprising to have dust collection. as long as there's moving air, there will be dust collection. even if you put dust filter (which hurst the air flow) there will still be dust collection some where, with filter on means it'll be on the filter la so either way you still have some thing to clean.
Sorry, by stating open casing gives better airflow is actually wrong, my bad doh.gif . I was meant by open casing gives more air, more fresh air to the hardware thus making it cooler.

Err, abang goldfries, is that wrong or correct ? Please correct me again if Im wrong sweat.gif

Added on January 26, 2008, 1:50 am
QUOTE(goldfries @ Jan 26 2008, 01:23 AM)

Question ! This is relying on ambient temperature ? U state that u didnt use any fan in ur pc right, so you were actually observing which fan speed ?

And second question, this is completely relying on fanless rig, how about open casing with fans rig ? Would the result be same ?

Edited : After reading few times I realized u were saying was your processor doesnt have any fan, while how about case fan ?

This post has been edited by mizivincible: Jan 26 2008, 01:55 AM
goldfries
post Jan 26 2008, 02:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 26 2008, 01:46 AM)
Sorry, by stating open casing gives better airflow is actually wrong, my bad  doh.gif . I was meant by open casing gives more air, more fresh air to the hardware thus making it cooler.

Err, abang goldfries, is that wrong or correct ? Please correct me again if Im wrong  sweat.gif

ok. see, if you're in a hot room and no other flow of air pointing to the casing. then the air-flow isn't that great.

on the other hand if your casing itself has little to no air-flow, then of course opening side panel would result in better ventilation but that doesn't mean it will always be better. smile.gif

open casing works best when you have table fan blowing, or at least have moving air around.

btw my 2nd unit is now open cased........ haha. well that's because i forgot to close and didn't bother to close. smile.gif

QUOTE(mizivincible @ Jan 26 2008, 01:46 AM)
Question ! This is relying on ambient temperature ? U state that u didnt use any fan in ur pc right, so you were actually observing which fan speed ?

And second question, this is completely relying on fanless rig, how about open casing with fans rig ? Would the result be same ?

Edited : After reading few times I realized u were saying was your processor doesnt have any fan, while how about case fan ?

yes. your cooling always relies on ambient temp.

your casing should have the ambient air going into the casing. cool the components then pushed out via exhaust.

my system relied on 3x 120mm fan. you can see ianho's services, my casing side panel is there. my CM C2 ventilation sucked. i spend quite a bit to modify it to the way it wan. good airflow + low noise.

yes. i observe fan speed. not exactly monitoring the RPM la but i monitor adjust the speed and observe noise level + temperature. to me RPM is not important, more important is the air-pushed vs noise vs temperature. to strike a balance.

my current setup using fan la. the one not using fan was my X2 3600+ on OC 2.5ghz running scythe ninja fanless. smile.gif side panel off - sooner or later will hang. side panel on, no problem at all.

on my case, it was specially made for air-flow cos i want a silent setup.

even my current rig is silent setup, all fans are controlled by Vantec Nexus.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 26 2008, 02:12 AM
TSben_ang
post Jan 26 2008, 07:39 PM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

[goldfries]
wow..open side panel will hang, n didnt open will not...hmm.. quite interesting..which mean even u open the side panel, doesnt mean tat definetly u will get better air flow huh..
NewbieBetta
post Jan 26 2008, 07:48 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

good with a table fan direct blowing on it thumbup.gif
wodenus
post Jan 26 2008, 07:48 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

Open case here.. cos am too lazy to put case back on.
f_tech25
post Jan 26 2008, 11:06 PM

for open casing,u'r mother board will eat dust tongue.gif
better not to open it's casing
emilz
post Jan 27 2008, 12:04 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(f_tech25 @ Jan 26 2008, 11:06 PM)
for open casing,u'r mother board will eat dust  tongue.gif
better not to open it's casing
not only mobo lar
all the hardware will covered wif dust lar
TSben_ang
post Jan 27 2008, 12:05 AM

ITS JINX NOW.POWDER FELL DOWN A WELL
2,013 posts

guess most of the ppl here lazy 2 put it back after remove/add somethngy? or its easier 2 remove/add if its open all d time..? i'm 1 of them..
emilz
post Jan 27 2008, 01:12 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 27 2008, 12:05 AM)
guess most of the ppl here lazy 2 put it back after remove/add somethngy? or its easier 2 remove/add if its open all d time..? i'm 1 of them..
these ppl donno how to appreciate their precious

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:01 AM