open casing not good?, true or false
TSben_ang
Jan 20 2008, 11:18 AM, updated 18y ago
ok guys, i remembered there is a poll asking if you guys leave ur pc naked, which mean u opened the casing, 4 better cooling purposes & easy access i suppose. but there is one article i read in the newspaper stating that opening your pc's casing doesnt actually help much on the cooling part, says its broken the way the ventilation or watever it means..  and cooling effect will be worst than adding fans inside. and the casing cover actually is the last line of defense for blocking all those radiation frm those component inside. so wat do u guys thnk? true or false? or "h*ll, smoke is bad 4 health but i still live by it..so wat should i care?"
maranello55
Jan 20 2008, 11:21 AM
Depends on what casing u have....if u have a casing that have a proper fan and ventilation path, opening it can disrupt the cooling. But if u have a cap ayam mini-atx casing and an OC GC and proc...u better have it opened and put a table fan to it...
Skylinestar
Jan 20 2008, 11:33 AM
if u open it and put a big fan blowing to it..it's good ...but the dust..
tomatos
Jan 20 2008, 11:35 AM
It's noisy.
diggnation
Jan 20 2008, 11:54 AM

lizard and other bigger insects might crawl inside and reproduce!
Then one fine day after a long weekend, you have problem starting your pc~
real experience~
TSben_ang
Jan 20 2008, 11:57 AM
wah, so terrible ah? well, lucky my pc is not on the floor, its actually on my table..
tomatos
Jan 20 2008, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 20 2008, 11:57 AM) wah, so terrible ah? well, lucky my pc is not on the floor, its actually on my table.. Next thing you will see is spider webs.
diggnation
Jan 20 2008, 12:01 PM

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Jan 20 2008, 11:57 AM) wah, so terrible ah? well, lucky my pc is not on the floor, its actually on my table.. still ... lizards can crawl... sometimes, they do nasty things in your casing... sigh~ those were the days. by the way, also look out for the dust... Added on January 20, 2008, 12:02 pmQUOTE(tomatos @ Jan 20 2008, 11:59 AM) Next thing you will see is spider webs. i think spider web also got last time.... but it's so dusty until i cant recognize which one is dust, which one is spider web. This post has been edited by diggnation: Jan 20 2008, 12:02 PM
silentnitez
Jan 20 2008, 12:07 PM
if u hardworking...then good lor,put a big fan..if u lazy then dust...
lehteck
Jan 20 2008, 12:16 PM
I always open my case lo..Haha...
So far dust ok lo..be rajin..clean everyday:P
I put my hdd outside so need take out the s.panel...
omara86
Jan 20 2008, 12:27 PM
i;ve experienced when i try to test my old pc.. running or not.. suddenly the pc *boom* at PSU area when i try to switch on.. then i check at the PSU, ants r nesting there~ damn..
blessedvillain
Jan 20 2008, 12:50 PM
actually, it doesnt matter if u open up your side panel or close it. if the insects are attracted to your casing, there's not much you can do about it.
you can however constantly keep your workstation and your casing clean. That's very important if you plan to keep your casing opened.
TSben_ang
Jan 20 2008, 01:02 PM
ok, i'm a lazy fella, so my pc lying there collecting dust with d case open..d*mn.. maybe 1 day need open it all n giv it a clean..but so far lucky nothngy go/nest/breed/watever they do inside la..
LExus65
Jan 20 2008, 01:14 PM
well properly enclosed casing with good air flow and dust filter can prolonged the life of the components and keeps the part look new even after years of service.
TSben_ang
Jan 20 2008, 04:18 PM
adding some fans and grill might help the air flow, but wat u mean by dust filter? thought cleaning is the only way 2 get rid of dust...
Bigblock
Jan 20 2008, 04:23 PM
Well i keep my sidepanel open eventhough i have a fan for my sidepanel...constant cleaning is required tho..
This post has been edited by Bigblock: Jan 20 2008, 04:23 PM
mizivincible
Jan 20 2008, 04:26 PM
Yes I have to agree, open casing is giving better airflow but dusty. I cleaned my pc every two days with vacuum, just suck out all the dust.
And, open casing is providing fresh air while smoking is providing nicotine and tar =P
This post has been edited by mizivincible: Jan 20 2008, 04:29 PM
TSben_ang
Jan 20 2008, 07:18 PM
but newspaper article i saw saying tat open side panel is not gud 4 air flow?
amd_hardcore
Jan 20 2008, 07:27 PM
dun trust newspaper article...
newspaper article is for newbie , correct me if im wrong..
i am oredi experience this thing... my hardware is assemble without use any casing... the tmpreatrure is excellent...
but now i use casing ler bcoz my mother mad at me... hahhaa
This post has been edited by amd_hardcore: Jan 20 2008, 07:28 PM
afosz
Jan 20 2008, 07:29 PM
last time i tried, not so much diff in terms of airflow and temperature. of course, no stand fan beside the case. just open the side panel for several days, and monitor the temperature. no diff in my case
but turns out some cases at my college, open case will result in stealing RAM!