so many spam threads/topics in Kopitiam..., aiming at somebody, or are they mad?

TSDavidtcf
post Jan 15 2008, 06:28 PM, updated 18y ago

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

I noticed recently that there are many topics being open, in which their actual topic is

aiming at somebody,

pointless thread,

the gathering of other "irresponsible" spammers...

etc.

So my question is, shouldn't action be taken against them?

Closing down those threads would prove to be good, banning those that have far exceeded tolerance levels would be much welcomed.

Just my 2 cents. Things are getting messy there, very.

vikingw2k
post Jan 15 2008, 06:38 PM

LYN T-Zone'z Guardian
9,778 posts

hmm, at least those retards only wander around Kopitiam right? I guess it's better to have them there rather than having them wandering around the whole forum. biggrin.gif

Xybirium
post Jan 15 2008, 07:05 PM

1,991 posts

I haven't read most of the threads there but those that I read are probably posted by kids who probably don't have any discipline (or underused brains). They probably act the same way in real life too.

What goes round comes round, is all I can say.

That is just my RM0.002.
TSDavidtcf
post Jan 15 2008, 07:08 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

wouldn't that create fear in people who wanna post serious stuff?

i mean like talking stuff that those retards would choose to destroy...

hmm maybe there should be a place for them...eg.

spammer's heaven,
nonsense corner...

i don't feel like posting any new threads there becoz of such a fear. I don't think i'm the only one feeling so...

the fear they create in kopitiam is not to be underestimated.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Jan 15 2008, 07:08 PM
lokgotz
post Jan 15 2008, 07:27 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

the spamming is really getting out of hand.....

even in kopitiam, there are things that one wants to read.....but these people just come in and "/i/nvade" the thread...

seriously, LYN is not as good as it used to be with all these spammers...

EDIT: i agree with david.....i dont really wanna create topics in kopitiam anymore because of them because i would be expecting flames and spams, even with serious talk tag.....

This post has been edited by lokgotz: Jan 15 2008, 07:28 PM
kenny B
post Jan 15 2008, 07:55 PM

846 posts

in reality dont you see people talking cock in kopitiam?
dont they go around afterwards telling people what they've learnt?
should they be closed?
lucifah
post Jan 15 2008, 07:56 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 15 2008, 06:38 PM)
hmm, at least those retards only wander around Kopitiam right? I guess it's better to have them there rather than having them wandering around the whole forum. biggrin.gif
i agree wholehearetedly

kopitiam is a place where everything goes

except, of course, serious talk tagged thread. keep off that line
Peanutz
post Jan 15 2008, 11:51 PM

423 posts

It's just that the majority of people who posts in Kopitiam are people who surf 4chan frequently.

From there, they take their elitist /b/ attitude and use it here trying to show the entire forum that they are cool enough because they surf 4chan.

Pro tip: I surf 4chan too, but I don't act like one. So should /b/tards.

p.s. - try and rule 34 that biatch.
b00n
post Jan 16 2008, 11:13 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

There's always specific sections for a more in depth discussion.
Knowing kopitiam style, even when a "serious tag" is added; it only takes one stupid comment to screw the whole topic upside down.
I would suggest if one want to create a topic, try to search other sections to see where it suits most.
TSDavidtcf
post Jan 16 2008, 03:48 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

I agree with both above...

R&R shouldn't be too loose in handling them...

more segregation of the kopitiam could help ease the madness.... more groups and subgroups for them to release their "kinkiness"...

if it works guess wat, more ppl would post in kopitiam and peace would once again be felt...

anyway not to promote a site but u all shud see how peaceful this site is, opened by vinspire:

http://www.kokorobox.net

the site might look gay and stuff, but law and order is v strict there, ppl do get ban permanently for causing trouble. And their kopitiam/general chat zone never have such a havoc/chaos....

there is a certain tolerance for the more sane/normal forummers. We can't accept too much... as too much in anything.

peace once more, plz dont flame me, i'm voicing on behalf of others too...
Sesshoumaru
post Jan 16 2008, 03:53 PM

1,190 posts

Not to mention the extremely pointless "first!!!" or whatever that retarded thing means.
zx12
post Jan 16 2008, 04:06 PM

717 posts

QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Jan 16 2008, 03:53 PM)
Not to mention the extremely pointless "first!!!" or whatever that retarded thing means.
now not only 1st..2nd also wanna be proud of it?? if they post something after that is still ok..but after they only post "i get 1st post"..then nothing else..wtf is the point???
b00n
post Jan 16 2008, 04:56 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jan 16 2008, 03:48 PM)
I agree with both above...

R&R shouldn't be too loose in handling them...

more segregation of the kopitiam could help ease the madness.... more groups and subgroups for them to release their "kinkiness"...

if it works guess wat, more ppl would post in kopitiam and peace would once again be felt...

anyway not to promote a site but u all shud see how peaceful this site is, opened by vinspire:

http://www.kokorobox.net

the site might look gay and stuff, but law and order is v strict there, ppl do get ban permanently for causing trouble. And their kopitiam/general chat zone never have such a havoc/chaos....

there is a certain tolerance for the more sane/normal forummers. We can't accept too much... as too much in anything.

peace once more, plz dont flame me, i'm voicing on behalf of others too...

I think that's a good idea.....separation in Kopitiam itself.
So instead of only the serious tag which might get buried through various spam chats; create another section in Kopitiam to catter for serious tag as a section instead of just a mere tag.

In that way, it's also easier for Mods to detect stupid post tagged as serious.
So the main area for kopitiam would just be normal chatting thread. Serious and not up to the level of RWI or any other suitable sections can be in serious talk aka non spamming section of Kopitiam.

choyster
post Jan 16 2008, 10:03 PM

1,802 posts

yea really hate the 1st post thingy its so retarded
tan_pang
post Jan 16 2008, 11:15 PM

3,110 posts

Long time didn't go to Kopitiam, and when I go in there... something really surprise me... that is "1st!!"...... sweat.gif the more surprising is, I found this rubbish post in Cupid Corner subforum......

I didn't saw it around a year ago... but this kind of posting style is actually from Chinese forum... because they encourage forumer to post. And in some certain forum, the "reward point" (or "money") for the 2nd post is even higher than the 1st post!! (I consider 1st post as the TS's post)

I really hope I won't saw this kind of rubbish data next times when I look at a new thread......

This post has been edited by tan_pang: Jan 16 2008, 11:17 PM
Sesshoumaru
post Jan 16 2008, 11:23 PM

1,190 posts

Hmm, and I thought it is done by retards wanting attention in some sort by announcing that he/she has participated in whatever 'legendary' thread.

It's like this particular show on TV I watched when I was bored, there's this crazy girl behind the camera making funny faces and all that V sign in front of the camera when the host was talking at some live event.
abang brother
post Jan 16 2008, 11:41 PM

4,967 posts

Before i found that I'm addicted at Pets Wonderland, i keep relaxing at Kopitiam. Before its QUITE ok, but!!!, since there were newfags joining in, the whole place became chaos!!! So i rarely posting there and now more on Pets Wonderland.
Hung Low
post Jan 17 2008, 12:45 PM

62 posts

is alright, kopitiam is talk trash only,thats y i like to hang around in there, dont like then dont go kopitiam and read. But I agree tat cupid corner getting worser like many kopitiam ppl invade cupid corner and giv flame or watever spam.
firedauz
post Jan 18 2008, 12:04 PM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Jan 15 2008, 06:38 PM)
QUOTE(lucifah @ Jan 15 2008, 07:56 PM)
i agree wholehearetedly

kopitiam is a place where everything goes

except, of course, serious talk tagged thread. keep off that line
This is why Admins selected these two (among many others) as sensible Moderators.
Most reasonable answers among all the posts here -- practically answered the topic question itself.

Here's my sensible answer: Use the Report button if you see something that needs reporting.
The Moderators/Admins/Staff will then decide upon the report of what goes and what stays.
westthen
post Jan 18 2008, 12:17 PM

1,661 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Jan 18 2008, 12:04 PM)
This is why Admins selected these two (among many others) as sensible Moderators.
Most reasonable answers among all the posts here -- practically answered the topic question itself.

Here's my sensible answer: Use the Report button if you see something that needs reporting.
The Moderators/Admins/Staff will then decide upon the report of what goes and what stays.
yea in kopitiam is where a place where u can talk everything, anything u dun like u can always press the report button.

just in real life kopitiam, can u stop ppl from chatting loudly or talk abt their sexual encounters last night??

come-on, there is always other sub forum for u all to lurk on if u all think kopitiam is 2 heavy.

0.0198sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:38 AM