Technical PlayStation Portable For Beginners | V2, General PSP Q&A and Homebrew Discussion

DFlo
post Jan 15 2008, 08:53 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Jan 15 2008, 05:46 PM)
First post!!!!
QUOTE(DunkyKung @ Jan 15 2008, 06:35 PM)
long time dun posting in tis forum...wahaha 2nd post
I'm sorry guys, but I have to say this: Although this is a non-post count-sensitive sub-forum, spams such as "First post!!!!" or "wahaha 2nd post" are not welcomed.

This is a thread to post questions if you have any doubts and also a place to help out beginners.

Please take note, all. Thanks, guys and girls. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(madmoz @ Jan 15 2008, 07:17 PM)
Dude, it is illegal!  whistling.gif
Considered illegal = illegal
DFlo
post Jan 15 2008, 08:58 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 15 2008, 08:56 PM)
I have posted my question in the last version's last post. Here.
Can help/teach me how? notworthy.gif
Erm, I'm not sure whether there are any newer methods since like 3 months ago until now (I was inactive in the PSP scene within that), but I think you'll need a plugin in order to do that..
DFlo
post Jan 15 2008, 08:59 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ykc @ Jan 15 2008, 08:58 PM)
So fast? I just paid RM10 to get it my firmware updated to 3.70 ...
You paid RM10 to get your PSP updated to official firmware V3.70?
DFlo
post Jan 15 2008, 09:02 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ykc @ Jan 15 2008, 09:01 PM)
Sorry, I think should be 3.71  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
alwiz confuse with the numbers laugh.gif  laugh.gif
No, did you update to an official firmware, or a custom one (with M33 at the back)?
DFlo
post Jan 15 2008, 09:07 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ykc @ Jan 15 2008, 09:03 PM)
it's custom firmware  biggrin.gif
Ah.. Shocked me for awhile.. tongue.gif

Well, you can update the PSP by yourself, you know? smile.gif Now many you can try updating it to V3.80 M33-2.. I'm still yet to do that.. unsure.gif
DFlo
post Jan 17 2008, 09:32 AM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Jan 17 2008, 09:28 AM)
OMG. 4 versions in 3 days...
Biasalah, bro.. tongue.gif

Anyway, the PSP is getting more and more solid.. Gotta try the radio stations ASAP!!! Well done to PSP official developers and inofficial ones as well.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by DFlo: Jan 17 2008, 09:34 AM
DFlo
post Jan 18 2008, 05:15 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(sprix @ Jan 18 2008, 04:02 PM)
wow...  blink.gif  we've got quite varies of result.. anybody else? coz.. so far.. for me.. its work fine.. but not yet tested with GTA.. high end game for psp  sweat.gif ... can we said that?  hmm.gif
Yes you can.. smile.gif
DFlo
post Jan 19 2008, 05:28 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(sprix @ Jan 18 2008, 10:55 AM)
yup.. if 4gig.. sure u'll face the lag prob.. so just format ur memory stick to FAT16 format..  then, u can play what ever game as smooth as a silk.. huhu..

this is the guide  thumbup.gif

How to format specifying filesystem

just connect ur psp to ur pc as usual.. then do the step below...

1. Go to Start Menu -> Run...
2. Type 'cmd' without quotes
3. At command prompt, type:
'format x: /q /fs:FAT' (without quotes, this is for FAT16 filesystem)
(change x to your MS drive)

If asks for a Force Dismount, choose yes.
If it warns you about compatibility problems on FAT16, just ignore it.
If it asks for a Volume Label, just type anything or none at all.

gudluck.. smile.gif

back up ur folder and any save game coz memory stick will be formatted fresh like a baby...  icon_rolleyes.gif
I will put this tutorial right on the Tips and Tricks section within these few days.

Thanks for it, sprix. smile.gif
DFlo
post Jan 20 2008, 06:37 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

I'd like to stress once more:

Piracy talk (ISO, loaders, etc) in this thread will not be tolerated and offenders will be reported. Please take note.

This post has been edited by DFlo: Jan 20 2008, 06:39 PM
DFlo
post Jan 25 2008, 08:14 AM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(YunaX @ Jan 25 2008, 02:55 AM)
how do I convert my memory stick from FAT32 to FAT?
QUOTE(sprix @ Jan 18 2008, 10:55 AM)
yup.. if 4gig.. sure u'll face the lag prob.. so just format ur memory stick to FAT16 format..  then, u can play what ever game as smooth as a silk.. huhu..

this is the guide  thumbup.gif

How to format specifying filesystem

just connect ur psp to ur pc as usual.. then do the step below...

1. Go to Start Menu -> Run...
2. Type 'cmd' without quotes
3. At command prompt, type:
'format x: /q /fs:FAT' (without quotes, this is for FAT16 filesystem)
(change x to your MS drive)

If asks for a Force Dismount, choose yes.
If it warns you about compatibility problems on FAT16, just ignore it.
If it asks for a Volume Label, just type anything or none at all.

gudluck.. smile.gif

back up ur folder and any save game coz memory stick will be formatted fresh like a baby...  icon_rolleyes.gif
Tutorial by sprix.
DFlo
post Jan 27 2008, 07:43 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Jan 27 2008, 06:50 PM)
And if I want to go to 3.80-5, what I should do is upgrade to 3.80 --> 3.80-2 --> Then network update or update to 3.80-4. Correct?  icon_idea.gif
Well, remember this: Newer updates contain old updates as well.

It means that revision 5 will contain updates from revision 2, 3, and 4. So it's the same if you go straight to V3.80 M33-5 from V3.80 M33.

And you don't have to go to V3.80 M33-2 to perform the network update. You can do that from V3.80 M33 itself. smile.gif
DFlo
post Jan 27 2008, 10:03 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(dorene @ Jan 27 2008, 08:45 PM)
hey guys, i am currently in 3.03OE-C

followed the steps to upgrade to 3.51 M33

but why when i execute the "3.51 M33 CREATOR" , it comes out " the game could not be started"

wat did i missed?? have to format whole memory stick 1st ?
Erm, to which folder did you copy the M33CREATOR folder to?

And your PSP is running which kernel: 1.50 or 3.03?
DFlo
post Jan 27 2008, 10:39 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(dorene @ Jan 27 2008, 10:30 PM)
i copied to my 'psp\game' folder

and how to i check which kernel i am running ? >< sry i am a bit noob...

my psp update version button is to 2.00 , so means 1.50 ??
  icon_question.gif
If you're at 3.03 OE now, you should place the M33CREATOR folder inside MSROOT/PSP/GAME150

This post has been edited by DFlo: Jan 27 2008, 10:39 PM
DFlo
post Jan 28 2008, 07:33 AM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Jan 27 2008, 10:55 PM)
Thanks a bunch DFlo. It's running 3.80-5 now.

No probs.. Enjoy it, bro.. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Jan 27 2008, 11:55 PM)
im still stick with 3.40 oe-a. LOL
Haha.. Er, why still stay there?
DFlo
post Jan 28 2008, 03:32 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(zzzxtreme @ Jan 28 2008, 01:16 PM)
hi, my PSP has never been downgraded before. it is version 2.60 and has TA82 motherboard, and I read in some forum it says it cannot be downgraded. Is it possible? What do I do ?
It can be done. smile.gif

Two options:
1. Upgrade to V2.71 and use a downgrader to bring the version to V1.50.
2. Use Pandora's.
DFlo
post Jan 28 2008, 03:35 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jan 28 2008, 03:31 PM)
i just bought new DVD collection game,but my computer cannot read the dvd..i dont know why,but when i try with other pc,its working..but something confusing me becoz the format for all that games are .cso and not .iso that installed in my memory stick...

so is it possible for my psp slim( 3.80 M33-4) to play that kind of format?i am so worried about that....
This question cannot be answered here. It's forbidden.

QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jan 28 2008, 03:31 PM)
what are the latest firmware for psp? is it okey to stick with my current firmware?
The latest official firmware is V3.80, while for custom firmware it's V3.80 M33-5.
DFlo
post Jan 28 2008, 03:57 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jan 28 2008, 03:49 PM)
what are the difference between custom firmware and offical firmware?
Read the first post.

QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jan 28 2008, 03:49 PM)
and how to put picture icon on my mp3 tracks?teach me step by step...
I'm not sure about this, but I guess it has something to do with album art.
DFlo
post Jan 28 2008, 04:09 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jan 28 2008, 04:01 PM)
is it possible to play older and current games if i update my psp to 3.80 m33-5?
Of course it's possible.

QUOTE(lan_86 @ Jan 28 2008, 04:01 PM)
and is it possible my current data may be lost if i update my psp?
Nope, your SAVEDATA folder will not be touched. If you're still paranoid about it, make a copy of that folder before updating it.
DFlo
post Jan 28 2008, 08:48 PM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(dorene @ Jan 28 2008, 06:20 PM)
OO, but i dont have the GAME150 folder, only GAME folder..

and i couldnt run the M33 creator if i put it there..=(
Create a GAME150 folder then. And put the M33CREATOR folder inside there.

Added on January 28, 2008, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(naughty11 @ Jan 28 2008, 07:27 PM)
what setting should i use for converting video?(using psp video 9)
i notice that i can't play video where sampling frequency is 48kHz
Erm, try 22kHz and 44kHz..

This post has been edited by DFlo: Jan 28 2008, 08:50 PM
DFlo
post Jan 29 2008, 09:27 AM

Turtle Member
1,022 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Jan 29 2008, 08:07 AM)
I got a question ..

I just got my Logitech headphone for the PSP .. but its not for the PSP Slim & Lite, the Logitech headphone are for the PSP fat version. My question is .. will the headphones still work on PSP Slim & Lite ?.

If it uses 3.5mm jack, then it shouldn't be a problem.

0.0226sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:32 PM