12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Toshiba HD DVD players now $119, $149 & $225, Further Retail price drop :)

toyol
post Feb 17 2008, 02:14 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 17 2008, 01:35 PM)
Well I dont simply say that HD DVD is dead without firm sources of news. By letting Bluray winning at this stage is no good either. I am sad that the competition has not provided benefits to consumers like us at this stage. I guess the issue of piracy is slowing the growth of hd lah.
eh? mkv-hd files susah to download unless in area where streamyx connection is good laugh.gif time to abuse offic connection cool2.gif *joking*
stringfellow
post Feb 17 2008, 02:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 17 2008, 01:35 PM)
Well I dont simply say that HD DVD is dead without firm sources of news. By letting Bluray winning at this stage is no good either. I am sad that the competition has not provided benefits to consumers like us at this stage. I guess the issue of piracy is slowing the growth of hd lah.
Funny , i always thought that it was the issue of SIZE of these HD files which is slowing down the PIRACY. rolleyes.gif

The news of HD-DVD dead in the water is all over Engadget and Gizmodo. Good, now we can concentrate on leveraging singular format growth.
neoardi
post Feb 17 2008, 03:44 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 17 2008, 11:55 AM)
so wat now?
g5sim jumping wagon?
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Jumping cliff i presume whistling.gif
TSg5sim
post Feb 17 2008, 03:57 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 17 2008, 11:55 AM)
so wat now?
g5sim jumping wagon?
lol i still dun have a tv remember wink.gif will wait until 2.0 BD players to drop below $199 at bhphotos.com and we will see. by that time, 42" 1080p and 1080i plasmas will be WAY BELOW RM8,000

may be starting in BD player price watch thread soon - so watch out smile.gif
waeguk
post Feb 17 2008, 06:06 PM

633 posts

If it's confirmed, time to keep a lookout for cheap clearance bargains. Do continue to report them here.

TSg5sim
post Feb 17 2008, 06:07 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(waeguk @ Feb 17 2008, 06:06 PM)
If it's confirmed, time to keep a lookout for cheap clearance bargains. Do continue to report them here.
will do, as always wink.gif icon_idea.gif
rx330
post Feb 17 2008, 11:20 PM

11,809 posts

well, @ least g5sim is wise in decision making thumbsup!!
sunauto
post Feb 18 2008, 12:08 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 17 2008, 11:20 PM)
well, @ least g5sim is wise in decision making thumbsup!!
So rx330, what's ur your stand? Still with hd-dvd or turning 100% blu now?
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 09:48 AM

11,809 posts

er.... dunno wor... see got apa offer later, then just take
if hd dvd halts production liao, will the player price goes up? becos of shortage? limited edition format....
JiauBoy
post Feb 18 2008, 10:40 AM

727 posts

hope the bd bogo still gose on
sunauto
post Feb 18 2008, 01:32 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 09:48 AM)
er.... dunno wor... see got apa offer later, then just take
if hd dvd halts production liao, will the player price goes up? becos of shortage? limited edition format....
I think the price will go rock bottom because hd-dvd only lasted less than 2 years in the market and with limited titles, very unlikely they can goreng the price because everyone that I know are quickly selling off their hd-dvd stuff, player plus movies and you don't see people rushing to buy one because it's at half price. In addition, most people got a dvd upscaling player liao so no point buy hd-dvd player lor, rite? If not, can buy a Cap Ayam dvd player and upscale via a good AV amp with a built video upscaler

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Feb 18 2008, 10:40 AM)
hope the bd bogo still gose on
I worry without any competition from now onwards, we won't get better deals anymore for BDs. That's the purpose for HD-DVD format to be around, to create a price war for the benefit of consumers like us.
TSg5sim
post Feb 18 2008, 04:57 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 18 2008, 01:32 PM)
I think the price will go rock bottom because hd-dvd only lasted less than 2 years in the market and with limited titles, very unlikely they can goreng the price because everyone that I know are quickly selling off their hd-dvd stuff, player plus movies and you don't see people rushing to buy one because it's at half price. In addition, most people got a dvd upscaling player liao so no point buy hd-dvd player lor, rite? If not, can buy a Cap Ayam dvd player and upscale via a good AV amp with a built video upscaler
I worry without any competition from now onwards, we won't get better deals anymore for BDs. That's the purpose for HD-DVD format to be around, to create a price war for the benefit of consumers like us.
yupe yupe - we shold now see none or less BD bogo while HD DVD does its clearance sales every where - might get a A35 when the price is right and get few HD DVD titles for memory sake wink.gif else - it will be used to upconvert my MANY MANY uncle ho DVDs and few imported oris wink.gif
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 07:22 PM

11,809 posts

now the main issue is.... wen u getting ur display?
TSg5sim
post Feb 18 2008, 08:15 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 18 2008, 07:22 PM)
now the main issue is.... wen u getting ur display?
lol - i was a chief purchaser once - that is why, i am not an early adopter as i could not bear paying big bucks for any item especially when the price is still aggressively going down hill! Ask silencer how much he bought his 42 fullHD sharp display and how much the price is now!

and also, i dun watch TV. I used by computer to watch all my DVDs tongue.gif my computer has a 17in Samsung CRT. It is almost 7yo. As CRT TV prices are almost saturated and taking into consideration i dont watch TV and will prevent people from watching TV in my house, I will most probably get $999 Philips 32" Wide screen Pixel Plus CRT tv (it is 100hz and it is equiped with progressive scan. (that is if i can still find the TV) put it the living room for few years. My ultimate target is basically a 42in/47in 1080i or 1080p Plasma TV. The models that are currently available in the market are priced RM15K and above.

Hopefully in 2-3 years time, the price of LCD will be saturated and Plasma prices; nearing saturation wink.gif

Onother reason that i am not in dire need of a hidef TV is because - BDs have to be imported from Amazon. Dun kid ourself that BD is going to go mainstream in Malaysia and uncle Hos are still busy making money selling VCD rclxub.gif

So see how lah cool.gif
PrinceOfPersia
post Feb 18 2008, 08:40 PM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

RIP HDDVD, my player will arrive next week thumbup.gif tongue.gif
rx330
post Feb 18 2008, 10:32 PM

11,809 posts

g5sim.... the only think i can do i s

*tabik
sunauto
post Feb 19 2008, 12:56 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(PrinceOfPersia @ Feb 18 2008, 08:40 PM)
RIP HDDVD, my player will arrive next week  thumbup.gif  tongue.gif
Wah, manyak jealous lor ..... laugh.gif
What's next? American Gangster and Beowulf on HD-DVD?
rx330
post Feb 19 2008, 01:14 AM

11,809 posts

i thnk he buying so tat he can play all those west porn biggrin.gif
PrinceOfPersia
post Feb 19 2008, 08:32 AM

Hashsashin
1,038 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 19 2008, 12:56 AM)
Wah, manyak jealous lor .....  laugh.gif
What's next? American Gangster and Beowulf on HD-DVD?
american gengster OK thumbup.gif , beowulf still thinking hmm.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 19 2008, 01:14 AM)
i thnk he buying so tat he can play all those west porn biggrin.gif
WTH, no JAV for HDDVD?? laugh.gif
rx330
post Feb 19 2008, 08:59 AM

11,809 posts

got, i think one title nia for jav hd dvd

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top