Q&A, General question on stock market

skiddtrader
post Dec 10 2009, 09:36 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Dec 10 2009, 05:34 PM)
can u suggest few securities company that charge low brokerage like maybank? pls exclude TA since they charge RM40 per trade and unhappy with their service already
tq

just applied with jupiter and found out theirs are a nominee also  doh.gif
I'm using OSK and RHB. I like both of them and both aren't nominee account.

I'm surprised Jupiter is also nominee account. Did you ask if you could get a full account instead of nominee?

Oh and I'm also a firm believer in using the services of a broker/remisier. Online trading is not worth the risks for me. Minimum brokerage charges don't concern me, but would be a profit killer if you trade in small sums.

As far as I know, both RHB and OSK do not have competitive low minimum charges compared to others like CIMB RM8.88 deal or Jupiter or Hong Leong etc.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Dec 10 2009, 09:39 PM
skiddtrader
post Dec 15 2009, 11:24 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Dec 15 2009, 10:51 PM)
WTA icon_question.gif
where do u all sifu find those research papers? recently online papers like theedge and thestar do not provide this kind of info anymore...
maybe they lazy to type and publish hmm.gif
Normally your broker will have some research papers everyday.
skiddtrader
post Dec 23 2009, 08:24 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(changccs @ Dec 23 2009, 07:20 PM)
wanna ask, how to calculate undervalue stock?
It really depends on the industry and personal opinion of a certain company based on it's financial records.

Some people might look through facts and figures and make a conclusion while some others based their conclusion on more forward looking growth of a company.

Most common and basic is looking at the company PER or PE ratio. Please Google that for more info.

skiddtrader
post Jan 1 2010, 11:37 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Dec 31 2009, 10:54 PM)
Hi Guru, Price per earn higher better or lower better, i confuse and anyone willing to share ? Thanks
Please elaborate on your question as it is not very clear what it is you are asking.

ie. price per earn? Do you mean you want to know how much a company earn and how much the price of share relation?
skiddtrader
post Feb 10 2010, 02:48 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 10 2010, 12:50 AM)
is it true that if you are given right issue, you must either subscribe it or sell it on the market. You cannot said you dont want the right issue. Is it true?
You can let the rights expire without any action on your part.

All shares will get the "rights" to buy their warrants. Whether you exercise this "right" to buy their warrant is up to you.

But then normally if you don't exercise your right, you'll rugi because the warrants will dilute the price of the mother share you are holding.

By exercising your "rights", you'll be getting your piece of the pie the company is offering to investors to put in more money to the company.

If you don't want to be in the situation where you own the "rights" and plan not to do anything about it, then sell the mother shares before the ex-date of the rights issue.
skiddtrader
post Feb 11 2010, 10:41 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(dream-painter @ Feb 11 2010, 10:33 AM)
Good morning everyone.
May I know where can we get the companies latest quarterly report?
Best source is the Bursa website.

Look under Listed Companies>Company Announcements>Current

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Feb 11 2010, 10:42 AM
skiddtrader
post Feb 20 2010, 12:50 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Feb 19 2010, 08:21 PM)
3786    MAS    MALAYSIAN AIRLINE SYSTEM BHD 
MAS - NOTICE OF RIGHTS ENTITLEMENT 

LISTING'S CIRCULAR NO. L/Q :  55922 OF  2010
RENOUNCEABLE RIGHTS ISSUE OF NEW ORDINARY SHARES OF RM1.00 EACH IN MALAYSIAN
AIRLINE SYSTEM BERHAD ("MAS") (RIGHTS SHARES) AT AN ISSUE PRICE OF RM1.60 PER
RIGHTS SHARE ON THE BASIS OF ONE (1) RIGHTS SHARE FOR EVERY ONE (1) EXISTING
ORDINARY SHARE OF RM1.00 EACH HELD IN MAS AS AT 5.00 P.M. ON 10 FEBRUARY 2010
("RIGHTS ISSUE").
Kindly be advised of the following :
1)  The Rights commence of trading : [ 11 February 2010 ]
2)  The Date of Despatch of the Prospectus and Provisional Allotment Letter of
Offer :
      [ 12 February 2010 ]
3)  The last day and time for Acceptance, Renunciation and Payment :
    [ 3 March 2010 @ 5:00pm ]
4)  The Rights cease quotation : [ 23 February 2010 ]
The Stock Short Name, Number and ISIN Code [ MAS-OR, 3786OR and MYL3786OR003 ]
respectively.
MANAGER, SEC. MARKET

Hi there. This is MAS-OR and i am learning how to view it.
I am confused with this. So this OR expire at 10 Feb or 23 Feb? (When will it become toilet paper?)
And if purchase this, then want to subscribe to mother share, need to make payment before 3 March, do i get it right?
How to make payment by the way?
February 23rd 2010, the rights will no longer be listed in the Bursa system. Meaning you can't sell or buy anymore from the market. Thus this coming Monday the 22nd of Feb will be the last day of trading.

Any MAS-OR you hold can then be subscribed/exercised by filling up a form and paying the appropriate amount according to how many shares you are subscribing. This form needs to reach their arranger by March 3rd.

If by March 3rd, you still hold MAS-OR and didn't do anything about it, then it is considered toilet paper. Normally you have to fill up a form which will be delivered to you IF you were originally a MAS shareholder. However if you bought MAS-OR from the market, you must get the form yourself. Ask your broker about this. Payment is normally by bankers cheque. Follow the instructions on the form.
skiddtrader
post Feb 22 2010, 10:02 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(motorhead @ Feb 21 2010, 10:31 PM)
wondering if the bonus share is issued this year, will the historical EPS effected?
do i need to edit the historical year eps to make comparison?
Normally historical EPS aren't affected. Which is why you must always compare EPS and the share outstanding for the same year to ensure it is comparable. As companies tend to grow, their share outstanding also changes according to their financial needs (rights issues etc. ).

You don't have to edit the historical EPS because by revenue or net profit alone, you can see if the companies sales have improved. So if the revenue and net profits are increasing every year, you can conclude the company is growing. EPS merely shows how much each share is earning.

If the share outstanding remain the same every year, more value is added per share therefore increasing the EPS as well. But if there are share exercises such as bonus share issue or ESOS or rights issue, the EPS would definitely be affected as the net profits are distribute to a larger number of shares.

EPS only reflect how much each share actually earned for itself. It doesn't really prove that the company is doing better.

Take for example Notion Vtec which recently last year concluded it's share consolidation exercise of 5:1. Where for example the share EPS used to be 10 cents, now it is 50 cents per share. So although the EPS increased by 5 times it doesn't mean they made more money, it's just that the number of shares the net profits is being distributed to is 5 times lesser because the number of shares were reduced. (Note: Notion Vtec is actually a growing company, this is an example only for no growth)

skiddtrader
post Feb 27 2010, 09:28 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(junekaede @ Feb 27 2010, 07:05 PM)
Sorry, a little out of topic I guess.

People....I told my dad that I wanted to invest like few years back, but then he do not support me. That time I was still studying.

Then now, I started working already, I plan to use my own money to invest.  i told him again recently and he disagree again saying that all those are craps and why are we investing on some other company's shares which you do not actually know them well.

I told him that I will definitely read those reports and analyse before I start to choose which to invest and he mentioned that all those reports are barely numbers created ONLY.

Whats you guys opinion on this?
If your dad got burnt before in the market, he is probably speaking from experience. I know my parents cautioned me endlessly about stock market when they learnt I started investing.

Looks like your dad is just being cautious and not overly trusting which is a good trait to have in the stock market. It is proven sometimes that numbers do lie to investors and even to pro-investors.

Although accounting practices has improved somewhat and so did the trading practices compared to last time which has helped reduce but not eliminate fraud.

I think your dad is just being practical and does not want you to be too naive thinking investing in the stock market is an easy thing to do. If you show him you can handle your finances orderly which includes good savings habit and personal debt management, maybe then he will think you are better prepared to invest in the stock market.

As an adult, it is ultimately up to you how you handle your money but your parents probably still have a thing or 2 to teach their children about money.

skiddtrader
post Mar 1 2010, 12:40 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(myfriend2009 @ Mar 1 2010, 12:09 AM)
Entitlement Type: Interim Dividend
Entitlement Date and Time: 19/03/2010  05:00 PM
Year Ending/Period Ending/Ended Date: 31/12/2009
EX Date: 17/03/2010
To SCANS Date: 
Payment Date: 15/04/2010

Share transfer book & register of members will be closed from 22/03/2010 to 23/03/2010 (both dates inclusive) for the purpose of determining the entitlements 

A Depositor shall qualify for the entitlement in respect of: 
- Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before 19/03/2010 04:00 PM in respect of ordinary transfers. 
- Securities transferred into the Depositor's Securities Account before    in respect of express transfers. 
- Securities deposited into the Depositor's Securities Account before 17/03/2010 12:30 PM in respect of securities exempted from mandatory deposit. 
- Securities not withdrawn from the Depositor's Securities Account as at    . 
- Securities bought on BMSB on a cum entitlement basis according to the Rules of the BMSB. 

I need to buy this share before 17/03/2010 right to get dividend right? When I can sell it? Can I sell afetr 20th march 2010 or do I need to sell it after the payment date? I need some help
Hey please don't double post your questions.

Your questions is answered in the dividends thread.
skiddtrader
post Mar 7 2010, 03:35 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(fryguy14us @ Mar 7 2010, 02:59 PM)
is the klse a dealers market or a auction market.... when i sell my stock and it is matched does it mean that at that exact time some body else is also purchasing that stock ...
Yes, some one need to be buying in order for your stock to be sold. Which is what we ment when we say Supply (sellers) and demand (buyers).

Normally most counters will have some people queuing to buy the stock at different prices. And also people queuing to sell at different prices. All matching buy/sell orders will be executed.

SO if you intent to buy something for a specified price, someone needs to be queuing to sell to you, if not, your buy order will be queued in to the system.

Dealers are just middle man that executes your orders.
skiddtrader
post Mar 8 2010, 08:25 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(ekhoono @ Mar 8 2010, 08:01 PM)
Can i be a seller & buyer at the same time,same stock ,example A stock sale RM0.10(100 lot,sale high),at the same time buy low RM0.095 (100lot) and left the bursa system match randomly,earn the difference of the value?
Yes you can, but be aware that if you do not have any holdings and your sell order is matched, you are liable for short selling which might incur you losses and fines.

So if you do have some of the stocks in hand, you can set up a low buy order to collect more and at the same time put up a sell order for higher. You are not allowed to sell anything you do not own.

Also since it is a queue system, your orders might not be fully matched. For instance you queue 100 lots for sale, but only 1 lot is matched. Your cost of selling might exceed your actual profit.

skiddtrader
post Mar 14 2010, 12:21 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(kamemada @ Mar 12 2010, 04:29 PM)
I'm now having problem identifying "Shareholder's Equity". Seriously if someone can give a screenshot, I would really appreciate it.

A major noob here. Just learning to calc ROE. *sob* One at a time.
If you still need to know;

http://www.investopedia.com/terms/s/shareholdersequity.asp

It can be found at the end of a balance sheet normally.
skiddtrader
post Mar 18 2010, 01:20 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(ganstream1 @ Mar 15 2010, 06:03 PM)
Can someone help me, I'm wondering, what does it mean when the profit and revenue of a company increases, yet its EPS decline?

thanks.
Revenue is to describe sales coming in for the company and profits before tax is after subtracting their operational costs and financial costs. Net profit after tax will be divided among all the shares to get the EPS.

Likely scenario where Revenue increase but EPS drop, like in the case of BJTOTO recently is due to their higher operational costs. Where revenue actually increase higher than previous quarter but EPS is lower.

If revenue and profit before tax increases but EPS still drop, likely due to some tax issue as in the case of YTLPOWER during their 4Q2009 report where their recognition of some tax in their accounts completely decimated their EPS for that quarter.

And another is that revenue, profit before tax and net profits increased but EPS goes down, is most likely what htt explained. New share issue which dilutes the EPS as more shares are introduced to the market. New shares can be issued via bonus issue, rights/warrants, ESOS, bond conversion, ICULS, etc.

Best is always read the notes of a quarterly report which normally would describe and explain why the numbers are different. While most companies give general answers and explanations, some do make an effort to add some detail for their investors. Never judge a company's performance from a newspaper/financial websites headlines as most of it is generally misleading. Always read the report yourself and do some number crunching for your own conclusion.

skiddtrader
post Mar 26 2010, 02:33 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(ekhoono @ Mar 26 2010, 12:13 AM)
Hi sifu,pls explain how share liquidity affecting share price?
This is regrading SAAG ,keep on private placement,
share price still downhill.
Private placements means issuing new shares for private investors. Whenever new shares are issued whether by private placement, rights/warrant issue etc. the profit distributed among the shares will be lesser per share.

More people means smaller slice of pie for everyone.

skiddtrader
post Mar 27 2010, 04:50 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(wyyew @ Mar 26 2010, 03:36 PM)
hi ,
can I know how to nominate a person ?? or need to do will-write??

thank for advices.
Nominate for what purpose?
skiddtrader
post Apr 1 2010, 03:21 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(tk1989 @ Apr 1 2010, 01:06 PM)
But the price of the share only changes when an actual transaction is done right regardless of how many there are in the buy/sell queue? Hmmm so confusing.
You really have to read the basics of stock market. We will just be repeating here again what has already been told before. I suggest you visit Investopedia and go through their short tutorials on stock market basics. It will help you understand a lot more about the system.
skiddtrader
post May 5 2010, 02:25 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(lanusb @ May 5 2010, 11:24 AM)
hi wanna ask what should i look for before buyin stock?? i wanna check volume is it the total buyy and sell for the day or just one buy/sell??
the higher volume for the stock the better rite??
I suggest you read more into the stock market before jumping in. Volume itself is not indicative of how good a stock is, all it shows that it has the market's attention for the day. High volume does not mean good or bad.
skiddtrader
post May 6 2010, 11:48 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(kokanchai @ May 6 2010, 06:00 PM)
hey guys, i am new here

i feel that i am interested to learn about stock market investment

by i am noob about this

where do i started learn from?

are they any short courses can i take part of it?

or are they any good book to recommend me
Go to Investopedia and learn through the tutorials on how the stock market works. Learn the different strategies of investing, trading, value calculations and report reading. Good luck.
skiddtrader
post Jun 20 2010, 11:34 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(bleachzrockz @ Jun 20 2010, 12:07 AM)
Hi guys..this is my first time trading using online trading platform..i am using ECMoney btw..just got a question,hope the sifus can enlighten me..

1.If lets say i have only RM1k in my trading account,can i buy shares amounting more than RM1k for eg rm5k??and make the payment within 3 days(T+3)??
My account is cash upfront..does online trading allow us to do that??or must we have RM5k to buy RM5k shares??
This really depends on your account activity. If you have a good history of payment and trading, normally they will increase the limit to allow you to trade more easily, up to a point of providing very favourable discounts on trading and margin facility.

But normally new accounts are limited in their benefits, and they may prevent you from buying more than what you have into your account.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0512sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:22 PM