Q&A, General question on stock market

skiddtrader
post Mar 14 2009, 11:50 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 14 2009, 09:33 AM)
Yup 12/9 should be the annualised rate. More precise should be ROI p.a.

But actual non-annualised ROI is without 12/9 figure. This figure is the actual gain, annualised means nothing although it is still correct, it can mean nothing or meaningless as below example.

Just like I buy today and sell off those gaining shares tomorrow, example my initial capital is 5,000 then I sell off with gain at 5,050, gaining 50 or 1% out of it. Annualised it it become 1% x 365/1, my annualised ROI is 365%! sound a lot and great, but in actual fact, it is little (50 only) or gaining 1% only.

If I am a fund manager, I can come out with 365% annualised return rate to impress people. This tactic is quite norm nowadays which has happened in some insurance saving plan lately that put high rate to attract people. No offence. They are correct figure as well.  icon_rolleyes.gif

But do remember, annualised rate doesn't mean much in term of decision making or justification for investment especially those figure get from shorter duration, it can somehow misleading or precisely give us the wrong idea/perception.

So it is just an academic term, what we want is always real figure that reflect better or more accurate situation.
Figure is up to human being plays it around, it depends on creativity of individual. Always dig more into it instead just purely looking at headline figure.

My 2 cents.
Cheeroy, I'm confused now. Normally if the intention is to annualised an income, the timeline must be set first right? Is it even right to use the 12/9 or 365/1 figure to calculate annualised income?

Using the 12/9 figure with a % calculation is wrong in my opinion. Simply because the figures that comes out doesn't make sense. I'm just wondering if there is any article/research paper/ report that uses it? Or an even an example of how it is suppose to be use correctly. rclxub.gif

Edit:

I think I got it already why the 365/1 is used. Mainly to put an estimate on how much at the end of the term would the fund be if the current return is continued consistently. Since it's estimating an expected income at the end of the period based on current data, it will be flawed if it was calculated very early in the set timeline. Accuracy would improve if it is calculated nearer to the end of time line. I myself use it to estimate yearly earnings based on 1 quarter performance sometimes. laugh.gif

So it's used to calculate 'Expected ROI' and not 'ROI'.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Mar 15 2009, 12:10 AM
skiddtrader
post Mar 23 2009, 09:30 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Mar 23 2009, 04:03 AM)
Is the 4 sen dividend after or before tax? How do I redraw the dividend money from my CDS account after the dividends are deposited into it?
As far as I know cash dividends are paid by cheque to your name delivered to your address.

Only share dividends are credited to your CDS account. Cash dividends are by cheque in your name.
skiddtrader
post Mar 23 2009, 06:00 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

I always thought it was a bad idea to take money from "life savings" to "speculate" on the market. Even UT investments are bad as seen in Singapore when a lot of people use their CPF to buy investment products and are now suffering a huge loss. And these losses aren't extra money but their life savings. Although the opportunity is there to make some money and grow your life savings, the risks should be fully understood.
skiddtrader
post May 1 2009, 04:32 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 1 2009, 04:15 AM)
can you let me know which are dividend counters and when will be the time they pay their dividend in the sense got any date or month or season??
I am quite interested cause has been trading penny share for a while and cannot afford those big big counters...
There are a lot of companies which are giving out dividends in KLCI.

Most dividends are paid quarterly with some companies paying bi-annually or some yearly. All depends on the company whether they are making money or not.

There is no such thing as dividend season, month or date. But most companies giving dividend like to stay consistent with their dividend announcements which is normally after a quarterly report is out.

Check out this thread Dividend Discussions for some idea what are the favourite dividend counters in this forum.

With your 4k capital, you can already buy some dividend counters.

Oh, and by the way, GENTING is not a good dividend counter. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: May 1 2009, 04:34 AM
skiddtrader
post May 1 2009, 04:38 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ May 1 2009, 04:35 AM)
Hey thanks alot...
I am checking on the dividend counters thread...
hopefully can learn a few tricks from there...
not sure 4k is enough for me to buy dividend counters...
You don't have to buy in big amounts to earn dividends as dividends are normally paid per share basis. So even minimum 100 shares will gain you some dividends.
skiddtrader
post May 4 2009, 10:27 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Superdude @ May 4 2009, 10:17 AM)
Hi, What does this mean for bonus and dividends?

Interim 3.5%

4th & Final distribution 2.15¢
Its a dividend announcement.

You'll be getting 2.5cents per share.
skiddtrader
post May 4 2009, 11:11 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(shoduken @ May 4 2009, 10:30 AM)
How to calculate dividend per share? if it's 2.5 cent per share, is it 2.5 x share u have? means 2.5 x 10,000 = 25000 = rm 250 ?
Yes.

If the announcement is in % like 3.5%, then just multiply that % with the Par Value.
skiddtrader
post May 4 2009, 11:22 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(changccs @ May 4 2009, 11:15 AM)
wanna ask what is 1st buy second buy 3rd buy and 1st sell 2nd sell and 3rd sell?
Its the queue system.

So let's say the 1st Sell price is 1.50 and 7000 lots waiting to sell.

Next queue is 2nd Sell price at RM1.52 and 3000 lots for sale.

Same as buy queue.
skiddtrader
post May 5 2009, 10:07 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 5 2009, 02:44 AM)
Its like the cut-off date for the dividends.

Eg. if ex-date is 5th May, people that hold the shares before the ex-date (5th May) will be entitled for the dividend.
Meaning if u own the share on 4th May - You get dividend.
On 5th May - No dividend.

Hope its clear enough. Correct me if im wrong.
I think he is asking what the 'ex' means. As far as I know it is not an acronym or short form for anything. Like ex-girlfriend kind of ex.
skiddtrader
post May 5 2009, 11:51 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 5 2009, 11:02 AM)
I believe the "ex" term come from excluding dividend. Just my guess.

Before ex-date, it is showed as cum dividend (with dividend), after it is showed -ex as excluding dividend.
Yeah sounds logical.

Tried to Google about it but not much info.
skiddtrader
post May 10 2009, 01:20 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(changccs @ May 10 2009, 12:42 AM)
btw may i know what is divident?how long the share u holding then the company will give u divident?
Dividends are returns on your investment to the company. Doesn't matter how long you hold the company shares. As long as you are holding on the ex-date of the dividend, you'll get your dividend cheque.

Added on May 10, 2009, 1:23 am
QUOTE(masterjedi @ May 10 2009, 12:45 AM)
the true story

i buy 1000 unit kencana at 1.70 ( alredy pickup)
buy 1000 unit kencana at 1.75 (outstanding purchase)

the system will macthed with with status? the alredy pickup or the share with outstanding purchase. the true story is i sell my stock 1000 unit at 1.80 and consider it will macthed with stock that alredy pickup but it matched with stock is still outstanding.. is the true way how the system macthed the stock.. clear first the outstanding share first?
I believe anything outstanding means it is not fully paid/settled/picked-up yet. So it is easier to sell the outstanding shares compared to having to sell your shares which you've picked up. Maybe a remisier can enlighten us if less paperwork is involved in either case.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: May 10 2009, 01:23 AM
skiddtrader
post May 11 2009, 11:11 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(orangutan @ May 11 2009, 09:43 AM)
Thanks for your reply.

That's the case, what makes the price in the stock market goes up or down if both buyer and seller are adamant on their respective price?
Then the market price will stay at the previous prices while the buyer and seller queue blink blink. No transaction means no movement.
skiddtrader
post Jun 23 2009, 06:15 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(tracywee @ Jun 23 2009, 10:17 AM)
I'm newbie and planning to open an online trading account.
since I feel bit complex with the procedure of applying through online, can I go to the building directly for an online account?
Yes thats normally how it is done. Just go there, meet your broker, tell him what you are interested in and what kind of trader you are. Sign up for an online account. pay 10 bucks and you're in. Don't be afraid to ask question and ask your broker to do work .
skiddtrader
post Jul 7 2009, 12:22 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Jamal Malik @ Jul 2 2009, 01:39 AM)

can you all suggest where to start learning technical analysis if i'm a beginner in stock market..?
Jamal, you can visit this website which has a pretty good beginner's guide to Technical analysis. Though it is geared towards Forex trading, most of the terms and basics are the same. Only the strategy is different. Babypips Training

skiddtrader
post Jul 7 2009, 12:34 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Jul 6 2009, 11:26 PM)
Hi Nagisa,

I intend to get high dividend company for long term investment, for the case of top 30, i would like to know which are those affordable  and suit to my profile

short question, how can i gain those info ?
Hmmm I'm not aware of anywhere you can get a list of those. Normally only see such list which are independently compiled and it changes frequently as share prices moves.

My best suggestion is the REITs counters which are naturally high in dividends, as most counters are at least above 5% DY.

Others on top of my head would be; (not in any order)

1. YTLPOWER
2. DIGI
3. BAT
4. GUINESS
5. CARLSBERG
6. JTI
7. PBBANK
8. PANAMY
9. LPI
10. AMWAY
11. UCHITEC

You can try to check the "Dividend Counters" thread as well, might get some ideas from there.
skiddtrader
post Jul 7 2009, 05:11 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(officeBoy @ Jul 7 2009, 04:38 PM)
Thanks Skiddtrader !!

How can we go find out REITs counters  ?
You can get the entire list of REIT counters from the newspaper.

Or go to KLSE and search under "Mainboard>Reits".
skiddtrader
post Sep 3 2009, 11:28 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 3 2009, 10:51 AM)
I wanna ask something here. I'm a total newbie in stock market.

Let’s say I have 5 lot of a XY share which I bought at 1.60. After 2 months it went up to 1.80. Then I plan to sell it. Probably there is queue buy for 2 lots only. So it will automatically sell the 2 lots and remain the 3 lots right? If it like that by the time I managed to sell the remaining lots, then I’ll be charged 2 time brokerage fees right? How to know how much lots people planning to buy at that price?  Sorry. Noob question.

Hope some sifus can guide me.
Unfortunately this can happen.

Due to the low liquidity of some stocks, you can face a problem when you want to sell the shares in the market at your prefered prices. Normally any brokerage online interface, you can see the queues for different prices.

Example for BUY queues;

2 LOT at RM1.80
10 LOT at RM1.79
5 LOT at RM1.78
etc.

Same with queuing to buy stocks. If you queued to buy 100 lots of a 20 sen share, but at the end of the day some one only sells you 2 lots. You still need to pay the minimum brokerage which is much higher in some cases for RM40 worth of purchase. It sucks to be in those situation, so only queue if you're confident it will move. And try not to leave your queue open in the last trading minutes.
skiddtrader
post Sep 3 2009, 02:54 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(dannyooi_84 @ Sep 3 2009, 12:32 PM)
would buying 2 lots abit too little ? I know different people have different style and their own investment strategy.. Usually how much lots that u sifus buy?
I'm using OSK and RHB platform.

Totally up to you to decide how many lots you wanna buy. As 2 lots for different shares will mean different amount. And different amount will have different risks for different people.

Just bear in mind the minimum brokerage charge for your brokerage house. Some have very low interest in online trades but some like OSK charge a minimum of RM40 per transaction through the phone regardless how much your trades are.
skiddtrader
post Oct 7 2009, 12:50 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Hmm industry PERs are normally not really fixed, more like an average of all the companies compared to the regional PERs.

I don't know if there is a list or something you can refer to, but I normally update myself based on analysts reports I read from time to time. Which occasionally quote an average PER of a certain industry for country/region/world etc.

Again, PER is just a reference to the potential earnings vs investments. Lower PER for a growing profitable business is always desired because it means you can get back your capital much faster theoretically. Though what may happen is that company performance may not be a predictable line and may suffer setbacks or sudden windfalls that might drastically change their calculated PER.

Personally I use PER more as a reference to whether I'm paying more for something as compared to something similar in addition to other personal requirements of investing.

I don't believe in strict PER investing as it doesn't make sense sometimes when you look through previous data.

skiddtrader
post Oct 18 2009, 01:26 AM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Oct 17 2009, 04:56 PM)
Not sure whether I am asking at the right place.

I planning to invest on stock. Currently in Singapore and just open an account with Philips Securities over here. Found that the rate is S$25 per trade. Should I go back to MY and open with OSK or stick with Philips?
It's always an advantage to have a broker office near where you are so you can have access to them personally when needed. At least in my opinion.

It's not actually SGD25 per trade as you said, that is just the minimum amount you need to pay or at least 0.33% of transaction value over online transaction.

So if you do trade in amounts where the 0.33% exceeds SGD 25, you pay according to the 0.33% charges. I believe OSK Malaysia charges 0.42% for online charge.

But if you trade in amounts which 0.33% charge is always lower than SGD 25, you will still need to pay at least SGD25 per trade which is the minimum. In this case, it is cheaper to trade via Malaysian brokers which has a much lower minimum charge. Some as low as RM12 per trade.

In my honest opinion, don't bother so much about minimum charges UNLESS you are the type of trader that trades in small volume and wants to profit from very slim spreads like when "Stock A goes up 2 cents then you sell, profiting 2 sens." These type of trading demands minimum commision and charges since you'll be doing it very often and incurring lots of charges.

So try and figure out what kind of investor/trader you are and what kind of system will suit you. If you think you are the kind of trader which trades often in small volume for small profits, then try to get the cheapest broker you can find. But if you are trading in excess of the SGD25 minimum, then don't worry about it, as 0.33% is better than Malaysia's 0.42% for online brokerage.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.70    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:13 AM