5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Q&A, General question on stock market

rayng18
post May 15 2012, 07:05 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(choontian @ May 14 2012, 09:16 PM)
wan to ask something about applying for ipo?

if we use atm machines to apply, do we need place the moneys in saving account or transfer it to cds account?

if wan to sell on the first day, will it be shown in our portfolio before selling?
If you applied thru ATM, your account must have the funds ready and there is a special screen for applying IPO at ATM and you need to act accordingly on the machine. It will directly transfer to the Issuing House a/c (either MIH or MIDF) and all the CDS and other relevant details must be keyed in accordingly.

usually the shares will be credited to your CDS a/c by 5pm on the eve of the listing date, so it would be advisable to check whether the shares have been credited to your account first thing in the morning on listing date before you sell. If you cannot see on your portfolio u can always check with your broking house CDS Dept.
rayng18
post Jun 5 2012, 08:54 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jun 5 2012, 08:17 AM)
I have a question:

Assuming I sell shares worth RM3k; on the same day I buy shares worth RM4k.
On T+3, should I pay transaction fees plus RM1k or RM4k?
both buy and sell also incur transaction fees. It depends on the broker u are attached to, some they will net off for you and u pay the balance, some you need to request to net off and u pay the balance and some you pay the RM4K and they pay u by chq RM3K
rayng18
post Jul 4 2012, 08:53 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 3 2012, 09:03 PM)
I would like to know how is that possible when I check the IPO application show successful. But 10 days down the road when I log back in I found out the money was returned back with the status show "N/A" it's not rejected either.

Somehow I felt like it had all been manipulated.
U apply online or manual balloting? The rejection may due to several reasons, info(cds a/c/IC number/etc) do not match with their database or yours is on reserve whereby should any of the successful applications rejected due to wrong info/details) and if there is no rejection then yours will be sent back lor

Added on July 4, 2012, 8:56 am
QUOTE(empirekhoo @ Jul 2 2012, 12:35 AM)
Thanks river.sand..

With this I would like to ask one more question.
I've noticed that lots of company announcements are flooded with EPF related buy/sell..
For example on link: http://www.bursamalaysia.com/market/listed...ncements/996617
Does this mean that EPF is 'buying' (Acquired) 900,000 units of share of the company, with price "ordinary shares of RM1.00 each"? can anyone explain this process better?

Thanks in advance =)
the RM1.00 stated there is the par value of the shares and not the transacted/market value which will be about 15%+/- from the last closing price of the share

This post has been edited by rayng18: Jul 4 2012, 08:56 AM
rayng18
post Jul 4 2012, 09:37 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 4 2012, 09:32 AM)
I apply via PBE Share Trading platform online.
So most likely will be the reasons I stated earlier iether there is error on your particulars or that urs is on the reserve list

How many lots u apply, and did u get 100% back. Sometime if you apply sat 5000 you will only get 3000 and they will refund you the balance of 2000

This post has been edited by rayng18: Jul 4 2012, 09:39 AM
rayng18
post Jul 4 2012, 09:51 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(gs20 @ Jul 4 2012, 09:42 AM)
I applied for 5 lots & on the first time I check it said I got 4 lots. 10 days later all 4 lots were returned with status "N/A"

I guess I will check with the bank.
Ya better check. Is this the first time your application is successful? Is the PBe a/c under your name only? It must be under your name only if I am not mistaken (cannot be joint a/c) and your CDS must also be under your name and not under nominees(eg XXX Investment Bank Nominees (T) Sdn Bhd for <your name>)
rayng18
post Jul 5 2012, 06:53 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Jul 4 2012, 07:25 PM)
If i subscribe the IPO thru Public Bank and get the success and balloting;
Can my maybank2u see the success share during the listing day?
it depends on which broking house your cds a/c is open, if you open with maybank and tagged to maybank2u then u can see in maybank2u

Added on July 5, 2012, 7:03 am
QUOTE(bursalchemy @ Jul 4 2012, 02:47 PM)
Can i have more about the understanding of the breakdown of cost of trading shares? besides brokerage, what is the other cost and what is the rate of payment? thanks/.
besides brokerage which varies for diff brokers, other fixed charges are the stamp duty and clearing fee which is 0.1%(round up to nearest RM) and 0.03% respectively on the buy/sell value.

Some brokers may also charge contra charges if you play contra, interest on late payment (eg make payment on T+4), interest on overdue contra loses. For margin a/c, rollover fees and margin interest.

This post has been edited by rayng18: Jul 5 2012, 07:03 AM
rayng18
post Jul 19 2012, 10:32 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(arcule @ Jul 16 2012, 12:41 PM)
got question le. please help clear  my doubts smile.gif

"Final Dividend of 20 sen per ordinary share of RM1.00 each less 25% income tax for the financial year ended 31 March 2012"

does this statement means u only get divident if u bought the share at RM1.00?

and u only get tax for 75%?
the term in red is referring to the par value of the stock
rayng18
post Aug 17 2012, 07:17 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Aug 16 2012, 11:38 PM)
anyone uses itrade?

today i brought some shares?
what to do next?

edeposit or esettlement ?

note: i just start using itrade......
U need to check with ur broker because diff brokers have different settlement modes.
rayng18
post Aug 20 2012, 09:53 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(james66 @ Aug 18 2012, 08:58 PM)
T+3, means every stock we buy n sell,we have to wait 3 days for the transaction?
T means the day the trade (buy/sell) was executed and 3 is the next 3 working days for the settlement of the trade, means u r given have 3 days credit to pay/be paid for your trades. If you buy/sell within the 3 days and have not settled it is known as contra by which you will pay/get from the difference.
rayng18
post Aug 22 2012, 10:10 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(slampdung @ Aug 22 2012, 12:02 AM)
If I sell my share on Monday, when will I get the money? Do they give me cheque or transfer it into my bank account? I am using itrade, central dealing team as my broker. Thanks. I have sold some share before but immediately ask them to pay for another share I bought on the same day.
T+3, itrade should be auto credit to ur bank. Depends on the broker, can auto set-off or you need to inform them to do manual set-off if buy and sell on same day.
rayng18
post Aug 23 2012, 08:58 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(alpha91 @ Aug 22 2012, 10:50 PM)
Hi all, i want to learn in stock exchange and i am new to it...
recently i start to learn in Bursa website to check the stock table but i dont understand most of the label in the table.

can anyone tell me what is those terms mean ?
1.what is Rem ?
2. last done is it means last dealing price ?
3. the change percentage is compare which price and which price ?
4. Vol ('00), Buy Vol ('00) and Sell Vol ('00)  is what ?
5. The high and low is day highest and day lowest ?

1)Rem = remark (legend is at the bottom of the screen)
2)Last done price is the closing price (if it trading session has ended) or the the last transaction was transacted at the particular point in time
3) is the % up/down from the previous day closing price
4)Vol mean the volume done for the day at that particular point in time while Buy vol and sell vol are the latest bids where there are x units of buyer price and x units of seller price.
5) yup, it is the highest and the lowest price done for the day.
rayng18
post Aug 29 2012, 07:01 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(hyzam1212 @ Aug 27 2012, 05:54 PM)
For your particular question, I think the category is somewhat limited based on our local stocks and you can just search it using the search option...the Bursa normally categorise it into more general and familiar categories ie construction etc...none for others

So any sifus can explain what is the consequences of odd lots when buying stocks?
odd lot are those below 100shares(1 board lot) They are still tradeable in the market but u can only see them at the odd lot screen which is not on the normal screen. The buying/selling price usually will be different (lower SP and higer BP) from the normal board lot bid prices.

Usually investors will get rid of odd lot together with the board lot. Some may buy the odd lot to make up a complete board lot( eg after the bonus/rights issue A has 1075share of XYZ Bhd, so he will buy odd lot of 25shares to make up to 1100 shares so that it is easier to sell later and can fetch higher selling price).

rayng18
post Sep 7 2012, 03:20 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Sep 7 2012, 02:35 PM)
In this country, IPO is a sure-fire way to make fast money. That's why newbies love it  yawn.gif
But I had painful experience in IPO years ago, when I myself was a newbie  sweat.gif
Nowadays not all IPOs will be a sure bet to make money, sometimes it will open below IPO price. Unlike in the 90s when kena IPO is like kena strike 4D 1st price where IPO is RM2 and first day listing RM8 (those days 2nd board counters)
rayng18
post Sep 10 2012, 10:04 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(arcule @ Sep 10 2012, 09:29 AM)
Question: Y when ex-date happen, the share price will drop one?
Newbie here..
because the div is paid out from the co distributable profits. refer link below

http://www.usatoday.com/money/perfi/column...ends/52397766/1
rayng18
post Sep 10 2012, 03:20 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 10 2012, 03:09 PM)
Anybody have problem canceling order thru maybank2u?  icon_question.gif

I try to cancel my order since morning receiving msg :"Reduce Instruction Rejected"
Aiyah u cannot cancel at before 2pm lah. can only cancel from 2pm
rayng18
post Sep 10 2012, 03:44 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Sep 10 2012, 03:40 PM)
Hi rayng18,

Still the same message, trying since morning until now 3.30pm.  rclxub.gif
LOL then u need to call maybank to see if their system is down or what
rayng18
post Sep 11 2012, 06:58 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(j-insigh @ Sep 10 2012, 05:19 PM)
maybank is blocking u to sell/buy shares using their money? biggrin.gif

btw, can anyone tell me benefits of playing contra? see many ppl do that
Benefit is only one ie if it is a contra gain whereby u dun have to fork out your own money to pick up the shares yet earn money (u have T+3 to do the settlement, if u buy and sell within t+3, its consider contra). Likewise if it is a contra loss, then u need to pay the loss.

It is like gambling with no capital if you are playing contra expecting to gain some profits. However not all are like that, some when they buy, they have and expect to pick up the shares, however,within the t+3 period the price fluctuates very widely, so some will lock in the profits (if the price goes up to much) and cut loss (if the prices drops significantly).
rayng18
post Sep 12 2012, 07:22 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(blekzz9 @ Sep 11 2012, 11:14 PM)
hi.. i am new in share trading..

How many time i can Contra Trading in a week using public bank cds acc?I make a loss during last week contra trading but i already clear my payment last week but i can't purchase shares in advance this week..any clue why?

thx in advance..
There is no limit as long as it is within your trading limit set by the bank and no outstanding. You need to check with PBB as to why you can't trade if your limit is not fully utilised/no outstanding.

You also can request for temporary/permanent increase in trading limit, but all are subject to approval by the banks.
rayng18
post Sep 13 2012, 03:17 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(bursalchemy @ Sep 13 2012, 02:23 PM)
May i know which Investment bank offer most affordable and reliable trading rate? Currently using hwangdbs, the trading rate for online is rm28. Quite pain for me coz i only buy little everytime.. thanks. =)
http://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/hti/brokers.jsp
rayng18
post Sep 14 2012, 07:00 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(blekzz9 @ Sep 14 2012, 12:34 AM)
T+3 means? Trading+3 days?
A. i bought the share on Monday and need to settle my shares on Wednesday by 12.30pm?
or
B. i bought the share on Monday and need to settle my shares on Thursday by 12.30pm?

Please correct me if i am wrong.

The answer is A or B?
Thank in advance for the answer.
Its B

T+3 is trading day + the next 3 days so T being monday so T+3 will be on thursday

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0537sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:30 AM