Q&A, General question on stock market

rayng18
post Sep 15 2012, 09:44 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(helo @ Sep 15 2012, 11:42 AM)
i want to make a long term investment (4-5 yrs) to enjoy the fixed dividend of the company regardless of whether the stock rise or drop, how many percent can i earn per year? how to make this investment? what type of stock allow me to do so?
Then u need to look for those company that have a good dividend policy such as YTLPower/Digi/Maxis/Boustead/HapSeng/HSPlant?BJtoto and those heavyweights like F&N/Nestle/DLady
rayng18
post Sep 25 2012, 08:28 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(myasiahobby @ Sep 24 2012, 05:00 PM)
Hi, I would like to know how do I apply for IPO. I'm using jupiter.
1) u can apply online thru Maybank2u/cimbclicks
2)get the IPO application form (from the stockbroking houses), buy bank draft and stamp, fill up the form and submit to the issuing house.
rayng18
post Oct 1 2012, 02:16 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(Kasumie @ Sep 30 2012, 11:15 PM)
sorry if this is gonna be a stupid..coz i have zero knowledge in investing.

how does dividend for IPO being calculated and how frequent dividends pay off for IPO?
It does not depend on IPO it depends on the company itself. Diff co have diff dividend policies, some never pay any div some one, twice, four times a year. Calculation is also depends on the declaration of dividend by the co, and whether it is taxable/tax exempt, tier,par value etc
rayng18
post Oct 2 2012, 02:28 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(eligator_89 @ Oct 2 2012, 01:29 PM)
can i ask something...
1) I dId buy 5401OR DIJACOR-OR...and now the stock is not in list...where it is?
I wonder why u buy without knowing what kind of stock was that.
This OR is only tradeable for 1 week only for those who want to subscribe for the Dijacor rights issue. Those Dijacor shareholders who do not want to subscribe for the rights will sell thier rights (OR) in the open mkt during this one week period after which it will be delisted.
rayng18
post Oct 3 2012, 10:39 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Oct 3 2012, 09:57 AM)
Hi there. Noob here wanna ask about right issue.
"offer price for RM 0.20 for each Offer warrant, on the basis 1 offer warrant for every 15 existing shares of RM 0.10 each. "

What does that mean?

Add: it is YTL -WR
Means if you have 15 YTL you are entitled to subscribe for 1 YTLpower warrant at RM0.20per share. Should you have no intention of subcribing you can sell the YTL-WR now (open to trade from 3/10/12 to 9/10/12)
rayng18
post Oct 15 2012, 05:51 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(jrmy02 @ Oct 13 2012, 01:23 PM)
Hey guys,

I'm new to stock market.

Would like to ask what will happen to a stock after it has been acquired by other company?

Lets say I have 10 lots share of company A, bought at rm1.00.
Company B acquire company A with a price of let say rm1.20.

What will happen to my shares? Do they become rm1.20 in value as well?

Need some enlightenment

Yes of course, u are holding the shares and the Co B will acquire the shares at RM1.20 from whom? U..
rayng18
post Oct 17 2012, 04:34 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(thepostman22 @ Oct 17 2012, 04:18 PM)
hya all sifu,

can someone who's blacklisted or bankrupt open a CDS/trading acc?

thx
CDS maybe but trading I doubt as IB will check your credit rating before approval
rayng18
post Oct 18 2012, 10:32 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(thepostman22 @ Oct 17 2012, 04:38 PM)
ok...thx for the infos guys..

but it's possible to invest thru a company acc instead of individual acc right?
yes open under corporate a/c, requirement will be diff like need to submit form 44,42, directors resolution, co a/cs etc..
Just check with your IB
rayng18
post Oct 18 2012, 02:12 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(ky1987 @ Oct 18 2012, 02:01 PM)
Hey guys/sifu,

Im new to stock market..

there are few questions that i would like to ask from all the sifu here  smile.gif

Is it possible to buy and sell within the same day?

for example. Airasia price is at rm2 . i purchase 5lots at the price of rm2 , an hour later airasia price up till rm2.3

can i sell it off? and re purchase again on the next following hour?

many thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
All the answers for your questions are YES
rayng18
post Nov 12 2012, 11:58 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Nov 11 2012, 10:52 AM)
I am new. Sifu-sifu please advice.

1. What is Dividend Reinvestment Plan?
2. How do I participate with it?
3. When received the offer letter, how do I response if I wish to participate?
4. Do I need to inform or get in touch with remiser for this?
5. How do I make payment if I want to participate? Still thru broker?
6. How long does the DRP process take?
7. Can I reject the number of share offered afterward?

Sorry for lot of questions. ><
1)its a plan whereby instead of giving u the div as cash, it it used back to increase your shareholding.
2) it depends on the procedures laid out by the registrar or sometimes it is just automatically do it for you.
3) just follow what the offer letter ask you to do.
4) No you just deal directly with the registrar, u only call the remisier once everything is done so that your remisier is aware of it and will infomr you as soon as the shares are creditd to your account.
5)Usually reinvestment plan you do not need to forkout any addional funds. unless its rights issue or subscription to warrant, you need to buy bank draft from the bank
6) usually will take at least 2 weeks after the closing date
7) once accepted cannot reject.
rayng18
post Nov 12 2012, 02:42 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Nov 12 2012, 01:50 PM)
Thanks for the reply. Does the share same as ordinary share in the KLSE, where I can trade it as per normal? Since the payment is not directly to remiser, is it directly to the share company?
yes usually its the same shares that u are holding or any subsidiary or parent co within the group which is also listed in KLSE.
The payment will be made to the account stipulated in the offer letter but all doc must be sent back to the registrar for processing
rayng18
post Nov 13 2012, 11:19 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(a-ei-a @ Nov 12 2012, 06:04 PM)
Cherroy,
How if my dividend not enough to cover the price of the DRP share price? Do I need to pay the differences in full amount now or only need to pay when selling out the DRP share?

Added on November 12, 2012, 6:07 pm
Am I correct to say, the payment details will send out after submitted the DRP form(the one along with stamp duty), then only I need to pay?
Usually it will be the exact number of units be allocated to you for the amount of dividend u are entitled to.

Should you need to top up, for instance if you want to request for excess to make up round board lot, all the details will be given in the offer letter itself and the payment together with the DRP form are submitted together
rayng18
post Dec 4 2012, 11:54 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(tekoo @ Dec 4 2012, 10:47 AM)
I thought maybank is Flat Rate: RM 12 or 0.42% ?
Google around dint see the min 28 you mentioned..
The normal rate is 0.60% or RM40 min (ie thru remisier)
If online is 0.42% or RM28 min
Those RM12/RM8.88 is only for limited time to entice ppl to trade online kind of promo thereafter revert to the normal online rate.

Calculation wise for normal brok thru remisier 0.60%, in order to maximise RM40 brok your gross amount must be at least RM6,666.67 (RM40/0.60%)

So for online using back the benchmark of RM6,666.67 at 0.42% = RM28 min brok

This post has been edited by rayng18: Dec 5 2012, 06:49 AM
rayng18
post Dec 14 2012, 10:24 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Dec 13 2012, 06:11 PM)
Hi All sifu,

Any sifu maintain both Nominee Account and Direct account ?

Choose between Nominee or Direct Trading Account
Normally, stock broker provide two different trading account namely Nominee and Direct Trading Account.
For Nominee trading account, basically you appoint your broker to hold shares on your behalf. It means that, once you buy shares, your name will not show on the registration book of existing shareholders directly, instead it will show your Broker Name.
The advantage is, you do not need to do any paperworks such as fill up forms for bonus issue, right entitlements and others. The most important is your broker have to remember the dateline for all the paperworks, not you. But you still need to instruct them on what to do.
However, the disadvantage of nominee account are you are not eligible to apply for IPO and you may not receive the annual report or some gift vouchers easily.
Direct Trading account is exactly the opposite of Nominee Trading account.
You may choose to open nominee account with one broker and direct account with another broker.

The link i get the infor from:
http://1-million-dollar-blog.com/how-to-op...bursa-malaysia/
I call Maybank Share Trading notify Direct account broker fee is 0.42%, while nominee broker fee is 0.1%.
There is option transfering stock counter from nominee to direct account. Any sifu done that?  rolleyes.gif
Yup its norm. some even have 3 account namely normal, nominee/collaterised and margin. Yup shares can be transferred within these account so long as the end bene is the same
rayng18
post Dec 14 2012, 11:21 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(chrisw @ Dec 14 2012, 11:18 AM)
collaterised same with nominee account...?
yup. u have collateral like shares/cash parked in the nominees a/c
rayng18
post Dec 14 2012, 03:18 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(felixmask @ Dec 14 2012, 11:43 AM)
Anybody use maybank2u Online stock have both direct account and nominee account?  rclxub.gif
When trade can choose either one?

I spoken to maybank investment bangsar branch said cant only can set one account only.
Take 2nd opinion from the forum.  notworthy.gif
I think MBB2u only for nominees. you can have direct/nominee/margin if you open your a/c at maybank investment bank bhd
rayng18
post Jan 9 2013, 04:07 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Jan 9 2013, 02:50 PM)
Noted in Bursa website the following on EPF & PPB:
[attachmentid=3252762]
Why sell and then buy the next day ?

The prices on the 2 days were 12.4 and 12.5. No margin in there to play with.

Some pocket money for the reminsers for the selling & buying ? Just kidding.

EPF is considered Institutional clients and nowadays brokerage is fully negotiable and if you buy yesterday and sell today doesnt mean that they will not make money, they will look at the overall pic. they might have bought at a much cheaper price a week or a month ago.
rayng18
post Jan 31 2013, 11:26 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(crazeegurl59 @ Jan 30 2013, 09:40 PM)
when we open a trading account, is it necessary that we hv to choose between a direct or nominee acc?
yes.
One can apply IPO the other cannot
Div immediate credit to your account the other one to the IB then only credit to you and some charge for admin fee
Corporate exercise like rights issue, takeover, one u need to deal it yourself the other u just authorise IB to do for u with a fee.

As for the brokerage, IB encourage online trading so to entice ppl to trade online the min brok is 60% of the normal min brok thru remisier of RM40 ie RM28
Online can either directly thru IB ie company dealer which u dunno who or thru remisier(where u can trade both online or thru remisier)
rayng18
post Jan 31 2013, 02:25 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(crazeegurl59 @ Jan 31 2013, 02:14 PM)
then which one is better choice for a newbie? direct or nominee?? b4 dis i heard dat sum ppl invest rm500, is dat even possible looking at the value of the shares?? if i'm nt mistaken, let's say share A, u must b able to purchase 100 lots rite?

im sure u heard of jupiter, do u think is reliable?

let's say, i buy share X, if the value of the shares go down does it mean i lost money? or i only lost money when i sell it off? possible to hold shares as long as i want?
jupiter existed longtime ago, no worries, all IBs have placed certain $$ of deposits with Bursa, if you r not comfy then go to bank backed brokers.

Its consider a loss once u have realised the shares ie sale, if you did not sell its just paper loss. You can hold the shares as long as you want no timeframe even it is bankrupt you will still be the shareholder with no value only.

for RM500 is a bit too little for investment and the appreciation/depreciation rate will also be slow. For transaction wise there is no diff between direct or nominees, in the end the end bene is still u
rayng18
post Jan 31 2013, 02:53 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(crazeegurl59 @ Jan 31 2013, 02:47 PM)
dun mind me asking, what about malacca securities? i read from other thread, it seems quite good. the direct n nominee isnt the diff wud b dat one u hv to deal with the paperwork n nominee u dun hv to? correct me if im wrong.
all IBs are generally Ok, u need to find those that can really assist you and can answer your query and prompt action to solve the problems for you. yup nominees a/c you just have to inform the IB of your decision and everything will be at a cost and div you will receive few days later than direct etc

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0547sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:10 PM