Q&A, General question on stock market

simplesmile
post Aug 23 2009, 10:15 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(protonw @ Aug 23 2009, 10:02 PM)
What account you opened?  If nominee account, you have to inform your bank to proxy you to attend.  If normal trading account (then you are shareholder), you can just walk in straight.  When you are there, you can register your name either shareholder or proxy in different counter.

You dont have to bring anything except your identity card for registration.  tongue.gif
I open normal trading a/c. I'm a shareholder smile.gif
Thanks for the info.
simplesmile
post Aug 24 2009, 12:32 PM

2,991 posts

What usually goes on during an AGM?

Just pass the resolutions in the notice of AGM and answer some questions minority shareholders? If so, then I may not want to attend.

I'm more interested to know the future plans of the companies. Will the Directors talk about this in the AGM? Will this info be already printed in the Annual Report? If yes, then I can just wait for the report to be delivered to me.
simplesmile
post Aug 24 2009, 03:43 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(Ranny @ Aug 24 2009, 03:10 PM)
majority of people go to AGMs to get gifts & souvenirs la + makan. How many of them really have a say in resolution woh.. some dun even understand what is inside the resolution oso le..
Yup, of cos want to makan and take free gifts. But besides that, I also want to "check out" the Directors of the company. See how they talk. See how they answer questions posed to them. See how they lay out the company's plans for the next 5 years (if any). See if the growth plan is attractive or not.

These Directors are like.... my partners or guardians of my company. And I want to know what they know of the company, so I can decide whether to invest more, hold or sell my shares.
simplesmile
post Aug 7 2010, 10:45 AM

2,991 posts

What is intraday trading? How to enjoy these lower brokerage fees with intraday trading?
simplesmile
post Jul 30 2011, 08:39 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(DannySia @ Jul 29 2011, 01:28 PM)
how to start? please guide me.
Are you buying as an investor or as a trader/speculator?
If you're buying as a trader/speculator, then trade on paper first. Take into account the commission when calculating your profit or loss. When you're comfortable with your paper profit, then you can decide to trade with real money.
simplesmile
post Jun 17 2012, 03:56 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(fasionoval @ Jun 17 2012, 03:38 PM)
thanks,but if RM0.1O per value is it means 0.5 sen?
Yes.
There's also a difference between "dividend less 25% tax" and "tax exempt dividiend".
Check out this link. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1039913

simplesmile
post Dec 17 2012, 11:02 AM

2,991 posts

What qualifies as a public spread?
Are the shares held by EPF considered part of the public spread?
simplesmile
post Dec 18 2012, 02:07 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Dec 18 2012, 12:18 PM)
No, EPF is an institution. Public spread must be held by individuals.
Then what about stock held by mutual funds. Is this considered part of public spread?
simplesmile
post Dec 18 2012, 06:28 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(gark @ Dec 18 2012, 05:37 PM)
Also Institution..

Institution = held on behalf of many people/government ie EPF, Tabung Haji, Public Mutual, CIMB fund, Aberdeen, Mitsubishi UFJ and others
Public = single person or company with more than 1000 shares,  but not majority shareholders.
Thank you.
simplesmile
post Jul 18 2013, 11:11 AM

2,991 posts

Does anybody know whether the KLCI is inclusive or exclusive of dividend?
If exclusive of dividend, then where do you get the information on the dividend? So then you can add back the dividend to the index. Then can get a more accurate picture when calculating the total return of the KLCI index (capital gain + dividend income).
simplesmile
post Jul 19 2013, 09:30 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(hyzam1212 @ Jul 18 2013, 08:16 PM)
as far as I know, the dvd is excluded...its not like amanah saham where the dvd is compounded
That's what I thought.
So when we compare our performance with KLCI, we are comparing our performance (capital gain + dividend received) versus KLCI performance (capital gain only). So this is not comparing like with like. How do we add back the points to KLCI to reflect capital gain + dividend received?

Hope some expert can answer this.
simplesmile
post Jul 20 2013, 01:01 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Jul 19 2013, 01:49 PM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kuala_Lumpur_...MKLCI_companies

FTSE indices include dividends as far as I know
If KLCI is inclusive of dividend, then if tomorrow ALL the 30 component stock price drop to RM0.00, then the KLCI will NOT drop to zero, correct?

If index include dividend, then these dividend would accumulate many years and make up the bulk of the index. For example, if KLCI index is 2,000 points, then probably 1,400 points is dividend, and the rest 600 points is capital gain. Then why we have situation whereby the index can drop below 1,400 points?
This is just example, because all over the world, we see long established indices dropping like 50%.
simplesmile
post Sep 26 2013, 12:20 PM

2,991 posts

Does anybody know where I can find information about the public spread % for the stock or company?
simplesmile
post Sep 30 2013, 02:56 AM

2,991 posts

Is there any good free stock screener you can share?
Thought of using ChartNexus but turned out it requires a monthly subscription fee.
simplesmile
post Sep 30 2013, 09:01 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(Meisterjizzz @ Sep 30 2013, 08:01 AM)
How do you define the 'good'?

Im using mobile apps 'klse screener'..basic features are there..however im not sure it does fulfill your requirement or not..
Well, good as in what the ChartNexus Xpert Trader can do.
simplesmile
post Oct 2 2013, 09:39 AM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(all blacks @ Oct 1 2013, 11:08 PM)
Thanks. Very nice. I think it's got what I want. Cheers thumbup.gif

0.0516sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:15 PM