4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures, Share your nature experience

Mangrovejumper
post Apr 24 2008, 03:54 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Apr 23 2008, 10:12 AM)

Originally still not true chop lor.
I don't think chop vs chop can "neutralize" their skill la. Not acid and alkali man. If acid and acid, also become acid mah. hehe. Anyway, I got fight a lot of chop vs chop before and they never revert back also.

You're right, it's Phiddipus audax. I haven't seen them here where I live, so I'm not sure if I can find 2 of the same kind. I'll keep looking. It's surprising to me that the interest here is high. One of the clips shows someone keeping it as a pet in a huge glass container. Kinda make your austere blue plastic in small vials a bit sad looking. LOL.

We haven't seen chops revert back to normal, but the fact that it happened twice to Viper means that it can be repeated. It's very strange. It's similar to how a FS suddenly becomes chop. There's documentation now that one can lose it too. It gives the infectious disease argument even stronger...maybe a FS can heal from it, even though most don't. If I'm to guess, I would say that Thunderhawk now approaches a female normally too.
Mangrovejumper
post Apr 27 2008, 02:38 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(ass @ Apr 26 2008, 01:06 AM)
sad la, my spider nver fight properly today.
too bad nvr see any chops there, I wanted to see some.

[Added on April 26, 2008, 8:51 pm]

btw I saw a spider like Bavia shape but got red butt and red pedipalps(male organ thing at mouth) about 12 plus mm. Wtf was that? Is that the ghost spider?? Looked very fierce

To convert normal spiders into chops, you need to catch 1 chop FS first. You can't spread it around without one that already has it.

Take the picture of the Bavia shape spider for us le. Then every one can enjoy.

Mindstorm: I looked at the sg arofanatics site. Looks more like a chat. Good camera work on the clips, but they're not as remarkable as Viper's Sigma chop FS fights. Hope you can figure out how to rear baby Lonesome.

Mangrovejumper
post Apr 28 2008, 05:08 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(GT4671 @ Apr 27 2008, 12:05 PM)
I ask again....what is a "chop" when you are referring to a spider?  mindstorm AKA Adrian, this picture is what I saw a lot of in New York.

Obviously this is a female and the males have the same white color pattern on them, but their butts are smaller.  I also saw jumping spiders with orange spots.
There were some discussions on what "chop" is in the earlier pages. Nobody knows for sure what it really is. It's a marked behavioral change some Thiania bhamoensis spiders take on in their adult lives. The term "chop" is a colloquial jargon we use, for lack of a better term. The chop Thianias display hyper aggressive behavior towards other Thianias, often treating them like prey rather than competition. The males, curiously, will lose their ability to mate with a female after acquiring this "chop" attribute...they seem extremely timid around females, easily disinterested and if they decide approach they would end up pushing the female (like a face to face fight) rather than mounting her. It's like they messed up their brains.

I have proposed that it may be a CNS infection (something like rabies) because it can be spread around, and now, some documentation that they can recover from it on rare occasions.

Here are some old clips that display the difference in behavior.
Nonchops (normal behavior for Thiania bhamoensis):
Spitfire vs Hades
Bighead vs Archilles
Both spiders initially size each other up before fighting...they'll dance side to side and back and forth while showing angry faces. They will then start by pushing each other, vibrating their claws. If none of the competitors give up, they'll go the the next stage of the fight which is grappling. That's when you'll see moves like arm locking, biting and throwing. With successive stages of the fight, the risk of injury increases. In essense nonchop Thianias do not get hurt easily when they fight because they often will give up after stage 1 (angry face faceoff) or stage 2 (pushing).

Chops:
The last few weeks most of the clips involved chop fighting spiders, as Viper and Mindstorm have either caught them or converted them. You have commented on some of the brutal ones that ended up with a competitor dying.
Kelapasawit vs Bro1 slo mo
Bro1 as a chop. Note how the fight began. It went straight to stage 3. That's why injuries often happen in fights involving chops. They do not assess their opponent's size and try to scare them off. Depending on the level of "chopness", a chop spider may or may not show an angry face. It's basically a take-no-prisoners approach to fighting. However it doesn't mean that chops are hands down winners because if the opponent could withstand the initial rush attack, it's a 50-50 tussle.

Hope that helps.

The pic looks like a Phiddipus. I haven't seen any of them here, unfortunately. I saw some crab spiders and wolf spiders while weeding yesterday, quite boring.
Mangrovejumper
post Apr 29 2008, 03:41 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Apr 28 2008, 07:51 AM)
Wah, a white face male Thiania Bhamoensis moulted??!! If you had documented this with pics(before and after moult, and the moulted exoskeleton), I will be the first to be blown away! Do you still have the spider? Any pics?
What do you think, Mangrovejumper and Viper?
Some of the preadult FS have a partial white face. That's my guess.

Viper, thanks for the new clips. Perfect illustrations of chop conversions of Scorpio and Hades. A bit risky allow the chops to see the other males first.
Mangrovejumper
post Apr 29 2008, 08:14 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Apr 28 2008, 06:20 PM)
Ya.. Mangrovejumper. What do u think about Slayer?
So u think this is part of chop also?
I can't tell for sure. You can train a FS male to become very aggressive due to memory of the last fights. But if you let him calm down, he can lose the hyper aggressiveness if he's not a chop. Show Mindstorm la when you see him, he can confirm for you.

Mindstorm: It's a bit sad that you only have 14-15 slings out of the 100+ eggs. Perhaps the female knows which eggs were not going to hatch and ate them. 15% yield is not good at all. What do you plan to do with them once the leave the nest?

Here's an interesting site. This Wayne Maddison guy is an absolute spider man. I looked at the pics for hours until my eyes almost popped out. There is years and years of work there.
Tree of life - Jumping spiders
The spiders are from US, Canada and South America. You may be able to triple or quadruple that if you include the ones from Asia, Europe and Australia.
The pics include Phidippus sp. It confirms my first assumption that the pic I posted is Phiddipus regius, not Phiddipus audax. It has white lines on the sides of the head which is what P. regius has.

Thiania is briefly listed, but not Bavia aericeps. Evarcha flavocincta (Hantu kuning) and Ligurra sp. (Mangrovejumper) are also briefly listed, but no pics.

There are some short mating clips of Habronattus sp. that may be interesting to look at too...part of his research. I learned that spiders are classified mostly by their teeth, haha.

What we've done certainly doesn't compare to what they have, but we have some stuff that's a lot more in depth.
Mangrovejumper
post May 2 2008, 07:38 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ May 1 2008, 09:23 AM)
FS tat fought with CHOP tends to become fierce fighter after few days/weeks.
Maybe its the experience learn or already got infected by chop disease.
Yes, that is my experience too. Most of the time there is a lag period between the fights and turning chop. Doesn't happen right away. I'm not even sure if the fights are the only way to spread it. Perhaps proximity (staying in the same nest previously inhabited by a chop) may spread it as well.

QUOTE(mindstorm @ May 1 2008, 10:33 AM)
The infectious trait of chop was first noted and told to me by Mangrovejumper many many many years ago(Dan, when was it? 20 years ago?!! )
First experience with chops? Probably when I was 7 or 8 years old. I went to a neighbour's house...the whole backyard was bare, all yellow mud and sand except in the middle where there was a single big bush of pandan plant. We didn't stay very long so I only circled the bush once before I had to leave, but I caught 2 males among the pandan leaves caked with mud from the rain.
I didn't know what it was at that time, but I thought the males were drunk. They couldn't walk straight. I brought them home and fought them on the front steps of my house in JB. They would rush up to each other, grapple into a ball and roll down to the next step and walk away unhurt in separate directions without a clear winner or loser.

Come to think of it, there was a time when I was even younger...before kindergarten even...when my brother had some friends who were fighting their spiders and like all little kids, I didn't want to be left out. I had, I think...my memory is a bit fuzzy, a small male at that time, so I present it as a challenger. Unfortunately it got killed and eaten by one of their chop kings. It wasn't a personal experience though, because I never got to see the chop spider attacking and killing my spider, I couldn't get through the circle of older boys to see the action. I was told that my spider died so I cried. My brother's friend went and caught another spider as a replacement, but it turned out to be a female.

This post has been edited by Mangrovejumper: May 2 2008, 07:44 PM
Mangrovejumper
post May 16 2008, 08:22 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ May 14 2008, 07:46 AM)
Slayer vs Hades
Slayer chop female FS
Eagle vs Oneteeth
Vanguard vs Eagle
Slayer clips show how screwed up chops are. He's not even recognising the female spider as a female.
Mangrovejumper
post Jun 21 2008, 12:54 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jun 19 2008, 10:11 AM)
last time u sms me i said my fs cannot fight di, i think. For the moment I semi-retire, cuz busy... but never forever...cuz every now and then sure i'll get FS fever and play again. Esp if Mangrovejumper comes back for a visit. Once a FS fanatic, always a FS fanatic...that's me! Unfortunately rite now i'm pretty tight with my time.
I assume that the slings all didn't make it. Did you release both the Bavia aericeps? I've taken on a project similar to yours here. I took in a hatchling jumping spider that was hanging down near my computer monitor recently and I'm trying to make it my project to rear it to adulthood. It's been hard finding food for it. Even most of the aphids I found were too big. I finally found some tiny ones yesterday.

Picture is taken using the new camcorder...not bad zoom for a camcoder hey?

Mangrovejumper
post Jun 28 2008, 08:08 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jun 27 2008, 11:39 AM)
Mangrovejumper, seems you have another friend here, centaurfly, like you... having a interest not only in Thiania but other jumpers as well. Like you said, having fighting clips of other jumpers or between different jumpers would be a fairly interesting way to extend this hobby.
Nice pictures. I guess I just like all spiders. As a kid, I used to spend hours looking at those tiny web weavers on the walls and ceiling of the house make their nests and capture their prey. Of course, compared to jumping spiders they're a boring lot. Once in a while I found those palm-sized fast runners in the bathroom and it was a most exciting time and even perhaps a bit scary.

I think we're missing out if the only jumper we know of is Thiania bhamoensis and nothing else. We wouldn't have seen the natural predator capture technique at the Seremban house if we didn't pick up a random Salticidae species. We wouldn't have seen the white "Long Legs" put a leg on each other's foreheads in a fight. How about golden spiders? Male ant spiders? They chop like crazy, even get their teeth entangled when they fight. I'm still waiting for someone to record a video of Portia sp. tricking another spider to become its prey.

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jun 24 2008, 07:57 AM)
Effects of body size on agonistic encounters between male jumping spiders (Araneae: Salticidae)
Dean B. Faber and Jeffrey R. Baylis

Department of Zoology, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 250 North Mills Street, Madison, WI 53706, U.S.A.

Whoa, I didn't know my school did research on saticidae. They must have gotten the spiders from elsewhere though, because the winters are exceptionally cold.
Mangrovejumper
post Jul 8 2008, 06:47 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Jul 6 2008, 02:43 PM)
I only know of 2 types of feed u can give them, very small ants or springtails. But it is very difficult to be feeding them if you do not have a ready culture of these live feed. And even so, so far, I still have not succeeded in rearing them. So unless you see it as a challenge and take it up, i guess best you let them go. Or maybe keep just one and try to rear it up by finding at least one tiny insect of it a day and watering it daily.
I've been feeding my sling a baby aphid every 2 days or so. Adult aphids are too big, so I find the tiny ones.

The flickr link is very interesting. It has boxes just like the containers we had, including the labels.

Mangrovejumper
post Jul 16 2008, 08:57 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Jul 14 2008, 10:14 PM)
I give them fresh water every morning and evening and also make sure that my FS drinks them. The water droplets are on their leaves (nest opening) where they don't get contaminated by the their poo.
I am not sure that Goblin can reproduce as he will attack both sexes..  sweat.gif
I believe that to raise the spiderlings is a near impossible task unless you can also raise and breed their food source. A eco-system that can sustain by itself will be the best!
IMO, catching those tiny insects for the spiderlings can be uninteresting and very time consuming. i am also breeding these FS but I let nature take its own course. i.e. Let them propagate at the garden below my flat.  laugh.gif
To date, I have released 25+ males and 15+ females there. I have checked some nests and found eggs and also saw quite a few spiderlings. I will still constantly stock the garden with FS that I caught.
Thanks for the pics, Centaurfly. I could tell Goblin is a chop (sup pow) just by looking at it. Nice dirty face characteristic of chops.

If you go back to earlier posts by Mindstorm, there are descriptions and pics of food breeding. I agree it can be time consuming if you have to feed a lot of them as well as clean their containers individually.

Your plan of propagating the gene line is the easiest way to approach breeding, I think. Better if you're able to find some bushes that are FS-free, or clear an area of previous residents (so you can pre-select your gene line by putting only your males and females there)...and let nature take its course. Check in regularly to remove predators. Mindstorm's idea of breeding in captivity is a much tougher task.

Mangrovejumper
post Jul 16 2008, 07:51 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Jul 15 2008, 07:38 PM)
I attached a Raynox DCR-250 to my Canon Powershot S3 IS for these photos and videos shoot.
I am also eyeing a High Definition Video Cam that have Harddisk and allows Flash-memory. But these High-tech equipments are not cheap.

I use a High Definition Video Cam (Canon HG10) for shooting videos here. The native quality is impressive. I say "native" because it records in AVCHD, which is not a cross-platform format. It won't play on WMP, winamp, QT or RealPlayer without a time and memory intensive conversion to MPEG or WMV (and loss of PQ).

So basically if you want to put down $$ for an HD cam, you'll have to budget for an AVCHD compatible video editing software too. The best one I've found out there is Pinnacle Studio. AVCHD files can be quite cumbersome to manipulate, so you should take that into consideration before buying your video cam.
Mangrovejumper
post Aug 11 2008, 06:03 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 10 2008, 09:59 PM)
garden and neighbourhood hedges for spiders. The was 50 years ago and I'm happy to know that this hobby is very much alive and well
50 years ago? Walau. I wonder spiders at that time were bigger than the ones now. I'm sure he has a few good stories to tell, hey?

Centaur:
Thanks for the pics. They are very nice macros. The Hyllus pictures look very much like the "Hantu Kuning" (Evarcha flavocincta) I used to play with, which were very good fighters. Probably a close relative.
Mangrovejumper
post Aug 13 2008, 11:03 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Aug 12 2008, 06:29 PM)
Hi Mindstorm,

The Big spider Star belongs to the species Plexippus paykulli, which I have kept before. The female of these species are ruthless killers, put two in a container, and only one will emerge alive... The males fight, but are usually just show and  no action....
Are you sure? I think Plexippus paykulli is a type of house spider. "Big Spider Star" is never found inside the house. They make large nests on the underside of the leaves...usually thickly webbed to the point that you can't even see the spider inside until you tear open the nest. They are also quite hand friendly, not like the house spiders that never stop jumping.
Mangrovejumper
post Aug 19 2008, 03:49 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 18 2008, 06:11 AM)
Here's some stuff to share with general jumper lovers out there. Dunno wheather u guys saw it before, an old national geographic article, one of the first and rare magazine articles on jumpers i got hold of-22pages of it.
For me, when i saw that issue, it's like i found gold. hehe.
I scanned the pages out. Dunno wheather for such an old article, NG will come after me for copyright issues. Wanna find also dunno where to get. If they do, then I'll just remove it, meantime enjoy!

Bavia from Aussie. Second time i READ that Bavia is a spectacular fighter...
That article looks familiar, although I don't remember anything specific on it. It's good stuff, like the ability of a jumper to move their front eyes to look around. It also has the picture of the ant spiders fighting. I've only fought them once, and it's a very interesting fight. Phidippus spiders are very big. You should try putting two Bavia aericeps females together.
Mangrovejumper
post Aug 21 2008, 03:08 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(centaurfly @ Aug 19 2008, 06:28 PM)

I tried breeding Marauder before he leaves me... To aid him, I held the females abdomen down, albeit not too tightly so as not to injure her . He tried at least 5/6 times to mount her unsuccessfully and guess what, he then grab attack and eat her, probably out of frustration!

Added on August 20, 2008, 11:50 amSome pics of two jumpers I caught last friday after work.

The male - Stripe

I place a FS to try fighting against Stripe. Stripe ignored the FS completely!
Marauder looks like a chop from a previous clip, I don't think you will be able to breed him. Chops just don't breed. Both Mindstorm and Viper have tried repeatedly and have not had success. Perhaps if you can get one to recover and become a normal spider, then maybe.

Stripe is a male Telemonia. Telemonias are not aggressive in nature, I think. I remember I used to catch them to be food for Ligurras (golden spiders/mangrovejumpers), many of them smaller than the Telemonias. I'm sure Mindstorm still remembers my "fui-yo" yell when a female Ligurra of mine pounced on and killed a female Telemonia twice its size.
Mangrovejumper
post Aug 23 2008, 09:40 PM

240 posts

Telamonia males are black, very different in colour than the females, just like the Bavia aericeps.

I am very impressed with Jess' blog. I didn't go back to the posts last year, but I learned something just by reading them...the behavioural differences between males and females, how slings/bubs die inexplicably, genetic differences even from the same batch of eggs. She even has the setup like yours, but with fake green plants rather than blue plastic cards.

The best thing is, after looking at the Hyllus diardi pictures, I can positively confirm that the white/grey jumper I saw many years ago was of the same type. It was one of the two biggest spiders I've seen. The body length was probably over 1 inch/2.5cm long. And she did move very slowly, just like what Jess described.

As far as leaf size goes, I have a feeling it's more of a belief rather than a fact that larger leaves house larger FS. I think as long as the leaves are of sufficient size, it will have FS of all sizes. The habitat does influence the colour of the FS, natural camouflage of the surroundings. I agree the the colour isn't really a good indicator of a good fighter. Regardless of colour, chops rank right at the top for their fighting skills.

I am now keeping two slings. They're house spiders so it's nothing interesting to look at, but they're the only jumping spiders that I can find here. I'm going to document how long they live and how many times they moult. It's been a chore finding insects small enough for the tiny one. Even the smallest aphids are too thick skinned. It would try to pounce on one, then bounce off because the fangs are too small.
Mangrovejumper
post Oct 5 2008, 03:38 PM

240 posts

I managed to find some time to get a few pics of the female jumper I got from Yosemite National Park. It's not much, but at least I got some contribution into this thread. biggrin.gif

Yosemite has some big redwood trees. They are so big that people look like toothpicks standing under them if I am to capture the top of the tree in a picture.

I found a nest not too far from a wet meadow. It had hatched slings residing with the small female. There was a bear cub looking for food there, so we didn't linger for long, fearing that the mother bear may be nearby.

For lack of a better name, I called her "Female". I got her in a big cereal container. She hardly comes out and I think she ate all the slings in there.

Feeding time.

This post has been edited by Mangrovejumper: Oct 6 2008, 08:15 AM
Mangrovejumper
post Dec 7 2008, 05:12 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(ccfook2123 @ Dec 5 2008, 04:16 AM)
the bao fu, i used to catch it and let them fight.....very fun one....if the male one become pengecut already, u take a female, let him ####,it will become fierce again.........lol
Actually the male becomes weaker after mating. You can train pengecut males using a smaller male though, using one of Viper's patented techniques.
Mangrovejumper
post Feb 5 2009, 05:00 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Feb 3 2009, 12:15 PM)

Back at Dan's garden
Dan's first king. (What shall u call it man? Still no name)
[attachmentid=788480][attachmentid=788481]
[attachmentid=788482][attachmentid=788483]

[attachmentid=788484][attachmentid=788486]
Fight!!!(With my first king) Shouldn't be hard to guess which is Dan's first king!
Mine ran without even chopping.

Thanks for the posts. It was an enjoyable trip and not as hot as the last time.
The failure to catch any chop this time around is a good indication of how hard it is to find a chop. It's so much easier to convert them than to find them in the wild.

The first king was initially named Ampang4. I'm not very creative with names. I'm having a hard time coming up with the two I have right now, including Baby (house spider I've kept for 8 months now, still a baby) and the one the Hyllus I brought back on this trip. Hopefully I can get the Hyllus to adulthood, although I think it's a different species (not H. diardi) than Drag0nette's so it will be smaller.

Here are some of my pics to contribute to the thread.
1. Hantu Kuning (Evarcha flavocincta) female.
2. Hantu Kuning male eating small fighting spider male.
3. Unidentified jumper eating a big bluebottle fly.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0322sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:56 PM