Sony-Ericsson ☼ SONY Ericsson P1i ☼ V2, The Ultimate Smartphone

steel2k2
post Mar 22 2008, 12:51 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Mar 22 2008, 12:37 PM)
Wah RM160. Audiophile earphones to the max haha.

What comments do you guys have on the touch screen display? Because my friend who works in a phone shop strongly advised me not to buy phones with touch screen,flip and slide function.

They said that you press more = shorter lifespan. Cucuk cucuk until can't respond anymore.
I was like  icon_question.gif
Haha... that is either your friend is those "hardcore" type of people or his customer is one of them. Or else, he won't be saying that to you.

Is depends on individual actually. If you give a touchscreen phone to a contractor and a soft girl to use, who and which of the phone will last longer in your opinion? If someone use the phone very hardcore, don't really care to take care of it... for sure the lifespan will be shorter. Like you said, touchscreen, not poke screen. If that people poke the screen instead of touching... for sure la rosak fast

Well, as for flip, slide phone... same as well. If gentle people use, for sure there wont be any problem on it unlike those people slide so hard or when flip hard to close/open. Is all on individuals... see which type of person are you..? flex.gif
steel2k2
post Mar 22 2008, 12:59 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 22 2008, 12:48 PM)
dunno la that...if like that, bored la..only can buy candy bar normal phone and cannot try something new design n new technologies...stick with old technologies arr like that...i dont think those phone's engineers dumb enough to make unreliable phones...hoho...maybe last time, its like ur friend said...but as time move on..new tech introduced  n improvements were done...so from time to time, the phone (flip, slide, touch) will become better n better...n as for me, nowaday, if the phone can last up to 3-4-5 years, is worth already...n bet most of user here especially gadget freak, youngster will change phone at least once in a year..... smile.gif
Yeah, I'm using my P1 for 4 months since last Nov,07'. All of my phone i use like a year plus then i will start to change already. But this P1 of mine, most of the features is already in the phone, i guess i will use slightly longer unless the phone cant survive that long biggrin.gif

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Mar 22 2008, 12:52 PM)
Hmm your right. (Runs to store to get P1i, oh no wait. Wait till next month for price drop tongue.gif)

I think Mylar have to wait. Must get the martin fields screen + case + mem card first. I guess have to stick to the bundled earphones. Ugh.

Do you use any casing on your P1i?
I'm using the leather casing where i open and straight use don't need to take out. I experience before using those crystal casing, those transparent type... i cover on top of out phone. On my old phone, i use that i thought it will protect my original casing. But then, end up worst using that. Because there tend to have dust or some sort tiny sand to get into the crystal casing. Then when in it, sometimes when we press a bit harder, the sand hit into my casing and there it goes, scratches

So, now i rather use this type of leather case where i hold the case not the phone.

Added on March 22, 2008, 1:01 pm
QUOTE(carbon14 @ Mar 22 2008, 12:56 PM)
RM1k++ phone can be "hardcore"-ly used? No no no. I think he is really hardcore cause he is still using a 3310 and his W200 is encased with a super tough clear plastic casing.  shocking.gif
Haha, there you go... hardcore friend you have... beware if you borrow your phone to him biggrin.gif

Anyway, good luck in buying P1 rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by steel2k2: Mar 22 2008, 01:02 PM
steel2k2
post Mar 22 2008, 01:07 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 22 2008, 01:04 PM)
last time using crystal case..but i trapped so many dust n make the phone thicker..n stop using it..now js using the pouch that came with this phone...
m2 2gb now at garage sales around rm80-90
Bro, the black pouch that comes together with the phone... you use not tight meh? I can hardly enter my phone in it and take out also another problem... you don't?
steel2k2
post Mar 22 2008, 01:37 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(carbon14 @ Mar 22 2008, 01:24 PM)
Haha thanks for the info.

Guys have a look at this OEM Flip Case P1i

RM 50+ only.  drool.gif Now that I know it, I'll stay off both crystal case and silicone ones.
Yep, that's the one i'm using. Mine is the black one and i bought it for RM30 at lowyat last month if i'm not mistaken. But 1 thing, there is no camera hold behindz so u cant take camera when the phone is inside there. You got to take it out. Its ok for me because i seldom take pictures and for that, no camera hold behind can eventually protect my camera lens as well biggrin.gif
steel2k2
post Mar 22 2008, 01:57 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 22 2008, 01:44 PM)
That is also ok. But bare in mind, i tested that also before i buy the current one i'm using. I dont like that design is because the keypad area... the covered as well. I mean, there is the black leather surrounding the keypad. For that, button like q,w,o,p all those side side button very hard to press. I dont like, so i didnt get that, i get the cheaper one, RM30.
steel2k2
post Mar 22 2008, 02:21 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(roonneo @ Mar 22 2008, 02:07 PM)
steel2k2...mind to tell me which shop u bought ur leather case at lowyat?
Erm, i ask several shoes at lowyat... most of them also selling at the same price. I forgotten what floor but i know is near Sony Ericsson shop. Is not a shop, but is a stall they set up along the path way. Check them out~

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 22 2008, 02:13 PM)
oooo..ic2..thanx 4 the info bro  smile.gif
No problem, the one im using is RM30 and the one you posted and i say the keypad is blocking... that cost RM50 also at lowyat. I was like 50/50 whether to get the RM30 or the RM50 one. Because the RM50 the one i saw is open side way, like open book... not downwards. And, it has a stripe inside where you can pull out and hang also not to forget there is a camera hole behind. So, thats why i was like 50/50. Until i put my phone in it and test... i find it hard to press all the side button on my keypad. And my person is those that sms a lot... so, no way i'm buying that. smile.gif
steel2k2
post Mar 22 2008, 02:45 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(roonneo @ Mar 22 2008, 02:33 PM)
steel2k2. u mean those stalls at the level selling handphones? most of them selling? btw any1 knows where can get this krusell casing for p1i? i cant find it in lowyat..
http://www.krusell.se/productUni.php?produ...796&category=62
This krusell one, i've not seen at lowyat before. This krusell need to take out the phone only can use where else, the one i bought is open straight can use.

I dont know whether now all of the stalls sells or not. But that time when i go, i ask like 3-4 of them also selling. Try go and ask, i'm sure they have...
steel2k2
post Mar 26 2008, 08:45 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 26 2008, 06:30 PM)
too bad for u... sweat.gif
dun no why u facing that difficulties,  ohmy.gif 
mine really smooth n easy..no hassle2...but to explain it to u also im not so pro, coz mine when i wanna connect it to wifi (where there is wifi), it will connect... thumbup.gif
if not in wifi, it use 3g connection...
for certain ppl will find this p1i (most features in a mobile @ rm12xx) quite hard, as for me, at 1st i js find quite hard to adopt to its qwerty...thats all..now i already can utilize it and get use to it  tongue.gif
what n series u r using? hmm.gif
Yeah i agree... nothing bad about this phone except for the qwert keyboard that needs some time to get used to which i already have =)
This phone is great with its function available and price, is a good offer if you were to find a similar functions on other phone i believe it will be more expensive

Yep, my wifi connection got no problem as well, smoothly run... just that when i'm on it... my battery drains fast rclxub.gif
steel2k2
post Mar 29 2008, 12:03 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(JayC75 @ Mar 28 2008, 08:01 AM)
UiQ 3.3 is out, look very cool..not sure can install on P1i?
Hmm? Where did you saw them? Mind sharing?

By the way, isn't that is a system os? How can we use them? Hmm...
steel2k2
post Mar 29 2008, 10:27 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 29 2008, 01:06 AM)
Hmm... interesting... Look nice~ But still, how can we change our OS? If so, we can even change to WM6 if can~

QUOTE(jenwai @ Mar 29 2008, 06:59 AM)
If I change the icon, can I change it back to the previous one?
I mean the original version...
Sure you can... dont worry
More-->Edit-->Shortcut Icon-->Default
steel2k2
post Mar 29 2008, 08:39 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(doomx @ Mar 29 2008, 07:23 PM)
if anybody wanna let got their p1 to get a k810,do tell me. maybe we can work something out smile.gif
Hmm... will there be one?

Haha, why you regretted buying k810?
steel2k2
post Mar 31 2008, 10:58 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(aH wAi @ Mar 31 2008, 01:08 AM)
hm... heard that new firmware coming out again and it disable the "Silent Shutter" mode for camera? hmm.gif
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Mar 31 2008, 01:21 AM)
bro...any source? huhu...if disable not syok like that...nway, does new FW setlle no4 button in camera mode bug and pink/green issue?  hmm.gif
Would love to know more about the new FW. I hope they fix some major problems we facing right now especially on the camera...
steel2k2
post Apr 3 2008, 12:17 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(aH wAi @ Apr 2 2008, 08:01 PM)
more and more problem coming... doh.gif
dialed ppl and connected but cant listen to ppl and ppl cant listen to me aswell... doh.gif
as usual, memory card sometime cant detect out of sudden doh.gif

all also intermittent issue sweat.gif
It must be your phone problem. I suggest you to bring back to shop and tell them your problems

A normal a new phone wont give such problem like cant detect memory card. That's impossible unless u dropped or enter water before...

So, bring back to your shop in my opinion
steel2k2
post Apr 7 2008, 03:38 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Apr 7 2008, 10:00 AM)
Bros...just got my SE P1i yesterday evening.....AP Ori... blink.gif still ap set what...
Trade in my K810i so paid up 1k for my new toy.... brows.gif so no longer in K810i tread liao sweat.gif
Consist of :
Phone
Cradle
Charger
USB
Stereo headset
So call leather casing
Screen protector but wanna change to Martin
2GB m2 card
All softwares...dont know la...didnt check..said will put all the themes la, ringing tones la....ah....just flooding my 2gb card....

Dont have is:
Extra stylus
Ori SE pouch

FW: R9K009, R9H004
BlueTooth: R1D
Organizer :R6G04
CDA : /87 R5A, /95 R5A

Charged 8 hours liao....at 99%...correct ar?? still trying to get use to symbian interface.....sigh...but is good so far... thumbup.gif
Please add me in the list of user.....do i need to inform K810i tread that me no longer there??? unsure.gif
A new set of P1i i think now for AP is around 1.2k? And when you bought your k810 also i believe is around that price as well. So, now you're trading for an used P1i... with the condition of trading your k810 + 1k cash.

Hm... what actually makes you say ok to that guy? Why don't you get a new AP set out there yourself?

Anyway, since you're already bought it, no regrets... welcome to the family! =)
steel2k2
post Apr 8 2008, 12:04 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(- L e O - @ Apr 7 2008, 04:19 PM)
eh guys, got a question here. If i want to transfer all my contacts and sms from my P1i to K850, how can i do that?
In your contact, Select all, send as bluetooth... DONE!

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Apr 7 2008, 11:59 PM)
dear members of p1i...anybody know how to check sms counter for this phone?  smile.gif tq
I don't think we have this function in our phone... too bad~

Anyway, just want to share something with you guys...

This post has been edited by steel2k2: Apr 8 2008, 12:19 AM
steel2k2
post Apr 8 2008, 12:05 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Apr 8 2008, 11:39 AM)
how to know mine is second hand bro???
Sorry, maybe i misunderstand you. You say you bought your P1 at shop is it? Or you're trading it with your friend?

Well, if shop... then its new set i believe. Haha... sorry, earlier thought you trade it with your friend or something. But, AP set should come with extra stylus and pouch as well isn't it? Its all in 1 box... unless they take it out and sell separately to earn more for themselves
steel2k2
post Apr 8 2008, 05:33 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(squall_kay @ Apr 8 2008, 04:36 PM)
dun worry normally from shop is brand new unless u bought from pertama complex, sg wang ( heard a lot of complaints regarding sellers from there via this web n youtube)...nway, honestly, u bought for ap set rm1k+k810 is still like u terkena main from that unhonest seller arr...coz, k810 2nd hand value more than that actually...the total value u paid for ap at rm1.5k quite high coz nowadays ap p1i cost around rm1.2k only

below i attach the pics showing the soft pouch...taken from website
Here is my package taken when i first bought it. The picture you posted... the box seems different compare with mine. Hmm...

This post has been edited by steel2k2: Apr 8 2008, 05:35 PM
steel2k2
post Apr 9 2008, 08:14 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Apr 8 2008, 09:45 PM)
Is the touchscreen very sensitive?
That day I bought a screen protector for RM15 (Not branded).

Wat should I beware of this screen?
Any comments or suggestions?
First of all, this is a touch screen phone. Touch screen... Not poke =) So, if you or your hardcore friends... poke instead of touch... i don't know what gonna happen in future wink.gif

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Apr 9 2008, 12:15 AM)
all that i have except the pouch and xtra stylus.....u think if i call the shop the fella will give me the balance accesories??? vmad.gif
QUOTE(squall_kay @ Apr 9 2008, 12:30 AM)
thats im not sure...but, how about u give a try... smile.gif
but my suggestion- speak nicely with them....
Like squall said, no harm trying. Go and talk to them nicely... say a few of my friends went to buy as well... also AP set. But why they have complete set... together with extra stylus and pouch... but mine don't have? Try to ask them that way and see how they respond to you...

They turn around with you... you turn around with them add in say that my friend bought even cheaper and get full set. Mine more expensive and not full... how?

Added on April 9, 2008, 8:20 pm
QUOTE(carbon14 @ Apr 9 2008, 08:01 AM)
Great news for UIQ3 users and for us P1i owners.

Restricted system files on drive C: and Z: are now accessible!!! This opens a window for great possibilities

1. Change Media Player skins and icons (possibly from Walkman 3.0 W960i? And its visualizations? Yeah man!)
2. Change sound and camera drivers!

Here is a thread on the event.
http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?showtopic=26647

And a thread on how to do it. (Anyone who has knowledge on modding acoustic drivers / cam drivers can have a look.
http://forums.se-nse.net/index.php?showtop...44&#entry291844

And the Russian dudes are making their progress on getting that Walkman 3.0 from W960i
TRANSLATED: smart-se.ru
Hmm... won't want to take the risk in modding such things. yes, its gonna be cool and nice... but once done them wrongly... there goes my phone @_@

This post has been edited by steel2k2: Apr 9 2008, 08:20 PM
steel2k2
post Apr 14 2008, 07:03 PM

322 posts

QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Apr 14 2008, 02:46 PM)
I also put in my pocket only, in a jeans' pocket some more.
After 4 months of abusing it, my P1i still, I dare to say, 100% scratch-less. icon_idea.gif 
IMO, both Ori and AP are the same, just the warranty matter only.
I did a lot of firmware flashing back then when there were new firmwares coming out during last month.
From the old Singapore Firmware to Hong Kong's, then to GW1, at last I stopped my firmware with the latest Singapore's.
Tons of flashing and abusing, my phone still running strong.  flex.gif
I'm having the same problem also.
But I noticed that the signal dropping didn't really affect any calls or SMSes signals.
What I mean sometime my network will became like "Emergency Calls Only", but I still can send or receive calls and SMSes.
My 7 months old p1i still scratchless as well =) I'm using the pda pouch + screen protector which cozst me only RM5 laugh.gif

Signal strength for me, no problems. Always good and normal... except like underground parking or in lift... then low signal
steel2k2
post Apr 15 2008, 12:24 AM

322 posts

QUOTE(nujo87 @ Apr 14 2008, 11:41 PM)
Totally agree!
I really hate to see a guys(male) using a pouch,It kind of annoy me!
Man y covering ur phone with some ugly black cover?
Is its design look like crap?it not a 3310 if u brought it put on a screen protector throw it in ur pocket n show it off!
Ugly black cover? It doesn't look ugly to me... maybe to you but not everyone.

I'm those kind of people that take good care of my gadgets... to be more specific my mobile phone. Maybe you're rich, and don't need to take care of it properly... spoil, go repair... or maybe just get a new one. But for me, no! I'm just a moderate person and i save that RM2.1k for this phone and of course i'm taking good care of it. Why i worry people say about me using the pda pouch? So i got to risk my phone on scratches just because i care how people see me? =.=!! sweat.gif swt

You don't want and don't like to use the pda pouch, you have your point of view. But you don't need to say those people using them, ugly or it annoyed you in some ways. Just go with your own fashion... everyone has their owns

Added on April 15, 2008, 12:28 am
QUOTE(Shufflerz @ Apr 14 2008, 08:39 PM)
Actually the more you take care of your phone, the easily it will get scratch, not sure why. rclxub.gif
At least it doesn't happen on me... yet tongue.gif

This post has been edited by steel2k2: Apr 15 2008, 12:28 AM

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0467sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:43 AM