Syd G's Journal 2008, Very random things!

TSSyd G
post Dec 31 2007, 07:04 PM, updated 18y ago

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Introduction

2006 Journal
2007 Journal

Hi. This year my journal will be simpler but hopefully it will be a good measure for me to track my progress. I'll be concentrating less on food and dieting stuff, I'd still do it but not like before. Made SUPERB in 2007 look-wise. Cant post the pictures here tho - I'm done with being stalked last year for posting pics with no shirt on.

So here are my minimalistic goals for 2008 :

1) Run a half-marathon
2) Complete 50 Crossfit WODs in a year
3) Crank an unassisted pullup/chinup

Simple eh? (WOD = Workout of the Day)

I'm concentrating more on Crossfit this year - I like the fact that it mixes Olympic lifts + bodyweight exercises + sprint works + kettlebells + gymnastics and core trainings in their WODs instead of pure bodybuilding. The goal is different too, Crossfit is more to overall fitness (looks will come later) and bodybuilding is solely for physique.

For me, fitness > looks.

Entries start tomorrow!
TSSyd G
post Jan 1 2008, 11:48 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD #1
5km run for time

Result
42:56, 6km - I think I need to calibrate my Nike+
5 x TTDI park

-----

Pre
2 scoops Refreshing Lemonade Vasocharge
1 scoop Apple Xtend

During
Nothing - bottle + run = mafan

Meal 1
Fish
Steamed vege
Multivits + fish oil + alcar

Meal 2
Maggi Famous Instant noodles biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 2 2008, 10:50 AM
TSSyd G
post Jan 2 2008, 11:20 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD #2 - 300 for Buttercups

1 round for time :

15 jumping pullups
25 bodyweight squats
15 pushups
50 jumping jacks
20 mountain climbers
10 close grip pushups
15 jumping pullups

Result
- DNF

-----

Meal 1
5 chicken nuggets!! OMG I feel so bad already sad.gif

Meal 2
Prosperity burger (beef)
Coke Light
Some twister flies

Meal 3
Spaghetti sauce (lots of ground beef & cheeeeeese)

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 3 2008, 11:27 PM
metalfreak
post Jan 2 2008, 11:39 AM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

LOL its okay

I had Nasi Lemak + telur goreng + daging this morning for breakfast

but lunch shall be wholemeal bread + tuna
TSSyd G
post Jan 3 2008, 11:41 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD

None. Exam day!

-----

Meal 1
Leftover spaghetti sauce
GoodDay Chocolate milk

Meal 2
Garlic cream sauce (butter + cream + garlic + chopped mushroom + chopped chicken sausages)
Pan-grilled lamb

Meal 3
2 scoops Xtend
Mutivitamin, Alcar, 2xFish oil

Meal 4
1 scoop of Syntha-6 + 1 scoop of vanilla whey
2xZMA, 2xFish oil
TSSyd G
post Jan 4 2008, 07:51 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD #2 - 300 for Buttercups

1 round for time :

15 jumping pullups
25 bodyweight squats
15 pushups
50 jumping jacks
20 mountain climbers
10 close grip pushups
15 jumping pullups

Results
DNS

-----

Meal 1
3 whole eggs
1 tbsp butter

Meal 2
1 cup of black coffee
2 whole eggs
half serving of kampung flied lice
Multivitamin, 2xFish Oil, 2xAlcar

Meal 3
2 pcs of chicken
a serving of vege

Meal 4
Maggi Famous (again!) doh.gif

Meal 5
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
2xFish Oil, 2xZMA

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 7 2008, 10:11 AM
kirakracus
post Jan 4 2008, 08:47 AM

240 posts

Crossfit looks so cool. Friend showed me a YouTube vid of them doing their crazy squats! I was actually thinking of attempting "Sunday 071230" WOD yesterday.

I'll definitely check back to see how you're doing.

And yeah fitness > looks smile.gif

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Jan 4 2008, 08:48 AM
TSSyd G
post Jan 4 2008, 08:58 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

You have membership to FN dont you? tongue.gif

Oh btw long time no seeeee biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 4 2008, 08:58 AM
jones007
post Jan 4 2008, 09:08 AM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Jan 4 2008, 08:47 AM)
Crossfit looks so cool. Friend showed me a YouTube vid of them doing their crazy squats! I was actually thinking of attempting "Sunday 071230" WOD yesterday.

LADY U R BACK!!!! HOW HAVE U BEEN??
kirakracus
post Jan 4 2008, 09:53 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 4 2008, 08:58 AM)
You have membership to FN dont you? tongue.gif

Oh btw long time no seeeee biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Fitness Network? Yeah but still prefer to workout at home smile.gif Things may change in a few months.

It's been a long time, yeah, but have been lurking and following your journal avidly.

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jan 4 2008, 09:08 AM)
LADY U R BACK!!!! HOW HAVE U BEEN??
You talking to me? whistling.gif

TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 10:19 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

5th January

WOD - Xfit Greasing the Groove

3 rounds for time :
15 DB squat - overhead press, 10lbs
15 Row - 10kg plate, unknown machine weight

Others GTG:
Clean
Power Clean
High Pull

-----

Meal 1
110g Beef patty

Meal 2
- Gosh, cant remember doh.gif

Meal 3
Lamb chop @ Williams

Meal 4
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
2xFish Oil, 2xZMA
TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 10:24 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

6th January

WOD - Xfit Greasing the Groove

3 rounds for time :
15 DB squat - overhead press, 7kg Dynamo bottle.. hahahaha
15 Knee pushups on SB
15 Jumping pullup

.. Good thing I was exercising near my bathroom. Wanted to puke so bad!

-----

Meal 1
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
2xFish Oil caps

Meal 2
Leftover William's Lamb Chop - around 100g of meat!

Meal 3
110g Beef patty

Meal 4
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey

-----

Period PAIN PAIN PAIN. Couldn't sleep! cry.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 7 2008, 10:28 AM
TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 10:28 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD - KB practice!!

- Swings
- SLDL
- Overhead squat
- Front squat

Bought 12kg KB. Good for lower body workouts.
Need something lighter for upper body conditioning.
My wrists = dem failed, dem pain. I need to work on my grip.

-----

Meal 1 (leftover from yesterday's pre-bed)
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
2xFish Oil caps, 1xMultivitamin, 2xAlcar

Meal 2
Lamb chop

Meal 3
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
2xFish Oil caps, 2xAlcar

Meal 4
Salmon + bones (raw) - eaten as sashimi

-----

Period PAIN PAIN PAIN. Ngee cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 8 2008, 04:48 AM
TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 10:36 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Jan 4 2008, 08:47 AM)

w00t Crossfit kicked my bottom real hard. Suddenly I felt not so fit cry.gif . It's do-able at home so I kinda dig that biggrin.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 10:36 am
QUOTE(kirakracus @ Jan 4 2008, 09:53 AM)
Fitness Network? Yeah but still prefer to workout at home smile.gif Things may change in a few months.

It's been a long time, yeah, but have been lurking and following your journal avidly.
You talking to me?  whistling.gif
Auwwwww geez blush.gif

Thanks for the support blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 7 2008, 10:36 AM
bubb13s
post Jan 7 2008, 10:49 AM

339 posts

Syd...just pop the pills oni ler....u'll feel much better.

TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 10:59 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Jan 7 2008, 10:49 AM)
I did.

Pain is so severe, every month I wish I could get my uterus removed.

bubb13s
post Jan 7 2008, 11:06 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 7 2008, 10:59 AM)
I did.

Pain is so severe, every month I wish I could get my uterus removed.
that bad arr....
what i do is that i just pop the pills every few hours. can feel once the meds wear off lor.
macam panadol addict every month.
TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 11:13 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Jan 7 2008, 11:06 AM)
that bad arr....
what i do is that i just pop the pills every few hours. can feel once the meds wear off lor.
macam panadol addict every month.
I take Ponstan. Panadol is as good as mentos for me tongue.gif

The thing is Ponstan is practically mefenamic acid, so it got to be taken with food. Else will get another type of abdominal pain doh.gif

Nemind, period = good. Helps to keep hormones in-check biggrin.gif
jones007
post Jan 7 2008, 11:17 AM

8,878 posts

why does period hurts anyway.. blood flowing out makes ur tummy pain or something?
bubb13s
post Jan 7 2008, 11:26 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jan 7 2008, 11:17 AM)
why does period hurts anyway.. blood flowing out makes ur tummy pain or something?
go google lar jones. malas want to explain.
u'll never know how it feels like anyway.
TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 11:33 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jan 7 2008, 11:17 AM)
It's like being pinched in ur gut 24x7

You ever bled for 7 days straight?

metalfreak
post Jan 7 2008, 11:33 AM

3,300 posts

when my gf gets pms, I also kena man's pms

I'll be a "poor man suffering". I gotta becareful not to make her mad =P

Complicated... =.= girls. =)
jones007
post Jan 7 2008, 11:35 AM

8,878 posts

LOL poor man suffering.. nice.
TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 11:39 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jan 7 2008, 11:33 AM)
when my gf gets pms, I also kena man's pms

I'll be a "poor man suffering". I gotta becareful not to make her mad =P

Complicated... =.= girls. =)
Yes we're complicated. And yet you cant live without us.

Nyea nyea nyea tongue.gif
jones007
post Jan 7 2008, 11:40 AM

8,878 posts

i can. flex.gif i live with the iron
metalfreak
post Jan 7 2008, 11:46 AM

3,300 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 7 2008, 11:39 AM)
Yes we're complicated. And yet you cant live without us.

Nyea nyea nyea tongue.gif
i know..i'm not complaining tongue.gif

when i told me gf i'm getting pms...she laughed so much =P guess that helped during her pms that time haha

TSSyd G
post Jan 7 2008, 11:51 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jan 7 2008, 11:40 AM)
i can. flex.gif i live with the iron
I guess your family's fear does have its basis tongue.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 11:55 am
QUOTE(metalfreak @ Jan 7 2008, 11:46 AM)
i know..i'm not complaining  tongue.gif

when i told me gf i'm getting pms...she laughed so much =P guess that helped during her pms that time haha
PMS is not just about the pain, it effects you hormonally. Much like roid rage, but we have our pimples and water retention and mood swings and the crying for no reason and being horny for some people biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 7 2008, 11:55 AM
kirakracus
post Jan 8 2008, 11:38 AM

240 posts

12kg KB? Where did you get it from?

And you're actually successfully doing the Crossfit WODs? You rock!!!
jones007
post Jan 8 2008, 11:43 AM

8,878 posts

that bloody kettle 12kg bell is 200++ bucks.. should buy 2 la.. double snatch lol
TSSyd G
post Jan 8 2008, 12:21 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Jan 8 2008, 11:38 AM)
12kg KB? Where did you get it from?

And you're actually successfully doing the Crossfit WODs? You rock!!!
Kettlebel Msia

Not strict Crossfit WOD - lack of equipments so I try to do what I can biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jones007 @ Jan 8 2008, 11:43 AM)
that bloody kettle 12kg bell is 200++ bucks.. should buy 2 la.. double snatch lol
2? I cant even snatch one tongue.gif

The bloody thing is heavier than equivalent db because of its instability. Time to strengthen teh wrists n forearms!
TSSyd G
post Jan 8 2008, 05:22 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Rested!

-----

Meal 1 (leftover from yesterday)
Salmon bits n bones

Meal 2
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
2xFish Oil caps, 2xAlcar, 1xMultivitamin

Cheat Meal of the Week #1/2
Half McDonalds Cornetto chocolate sundae

Meal 3
Quarter roasted chicken

-----

I woke up at 4:30am! Without alarm! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 9 2008, 11:38 AM
TSSyd G
post Jan 9 2008, 12:01 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

CARBLOAD! rclxms.gif

WOD - Cindy for Buttercup - scaled by BrandX

Complete as many rounds in 10 minutes as you can of:
1 Jumping Pull-ups
4 Push-ups
7 Squats

Result

-----

Meal 1
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
1 Ovaltine 3-in-1 sachet
2xFish Oil caps, 2xAlcar, 1xMultivitamin

Meal 2
A serving of brown rice
Squids
2 whole eggs
Anchovies
2 cups cabbage
2xFish Oil caps, 2xAlcar

Meal 3
1 scoop of Syntha-6
1 scoop of Vanilla whey
Nescafe Rich 3-in-1 sachet
2xFish Oil caps, 2xAlcar, 2xZMa

-----

Ah..... blaun lice.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jan 9 2008, 08:14 PM
morph
post Jan 16 2008, 02:24 AM

2,657 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jan 8 2008, 12:21 PM)
Kettlebel Msia

Not strict Crossfit WOD - lack of equipments so I try to do what I can biggrin.gif
2? I cant even snatch one tongue.gif

The bloody thing is heavier than equivalent db because of its instability. Time to strengthen teh wrists n forearms!
Just checked the website. Is the price stated on the site for the KBs one set or just 1 piece?
TSSyd G
post Jan 16 2008, 03:10 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(morph @ Jan 16 2008, 02:24 AM)
Just checked the website. Is the price stated on the site for the KBs one set or just 1 piece?
1 pc wink.gif
6a6y6lue
post Jan 22 2008, 04:48 PM

358 posts

Very interesting journal you've got here syd.. but i think its about time you post your progress picture in here too.... before and after eh brows.gif

What's your stats now?? get some picture posted already la.. would love to see how you look like nod.gif

This post has been edited by 6a6y6lue: Jan 22 2008, 04:50 PM
TSSyd G
post Jan 24 2008, 11:07 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(6a6y6lue @ Jan 22 2008, 04:48 PM)
Very interesting journal you've got here syd.. but i think its about time you post your progress picture in here too.... before and after eh  brows.gif

What's your stats now?? get some picture posted already la.. would love to see how you look like  nod.gif
I posted them once. Then something happened.....I got Google-stalked and it kinda freaked me out.

I've decided not to post anymore pictures due to privacy reasons smile.gif

TSSyd G
post Jan 28 2008, 09:29 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Quick Update

Lost boobs, carb-depleted, lots of energy, I NEED NEW PANTS!

Upcoming road races :

1) 24th Feb - UPM C-DEX run 2008 (5km) - aiming for below 35mins (who the hell runs at 8:00am?!!)

2) 30th March - KL International Marathon (10km) - aiming for below 75mins
Disciple
post Jan 28 2008, 09:44 PM

Master of Disaster
2,272 posts

lost boobs? is that a good sign or a bad sign laugh.gif
TSSyd G
post Jan 28 2008, 09:51 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

It's a good sign.

Not aesthetically, of course.
TSSyd G
post Jan 30 2008, 07:34 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

24.5% bodyfat BABY!

According to this chart, my bodyfat is as good as a 18% bf for 19-24 y/o male.

http://www.musclemaster.net/body-fat-percentage.html

Pushing for 23% next!!! YEAH BUDDY!
ChrisGirl
post Jan 30 2008, 10:53 PM

1,127 posts

sigh, i've yet to find out my bf% yet
kirakracus
post Feb 20 2008, 10:32 AM

240 posts

Where did SydG go?
jones007
post Feb 20 2008, 12:48 PM

8,878 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Feb 20 2008, 10:32 AM)
Where did SydG go?
hey lady how are u doing?
kirakracus
post Feb 21 2008, 04:41 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Feb 20 2008, 12:48 PM)
hey lady how are u doing?
Sorry Syd, hijacking this thread to reply to jones. I'm okay getting married this year so trying to lose more weight. Didn't gain anything back but not losing because totally slacked off after meeting bf (now fiance) in August .. ha ha. Men are not good for my diet.

QUOTE(CandleJack)
ZOMFG... kira is still alive shocking.gif

btw, when u wanna release edison vid ?
aiyoo .. regret picking this nickname. used it before death note lah. There was a Kira character in DS9 and it was my Neverwinter Nights nickname.

This post has been edited by kirakracus: Feb 21 2008, 04:43 PM
TSSyd G
post Feb 22 2008, 12:31 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Feb 21 2008, 04:41 PM)
Sorry Syd, hijacking this thread to reply to jones. I'm okay getting married this year so trying to lose more weight. Didn't gain anything back but not losing because totally slacked off after meeting bf (now fiance) in August .. ha ha. Men are not good for my diet.

QUOTE(CandleJack)
ZOMFG... kira is still alive shocking.gif

btw, when u wanna release edison vid ?
aiyoo .. regret picking this nickname. used it before death note lah. There was a Kira character in DS9 and it was my Neverwinter Nights nickname.
No problem wink.gif
TSSyd G
post Feb 22 2008, 12:38 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

CDEX Run (5km) Training - aiming for 7:15min/km smile.gif

11th Feb (warmups after a long running hiatus)
14:46 - 2km @ 7:22min/km

12th Feb
30:01 - 4.13km @ 7:15min/km

13th Feb (speedworks warmup)
1:34 - 0.27km @ 5:43min/km

13th Feb (speedworks)
6:43 - 1km @ 6:41min/km

-- Weekends break --

19th Feb (restart)
24:54 3.5km @ 7:06min/km

19th Feb (cooldown after crossfit)
12:00 1.60km @ 7:29min/km

20th Feb (speedworks)
6:11 1.05km 5:50min/km (big improvement, refer to 13th Feb stats biggrin.gif)

20th Feb (mid distance cooldown after speedworks)
14:38 2.00km 7:18min/km

21st Feb (full distance)
36:31 5.08km 7:10min/km

This post has been edited by Syd G: Feb 22 2008, 12:43 AM
divisionby0
post Feb 22 2008, 11:43 AM

156 posts

QUOTE(kirakracus @ Feb 21 2008, 04:41 PM)

CONGRATULATIONS!! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif YEAH LOSE THOSE FAT AND LOOK HOT DURING WEDDING! wear those modern bridal costume with very littel cloth.. show off sikit hahahaha
TSSyd G
post Feb 24 2008, 11:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

C-DEX Run 2008 Race Report

Distance : 5km
Medal : First 50s in each category
Cert : Finishers

Aim : Personal best, medal and negative splits.

To be frank I've only been training for this run for the past 2 weeks as my eyes were already set on KLIM 10k finishers medal / cert. I consider this race to at least show me where I'm at and keep me motivated for KLIM. I promised myself that it's a race between me and me and a medal would be a bonus. The distance is not daunting but I've never raced in a medium-long distance on 5km flat road before...

It's just another running day. I arrived there around 7:30am, parked at the nearest girls college (around 300m away) before slow jogging to the reporting tent. When I arrived there I realized that I've tercicir my reporting card. I told the girl and she told me that I could run but wont get any medal if I happen to be one of the top 50 finishers. Tough cookie wink.gif. I ran back to my car and found out that I've dropped it when I was embarking out of my car. I ran back cause it's already 7:50 and registered. Woo. Body panas already with all that warm up. I covered 1km dy, man! laugh.gif

It's 8am and the aerobics was still on. I was like... er.... ok.. when the race supposed to start again? After 15 mins they released the boys. And we were flagged off some 5 mins later. The sun was already up @_@

I started at the back of the pack since I promised myself to pace properly. Most of the runners dont look like they've done long distance before so I know for sure I'll be blocking their way. I zoomed too fast during my previous 2 runs that I got side stitches early. Aiming 7:30min/km for the first 1km (10km practice), I WAS THE LAST PERSON during the first 200m!! wahahahahaha. The feeling of marshal van wanting to run you over is NOT NICE biggrin.gif. I was so slow, got someone took picture of me icon_rolleyes.gif. I upped my pace a bit around 300m and began to tapau people.

I enjoyed the tapauing process ... after 400m, most of the runners started slowing down or walking @_@. I began to pick my race bunny, tapau her, and then pick another race bunny biggrin.gif. There were some tough ones. After I cut, they potong me back and then slow down and block my way sweat.gif. Pacing was nice and good but I felt TOO COMFORTABLE. I increased pacing to 7:00 during the 2nd kilometer after I realize that I already passed the halfway mark and it felts like I was pacing for a 10k race doh.gif I went too slow!

I upped my speed and left the pack. Number of female runners decrease. Distance from one runner to another was kinda far. I just aimed to cut one by one while NOT slowing down. But running on the road (as opposed to the curb) stretches my distance leh. The curb aint level enough and I afraid kena ankle injury again like Subang10k.

During the last 400m, my race bunny was a real fighter. I imagined her being the 50th person to get the medal and began sprinting. SHE SPRINTED TOO!! sweat.gif sweat.gif We were shoulders-to-shoulders and she tapaued me for a while. At the last few 20m I felt like I could cut her to the narrow ending lane but that will just mean I'll risk ramming into her and I dont think that's even a good sportsmanship. And if she could fight this hard, I think she deserves the medal smile.gif

We got our placing. She 51, me 52. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif. As we queue up to record our details I congratulated her for being a good sport. Both of us laughed when we realized that we were actually fighting for the 51st place laugh.gif

I kinda regret with the placing cause if I would've been 30seconds faster during the first km I'd gotten myself a nice shiny medal. This is the 2nd time I kena like this, man. During Subang 10k I was the first person being denied a finisher's cert (cut-off time was 1hr:15min, I think they stretched it to 1hr:17min cause the iPod recorded me being 1:17:something) and for this race, I was so close to the medal! I'd kick myself if I kena like this again for KLIM. After the race I didnt feel tired, no lactic acid problem, no train-wreck feeling, no ankle pain, no knee pain. Maybe I was not trying hard enough......

This was my 3rd competitive run after Subang10k & Cardio Run last year. Kudos to organizer - it was a well-organized race albeit the late start.

Result

Recorded Distance : 5.42km
Time : 36:37
Average Pace : 6:44/km

Pace Splits :
exactly 7:30 biggrin.gif
6:57
6:29 (cruising speed)
6:34 (alamak sweat.gif)
6:17
6:01

Placing : 52 of Category B

Goodie bag : 1 x Ajinomoto Nasi Goreng Kampung, 2 x Cloud-9s, 1 x JobStreet handbook, 1 x anagelsic, 1 x Jack&Jill Rollercoaster, 1 x Ovaltine 3-in-1 sachet (so many junk food laugh.gif )
T+1
post Feb 24 2008, 11:59 AM

1,368 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Feb 24 2008, 11:29 AM)
C-DEX Run 2008 Race Report

Distance : 5km
Medal : First 50s in each category
Cert : Finishers

Aim : Personal best, medal and negative splits.

To be frank I've only been training for this run for the past 2 weeks as my eyes were already set on KLIM 10k finishers medal / cert. I consider this race to at least show me where I'm at and keep me motivated for KLIM. I promised myself that it's a race between me and me and a medal would be a bonus. The distance is not daunting but I've never raced in a medium-long distance on 5km flat road before...

It's just another running day. I arrived there around 7:30am, parked at the nearest girls college (around 300m away) before slow jogging to the reporting tent. When I arrived there I realized that I've tercicir my reporting card. I told the girl and she told me that I could run but wont get any medal if I happen to be one of the top 50 finishers. Tough cookie wink.gif. I ran back to my car and found out that I've dropped it when I was embarking out of my car. I ran back cause it's already 7:50 and registered. Woo. Body panas already with all that warm up. I covered 1km dy, man! laugh.gif

It's 8am and the aerobics was still on. I was like... er.... ok.. when the race supposed to start again? After 15 mins they released the boys. And we were flagged off some 5 mins later. The sun was already up @_@

I started at the back of the pack since I promised myself to pace properly. Most of the runners dont look like they've done long distance before so I know for sure I'll be blocking their way. I zoomed too fast during my previous 2 runs that I got side stitches early. Aiming 7:30min/km for the first 1km (10km practice), I WAS THE LAST PERSON during the first 200m!! wahahahahaha. The feeling of marshal van wanting to run you over is NOT NICE biggrin.gif. I was so slow, got someone took picture of me icon_rolleyes.gif. I upped my pace a bit around 300m and began to tapau people.

I enjoyed the tapauing process ... after 400m, most of the runners started slowing down or walking @_@. I began to pick my race bunny, tapau her,  and then pick another race bunny biggrin.gif. There were some tough ones. After I cut, they potong me back and then slow down and block my way sweat.gif. Pacing was nice and good but I felt TOO COMFORTABLE. I increased pacing to 7:00 during the 2nd kilometer after I realize that I already passed the halfway mark and it felts like I was pacing for a 10k race doh.gif I went too slow!

I upped my speed and left the pack. Number of female runners decrease. Distance from one runner to another was kinda far. I just aimed to cut one by one while NOT slowing down. But running on the road (as opposed to the curb) stretches my distance leh. The curb aint level enough and I afraid kena ankle injury again like Subang10k.

During the last 400m, my race bunny was a real fighter. I imagined her being the 50th person to get the medal and began sprinting. SHE SPRINTED TOO!!  sweat.gif  sweat.gif We were shoulders-to-shoulders and she tapaued me for a while. At the last few 20m I felt like I could cut her to the narrow ending lane but that will just mean I'll risk ramming into her and I dont think that's even a good sportsmanship. And if she could fight this hard, I think she deserves the medal smile.gif

We got our placing. She 51, me 52. As we queue up to record our details I congratulated her for being a good sport. Both of us laughed when we realized that we were actually fighting for the 51st place laugh.gif

I kinda regret with the placing cause if I would've been 30seconds faster during the first km I'd gotten myself a nice shiny medal. This is the 2nd time I kena like this, man. During Subang 10k I was the first person being denied a finisher's cert (cut-off time was 1hr:15min, I think they stretched it to 1hr:17min cause the iPod recorded me being 1:17:something) and for this race, I was so close to the medal! I'd kick myself if I kena like this again for KLIM. After the race I didnt feel tired, no lactic acid problem, no train-wreck feeling, no ankle pain, no knee pain. Maybe I was not trying hard enough......

This was my 3rd competitive run after Subang10k & Cardio Run last year. Kudos to organizer - it was a well-organized race albeit the late start.

Result

Recorded Distance : 5.42km
Time : 36:37
Average Pace : 6:44/km

Pace Splits :
exactly 7:30  biggrin.gif
6:57
6:29 (cruising speed)
6:34 (alamak sweat.gif)
6:17
6:01

Placing : 52 of Category B

Goodie bag : 1 x Ajinomoto Nasi Goreng Kampung, 2 x Cloud-9s, 1 x JobStreet handbook, 1 x anagelsic, 1 x Jack&Jill Rollercoaster, 1 x Ovaltine 3-in-1 sachet (so many junk food  laugh.gif )
We got our placing. She 51, me 52. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif. As we queue up to record our details I congratulated her for being a good sport. Both of us laughed when we realized that we were actually fighting for the 51st place laugh.gif
i lol'ed reading this laugh.gif
TSSyd G
post Feb 25 2008, 12:13 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(T+1 @ Feb 24 2008, 11:59 AM)
i lol'ed reading this  laugh.gif

Gee if I did topple her down imagine how stupid I'd look biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

KLIM 10k training plan (5-weeks off)

Week 1
Mon - Rest
Tues - 30 minutes run
Wed - Crossfit (scaled)
Thurs - 30 minutes run
Fri - Crossfit (max effort)
Sat - Rest
Sun - 40-45 minutes run

Week 2
Mon - Rest
Tues - 30 minutes run
Wed - Crossfit (scaled)
Thurs - 40 minutes run
Sat - Rest
Sun - 7.5km run

Week 3
Mon - Rest
Tues - 30 minutes run
Wed - Crossfit (scaled)
Thurs - 40 minutes run
Sat - Rest
Sun - 50 mins run

Week 4
Mon - Rest
Tues - 45 minutes run
Wed - Crossfit (scaled)
Thurs - 45 minutes run
Sat - Rest
Sun - 10km (my pedometer tend to add 10% on roads)

Week 5
Mon - Rest
Tues - 40 mins run
Wed - Crossfit (scaled)
Thurs - 30 mins run
Sat - Rest
Sun - RACEDAY!
metalfreak
post Feb 25 2008, 09:26 AM

3,300 posts

wutz crossfit?
TSSyd G
post Feb 25 2008, 09:35 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CrossFit

On Thursdays I'll probably be visiting these guys
http://www.pushmore.com.my/

wink.gif
bubb13s
post Feb 25 2008, 11:28 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Feb 25 2008, 09:35 AM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CrossFit

On Thursdays I'll probably be visiting these guys
http://www.pushmore.com.my/

wink.gif
amazing stuffs... in the gym...
remember to update abt the place and rates...would be an interesting place to visit. biggrin.gif

Anyway....good work on your finishing of the race. rclxms.gif
bata
post Feb 25 2008, 01:25 PM

3,726 posts

wow...can do 300 style workout tongue.gif

Chow
TSSyd G
post Feb 28 2008, 12:45 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

A little update.

I now look like a freakin female triathlete.

Bad point : I look ugly/'blocky'/manly clothed
Good point : I look REALLY GOOD nekkid

Future husband is so lucky.

divisionby0
post Feb 28 2008, 12:49 PM

156 posts

requesting a naked picture
TSSyd G
post Feb 28 2008, 12:51 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(divisionby0 @ Feb 28 2008, 12:49 PM)
requesting a naked picture
Marriage form can be obtained there ---------->
metalfreak
post Feb 28 2008, 01:36 PM

3,300 posts

o.O *JJ and Rudy* Fuah LOL
TSSyd G
post Feb 28 2008, 04:30 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

You got banned again, huh. Kesian.
metalfreak
post Feb 28 2008, 04:48 PM

3,300 posts

LOL

AGAIN? but whom?
divisionby0
post Feb 28 2008, 04:51 PM

156 posts

captain obvious
TSSyd G
post Feb 29 2008, 08:30 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD - Cindy - scaled - 3 out of 50

5 rounds for time
5 Pull-ups (bands-assisted)
10 Push-ups (knee)
15 Bodyweight Squats

Result
7:06mins

-------------------------------------

I didnt workout on Tuesday-Thursday due to fever. Supposed to run 30 minutes on Tues Thurs & do moderate Crossfit on Wednesday. I was sweating more than I did during Subang10k and took so long to recover.

Summore I found out got 2 girls there whom can do pistols.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

CAN NOT LOSE. MUST DO.
derek87
post Mar 1 2008, 12:29 AM

Keep it C.L.E.A.N.
1,077 posts

What are pistols you meant?
TSSyd G
post Mar 1 2008, 05:42 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Mar 1 2008, 12:29 AM)
What are pistols you meant?
http://www.beastskills.com/pistol.htm
sharizall
post Mar 6 2008, 04:49 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Mar 1 2008, 05:42 PM)
U CAN DO IT! rclxms.gif
TSSyd G
post Mar 6 2008, 10:42 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

CHEAT DAY!!

I had :

Pizza
Coke
Milk
Milo
Fried Rice
Cheesecake

TSSyd G
post Mar 7 2008, 10:32 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD - 070308 - scaled - 4 out of 50

For time of:
100 rope skips
20 box jumps @ 12"
20 pike push-ups
75 rope skips
15 box jumps @ 12"
15 pike push-ups
50 rope skips
10 box jumps @ 12"
10 pike push-ups

Result
11:20mins
TSSyd G
post Mar 10 2008, 11:23 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD - 100308 - 5 out of 50

For time of:

3 rounds of
400m run
12 x KB snatches (6x each side, 12kg)
15 x bodyweight squats

Result
17:18min

+ 400m cooldown slow run

This post has been edited by Syd G: Mar 10 2008, 11:36 PM
pizzaboy
post Mar 10 2008, 11:28 PM

9,495 posts

I did cindy again!!
after my squats and all dat...at night la, jus now

Made 13 sets tihs time!!
not so bad liao....can tahan a bit, recover faster a LIL bit.
Nyeheheheh
TSSyd G
post Mar 10 2008, 11:35 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 10 2008, 11:28 PM)
I did cindy again!!
after my squats and all dat...at night la, jus now

Made 13 sets tihs time!!
not so bad liao....can tahan a bit, recover faster a LIL bit.
Nyeheheheh
Congratulations. Still far away from 23

Nyeh nyeh tongue.gif
pizzaboy
post Mar 10 2008, 11:42 PM

9,495 posts

bahhhhh

why do you love to do this to me
and why do i have to love you?

dangit....
u shasap...13 is still okay, furthermore, it was after training.
U wait, I shall do 20 soon! WELL, maybe not so soon.
TSSyd G
post Mar 11 2008, 10:01 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Mar 10 2008, 11:42 PM)
bahhhhh

why do you love to do this to me
and why do i have to love you?

dangit....
u shasap...13 is still okay, furthermore, it was after training.
U wait, I shall do 20 soon! WELL, maybe not so soon.
I could be saying worse things like... "zomg why u need to work out? ur body too muscular dee... too much muscles girls dun like la.. geli"

TSSyd G
post Mar 15 2008, 10:31 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Run - 110308

8.41km in 1hr (90% accuracy)

Result

TSSyd G
post Mar 15 2008, 10:35 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

WOD - 150308 - scaled - 6 out of 50

Scaled : Pullup with blue + green bands, Assisted ring dips

10 pullup
20 ring dips
15 lateral jump over sandbag

15 pullup
15 ring dips

20 pullup
10 ring dips

Result
11:xxmin - pending Pushmore update

jones007
post Mar 15 2008, 11:10 PM

8,878 posts

holy shit u bought bands?
TSSyd G
post Mar 15 2008, 11:22 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ Mar 15 2008, 11:10 PM)
holy shit u bought bands?
Pushmore's
jones007
post Mar 16 2008, 12:43 AM

8,878 posts

wat pushmore? bands la izit? no?

pizzaboy
post Mar 16 2008, 01:40 AM

9,495 posts

pushmore.blogspot.com
TSSyd G
post Mar 19 2008, 02:05 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Run - 180308

7:00am
approx 3.5km + 3.5km
from Kea Farm to Brinchang & back to Kea Farm (Cameron Highlands!)

10:00am
1 hour walk from Equatorial CH to BOH Sungai Palas Plantation Factory & Tea Shop

12:00pm
50mins walk from BOH Sungai Palas Plantation Factory & Tea Shop to Equatorial CH

3 hours cardio. Wicked!

This post has been edited by Syd G: Mar 30 2008, 11:00 AM
TSSyd G
post Mar 30 2008, 11:01 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

KLIM

Position : 271st, Women Open

Time :
1:20 (gun)
1:18 (mat) - 1 min slower than SJ10k

No Nike+, PowerGel/PowerBar, side-stitches, cramps or fuel belt.

Drank once at the first station. They had 3 for 10k route!! blink.gif blink.gif

1st medal! icon_rolleyes.gif
N0eL
post Mar 30 2008, 11:18 AM

1,479 posts

SYd ~!!

Congrats ~!
phoenix
post Mar 30 2008, 01:39 PM

Life is all about running...
2,529 posts

The making of an IronLady! CONGRATZ on your first shiny!
metalfreak
post Mar 30 2008, 01:49 PM

3,300 posts

Congrats! fuah..Medal =D nice
TSSyd G
post Jul 1 2008, 08:49 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Walk - 010708

6:15pm

approx 5-6km from office to home
1 hour 5 minutes

SUSraindrops
post Jul 1 2008, 09:33 PM

330 posts

OMG AT ur EPIC WIN!
No newpaper closeup a? XD
TSSyd G
post Jul 2 2008, 08:50 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(raindrops @ Jul 1 2008, 09:33 PM)
OMG AT ur EPIC WIN!
No newpaper closeup a? XD
Er... epic win? It was just a finisher's medal smile.gif
SUSraindrops
post Jul 2 2008, 06:36 PM

330 posts

1st medal'?
i thought first place XD
idiot me XD
TSSyd G
post Jul 2 2008, 10:18 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

First place?

Do I look like a Kenyan to you? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jul 6 2008, 04:47 PM
TSSyd G
post Jul 6 2008, 04:47 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Siemens Run - 060708

7:30pm

approx 8.5km
1 hour 6 minutes

sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Syd G: Jul 6 2008, 04:48 PM
gtoforce
post Jul 7 2008, 12:24 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 2 2008, 10:18 PM)
First place?

Do I look like a Kenyan to you? tongue.gif
akak...ni racism ni tau
bata
post Jul 7 2008, 12:24 AM

3,726 posts

haha...Kenyan usually take 1st place in marathon wott tongue.gif

Chow
gtoforce
post Jul 7 2008, 12:28 AM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(bata @ Jul 7 2008, 12:24 AM)
haha...Kenyan usually take 1st place in marathon wott tongue.gif
Chow
memang pun
tapi tak elok cakap camtu tau
hahaha

gile ah
sume orang kuat H&F dah advanced

TSSyd G
post Jul 7 2008, 05:47 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

@gtoforce
with all due respect, the statement is actually acknowledging that they kick butt at local races smile.gif
gtoforce
post Jul 7 2008, 08:13 PM

2,967 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jul 7 2008, 05:47 AM)
@gtoforce
with all due respect, the statement is actually acknowledging that they kick butt at local races smile.gif
actually i got the pic at the first post
mistake is acknowledged
gunnerboy
post Jul 12 2008, 02:41 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(bubb13s @ Jan 7 2008, 10:49 AM)
is that ur knee?? hgehehehe

0.0435sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:49 AM